General | Advertising | Demographics | Direct Mail and Mail Order
Marketing & Advertising Resources
These resources were selected for their authority, ease of use, and accessibility. If you need more assistance, please contact the Watson Library research librarians.
Additional resources can be found in CLIO, the library catalog. For news and research tips from the Watson Library, please visit the Watson Library Blog.
Resources marked with this symbol are restricted to Columbia affiliates.
General
- Marketing Pocket Books
Americas: HF5415.I2 A45 (Reference)
Asia Pacific: HF5415.I2 A78 (Reference)
Canada: HF5415.I2.C35 (Reference)
Europe: HF5415.I2 E85 E98 (Reference)
- The Portable MBA in Marketing
HF 5415.13 .H47 1998 (Reference)
This handbook is an excellent reference for essential concepts and practices, and includes an extensive bibliography of other resources. - Standard and Poor's Industry Survey in Advertising and Marketing
S&P's Industry Surveys are comprehensive reports covering major trends in an industry, its operating environment and significant companies in the industry. It provides excellent industry references.
Advertising
- Ad*Access
Ad*Access includes over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisement images from newspaper and magazines for the period between 1911 and 1955. This free database is provided by Duke University libraries. - Ad$pender
An online database that tracks millions of brands across 18 media and ranks top spenders by industry, parent, brand, etc. - Ad $ Summary
HF 5802 .L4 (Reference)
Reports corporate advertising expenditures for consumer magazines, Sunday magazines, newspapers, outdoor, network television, spot television, syndicated television, cable television, network radio, and national spot radio. - Advertising Ratios & Budgets
HF 5802 .A26 (Reference)
Tracks advertising expenditures for publicly traded companies. Also reports current and historical ad budgets, the ratio of ad spending to net sales, the ratio of ad spending to gross margin, and the annual average compound growth in ad spending for each company. Information is arranged by SIC, allowing comparison of company performance to industry norms. Company data within industry are reported in ranked order and alphabetically. - Brands and Their Companies
T 223.V4 A221 (Reference)
Provides basic information on consumer brands and the manufacturers and distributors responsible for them. Volume 1 is organized by brand; Volume 2 lists company names, addresses, telephone and fax numbers. (Also available through the Business and Company Resource Center.) - Standard Directory of Advertisers
HF 5805 .St221 (Reference Shelf)
Together with the Standard Directory of Advertising Agencies, these "Red Books" provide information on companies which spend a minimum of $200,000 on advertising. Each entry contains company name, address, products, advertising expenditures, key personnel, and advertising agency, if applicable. Volume 1 is arranged by industry; volume 2 indexes products by state, brand name, SIC, and personnel. - Standard Directory of Advertising Agencies
HF 5805 .St223 (Directories Shelf)
Together with the Standard Directory of Advertisers, these "Red Books" provide information on agencies reporting a minimum of $200,000 in gross annual billings. Entries include: agency name, address, phone, e-mail, website, number of employees, area of specialization, annual billing, breakdown of gross billing by media, clients, executives, special markets, and new agencies. - Standard Directory of International Advertisers & Agencies
HF 5805 .S711 (Reference Shelf)
Advertisers section provides information on more than 1,500 companies that spend at least $200,000 (U.S.) in advertising. The Agencies section provides similar information on more than 1,600 advertising agencies based overseas. Includes alphabetical, geographical, brand name, SIC, and personnel indexes. - Standard Rate & Data Service (SRDS)
SRDS contains media information, including advertising rates, deadline dates and contact data for the print and broadcast media. Includes the Direct Marketing List Source and Out of Home Advertising Source.
Demographics
- The American Marketplace: Demographics and Spending Patterns
Print: HA 214.A6 1999g (Reference)
Includes tabular data divided into eight topic areas and organized alphabetically: Education; Health; Income; Labor Force; Living Arrangements; Population; Spending; and Wealth. Tables are based primarily on data collected by the federal government. Also includes text analyzing the data and highlighting future trends. - County and City Extra: Annual Metro, City and County Data Book
HA 203.C68 2004 (Reference)
Annual publication providing the latest statistical information for every state, county, metropolitan area, congressional district, and city in the United States with a population over 25,000. The vast majority of data is obtained from federal government sources. - Demographics USA - County Edition
HF 5415 .D46 (Reference)
Maps and demographic, economic and commercial/industrial estimates covering population and race/ethnicity, age/sex groups, household related data, Effective Buying Income, retail sales and number of establishments by twelve individual store groups, twelve merchandise line categories, consumer expenditure data, establishment and employment data, and occupation data. - Global Market Information Database
GMID contains over a million demographic, economic and marketing statistics for 205 countries worldwide. The database also contains 6-year historic market size data for more than 330 consumer products in 52 countries, plus 5-year forecasts.Coverage: 1977 to present, forecasts to 2016. - Infoshare Online
Contains population statistics, immigration trends, socio-economic indicators, birth and death data, hospitalizations, local economic data at the county level. - Lifestyle Market Analyst
HF 5415.33 .U6 L54 (Reference)
Demographic, geographic, and lifestyle information arranged by Designated Market Area (DMA), lifestyle, and consumer segment. - MPA: Market Profile Analysis: Consumer and Business Demographic Reports
HC 107.S68 C63 2003 (Reference)
Tool for evaluating existing markets, locations and proposed sites for offices, stores, and businesses. Sections include: Index of ZIP Codes; Index of Census Tracts by ZIP Code; Population Factors; Household Factors; Education and Labor Force Factors; Industry and Occupation Factors; Business Market Factors; and Census Tract Maps. - Sourcebook of ZIP Code Demographics
HA 203 .S66 (Reference)
Features include: Residential ZIP Codes; four profile sections with variables arranged by page into population change, population composition, income, and spending potential profiles. Demographics include: population, age, race, Hispanic origin, household type, household income, and disposable income. Each ZIP code's predominant industry is listed in the business data section that provides total businesses and total employment. ZIP code ranges for reference. - Statistical Abstract of the United States
Print: HA 202 .Un31 (Reference)
A collection of statistics on the political, economic, and social organization of the United States.
Direct Mail & Mail Order
- Direct Marketing Market Place
HF 5861 .D57 (Directories Shelf)
Directory of direct marketers, service and supplier firms, associations, creative services, courses, and events. Selected entries have sales and employee size. Industry statistics are provided. - Statistical Fact Book
HF 5861 .F311 (Reference)
Contains statistics, including charts and graphs on direct response advertising, media lists, databases, and markets.
Market Research
- Datamonitor 360
Resources cover company, country, industry and product intelligence as well as business strategies and news and opinion. - Engineering Business Market Research Handbook
HD9715.U52 M55 (Reference) - Entertainment Media & Advertising Market Research Handbook
HF5415.2 W37 2005g (Reference) - Faulkner's Advisory for IT Studies
lVirtual library of reports covering IT infrastructure, telecom, data networking, wireless communications, security, enterprise systems, the Internet and World Wide Web, as well as technology vendors. FAITS also links to technology and business news resources such as Nando Net, The New York Times, Financial Times, NewsBytes, and the BBC. - Forrester Research (Includes Jupiter Communications)
Virtual library of reports covering IT infrastructure, telecom, data networking, wireless communications, security, enterprise systems, the Internet and World Wide Web, as well as technology vendors. FAITS also links to technology and business news resources such as Nando Net, The New York Times, Financial Times, NewsBytes, and the BBC. - Gartner Intraweb
In depth market research reports on information technology. Topic areas include: computing hardware, software infrastructure, IT services, communications, semiconductors and business objectives. - Global Market Information Database (GMID)
GMID contains over a million demographic, economic and marketing statistics for 205 countries worldwide. The database also contains 6-year historic market size data for more than 330 consumer products in 52 countries, plus 5-year forecasts.Coverage: 1977 to present, forecasts to 2016. - Green Book
HF 5415.2 .I51 (Directories Shelf)
This annual publication describes firms that conduct surveys, audits, product testing, and other marketing studies. It is indexed by geography, personnel, services provided, industries served, and computer software capabilities. - Health Care Business Market Research Handbook
RA395.A3 T96 2005g (Reference) - Mintel Oxygen
Offers yearly reports covering UK, Europe, US and International consumer markets in the CPG/FMCG, financial services, media, retail, leisure and industrial space. Market data including size, segmentation and forecasts. Includes daily updates on the hottest issues affecting key consumer markets and the economy. - MRI+
Provides consumer magazine audience data, measuring the readership of over 230 magazines in the United States; we also have access to Mediamark Reporter database that provides summary tables of key audience and product usage data from national probability sample of 27,000 households. Registration of e-mail address required. - Restaurant & FoodService Market Research Handbook
TX901. R47 (Reference) - SRDS: Local Market Audience Analyst
SRDS delivers up-to-date consumer demographics, lifestyle analysis reports, and regional market profiles. - Travel and Leisure Market Research Handbook
G155.u6 T74 (Reference)
Market Share
- Global Market Information Database (GMID)
GMID contains over a million demographic, economic and marketing statistics for 205 countries worldwide. The database also contains 6-year historic market size data for more than 330 consumer products in 52 countries, plus 5-year forecasts.Coverage: 1977 to present, forecasts to 2016. - Market Share Reporter
HF 5410 .M38 (Reference)
Compilation of market share information on companies, products and services abstracted from periodicals and brokerage reports. Chapters are organized by 2-digit SICs and contain entries for 4-digit SICs. (Also available through Business and Company Resource Center) - Mintel Global Market Navigator
GMN is a trusted database containing market size, market share and forecast data for thousands of consumer goods categories worldwide. - World Market Share Reporter
HD 2757.15 .W67 (Reference)
Same as Market Share Reporter, with an international emphasis. (Also available through Business and Company Resource Center)
Articles & Journals
- ABI/Inform Global on ProQuest Direct
Periodical database specializing in business literature, including full text of over 2060 of the 3040 ABI/Inform titles. All titles are indexed and abstracted. Also included in ProQuest are Newspapers and General Periodicals. Coverage: 1971 to present ; Updates: Daily - Business Source Complete
Covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance, international business, econometrics and economics. Contains full text of the Harvard Business Review, California Management Review and other important journals. BSP also includes country reports from EIU and Global Insight as well as company reports from Datamonitor. - Factiva
Online database for business and financial resources, including full-text newspapers, newswires, magazines, and trade journals. Also includes company financials, quotes, and other data. - LexisNexis Academic
An interdisciplinary, full-text database of over 18,000 sources including newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, company reports, case law, government documents, transcripts of broadcasts, and selected reference works.