Artists from Latin American cultures : a biographical dictionary [Print]
Westport, Conn. ; London : Greenwood Press, 2002

Artists from Latin American cultures : a biographical dictionary [Print]
Westport, Conn. ; London : Greenwood Press, 2002
Bibliografía novohispana de arte [Print]
México, D.F., México : Fondo de Cultura Económica, 1988-
Dicionário das artes plásticas no Brasil [Print]
Rio de Janeiro] Civilização Brasileira [1969]

Dicionário de artistas plásticos brasileiros [Print]
São Paulo, SP : Cury Arte Brasil, 2005.

Encyclopedia of Latin American & Caribbean art [Print]
London : Macmillan Reference, New York : Grove's Dictionaries, 2000.

Oxford Art Online is the access point for:

A comprehensive reference book to the lives and works of artists and architects of the 19th and 20th centuries in Latin America (Mexico, Central America, South America) and the Caribbean. Entries include biographical information, stylistic notes, bibliographies, exhibitions, and museum collections.
Latin American Art: Selected Sources (UT-Austin)
As published in BiblioNoticias No. 94, March 1998>

Latin American artists of the twentieth century [Print]
"Published on the occasion of the exhibition, "Latin American Artists of the Twentieth Century," organized by Waldo Rasmussen, Director, International Program, The Museum of Modern Art, New York, June 6-September 7, 1993"

Latin American women artists, Kahlo and look who else : a selective, annotated bibliography [Print]
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1996

Buenos Aires, Argentina: Banco Velox, 1999

Repertorio de artistas en México : artes plásticas y decorativas [Print]
3 volumes. [México]: Grupo Financiero Bancomer, 1995-1997.

St. James guide to Hispanic artists : profiles of Latino and Latin American artists [Print]
Detroit, MI. : St. James Press, c2002
Library Catalogs
CLIO
Columbia's catalog.
Arcade (New York Art Resources Consortium, NYARC)
Library catalog of the Frick Art Reference Library, the Brooklyn Museum Library and the Museum of Modern Art Library.
WorldCat
A catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide. Identify and request materials not in CLIO or BorrowDirect.
Borrow Direct
Borrow books from Borrow Direct member libraries.
Call Number Ranges for Latin American Fine Arts (PDF)
An exhaustive breakdown of the Avery and the LC call numbers for Latin American Fine Arts, useful for identifying artists and art movements by country.
Using Keywords
Start your initial searching with a a few basic concepts:
"concrete art" brazil?
mural? mexic? art?
Subject Headings
Knowing the correct Library of Congress Subject Heading can greatly improve your results. Here are some possible headings to help you improve, expand or narrow or search. To use them, do a search in CLIO, WorldCat, or HLAS Online. To identify others, begin with a keyword search and look at the Subjects listed in the catalog records of your search results.

A bibliographic database that provides indexing and abstracts for academic journals, magazines and trade publications with full text for many periodicals and books, as well as selective coverage for a number of other publications. An image collection is also available.

Indexes, abstracts and full-text from international periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. Areas covered include archaeology, architecture, art, film, humanities, marketing, motion pictures and photography. Offers full text plus abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications. Areas covered include advertising art, antiques, archaeology, architecture and architectural history, art history, computers in art, crafts, decorative arts, fashion design, folk art, graphic arts, industrial design, Interior design, landscape architecture, motion pictures, museology, non-Western art, painting, photography, pottery, sculpture, television, textiles, video.

Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art dating from the late 19th century onwards, and including photography since its invention. It includes abstracts of English and foreign-language material on famous and lesser-known artists, movements, and trends. Coverage includes performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theatre arts, conservation, crafts, ceramic and glass art, ethnic arts, graphic and museum design, fashion, and calligraphy, as well as traditional media including illustration, painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing. Entries date back as far as the late 1960s.
Art History (Avery Library): Resources For Research
Research guide with additional article databases and other resources.

Handbook of Latin American Studies
An annotated, authoritative bibliography on Latin America since 1936, HLAS is edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress. Covers books and published reports in addition to journal articles. The tables of contents from print volume 50 (1990) to the present may be browsed.

HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index)
Information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Index to citations from over 500 Latin American studies journal with some links to full-text articles. Coverage: 1970 to the present.

Arqueología mexicana [Print]
México, D.F. : Editorial Raíces, 1993-. Website

Arquine : revista internacional de arquitectura = international architecture magazine. [Print]
Website [Select content available]
México : Arquine S.A. de C.V. (1997-) Avery AB Ar6658
Contemporary Latin American architecture, particular emphasis on Mexico.

Art Libraries Journal [Print]
Vol. 37/4 2012 is a Special issue: Resources for Latin American Art. This issue includes details on art resources in New York City.

Published since 1980, Arte al Dia International is a magazine focused on the promotion of contemporary Latin American art. Full Text Online available 2001 -

Artecontexto [Online]

Artes de Mexico. México, D.F. : Artes de México. (1988-) [Print]
Fine Arts N9 Ar84
Primarily pictorial Mexican art magazine, historical and contemporary.

Projeto/design [print]
São Paulo, SP : Arco Editorial

Summa⁺ [Print]
Buenos Aires : Donn S.A., 1993-

ARTstor [online]
ARTstor is a searchable database of digital images that cover many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women's studies, as well as many other forms of visual culture. Users can search, view, download and organize images.

ICAA Documents of 20th-century Latin American and Latino Art
Provides access to primary sources and critical documents tracing the development of twentieth-century art in Latin America and among Latino populations in the United States. Countries featured in the first phase of this multiyear project include Argentina, Brazil, Colombia, Chile, Mexico, Peru, Puerto Rico, Venezuela, and Latino USA.

LatinAmericanArt.com provides relevant news, information on artists, museums, galleries, and auction houses.

Annual art fair in Miami.
Howard Karno Books: Resources on Latin American Art
An important bookdealer of Latin American art publications, Karno Books offers here a list of links to resources on Latin American art.
Columbia University
Arcade / New York Art Resources Consortium
Shared library catalogs of the Museum of Modern Art Library, the Frick Art Reference Library and the Brooklyn Museum of Art Libraries and Archives.
Brooklyn Museum: Libraries and Archives
The Hispanic Society of America: Library
Institute of Fine Arts (New York University)
Metropolitan Museum of Art: Library (Thomas J. Watson)

224 Avery, M.C. 0301
1172 Amsterdam Avenue
New York, NY 10027

225 Avery, M.C. 0301
1172 Amsterdam Avenue
New York, NY 10027

309 Lehman Library
(International Affairs Building)
420 West 118th St.
New York, NY 10027 USA