This is a selective guide to resources for Latin American and Spanish film available at Columbia University Libraries. The guide includes library locations and call numbers, but please consult CLIO for the most current holdings information. Items in Reference and the Latin American Studies Reading Room (Butler 503) do not circulate.
Film Studies
Resources marked with this symbol are restricted to Columbia affiliates.
Databases For Finding Articles & Reviews
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Plus
Includes citations and full text of many foremost academic and popular film journals.
Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text
[includes popular magazines and academic journals]
Film Literature Index
Online version covers 1976-2001 [print edition,Butler Reference, 301 Butler. Covers 1973-2004.]
International index to the performing arts
Art & Humanities Citation Index, AHCI
Dialnet
Tables of Contents and some Full-text of Spanish and some Latin American journals.
HAPI Online- Hispanic American Periodicals Index
Covers over 400 journals published in or about Latin America.
Humanities Full Text Index
Citations 1984 – present; Full text 1995-present
MLA International Bibliography
Main database for articles about modern languages and literature. Includes film studies.
Dictionaries & Biographical Sources
General Sources
Film Index International
"Person Search" allows you to look for biographical information.
Film Language Glossary
Columbia Center for New Media, Teaching and Learning
The Film Studies Dictionary
Steve Blandford, Barry Keith Grant, Jim Hillier.
New York:Oxford University Press, 2001.
Milstein Study, 209 Butler PN1993.45 .B53 2001g
The New Biographical Dictionary of Film
David Thomson. 4th Ed. New York : A.A. Knopf, 2002.
Some coverage of Latin American and Spanish personalities.
Butler Reference, 301 Butler R040.08092 T38c
International dictionary of films and filmmakers [eBook]
4th edition. / editors, Tom Pendergast, Sara Pendergast. Detroit : St. James Press, c2000.
Butler Reference Desk, 301 Butler R016.80922 In8411, vols. 1-4.
Women film directors : an international bio-critical dictionary
Gwendolyn Audrey Foster.
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1995.
Butler Reference, 301 Butler R041.080922 F813
Latin America
Astros e estrelas do cinema Brasileiro
Antonio Leão da Silva Neto.
São Paulo : Imprensa Oficial do Estado de São Paulo, 2010.
Butler Stacks PN1998.2 .S528 2010g
Diccionario de actores del cine argentino, 1933-1999
por Roberto Blanco Pazos y Raúl Clemente. Buenos Aires : Corregidor, c1999.
Butler Reference, 301 Butler R047.1 B59
Diccionario de actrices del cine argentino, 1933-1997
Roberto Blanco Pazos, Raúl Clemente. Buenos Aires : Corregidor, 1997.
Offsite PN1998.2 .B58 1997
Diccionario de directores del cine argentino : de comienzos del sonoro a nuestros días
Adolfo C. Martínez.
Buenos Aires: Corregidor, c2004.
Butler Stacks PN1998.2 .M37 2004g
Diccionario de directores del cine mexicano
[dirección] Perla Ciuk.
México, D.F.: CONACULTA : Cineteca Nacional, [c2000]
Butler Reference, 301 Butler R041.208 D54
Diccionario del cine iberoamericano : España, Portugal y América
Editor y coordinador: Emilio Casares Rodicio ; directores de España, Carlos F. Heredero, Eduardo Rodríguez Merchán ; director de América, Iván Giroud ; director de Portugal, João Bénard da Costa ; subdirector de España, José Enrique Monterde.
Madrid : SGAE, Sociedad General de Autores y Editores : Fundación Autor, 2011-
Latin American Studies Read Rm, 503 Butler (Non-Circulating), PN1993.45 .D5 2011g
Diccionario del cine mexicano, 1970-2000
Mario A. Quezada, compilador.
México, D.F. : Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, 2005.
Butler Reference, 301 Butler R809.22 D547
Latin American Studies Read Rm, 503 Butler (Non-Circulating) PN1993.5.M6 D53 2005
Directory of Spanish and Portuguese film-makers and films
Compiled and edited by Rafael de España.
Trowbridge, Wiltshire, England : Flicks Books, 1994.
Butler Reference, 301 Butler (Non-Circulating) R809.22 Es61
Quién es quién en el teatro y el cine español e hispanoamericano
Centro de Investigaciones Literarias Españolas e Hispanoamericanas.
Barcelona: C.I.L.E.H., c1990.
Butler Reference, 301 Butler R046 Q4, vols. 1-2.
Spain
Diccionario del cine español / Academia de las Artes y las Ciencias Cinematográficas de España. Madrid : Alianza Editorial : Sociedad General de Autores y Editores : Fundación Autor, c1998.
Butler Reference, 301 Butler R809.22 D547
Diccionario Espasa cine español / Augusto M. Torres. Madrid : Espasa, 1999.
Butler Reference, 301 Butler R809.22 T63
Guide to the cinema of Spain / Marvin D’Lugo. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1997.
Butler Reference, 301 Butler R809.22 D64
Encyclopedias
Tip: When consulting theses sources look under entries for cinema, film, and names of individual directors, actors etc.
The Cambridge companion to modern Spanish culture [eBook]
Edited by David T. Gies. Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 1999.
Butler Stacks DP48 .C233 1999
Enciclopedia del cine español : cronología
Pascual Cebollada, Luis Rubio Gil. Barcelona : Ediciones del Serbal, 1996.
Butler Reference, 301 Butler R809.2246 C32
Encyclopedia of contemporary Latin American and Caribbean cultures
Edited by Daniel Balderston, Mike Gonzalez and Ana M. López.
London ; New York : Routledge, 2000.
Butler Reference, 301 Butler R980 En19, vols. 1-3.
Latin American Studies Reading Room, 503 Butler F1406 .E515 2000, vols. 1-3.
Encyclopedia of Latin American history and culture [Online]
Detroit : Gale/Cengage, c2008
Also print:
Jay Kinsbruner, editor in chief; Erick D. Langer, senior editor. Detroit : Gale/Cengage, c2008
Butler Reference, 301 Butler R980 En192, vols. 1-6
Encyclopedia of modern Mexico
David W. Dent. Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2002.
Latin American Studies Read Rm, 503 Butler F1234 .D364 2002
Lehman Reference F1234 .D364 2002
The film encyclopedia : the most comprehensive encyclopedia of world cinema in a single volume
Ephraim Katz. 5th ed. / revised by Fred Klein and Ronald Dean Nolen. New York : Collins Reference, 2005.
Butler Reference, 301 Butler R038.092 K1592
Mexico : an encyclopedia of contemporary culture and history [eBook]
Don M. Coerver, Suzanne B. Pasztor, and Robert M. Buffington. Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, c2004.
Butler Reference, 301 Butler R972 C651
Latin American Studies Read Rm, 503 Butler F1234 .C67 2004
Filmography & Film Catalogs
Antología crítica del cine español 1906-1995 : flor en la sombra
Julio Pérez Perucha, ed. Madrid : Cátedra, 1997.
Butler Reference, 301 Butler R809.22 An88
Catálogo general del cine de la guerra civil
Edición a cargo de Alfonso del Amo García. Madrid : Cátedra : Filmoteca Española, c1996.
Butler Reference, 301 Butler R809.2246 C28
The Cuban filmography, 1897 through 2001
Alfonso J. García Osuna. Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland & Co., c2003.
Butler Reference, 301 Butler R016.80922 G16
A Guide to Latin American, Caribbean, and U.S. Latino made film and video
Edited by Karen Ranucci and Julie Feldman. Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 1998.
Butler Reference, 301 Butler R809.22 G94
Latin American films, 1932-1994 : a critical filmography
Ronald Schwartz. Jefferson, N.C.:McFarland & Co., 1996.
Butler Reference, 301 Butler R809.22 Sch9
The Mexican filmography : 1916 through 2001
David E. Wilt. Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland & Co., c2004.
Butler Stacks PN1993.5.M4 W55 2004
South American cinema : a critical filmography, 1915-1994
Edited by Timothy Barnard and Peter Rist. New York : Garland Pub., 1996.
Butler Reference, 301 Butler R809.22 So87
See also
Anuario del Cine Español
[2001 - ; lists feature and short films produced each year, directors and producers]
Base de datos de peliculas [Spanish Ministry of Culture]
Background, technical information and synopses of films.
Portal del cine y el audiovisual latinoamericano y caribeño
Gateway to online information about Latin American and Caribbean film, the film industry, festivals, and film research.
Bibliographies
La Bibliografía cinematográfica española : aproximación histórica
Juan Delgado Casado.
Madrid : Arco/Libros, c1993.
Butler Stacks Z5784.M9 D44 1993
Film, an international bibliography
Malte Hagener, Michael Töteberg. Stuttgart : Metzler, 2002.
Butler Reference, 301 Butler R016.80922 H122
Film in Latin America: A Selective Bibliography, 1999. Compiled by Marianne Siegmund. Latin American Information Series No. 7, SALALM.
Film researcher’s handbook: a guide to sources in North America, South America, Asia, Australasia and Africa
Compiled by Jenny Morgan.
London ; New York : Routledge, c1996.
Butler Reference, 301 Butler R061 F4871
Histories of Film
Tip: Do a "Subject" search in CLIO: Motion Pictures country - history
General & Latin American Region
- A companion to Latin American film / Stephen M. Hart. Rochester, NY : Tamesis, 2004.
Butler Stacks PN1993.5.L3 H37 2004 - The cinema of Latin America / edited by Alberto Elena & Marina Díaz López. London ; New York : Wallflower Press, 2003.
Butler Reserves, 208 Butler PN1993.5.L3 C56 2003g
Modern & Comparative Studies Read Rm, 504 Butler PN1993.5.L3 C56 2003g - Hojas de cine : testimonios y documentos del nuevo cine latinoamericano. México, D.F. : Secretaría de Educación pública : Universidad Autónoma Metropolitan: Fundación Mexicana de Cineastas, 1988.
Butler Stacks PN1993.5.L3 H64 1988g, vols. 1-3. - Magical reels : a history of cinema in Latin America / John King. London ; New York : Verso, 2000.
Butler Stacks PN1993.5.L3 K45 2000
Latin American Studies Read Rm, 503 Butler PN1993.5.L3 K45 2000 - New Latin American cinema / edited by Michael T. Martin. Detroit : Wayne State University Press, 1997. v. 1. Theory, practices, and transcontinental articulations -- v. 2. Studies of national cinemas.
Butler Reserves, 208 Butler PN1993.5.L3 N48 1997, vols. 1-2. - The Oxford history of world cinema / edited by Geoffrey Nowell-Smith. Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 1996.
Butler Reference, 301 Butler R809.22 Ox2
Latin American Countries
- Brazilian cinema / [edited by] Randal Johnson and Robert Stam. Rutherford : Fairleigh Dickinson University Press c1982. (ADDING 1995 edition)
Butler Stacks PN1993.5.B6 B7
Butler Reserves, 208 Butler PN1993.5.B6 B7 - Breve historia del cine mexicano : primer siglo, 1897-1997 / Emilio García Riera. México, D.F. : Instituto Mexicano de Cinematografía ; Zapopan, Jalisco : Ediciones Mapa, c1998.
Butler Stacks PN1993.5.M4 G2924 1998g - 100 años de cine en el Perú : una historia crítica / Ricardo Bedoya. Lima, Perú : Universidad de Lima, Instituto de Cooperación Iberoamericana, 1992.
Butler Stacks PN1993.5.P4 B44 1992 - Cuban cinema / Michael Chanan. Minneapolis : University of Minnesota Press, c2004.
Butler Reserves, 208 Butler PN1993.5.C8 C48 2004 - Contemporary Argentine cinema / David William Foster. Columbia: Univ. of Missouri Press, c1992.
Butler Stacks PN1993.5.A7 F6 1992 - Historia del cine argentino / Jorge Miguel Couselo ... [et al.]. Buenos Aires : Centro Editor de América Latina, c1984.
Butler Stacks PN1993.5.A7 H5 1984 - Historia del cine cubano : cien años, 1897-1998 / Eduardo G. Noguer. Miami, Fla. : Ediciones Universal, 2002.
Butler Stacks PN1993.5.C8 N64 2002g - Historia documental del cine mexicano / Emilio García Riera. Guadalajara, Jalisco, México : Universidad de Guadaljara, c1992-
Butler Stacks PN1993.5.M4 G295 1992, vols. 1-18. - Mexican cinema / edited by Paulo Antonio Paranaguá ; translated by Ana M. López. London : British Film Institute, 1995.
Butler Reserves, 208 Butler PN1993.5.M4 C4913 1995g - Panorama histórico del cine en Venezuela, 1896-1993 / José Miguel Acosta ... [et al.]. Caracas : Fundación Cinemateca Nacional, c1997.
Butler Stacks PN1993.5.V4 P36 1997
Spain
- Burning darkness : a half century of Spanish cinema / edited by Joan Ramon Resina. Albany : SUNY Press, c2008.
Butler Stacks PN1993.5.S7 B87 2008 - The cinema of Spain and Portugal / edited by Alberto Mira. London ; New York : Wallflower, 2005.
Butler Reserves, 208 Butler AND Comparative Literature & Society Reading Room, 615 Butler (Non-Circ)
PN1993.5.S7 C525 2005g - Contemporary Spanish cinema / Barry Jordan and Rikki Morgan-Tamosunas. Manchester ; New York : Manchester University Press, 1998.
Butler Stacks and Butler Reserves PN1993.5.S7 J6 1998g - Historia del cine español / José María Caparrós Lera ; prólogo de Rafael Utrea ; apéndice "La censura del cine en España" de Rafael de España. Madrid : T&B, 2007.
Butler Stacks PN1993.5.S7 C334 2007g - Historia del cine español / Román Gubern ... [et al.]. Madrid : Cátedra, c1995.
Butler Stacks PN1993.5.S7 H59 1995 - Spanish cinema : a student’s guide / Barry Jordan and Mark Allinson. London : Hodder Arnold, 2005.
Butler Reserves, 208 Butler PN1993.5.S7 J67 2005g - Spanish national cinema / Núria Triana-Toribio. London ; New York : Routledge, 2003.
Butler Stacks AND Comparative Literature & Society Reading Room, 615 Butler (Non-Circ)
PN1993.5.S7 T76 2003g
News Databases
News Databases also include film reviews.
1. IN RED navigation bar, select General or News search.
2. Choose sources if you wish: US Newspapers and wires; Major U.S. and World publications, etc.
3. Set an appropriate date range. Default settings vary with the type of search you choose
For Spanish/Latin American newspapers
1. Select "News" in the red navigation bar at the top of the page
2. Under "SELECT SOURCES" choose "Spanish Language News, combined" OR "Portuguese Language News"
3. Use keywords in the same language as your sources. [accents and diacritical marks are not necessary]
4. Set an appropriate date range.
ProQuest
Tip: Click on “more search options” and select Reviews-->Film as Document Type
MRQE: Movie Review Query Engine
Finds reviews from a variety of international sources.
New York Times Movie Reviews
Free archive of reviews since 1960; can browse by selected country of origin
El País (Spain)
Tip: Searching all content can be useful. But Select "sólo en la edición impresa" and use drop-down menu to limit search to the Cine section.
Selected Journals
- El Amante Cine (Argentina)
- Butaca : revista del Cine Arte del Centro Cultural de San Marcos (Peru)
- Butaca sanmarquina (Lima, Peru, 1998-2004)
- Cine Cubano [Online edition]
- Festival Internacional del Nuevo Cine Latinoamericano
- Filmhistoria Online (Spain) Includes "dossier" on Latin American film
- Mostra Internacional do Filme Etnográfico : [catálogo] (Brazil)
- Revista de Cinema (Sao Paulo, Brazil)
- Studies in Documentary Film
- Film Criticism [Online edition]
- Film Journal International
- International motion picture almanac
- Variety international film guide
Tips for Searching CLIO
Find Books on Film Studies in Latin America and/or Spain
- Keyword search:
“motion pictures” and “latin america”
“motion pictures” and country
TIP: Add relevant keywords to further refine the search. The GUIDED KEYWORD search in CLIO makes it easier to work with multiple search terms. Subject search:
motion pictures spain
motion pictures country
documentary films
Find Films On Video Or DVD
Restrict your searching to video/DVD items.
- In CLIO use the “QUICK LIMIT” and select “VIDEO RECORDINGS”
- In WorldCat, select the “Visual Materials” option in the LIMIT TYPE area.
IF YOU KNOW the title, director, screenwriter, or principal actors of a film:
- DO a Title search using the movie's name
- DO an Author search using the names of the director/screenwriter/actor
For BROWSING by country or topics:
Keyword search in CLIO: enter country name or topic keywords, or combine a director name and partial title. Select the VIDEO RECORDINGS QUICK LIMIT. This will find BOTH videos and DVDs. To view the most recent films, use the pull-down menu above the results lists to re-sort by date.
Select “PRE-SET Limits” and select Spanish as your language limit. Then do a keyword search on the word “videorecording.” Add more keywords to refine the search, if you wish.
Keyword search in WorldCat
WorldCat is a database with records from libraries throughout the U.S. Enter country name and/or topic keywords and check "visual materials" to limit your search to DVDS/videos. You can set date limits, or you can sort your results by using the "Sort" button on the upper left side of result screen.
Other Guides
Cinema in Latin America (LANIC)
An organized directory of online resources
Film Studies Subject Guide
Barnard College Library
Latin American and Spanish Video on the Internet: a Guide to Web Resources
SUNY Albany Libraries
Butler Media Center Guides:
Motion Pictures/Cinema/Film Print Resources
Features & Shorts (BMC Blog)
Have a Research Question?
Contact Sean Knowlton, Latin American & Iberian Studies Librarian.
Phone: 212-854-1679
Revised 11/14/2012