Guides | Dictionaries and Encyclopedias | Biography
Bibliography | Catalogues | Periodical Indexes | Reviews
Annuals | Library Resources | Awards and Festivals
Motion Pictures/Cinema/Film
Guides
Allen, Nancy. Film study collections : a guide to their development and use. New York : Ungar, 1979.
Butler Reference R016.80922 A154
Armstrong, Richard B. Encyclopedia of film themes, settings and series. Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland & Co., 2001.
Butler Stacks PN1997.8.A75 2001
Corey, Melinda. A cast of thousands : a compendium of who played what in film. Compiled by Melinda Corey & George Ochoa. New York : Facts on File, 1992.
Butler Reference R809.22 C81 (3 volumes)
Fisher, Kim N. On the screen : a film, television, and video research guide. Littleton, Colo. : Libraries Unlimited, 1986.
Butler Stacks Z5784.M9 F535
Halliwell, Leslie. Halliwell's film guide. New York : Harper Perennial, 1994.
Butler Reference Desk R038.O92 H15713
Halliwell, Leslie. The filmgoer's and video viewer's companion. New York: Harper & Row, 1990
Butler Reference R038.092H157251
McClure, Arthur F. Research guide to film history. Saratoga, CA. : R & E Pub, 1983.
Butler Reference R016.80922 M13
Performing Arts Resources. New York; Drama Book Specialists. v. 1- 1974-
Butler Reference R016.80 P46
Rehrauer, George. Cinema booklist. Metuchen, N.J., Scarecrow, 1972. 473 p.
Butler Stacks Z5784.M9 R42
-----------Supplement. (1974)
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Beaver, Frank Eugene. Dictionary of film terms: the aesthetic companion to film analysis. New York : Twayne Publishers: London Prentice Hall, 1994.
Butler Reference R038.092B3861
Dictionnaire du cinema, sous la direction de Jean Loup Passek. Paris : Larousse, 1986.
Butler Reference R809.2203D561
Enciclopedia dello spettacolo. Roma, Casa Editrice Le Maschere, 1954-62. 9v.
Butler Reference R038.092En16
---------------. Appendice di aggiornamento. Cinema. Venezia, Instituto per collaborazione culturale, 1963.
Butler Reference R038.092 En16 Append.Cinema.
--------------. Aggiornamento, 1955-1965. Roma, Unione editoriale, 1966.
Butler Reference R038.092 En16 Suppl.
--------------. Indice-repertorio. Roma, Unione editoriale, 1968.
Butler Reference R038.092 In8
Gartenberg, Jon. Glossary of filmographic terms. Brussels, Belgium : FIAF, 1985.
Butler Reference R038.092 G514
History of the American cinema. New York : Maxwell Macmillan International, 1990- vols. 1-6, 8-10
Butler Reference R809.22 H629
International dictionary of films and filmmakers. 4th Edition. Detroit : St. James Press, 2000.
Butler Reference Desk R809.22 In8 (4 volumes)
Katz, Ephraim.The film encyclopedia. 4th Ed. New York, N.Y. : Harper Perrenial, 2001.
Butler Reference R038.092 K15911
Nowell-Smith, Geoffrey. Oxford history of world cinema. Oxford; New York : Oxford University Press, 1996.
Butler Reference R809.22.Ox2
Rajadhyaksha, Ashish. Encyclopaedia of Indian cinema. New Delhi; New York: Oxford University Press, 1995.
Butler Reference R809.22 R18
Roud, Richard. Cinema : a critical dictionary : the major film-makers. New York: Viking Press, 1980.
Butler Reference R038.092 C49
Sklar, Robert. A World History of Film New York: Harry N. Abrams, Inc., 2002.
Butler Reference R809.22 Sk41
Slide, Anthony. The new historical dictionary of the American film industry. Lanham, MD. : Scarecrow Press, 1998.
Butler Reference R038.O92 S1341
Biography
Andrew, Geoff. The film handbook. Boston, Mass. : G.K. Hall, 1990.
Butler Stacks PN1998.2.A64 1989
Encyclopedia of film directors in the United States of America and Europe. Edited by Alfred Krautz; in cooperation with Hille and Joris Krautz. München ; New Providence N.J. : K.G. Saur, 1993-
Butler Reference R040.O809 En194
Holmstrom, John. The moving picture boy : an international encyclopaedia from 1895-1995. Wilby, Norwich : Michael Russell, 1996.
Butler Reference R809.22 H73
International dictionary of films and filmmakers. 4th Edition. Detroit : St. James Press, 2000.
Butler Reference Desk R809.22 In8 (4 volumes)
Nowlan, Robert A. The name is familiar : who played who in the movies. New York : Neal-Schuman Publishers, 1993.
Butler Reference R809.22 N863
Palmer, Scott. British film actors' credits, 1895-1987. Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland, 1988.
Butler Reference R809.22 P174
Quinlan, David. The film lover's companion : an A to Z guide to 2,000 stars and the movies they made. Secaucus, N.J. : Carol Pub. Group, 1997
Butler Reference R040.Q4434
Quinlan, David. Quinlan's illustrated directory of film character actors. London : Batsford, 1995.
Butler Reference R040.0809 Q44
Thomson, David. The new biographical dictionary of film . 4th Ed. New York : A.A. Knopf, 2002.
Butler Reference R040.08092 T38
Tulard, Jean. Dictionnaire du cinema. Paris, R. Laffont, 1991.
Butler Reference R040.T821
Variety Obituaries. New York : Garland Pub., 1988-
Butler Reference R040 B28
Bibliography
General
Austin, Bruce A. The film audience: an international bibliography of research with annotations and an essay. Metuchen, N.J. Scarecrow Press, 1983.
Butler Reference R016.80922Au76
British Film Institute, London. Library. Catalogue of the book library of the British Film Institute. London England. G.K. Hall, 1975.
Butler Reference R016.80922B77 Oversize
-----------First Supplement. (1983 2 volumes) Filmer, Alison J. Harrap's book of film directors and their films : a comprehensive guide from 1924 to the present day. London : Harrap, 1989.
Butler Reference R016.80922 F486
Gebauer, Dorothea. Bibliography of national filmographies. Compiled by Dorothea Gebauer ; with the assistance of the members of the Cataloguing Commission of the International Federation of Film Archives ; edited by Harriet W. Harrison. Bruxelles : FIAF, c1985.
Butler Reference R016 .80922 G26
Gifford, Denis. British film catalogue, 1895-1985 : a reference guide. New York: Facts on File, 1986.
Butler Reference R016.80922G391
Hecht, Hermann. Pre-cinema history: an encyclopaedia and annotated bibliography of the moving image before 1896. London : Bowker Saur, 1993.
Butler Reference R016.80922.H34
Manchel, Frank. Film Study; an analytical bibliography resource guide. Rutherford, N.J., Fairleigh Dickinson University Press, 1990.
Butler Reference R016.80922 M299 (4 volumes)
Rehrauer, George. The Macmillan film bibliography. New York: Macmillan, 1982.
Butler Reference R016.80922.R2693 (2 volumes)
Writers' Program of the Works Projects Administration. New York. The v Film Index, a bibliography. New York: Museum of Modern Art Film Library and the H.W. Wilson Co. 1985.
Butler Reference R016.80922.W93 (3 volumes)
Adaptations
Baskin, Ellen. Enser's filmed books and plays: a list of books and plays from which films have been made,1928-1991. Aldershot, Hants., England; Brookfield, Vt. Ashgate Publishing, 1993
Butler Reference R016.80922 B29
Ross, Harris. Film as literature, literature as film : an introduction to and bibliography of film's relationship to literature. New York: Greenwood Press, 1987.
Butler Reference R016.80922R73
Welch, Jeffrey Egan. Literature and film : an annotated bibliography. Garland reference library of the humanities ; vol. 241. New York : Garland, 1981-
Butler Reference R016.80922 W54 (2 volumes)
Women writers : from page to screen. Garland reference library of the humanities ; vol. 687. New York : Garland Pub., 1990.
Butler Reference R016.80922 W84
Topic
The bent lens : a world guide to gay & lesbian film. St. Kilda, Vic. : Australian Catalogue Company, 1997.
Butler Reference R016.80922 B445
The BFI companion to the western. Edited by Edward Buscombe; consultant editors, Christoper Brookeman. London : A. Deutsch : BFI Pub., 1993
Butler Reference R809.22 B12
Gray, John. Blacks in Film and television: a Pan-African bibliography of films, filmmakers, and performers. New York: Greenwood Press, 1990.
Butler Reference R016.80922.G793
Helt, Richard C. West German cinema, 1985-1990 : a reference book. Metuchen, N.J. Scarecrow Press, 1992. (Continues original work West German cinema since 1945 : a reference book).
Butler Reference R016.80922 H3691
Karsten, Eileen. From real life to reel life: a filmography of biographical films. Metuchen, N.J. : Scarecrow Press, 1993.
Butler Reference R016.80922K1495
Lentz, Harris M. Science fiction, horror & fantasy film and television credits. Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland, 1983.
Butler Reference R809.22 L549 (2 volumes)
---------Supplement through 1987. ---------Supplement through 1993. López, Daniel. Films by genre : 775 categories, styles, trends, and movements defined, with a filmography for each. Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland & Co., c1993.
Butler Reference R809.22 L88
Maxford, Howard. The A-Z of horror films. Bloomington : Indiana University Press, 1997.
Butler Stacks PN1995.9 H6 M3245 1997
Murray, Raymond. Images in the dark : an encyclopedia of gay and lesbian film and video. Philadelphia : TLA Publications, c1994 (1995 printing)
Butler Reference R809.22 M966
Prichard, Susan Perez. Film costume: an annotated bibliography. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow, 1981.
Butler Reference R016.80922P93
Schmidt, Nancy J. Sub-Saharan African films and filmmakers, 1987-1992: an annotated bibliography. New Jersey: Hans Zell Publishers, 1994.
Butler Reference R016.80922.Sch551
Schwartz, Ronald. Latin American films, 1932-1994 ; a critical filmography. Jefferson, N.C. McFarland & Co., 1996.
Butler Reference R809.22 Sch96
Shiri, Keith. Directory of African film-makers and films. Compiled and edited by Keith Shiri Trowbridge, Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1992.
Butler Reference R038.092Sh14
Sullivan, Kaye. Films for, by, and about women. Metuchen, N.J. : Scarecrow Press, 1980.
Butler Reference R016 .80922 Su54
Stevens, Matthew. Jewish film directory: a guide to more than 1200 films of Jewish interest from 32 countries over 85 years. Trowbridge, Wiltshire, England: Flicks Books, 1992.
Butler Reference R809.22J54
Catalogues
American film institute catalog of motion pictures produced in the United States. Berkeley:University of California Press, 1988.
Butler Reference R016.80922.Am35
The British cinema source book : BFI Archive viewing copies and library materials. London : British Film Institute, 1995.
Butler Reference R016.80922 B774
Bushnell, Brooks. Directors and their films : a comprehensive reference, 1895-1990. Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland & Co., 1993.
Butler Reference R809.22B96
Gevinson, Alan. Within our gates : ethnicity in American feature films, 1911 - 1960. Berkeley : University of California Press, 1997.
Butler Reference R016.80922 W77
Gifford, Denis.The British Film catalogue, 1895-1985; a reference guide. New York: Facts on File, 1986.
Butler Reference R016.80922.G391
Goble, Alan. The Complete index to literary sources in film. New Providence, N.J. : Bowker-Saur, 1999.
Butler Reference R016.80922 G538
Goble, Alan. The international film index:1895-1990. London; New Jersey, Bowker-Saur, 1991. (2 volumes)
Butler Reference R016.80922.In893
Library of Congress. Motion Picture, Broadcasting, and Recorded Sound Division. Early motion pictures: the paper print collection in the Library of Congress. Washington: Motion Picture, Broadcasting & Recorded Sounds Division., 1985.
Butler Reference R016.80922 L6154
Louis B. Mayer Library. Script checklist. Los Angeles, CA : The Library, 1981-
Butler Reference R016.80922.L847
Niver, Kemp R. Motion pictures from the Library of Congress paper print collection, 1894-1912. Berkeley,University of California Press, 1967.
Butler Stacks Z5784.M9N58
Pinsler, Alison. Script list, 1990 : a union catalog of screenplay collections in the Los Angeles area. Los Angeles : Margaret Herrick Library, Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, 1990.
Butler Reference R016 .80922 P657
Periodical Indexes
Retrospective
Batty, Linda. Retrospective index to film periodicals, 1930-1971. N.Y., R.R. Bowker, 1975.
Butler Reference R058.0922 B322
Gerlach, John C. The critical index; a bibliography of articles on film in English, 1946-1973. N.Y., Teachers College Press, 1974
Butler Reference R058.0922 G316
MacCann, Richard. The new film index; a bibliography of magazine articles in English, 1930-1970. 1st ed., N.Y., Dutton, 1975.
Butler Reference R058.0922 M125
Current
Art Abstracts[computer file], Bronx, NY : H.W. Wilson Co.
LibraryWeb
Film literature index. v.1-, 1973-. Albany, N.Y., Filmdex, Inc., 1974- Quarterly, with annual cumulation.
Butler Reference R058.0922F48
Humanities Index. N.Y., H. W. Wilson Co. v. 1- 1974/75-
Butler Reference R050 AZ12 and available in computer file format on LibraryWeb
International filmarchive [computer file], London: FIAF 1972, 1979-
LibraryWeb
International index to film periodicals. 1972- N.Y., Bowker, 1972-1996. Annual.
Butler Reference R058.0922In8
International index to the performing arts.[computer file], Alexandria, VA : Chadwyck-Healey, 1999-
LibraryWeb
MLA international bibliography of books and articles on the modern languages and literatures. MLA Bibliography. New York : Modern Language Association of America. 1921-
Butler Reference R016.8 M72
MLA international bibliography [computer file] New York: Modern Language Association, 1963-
LibraryWeb
Reviews
Kael, Pauline. 5001 nights at the movies. New York : Holt, Rinehart, and Winston, 1982.
Butler Stacks PN1995.K19
Film Review Annual. Englewood, NJ : J.S. Ozer, 1982-
Butler Reference R058 .0922 F51
Film Review Index. Edited by Patricia King Hanson, Stephen L. Hanson. Phoenix, Ariz. : Oryx Press, 1986- 2 vols.
Butler Reference R058.0922 F484
New York Times film reviews, 1913-1968. N.Y. New York Times and Arno Pr., 1970.
Butler Reference R809.22N48
Annuals
International motion picture almanac. 1929-. N.Y. Quigley. 1929-
Earlier editions in Butler Stacks, latest volume in Butler Reference. PN1993.3I5
Screen world. 1949-. N.Y. Greenberg, 1950-
Earlier editions in Butler Stacks, latest volume in Butler Reference. PN1993.3.S38
Variety international film guide. London : Andre Deutsch ; Hollywood : Samuel French, 1989; 1990- Continues International Film Guide.
Butler Stacks PN1993.3 .I5441 Latest volume in Butler Reference.
Library Resources
Mehr, Linda Harris. Motion Pictures, television and radio : a union catalogue of manuscript and special collections in the Western United States. Boston: G.K. Hall, 1977.
Butler Reference R016.80922.M47
Oliver, Elizabeth. Researcher's guide to British film and television collections. London, England: British Universities Film Council, 1981.
Butler Stacks PN1993.4.R47 1981
Prelinger, Richard and Celeste Hoffnar. Footage : the worldwide moving image sourcebook. New York: Second Line Search, Inc., 1997.
Butler Reference R061.F732
Thorpe, Frances. International directory of film and TV documentations centres. Chicago: St James Press, 1988.
Butler Stacks PN1993.4.I57 1988
Awards & Festivals
Hammer, Tad Bentley. International film prizes : an encyclopedia.Garland reference library of the humanities; vol. 1333. New York : Garland, 1991.
Butler Reference R809.22 H18
Shale, Richard. Academy Awards Index ; the complete categorical and chronological record.Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1993.
Butler Reference R809.22 Sh163
Prepared by Nancy E. Friedland
Media Services and Film Studies Librarian
Columbia University Libraries