African Diaspora & African Literatures at Columbia University Libraries
* Entries include links to WorldCat.org, which lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and around the world.
Resources marked with this symbol are restricted to Columbia affiliates.
Reference Works: Bibliographies, Encyclopedias, & Handbooks
- African American authors, 1745-1945: bio-bibliographical critical sourcebook. Edited by Emmanuel S. Nelson. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2000.
Barnard Reference: PS153.N5 A32 2000
Butler Reference: R016.813 Af83
See also at Columbia: E-book
WorldCat record - African American autobiographers: a sourcebook. Edited by Emmanuel S. Nelson. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2002.
Butler Reference: R041.0326 Af83
WorldCat record - African American dramatists: an A-to-Z guide. Edited by Emmanuel S. Nelson. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2004.
Butler Reference: R041.081 Af83
WorldCat record - African American women playwrights: a research guide. Edited by Christy Gavin. New York: Garland Pub., 1999.
Barnard Reference or Butler Stacks: PS153.N5 G29 1999
WorldCat record - African American women writers in the 19th century. New York: The Digital Schomburg, Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, The New York Public Library, 1999.
- African writers. 2 vols. Ed. by C. Brian Cox. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, c1997.
Butler Reference: R897.8 Af83
Barnard: PL8010 .A453 1997
WorldCat record - Africana: the encyclopedia of the African and African-American experience. 5 vols. Edited by Kwame Anthony Appiah and Henry Louis Gates, Jr. Oxford, UK; New York: Oxford University Press, 2005.
Butler Reference: R960 Af8321
Lehman Reference: DT14 .A37435 2005
African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: DT14 .A37435 2005
WorldCat record
See also at Columbia: Oxford African American studies center - Afro-American women writers, 1746-1933: an anthology and critical guide. Edited by Ann Allen Shockley. Boston, Mass.: G.K. Hall, c1988.
Barnard Reference or Butler Stacks: PS508.N3 A36 1988
WorldCat record - The Cambridge companion to the African American novel. Edited by Maryemma Graham.
Cambridge; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2004.
US History & Literature Reading Room, 502 Butler: PS374.N4 C36 2004
WorldCat record
See also at Columbia: Cambridge Companions Complete - The Cambridge companion to African American theatre. Edited by Harvey Young. Cambridge : Cambridge University Press, 2013.
WorldCat record
See also at Columbia: Cambridge Companions Complete - The Cambridge companion to African American women's literature. Edited by Angelyn Mitchell and Danille K. Taylor. Cambridge, UK ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2009.
Barnard & Butler Stacks: PS153.N5 C343 2009>
WorldCat record
See also at Columbia: Cambridge Companions Complete - The Cambridge companion to the Harlem Renaissance. Edited by George Hutchinson. New York: Cambridge University Press, 2007.
Butler Stacks: PS153.N5 C345 2007
US History & Literature Reading Room, 502 Butler: PS153.N5 C345 2007
WorldCat record
See also at Columbia: Cambridge Companions Complete - The Cambridge guide to African and Caribbean theatre. Edited by Martin Banham, Errol Hill, and George Woodyard. Cambridge; New York: Cambridge University Press, 1994.
African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: PN2969 .C36 1994
Butler Reference: R809.2 C145
WorldCat record - The Cambridge history of African American literature. Compiled by Maryemma Graham and Jerry W. Ward Jr. Cambridge, UK ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2011.
Butler Stacks: PS153.N5 G685 2011
US History & Literature Reading Rm, 502 Butler: PS153.N5 G685 2011
WorldCat record
See also at Columbia: Cambridge Histories (Online) - The Cambridge history of African and Caribbean literature. Edited by F. Abiola Irele and Simon Gikandi. 2 vols. Cambridge; New York: Cambridge University Press, 2004.
African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: PN841 .I74 2004
Butler Stacks: PN841 .I74 2004
WorldCat record
See also at Columbia: Cambridge Histories (Online) - The Columbia Granger's index to African-American poetry. Edited by Nicholas Frankovich and David Larzelere. New York: Columbia University Press, c1999.
Butler Reference: R058.1 G76517
WorldCat record - A companion to African American literature. Ed. by Gene Andrew Jarrett. Chichester, U.K. ; Malden, MA : Wiley-Blackwell, 2010.
Barnard & Butler Stacks: PS153.N5 C57 2010
WorldCat record - The companion to African literatures. Ed. by Douglas Killam, Ruth Rowe. Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press, 2000.
Butler Reference: R897.8 C738
Barnard Reference: PR9340.C65 2000
WorldCat record - Contemporary African American novelists: a bio-bibliographical critical sourcebook. Edited by Emmanuel S. Nelson. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1999.
Barnard Reference: PS374.N4 C658 1999
Butler Reference: R016.813 C76
See also at Columbia: E-book
WorldCat record - Dickson-Carr, Darryl. The Columbia guide to contemporary African American fiction. New York: Columbia University Press, c2005.
Comp Lit & Society Reading Room, 615 Butler: PS374.N4 D533 2005
Milstein: PS374.N4 D533 2005
See also at Columbia: E-book
WorldCat record - Dictionary of African biography. 6 vols. Emmanuel K. Akyeampong and Henry Louis Gates, Jr., editors in chief. Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, c2012.
Butler Reference: CT1920 .D52 2012, v.1-6
Worldcat record
- Dictionnaire des oeuvres littéraires négro-africaines de langue française des origines à 1978. Sous la direction d'Ambroise Kom. Sherbrooke, Quebec: Naaman, 1983.
African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: PQ3980 .D5 1983
WorldCat record - Dictionnaire des oeuvres littéraires de langue française en Afrique au sud du Sahara, v. 2.
[par Ambroise Kom ; de 1979 à 1989.] San Francisco: International Scholars Publications, 1996.
African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: PQ3980.A52 K65 1996
WorldCat record (2001 ed.) - Dunton, Chris. Nigerian theatre in English: a critical bibliography. London; New Providence, N.J.: Hans Zell Publishers, 1998.
African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: Z3707 .D86 1998
WorldCat record - Encyclopedia of African literature. Edited by Simon Gikandi. London; New York: Routledge, 2003.
Butler Reference: R897.8 En19
Barnard Reference: PL8010 .E63 2002
African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: PL8010 .E63 2003
WorldCat record - Gikandi, Simon and Evan Mwangi. The Columbia guide to East African literature in English since 1945. New York: Columbia University Press, c2007.
African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: PR9340 .G55 2007
Butler Reference: R820.9 G37
WorldCat record - Goslinga, Marian. Caribbean literature: a bibliography. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 1998.
Butler Reference: R016.8609 G693
WorldCat record - Gray, John. Black theatre and performance: a pan-African bibliography. New York : Greenwood Press, 1990.
Barnard Reference: PN2969 .G73 1990g
Butler Reference: R016.80 G793
WorldCat record - The Greenwood encyclopedia of African American literature. Edited by Hans Ostrom and J. David Macey, Jr. 5 vols. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2005.
Butler Reference: R810.9 G856
WorldCat record - "The Harlem Renaissance, 1919-1937," by Paul P. Reuben. Chapter 9 from "PAL: Perspectives in American Literature -- A Research and Reference Guide." Turlock, Calif.: Department of English, California State University Stanislaus, 2008.
- The heritage series of Black poetry, 1962-1975: a research compendium. Edited by Lauri Ramey in consultation with Paul Breman. Aldershot, England; Burlington, VT: Ashgate, c2008.
Butler Stacks: PS310.N4 H47 2008
WorldCat record - Hill, Errol and James V. Hatch. A history of African American theatre. New York: Cambridge University Press, c2003.
Barnard or Butler Stacks: PN2270.A35 H55 2003
WorldCat record - How to Cite Print and Internet Resources
- Hacker, Diana. The Bedford Handbook, 7th Edition: Research and Documentation Online.
New York: Bedford/St. Martin's. - Walker, Janice R. and Todd Taylor. The Columbia Guide to Online Style. 2nd ed. New York: Columbia University Press, 2006.
- Columbia University Libraries. How to Cite Internet Resources
- Hacker, Diana. The Bedford Handbook, 7th Edition: Research and Documentation Online.
- Jordan, Casper LeRoy. A bibliographical guide to African-American women writers. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, c1993.
Barnard Reference: PS153.N5 J67 1993g
Butler Reference: R016.81 J761
WorldCat record - Kesteloot, Lilyan. Black writers in French: a literary history of negritude. Translated by Ellen Conroy Kennedy. Washington, D.C.: Howard University Press, 1991.
Barnard or Butler Stacks: PQ3897 .K3913 1991
WorldCat record - Kesteloot, Lilyan. Histoire de la littérature négro-africaine. Paris: Karthala, c2001.
Butler Stacks: PQ3897 .K395 2001
WorldCat record - Limb, Peter and Jean-Marie Volet. Bibliography of African literatures. Lanham, M.D.: Scarecrow Press, c1996.
Butler Reference: R016 .8978 L62
WorldCat record - Lindfors, Bernth. Black African literature in English: a guide to information sources. Detroit: Gale Research Co., c1979.
Butler Reference: R016.8978 L64
African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: Z3508 .L5 L56
WorldCat record - Lindfors, Bernth. Black African literature in English, 1977-1981 supplement. New York: Africana Pub. Co., 1986.
Butler Reference: R016.8978 L64 Suppl.
African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: Z3508 .L5 L56 Suppl.
WorldCat record - Lindfors, Bernth. Black African literature in English, 1982-1986. London; New York: Hans Zell Publishers, 1989.
Butler Reference: R016.8978 L64 Suppl.2
African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: Z3508 .L5 L562 1989
WorldCat record - Lindfors, Bernth. Black African literature in English, 1987-1991. London; New Jersey: Hans Zell Publishers, 1995.
Butler Reference: R016.8978 L64 Suppl.3
WorldCat record - Lindfors, Bernth. Black African literature in English, 1992-1996. Oxford: Hans Zell, 2000.
Butler Reference: R016.8978 L64 Suppl.4
African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: Z3508 .L5 L553 2000g
WorldCat record - Lindfors, Bernth. Black African literature in English, 1997-1999. Oxford: Hans Zell, 2003.
Butler Reference: R016.8978 L64 Suppl.5
WorldCat record - Mekkawi, Mohamed. African and Caribbean literature in French: guide to research and documentation. Washington, D.C.: Howard University Libraries, 1989.
- Moser, Gerald M. and Manuel Ferreira. A new bibliography of the lusophone literatures of Africa = nova bibliografia das literaturas africanas de expressão portuguesa. 2nd completely rev. and exp. ed. London ; New York : H. Zell Publishers, 1993.
Butler Reference: R016.8978 M85
WorldCat record - Moudileno, Lydie. Littératures africaines francophones des années 1980 et 1990.
Document de travail; no 2.Dakar, Senegal : Conseil pour le développement de la recherche en sciences sociales en Afrique (CODESRIA), c2003.
African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: PQ3980.M67 2003g
See also: E-book
WorldCat record - Owomoyela, Oyekan. The Columbia guide to West African literature in English since 1945. (New York: Columbia University Press, c2008)
African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: PR9340.5 .O96 2008
Butler Reference PR9340.5 .O96 2008
Barnard PR9340.5 .O96 2008 - Oxford African American Studies Center. New York: Oxford University Press, 2008-
--Content includes: Africana (5 volumes); Encyclopedia of African American history; Black women in America--2nd edition; and, the African American national biography. - The Oxford companion to African American literature. Edited by William L. Andrews, Frances Smith Foster, Trudier Harris. New York: Oxford University Press, 1997.
Barnard Reference: PS153.N5 O96 1997
Butler Reference: R810.9 Ox2
US History & Literature Reading Room, 502 Butler: PS153.N5 O96 1997
WorldCat record - Peterson, Bernard L., Jr. Contemporary Black American playwrights and their plays: a biographical directory and dramatic index. New York: Greenwood Press, 1988.
Barnard Reference: PS153.N5 P43 1988
Butler Reference: R041 P442
WorldCat record - Pettis, Joyce Owen. African American poets: lives, works, and sources. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2002.
Butler Reference: R041.081 P45
WorldCat record - The post-colonial literature of Lusophone Africa. Compiled by Patrick Chabal with Moema Parente Augel...[et al]. Evanston, IL: Northwestern University Press; London: Hurst & Company, 1996.
Butler Stacks: PQ9900 .P67 1996g
WorldCat record - Ricard, Alain. The languages & literatures of Africa: the sands of Babel. Translated from the French by Naomi Morgan. Oxford [England]: James Currey; Trenton, NJ: Africa World Press, 2004.
African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: PL8010 .R5313 2004g
Butler Stacks: PL8010 .R5313 2004g
WorldCat record - Roscoe, Adrian A. The Columbia guide to Central African literature in English since 1945. New York: Columbia University Press, c2008.
African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: PR9390.5 .R59 2008
Butler Reference: R016.8978 R72
WorldCat record - Twentieth-century Caribbean and Black African writers. First series. Edited by Reinhard Sander and Bernth Lindfors. Dictionary of literary biography, v. 117. Detroit, Michigan: 1992.
Butler Reference: R040 D564 v.117
Barnard Reference: PS129 .D5 v.117
WorldCat record--See also at Columbia: Dictionary of literary biography - Twentieth-century Caribbean and Black African writers. Second series. Edited by Bernth Lindfors and Reinhard Sander. Dictionary of literary biography, v. 125. Detroit, Michigan: 1993.
Butler Reference: R0430 D564 v.125
Barnard Reference: PS129 .D5 v.125
WorldCat record--See also at Columbia: Dictionary of literary biography - Twentieth-century Caribbean and Black African writers. Third series. Edited by Bernth Lindfors and Reinhard Sander. Dictionary of literary biography, v. 157. Detroit, Michigan: c1996.
Butler Reference: R040 D564 v.157
Barnard Reference: PS129 .D5 v.157
WorldCat record--See also at Columbia: Dictionary of literary biography - Williams, Dana A. Contemporary African American female playwrights: an annotated bibliography. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1998.
Barnard Reference: PS338.N4 W55 1998g
Butler Stacks: Z1229.N39 W55 1998
WorldCat record - Williams, Emily Allen. Anglophone Caribbean poetry, 1970-2001: an annotated bibliography. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2002.
Barnard Reference: PR9205.2 W45 2002
Butler Reference: R016.81 W45
WorldCat record
Selected Electronic Text Collections
- African American biographical database, 1790-1950 (Alexandria, VA: Chadwyck-Healey, Inc; Ann Arbor, Mich.: ProQuest)
- African American music reference (Chicago: Alexander Street Press, LLC;)
- African-American newspapers, 1827-1998. With updates every two years. (Chester, VT: Readex)
- African-American periodicals, 1825-1995. (Chester, VT: Readex; Madison, WI: Wisconsin Historical Society)
- Afro-Americana imprints, 1535-1922 (Naples, FL: Readex; Philadelphia, PA: Library Company of Philadelphia)
- Alexander Street Literature
You can search across these collections -or- separately:- Black Drama, 1850 to the Present. (Chicago: Alexander Street Press, LLC; The University of Chicago, Illinois)
- Black Short Fiction & Folklore. (Chicago: Alexander Street Press, LLC; The University of Chicago, Illinois)
- Black Women Writers. (Chicago: Alexander Street Press, LLC; The University of Chicago, Illinois)
- Caribbean literature. (Chicago: Alexander Street Press, LLC)
- Dictionary of literary biography. (Detroit, Michigan: Gale Group)
- Ethnic newswatch, 1960 to present. (Ann Arbor, Mich.: ProQuest Information & Learning)
- Historical black newspapers: 20th century. (Ann Arbor, Mich.: ProQuest)
- JSTOR-African American Studies : scholarly journal archive. (New York: JSTOR)
See also: - Literature criticism online. (Farmington Hills, Mich.: Thomson Gale)
- LION--Literature Online: English and American Literature. (Alexandria, VA: Chadwyck-Healey, Inc.)
- Persée: portail de revues scientifiques en sciences humaines et sociales. ([Paris]: Aliacom;
Lyon: Université Lumière Lyon 2, pour le Ministère de l'éducation nationale, de l'enseignement supérieur et de la recherche, 2004-)
Indexes -- Finding Citations & E-Links
- Africa-Wide Information. (Ipswich, MA: EBSCO ; Baltimore, Maryland: National Information Services Corporation, 1997-)
- African Women Bibliographic Database. (AfricaBib.Org, Davis Bullwinkle, University of Arkansas, Little Rock; African Studies Centre, Leiden University, The Netherlands)
--via the Internet. - Black Studies Center. (Cambridge, MA: ProQuest Information &Learning)
This database includes interpretative essays and selected historic journal and newspaper archives, including "The Chicago Defender"; plus: International Index to Black Periodicals. - Book review digest plus: 1982 to present. (H.W. Wilson Co., USA; via FirstSearch)
--See also: Book review digest retro: 1905-1982 - Francis: International Humanities and Social Studies Online Index. (Paris: CNRS; USA : RLG Eureka, 1984-)
- HAPI online: Hispanic American Periodicals Index. (Los Angeles, Calif.: UCLA Latin American Center)
- Humanities full text. (New York: H.W. Wilson, 1995-)
- International Bibliography of Book Reviews. (Published by K.G. Saur Verlag, Thomson Corporation, 1985--)
- LITAF: Littérature africaine francophone -- Une base de données bibliographique. (France: Université Montesquieu-Bordeaux IV)
--via the Internet. - MLA Bibliography. (Online). (New York: Modern Language Association of America, 1963-)
Short List Of Current Journals
Access to electronic journals is for Columbia faculty & students only, with the exception of Internet titles.
Search CLIO for titles in print or electronic; most print titles are available in Butler Library.
- African American review. (Online) (Terre Haute, Ind.: Dept. of English, Indiana State University, c1992-)
- African literature today. (London: Heinemann; New York: Africana Pub. Co., c1968-)
- African renaissance. (London: Adonis &Abbey, c2004-)
- African writing. (Online) (Nottingham, UK: Fonthouse Ltd., 2007- ) --via the Internet.
- Africultures: le site et la revue de référence des cultures africaines. (Paris: L'association Africultures.)
--via the Internet.
For recent print issues, search in CLIO using keyword "Africultures" - Afro-Hispanic review: publication of the Afro-Hispanic Institute. (Washington, D.C.: The Institute, c1981-)
- ALA bulletin: a publication of the African Literature Association. (Edmonton, Alberta, Canada: The Association, 1982-2006.)
- Anthurium: a Caribbean studies journal. (Online) (Coral Gables, Fla.: University of Miami, c2003-) --via the Internet.
- Black book review. (Online) (New York, NY: QBR, c1995-2005)
- Black issues book review. (Online) (Fairfax, VA: Cox, Matthews and Associates, c1999-)
- Black American literature forum. (Online) (Terre Haute, Ind.: School of Education, Indiana State University, 1976-1991)
- Black masks. (Online) (Bronx, NY: Beth Turner, 1984-)
- Black renaissance/Renaissance noire. (Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press, 1996-)
--See also: Black renaissance. (Online) - Callaloo. (Online) (Baltimore, MD: Johns Hopkins University Press, 1976-)
- The Caribbean writer. (St. Croix, V.I.: Caribbean Research Institute, c1987-)
- Caribe: revista de cultura y literatura. (Milwaukee, Wis.: Marquette University, Dept. of Foreign Languages and Literatures, 1998-)
- Chimurenga. (Cape Town: Pan African Market, 2002- )
- Cultures Sud. (Online) : une revue de référence, d'actualité et de critique sur les littératures d'Afrique, des Caraïbes et de l'océan Indien. Anciennement Notre Librairie. (Paris: CulturesFrance, 1999- ) --via the Internet.
- Current writing. (Durban, South Africa: Dept. of English, University of Natal, 1989- )
- Ethiopiques: revue négro-africaine de littérature et de philosophie. (Dakar, Sénégal: Ethiopiques, 1975- ) Back issues: 1975-2009, in African Studies Reading Room (607 Butler); current issues in Butler Stacks.
- See also: Ethiopiques. (Online) --via the Internet.
- International journal of Africana studies. (Online): the journal of the National Council for Black Studies.
(Includes "Afrocentric scholar" ) Back issues 1992-2007, via Black Studies Center - Journal of the African Literature Association: JALA. (Philadelphia, PA: The Association, 2007- )
- Journal of Caribbean literatures. (Online) (Cedar Falls, IA: M.A. Lee, 1997- )
- Journal of West Indian literature. (Online) (Bridgetown, Barbados: Dept. of English, University of the West Indies, c1986-)
- Kwani? (Nairobi, Kenya: Kwani Trust, 2003-)
- Langston Hughes review. (Online) (Providence, R.I.: Afro-American Studies Program, Brown University, c1982-)
- MaComère. (Harrisonburg, Va.: Association of Caribbean Women Writers &Scholars, 1998- )
- New contrast. (Cape Town: SA Literary Journal, Ltd., 1990-)
- Obsidian III. (Online) (Raleigh, NC: Dept. of English, North Carolina State University, 1999-2006)
- See also: Obsidian: 1975-1981, Obsidian II: 1986-1997 in Butler Stacks ; Obsidian II. (Online): 1997-1999.
- QBR: The Black Book Review. (Online) (Hastings-on-Hudson, New York: QBR, 1992-) --via the Internet.
- Research in African literatures. (Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press, 1970-)
- Sea breeze journal of contemporary Liberian writings. (Online) (Castro Valley, Calif.: The Journal, 2004- ) --via the Internet.
- Small axe. (Online): A Caribbean journal of criticism. (Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press, 1998-)
- Transition. (Durham, NC: Duke University Press; Kampala, Uganda, 1961-
- See also: Transition. (Online) (Kampala, Uganda)>
- Wasafiri. (London: Instructa, 1984- )
- World literature today. (Online) (Norman, OK: University of Oklahoma, 1977-)
Suggested Anthologies
- Africa and trans-Atlantic memories: literary and aesthetic manifestations of diaspora and history. Edited by Naana Opoku-Agyemang, Paul E. Lovejoy, and David V. Trotman. Trenton, NJ: Africa World Press, c2008.
Butler Stacks: PR9340.5 .A45 2008
WorldCat record - African American literary criticism, 1773 to 2000. Edited by Hazel Arnett Ervin. New York: Twayne, c1999.
Barnard or Butler Stacks: PS153.N5 A33 1999
WorldCat record - The African American West: a century of short stories. Edited by Bruce A. Glasrud & Laurie Champion. Boulder, CO: University Press of Colorado, c2000.
Barnard or Butler Stacks: PS647.A35 A38 2000
WorldCat record - African fundamentalism: a literary and cultural anthology of Garvey's Harlem Renaissance. Compiled and edited by Tony Martin. Dover, Mass.: Majority Press, 1991.
Butler Stacks: PS508.N3 A34 1991
WorldCat record - African literature: an anthology of criticism and theory. Edited by Tejumola Olaniyan and Ato Quayson. Malden, MA ; Oxford : Blackwell Pub., 2007.
Barnard or Butler Stacks: PL8010 .A353 2007
Comp Lit & Society Reading Room, 615 Butler: PL8010 .A353 2007
WorldCat record - African women writing resistance: an anthology of contemporary voices. Edited by Jennifer Browdy de Hernandez ...[et al.] Madison, Wisc. : University of Wisconsin Press, 2011.
Barnard or Butler Stacks: PL8011 .A35 2010
Worldcat record - L'Afrique au miroir des littératures, des sciences de l'homme et de la société: mélanges offerts à
V. Y. Mudimbe. Edités par Mukala Kadima-Nzuji et Sélom Komlan Gbanou. Paris : L'Harmattan; Bruxelles: Archives et musée de la littérature, c2003.
Butler Stacks: PQ3989.2.M77 Z53 2003g
African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: PQ3989.2.M77 Z53 2003g
WorldCat record - Annual selected papers of the ALA (African Literature Association), 1975 to present.
Butler Stacks or African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler.
WorldCat record - Anthologie africaine d'expression française. 2 vols. Compilée par Jacques Chevrier. Paris: Hatier, c1981-1988.
Barnard or Butler Stacks: PQ3985 .A57 1981
WorldCat record - Beloved Harlem: a literary tribute to Black America's most famous neighborhood: from the classics to contemporary. Edited by William H. Banks, Jr. New York: Harlem Moon/Broadway Books, 2005.
Barnard or Butler Stacks: PS549.N5 B45 2005
WorldCat record - The best short stories by Black writers: the classic anthology from 1899 to 1967. Edited with an introduction by Langston Hughes. Boston: Little, Brown, c1967.
Butler Stacks: PS647.N35 B4 1967g
1st ed.: Barnard: PS508.N3 .H8 1967g -or- Butler Stacks: PZ1.H849 Be
WorldCat record - Black American short stories: one hundred years of the best. Edited by John Henrik Clarke. Rev. and expanded ed. New York : Hill and Wang, c1993.
Butler or Barnard Stacks: PS647.A35 B56 1993
WorldCat record - Black fire; an anthology of Afro-American writing. Edited by LeRoi Jones and Larry Neal.
New York: Morrow, 1968.
Barnard: PS508.N3 J64
US History & Literature Reading Room, 502 Butler: PS508.N3 J64
WorldCat record - Black South African women: an anthology of plays. Edited by Kathy A. Perkins. Cape Town: University of Cape Town Press; London: Routledge, 1999.
Barnard or Butler Stacks: PR9366.7.W65 B58 1999g
WorldCat record - Black theatre: ritual performance in the African diaspora. Edited by Paul Carter Harrison, Victor Leo Walker II, Gus Edwards.Philadelphia: Temple University Press, 2002.
Barnard Course Reserves: PN1590.B53 B59 2002
Butler Stacks: PN1590.B53 B59 2002
WorldCat record - Black theatre USA: plays by African Americans, 1847 to today. Edited by James V. Hatch and Ted Shine. Rev. and expanded ed. New York : Free Press, c1996.
Barnard or Butler Stacks: PS628.N4 B56 1996
WorldCat record - Black writers in Britain, 1760-1890. Selected and introduced by Paul Edwards and David Dabydeen. Edinburgh: Edinburgh University Press, c1991.
Barnard or Butler Stacks: PR1110.B5 B58 1991
WorldCat record - Classic plays from the Negro Ensemble Company. Edited by Paul Carter Harrison & Gus Edwards. Pittsburgh: University of Pittsburgh Press, c1995.
Butler Stacks: PS628.N4 C57 1995
WorldCat record - Confirmation, an anthology of African American women. Compiled by Amiri Baraka (LeRoi Jones) & Amina Baraka. New York: Morrow, 1983.
Barnard or Butler Stacks: PS508.N3 C66 1983
WorldCat record - Crosswinds: an anthology of Black dramatists in the diaspora. Edited and with an introduction by William B. Branch. Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press, 1993.
Barnard or Butler Stacks: PS628.N4 C76 1993
WorldCat record - Ebony rising: short fiction of the greater Harlem Renaissance era. Edited by Craig Gable.
Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press, c2004.
Barnard or Butler Stacks: PS647.A35 E24 2004
US History & Literature Reading Room, 502 Butler: PS647.A35 E24 2004
WorldCat record - Essays in honor of Bernth Lindfors. Edited by Toyin Falola & Barbara Harlow.
[V. 1. Palavers of African literature ; v. 2. African writers and their readers.]
Trenton, NJ: Africa World Press, c2002.
Butler Stacks: PN849.A35 A37 2002g
African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: PN849.A35 A37 2002g
WorldCat record - Girl, colored and other stories : a complete short fiction anthology of African American women writers in
The Crisis magazine, 1910-2010. Edited by Judith Musser. Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland & Co., Publishers, c2011.
Barnard and Butler Stacks: PS647.A35 G57 2011
WorlCat record - Hurricane: cris d'insulaires; anthologie poétique. Aimé Césaire, Paul Dakeyo et al.; Doriane Suicard, coordinatrice. Fort-de-France, Martinique: Editions Desnel, c2005.
Butler Stacks: PQ3946 .H86 2005g
WorldCat record - Littérature haïtienne: de 1960 à nos jours. Notre librairie; no. 133. Paris: CLEF, 1998.
Butler Stacks: PQ3940 .L588 1998g
WorldCat record - New plays from the Black theatre; an anthology. Compiled by Ed Bullins. New York, Bantam Books, 1969.
Barnard or Butler Stacks: PS634 .B8
WorldCat record - Nine Black women: an anthology of nineteenth-century writers from the United States, Canada, Bermuda, and the Caribbean. Edited and introduced by Moira Ferguson. New York: Routledge, 1998.
Barnard, Butler Stacks, or Milstein: PS508.N3 N56 1998
WorldCat record - Nineteenth-century Black women's literary emergence: evolutionary spirituality, sexuality, and identity: an anthology. Edited by Sally Ann H. Ferguson. New York: Peter Lang, c2008.
Barnard or Butler Stacks: PS508.N3 N565 2008
WorldCat record - The Norton anthology of African American literature. Edited by Henry Louis Gates, Jr., and Nellie Y. McKay. New York; London: W.W. Norton &Co., 1996.
Milstein or Butler Reserves: PS508.N3 N67 1996
US History & Literature Reading Room, 502 Butler: PS508.N3 N67 1996
WorldCat record - Opening spaces : an anthology of contemporary African women's writings. Edited by Yvonne Vera. Portsmouth, NH: Heinemann, 1999.
Barnard and Butler Stacks: PL8011 .O64 1999
African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: PL8011 .O64 1999
WorldCat record - The Oxford anthology of African-American poetry. Edited by Arnold Rampersad ; associate editor, Hilary Herbold. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2006.
Barnard or Butler Stacks: PS591.N4 O97 2006
US History & Literature Reading Room, 502 Butler: PS591.N4 O97 2006
See also at Columbia: E-book
WorldCat record - Peuples noirs, peuples africains. (Online): Archive, 1978-1984. Paris, France; Perth, Australia: University of Western Australia, 2005. --via the Internet.
- Poètes d'Afrique et des Antilles d'expression française: de la naissance à nos jours: anthologie. Edited by Hamidou Dia. Paris: Table ronde, c2002.
Butler Stacks: PQ3986 .P65 2002
WorldCat record - The poetry of the Negro, 1746-1970; an anthology. Edited by Langston Hughes and Arna Bontemps. Rev. and updated ed. Garden City, N.Y., Doubleday, 1970.
Butler Stacks or Milstein: PN6109.7 .H8 1970
WorldCat record - Présence africaine. Paris: Editions du Seuil, 1955-2002.
African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: GN645 .P74
WorldCat record - A stranger in the village: two centuries of African-American travel writing. Edited by Farah J. Griffin and Cheryl J. Fish. Boston: Beacon Press, 1998.
Barnard or Butler Stacks: E161.5 .S77 1998
US History & Literature Reading Room, 502 Butler: E161.5 .S77 1998
WorldCat record - "Tell it to us easy" and other stories: a complete short fiction anthology of African American women writers in Opportunity magazine, (1923-1948). Edited by Judith Musser. Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland & Co., c2008.
Barnard or Butler Stacks: PS647.A35 T43 2008
WorldCat record - Unchained voices: an anthology of Black authors in the English-speaking world of the eighteenth century. Edited by Vincent Carretta. Expanded ed. Lexington, KY: University Press of Kentucky, c2004.
Barnard or Butler Stacks: PR9085 .U55 2004
WorldCat record (1996 ed.) - Within the circle: an anthology of African American literary criticism from the Harlem Renaissance to the present. Edited by Angelyn Mitchell. Durham [N.C.] : Duke University Press, 1994.
Butler Stacks: PS153.N5 W58 1994
WorldCat record - Woza Afrika!: an anthology of South African plays. Selected and edited by Duma Ndlovu; foreword by Wole Soyinka; preface by Amiri Baraka. New York: G. Braziller, 1986.
Butler Stacks: PR9366.6 .W69 1986
WorldCat record - Writing Black Britain, 1948-1998: an interdisciplinary anthology. Edited by James Procter.
Manchester, UK: Manchester University Press; New York: Distributed by St. Martin's Press, 2000.
Butler Stacks: PR1110.B5 W75 2000
WorldCat record
Other Columbia Guides To Library & Internet Resources
Bibliography of resources compiled by Dr. Yuusuf S. Caruso, African Studies Librarian. Last updated 4/25/2011.