Country Profiles


Digital Reference Resources

Cambridge History of Latin America

Cambridge History of Latin America [Online]

Authoritative, multi-volume history published originally from 1984-2008.

Also available in print.


Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture [Online]

Second edition (2008) of this authoritative, specialized encyclopedia. Completely searchable full-text reference source.


Europa World Plus Home Screen

Europa World Plus [Online]

Economic, political, historical, and geographic profiles of countries and global regions. Contact information for political, business, media, and cultural agencies and officials, including international organizations.


file

Oxford Handbook of Mexican Politics [Online]

Edited by Roderic Ai Camp. Online edition of this 2012 publication. Part of the Oxford Handbooks Online database.


Political Handbook of the World Cover

Political Handbook of the World [Online]

Contains entries on countries and territories around the world. It covers each country's political parties and includes names of key ambassadors, international memberships, and profiles intergovernmental organizations.


World Factbook (CIA)

The World Factbook [Online]

A reference resource produced by the Central Intelligence Agency of the United States with almanac-style information about the countries of the world.


Perry-CastaƱeda Library Map Collection: Maps of the America

Digital maps from the collection of the University of Texas-Austin.

Analysis

file

EIU (Economist Intelligence Unit)

Country Reports and Profiles produced by the same company that publishes the Economist weekly magazine. Online archive of these weekly, monthly and annual reports.


CountryWatch logo

CountryWatch

Political & Economic Intelligence, Analysis, Forecasts & News Across the Globe.


Cuba On-Line

(University of Miami)
A full-text, searchable database that contains current economic, demographic, political, historical and business information on Cuba.


ISI Emerging Markets

Full-text sources from and about Latin America, including government publications, news, political, economic and financial sources.


file

LANIC: Country Directory

LANIC's mission is to facilitate access to Internet-based information to, from, or on Latin America. Edited at the University of Texas-Austin.


file

OECD Economic Surveys

In-depth reviews of Member countries' economies and selected non-Member countries.

News

file

Latin American Newsletters

Daily and weekly political, economic, regional, and security reports in English and Spanish. Archives from 1960s - present. 


file

NACLA Report on the Americas

Magazine on domestic developments in Latin America and the Caribbean and their relations with the United States. Issued 5x yearly.


file

NACLA Digital Archive

North American Congress on Latin America's Report on the Americas. A biweekly source of analysis and news on Latin American Affairs.

file

LADB: Latin America Data Base

Archive of news digests covering Latin American countries from 1985 to the present.  Articles cite original sources in Latin American newspapers, so you can use this database to identify articles in the Latin American press. You must specify beginning and end dates for searches.


file

Information Services Latin America

ISLA assembles news from major sources and organizes stories by country.


Research Guide with additional resources for News from and about Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain and Portugal: 

Using Subject Headings

Knowing the correct Library of Congress Subject Heading can greatly improve your results. Here are some possible headings to help you improve, expand or narrow or search. To use them, do a "Subject" search in CLIO, WorldCat, or HLAS Online.

Sustainable Agriculture - country

Sustainable Development - Caribbean Area

Sustainable Development - Latin America

Sustainable Development - country

Economic Development - South America

Environmental policy - country

Environmental protection - country

country - Economic conditions

country - Politics and government

Latin America - Social policy

Additional Guides

International Affairs Resources
(Digital Social Science Center, Columbia University Libraries)

Sustainability Research Guide
(Lehman Social Sciences Library, Columbia University Libraries)

Latin American and Iberian Studies Librarian

Librarian for this subject
Sean Knowlton
Sean.Knowlton@Columbia.edu

212-854-1679

309 Lehman Library
(International Affairs Building)
420 West 118th St.
New York, NY 10027 USA