Articles & Journals | Directories | Handbooks | Market Data | Periodicals | Internet Resources
Real Estate
These resources were selected for their authority, ease of use, and accessibility. If you need more assistance, please contact the Watson Library research librarians.
Additional resources can be found in CLIO, the library catalog. For news and research tips from the Watson Library, please visit the Watson Library Blog.
In addition to the resources found in the Business and Economics Library, Avery Library has an extensive real estate collection.
Resources marked with this symbol are restricted to Columbia affiliates.
Articles & Journals
- ABI/Inform Global on ProQuest Direct
Periodical database specializing in business literature, including full text of over 2060 of the 3040 ABI/Inform titles. All titles are indexed and abstracted. Also included in ProQuest are Newspapers and General Periodicals. Coverage: 1971 to present ; Updates: Daily - Business Source Complete
Covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance, international business, econometrics and economics. Contains full text of the Harvard Business Review, California Management Review and other important journals. BSP also includes country reports from EIU and Global Insight as well as company reports from Datamonitor. - Factiva
Factiva is an excellent resource for finding company and industry information. Factiva contains a database of nearly 8,000 publications, including: academic and trade publications, industry newsletters, international and regional newspapers, business magazines, and business newswires. The two sections of the database that are most commonly used for this assignment are the "Factiva Library" (which allows researchers to search the 8,000 sources) and the "Quick Company Search" (which contains company profiles - information about: finances, competitors, company history, etc.). - LexisNexis Academic
Comprehensive online database which affords access to hundreds of information sources, including the full text of newspapers, magazines, wire services, newsletters, journals, and broadcast transcripts. Coverage: Varies by source; Updates: Varies by source - ULI Development Case Studies
Access to more than 300 detailed case studies of completed projects ranging from low-income housing to mixed-use downtown developments to commercial and industrial projects. The case studies provide photographs and site plans, information on costs and rents, innovative features and strategies of the project, and an explanation of the entire development process. It covers projects from 1985 to the present. Thirty new case studies are added every year.
Directories
- Crittenden Directory of Real Estate Financing
HG2040 .C7 (Directories)
Alphabetical directory of real estate lenders (banks, REITs, pension funds, etc.) throughout the U.S. Includes type of financing, type of projects, and contact information. Cross-indexed by real estate sector (apartments, offices, industrial, etc.). - Crittenden Directory of Real Estate Investors & Buyers
HD1361.D57 (Directories)
Directory of real estate investors.
Handbooks
- Barron's Real Estate Handbook
HD1375.H349 - Dictionary of Real Estate Appraisal
HD1387.D435 - Emerging Trends in Real Estate 2008
HD 251. E47 (Reference) - Emerging Trends in Real Estate Europe 2008
HD 581.A1 E44 (Reference) - Encyclopedia of Real Esate Terms
HD1365.A23 (Reference) - Glossary of Real Estate Management Terms
HD1365.G58 - Handbook of Commercial Real Estate Investing
HD 1393.55.M384 2006 (Reference) - International Real Estate Finance Review
HD 1361.I68 2008/2009 (Reference) - Real Estate Investment Handbook
HD1382.5 H35 - Real Estate Market Analysis: A Case Study Approach
HD1390.S36 (Business Stacks)
Market Data
- Bloomberg
Business Electronic Resources (Library Use Only)
Bloomberg is rich with information on Real Estate Investment Trusts, Real Estate Financing, and related data. Tye "REL" and hit the GO key for the real estate menu of equity analytics.
Coverage: varies; updates: constant. - Commercial Properties
- Market Pulse Reports from Cushman and Wakefield
Contains commercial rents for several markets in the United States. Choose Market from drop down box on right - Studley Reports
Contains commercial rents for several markets in the United States. - Residential Properties
- Census Bureau
Contains data on new home sales - GSE Market Profile
HG 2040.5.U5 A13 (Reference)
Contains data for total GSE production in each state and loan analysis for the top 25 GSE sellers. - Mortgage Market Statistical Annual
HG 4655 M64 (Reference) - National Association of Realtors
Contains data on existing home sales - U.S. Housing Market Conditions
Slot U-200 (Current Periodicals)
Periodicals
- Korpacz Real Estate Investor Survey
HD1382.5 K67 (Reserves) - Mortgage Market Alert
KF691.A3 C64 (Reserves) - National Real Estate Investor
Also available in print: Slot AB N228 (Avery Library Reserves)
Forecast -- Conditions in Leasing, Financing, Construction and Investment Trends: published in February. - Real Estate Alert
KF566.A3 R43 (Reserves) - Real Estate Economics: Journal of the American Real estate and Urban Economics Association
One year delay for full text online.
Scholarly journal covering various aspects of real estate markets. - Real Estate Finance
Also available in print: Slot AB R221 (Avery Library Reserves)
"The quarterly review of commercial finance techniques." Published by Institutional Investor, Inc. - Real Estate Forum
Also available in print. Slot AB R222 (Avery Library Reserves) - Real Estate Issues
Also available in print: Slot AB R224 (Avery Library Reserves)
Internet Resources
- American FactFinder: Housing Data
Contains data on the physical and financial characteristics of US housing. Data from the US Census. - Bureau of the Census--Housing
This is the Housing and Household Economic Statistics Division of the Census Bureau. - Fannie Mae Home Page
This is the largest diversified financial company in the world, and the nation's largest source of home mortgage funds. This site includes publications of Fannie Mae's Office of Housing Research. - HUD USER
This site is the Office of Policy Development and Research of the Department of Housing and Urban Development. It includes the text of U.S. Housing Market Conditions. - NAREIT: The National Association of Real Estate Investment Trusts
This is the only trade association of the REIT industry. This site includes a list of publications and membership information as well as data on the REIT industry - NYU Real Estate Library
A comprehensive list of links across subjects including brokers, investment, government and employment.