(published in the late 19th- early 20th centuries or in various locales)
- Csomo de Körös, Alexander. Essay towards a dictionary, Tibetan and English. Calcutta: Baptist Mission Press. 1834. Organized by first Tibetan letter (not root letter).
Created in Ladakh (and possibly also Sikkim).
- Jäschke, H. A Tibetan-English Dictionary, with special reference to the prevailing dialects (to which is added an English-Tibetan vocabulary). London. 1881.
Created in Ladakh.
- Desgodins, Auguste. Dictionnaire thibetain-latin-français. 1899.
Created in Khams, near Batang.
- Sarat Chandra Das. A Tibetan-English Dictionary, with Sanskrit Synonyms. Calcutta: Bengal Secretariat Book Depot. 1902.
- Lama Dawasamdup Kazi (Zla-ba-bsam-'grub, Kazi; 1868-1922). An English-Tibetan dictionary, containing a vocabulary of approximately twenty thousand words with their Tibetan equivalents. Calcutta, The University, 1919. PL3637 .Z6
- Charles A. Bell. English Tibetan colloquial dictionary. 1920.
- Zhang Xu [=Zhang Yisun], Zang Han jilun cihui. Hong Kong: Xichui wenhua yuan, 1937.
Glossary based on work started 1928 in Sichuan, this became the basis for the Bod Rgya tshig mdzod chen mo =Zang Han da ci dian (1985). Original held by Prof. Tuttle.
- Zhang Xu [=Zhang Yisun], Han Zang yuhui. Chengdu: Xichui wenhua yuan, 1938.
Another glossary. Original held by Prof. Tuttle.
- Zhang Xu [=Zhang Yisun], Zang Han yiming da cihui, ([Chengdu]: Xichui wenhua yuan, 1939.
First real Tibetan-Chinese dictionary. Original held by Prof. Tuttle.
- Minoru Gō, ed. An Eastern Tibetan dictionary (revised) and A study of the Eastern Tibetan language, with special reference to the initial consonants. Okayama, Japan, 1954 .
Based on work done in Amdo. PL3636 .G6
- Ngag dbang chos dar [Awang Quetaier]. A mdo'i kha skad tshig mdzod = A duo kuoyu cihui. Lanzhou, 1980.
- Lhun grub rdo rje. A mdo'i kha skad tshig mdzod = Anduo Zang yu kou yu ci dian= Amdo Tibetan Spoken Language Dictionary with Chinese and English Translation. Lanzhou, 2007. PL3651.A64 A43
- Chos kyi grags pa. Dge bshes Chos kyi grags pas btsams pa'i brda dag ming tshig gsal ba = Gexi Quzha Zangwen cidian: Zang, Han duizhao. Beijing: Mi rigs dpe skrun khang/ Minzu chubanshe, 1995 .
Compiled by a Buryat Mongol in 1946. This dictionary is based on a 1949 edition of the Lhasa Hor-khang woodblock with added explanations in Chinese. The first formal publication was published in December, 1957. The current edition is published in 1995 with proper corrections and additional features, such as categories, synonyms, etc. It is said that the editors also deleted ‘unrelated’ words from the original copy. However, the translations for most Buddhist terms remain the same. Notes by ZHU Runxiao.