Cambridge History of Latin America [Online]
Authoritative, multi-volume history published originally from 1984-2008.

Cambridge History of Latin America [Online]
Authoritative, multi-volume history published originally from 1984-2008.

Cambridge Economic History of Latin America [Online]
Volume One includes the colonial and independence eras up to 1850, linking Latin America's economic history to the pre-Hispanic, European, and African background. Volume Two treats the 'long twentieth century' from the onset of modern economic growth to the present.

Cambridge History of the Native Peoples of the Americas [Online]
The first comprehensive survey of the history of the indigenous peoples of the New World. The work's combination of archaeology, anthropology, and history raises new and important questions for scholars in the field, while also promoting a better understanding of Native American history by historians and anthropologists whose main concerns lie elsewhere.

Diccionario biográfico español [Print]
25 volumes published to date (A-H). Real Academia de la Historia. 2009.

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture [Online]
Second edition (2008) of this authoritative, specialized encyclopedia. Completely searchable full-text reference source.

Historical Dictionary of ... [Series]
An ongoing series of historical dictionaries published by Scarecrow Press that provides a concise approach to history by country (or theme). Search CLIO Library Catalog to locate the work on your particular country of interest. Titles available in print and/or digital editions.
You can also search by "Series title":
Knowing the correct Library of Congress Subject Heading can greatly improve your results. Here are some possible headings to help you improve, expand or narrow or search. To use them, do a search in CLIO, WorldCat, or HLAS Online. To identify others, begin with a keyword search and look at the Subjects listed in the catalog records of your search results.
Keywords
Start with a a few basic concepts:
"bay of pigs"
trujillo "dominican republic"
banana? guatemal?
Subject Headings
Use the Subject Headings listed in records you've already identified to improve, expand or narrow your search.
Country -- Subject
country-- History
Region -- Subject
Andes Region -- Religion
Caribbean Area -- History
Latin America -- Discovery and exploration
Mexico -- Economic conditions
South America -- Environmental conditions
Bibliography
country -- Bibliography
Specific Topics of Research
Banana Trade -- Caribbean Area
Cuba -- History -- Invasion, 1961
Miscegenation -- Latin America
Trujillo Molina, Rafael Leónidas, 1891-1961
Slavery -- Cuba

Handbook of Latin American Studies
HLAS Online (Coverage: 1936 - present)
HLAS WEB (Coverage: 1990 - present)
An annotated, authoritative bibliography on Latin America since 1936, HLAS is edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress. Covers books and published reports in addition to journal articles. The tables of contents from print volume 50 (1990) to the present may be browsed.

HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index)
Information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Index to citations from over 500 Latin American studies journal with some links to full-text articles. Coverage: 1970 to the present.

Historical Abstracts with Full Text [Online]
Citations and abstracts for publications related to world history, excluding the U.S. and Canada, from 1450 to the present.

CLASE indexes documents published in Latin American journals specializing in the social sciences and humanities. PERIODICA covers journals specializing in science and technology. Produced by National Autonomous University of Mexico (UNAM). Covers all countries of Latin America.
Coverage: 1975 to present.

Indexes thousands of journals (millions of articles), mostly published in Spain. Covers all subject areas, including works about Latin America. Also includes some full-text theses from Spanish universities.
A primary source is a document or record that allows the researcher to get as close as possible to the historical event or period being studied. (Definition courtesy of UC-Berkeley Library) It is usually a product of the historical era or environment that you are researching. For example, if you are studying the Mexican Revolution, articles published in magazines or newspapers at that time, diaries, personal accounts, and government records would all be considered primary sources. Records of organizations and movements and speeches are other examples of primary sources. Literary texts and manuscripts, music sound recordings, photographs, film and video can also serve as primary sources for certain topics.
Primary sources may be published (government documents, newspapers, journals and magazines) or unpublished (manuscripts, letters etc). Both published and unpublished sources may be in their original form, or they might be reproduced in books, or as microfilm or microfiche, or in digital versions. Many digitized materials are available online and reprinted books and microfilm/fiche may be available via Borrow Direct or Interlibrary loan. Fragile, rare, and original copies of sources generally do not circulate beyond the libraries or archives where they are held.
Finding Primary Sources - Library of Congress Subject Headings (MIT Libraries)

Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection : Series 1
A vast digital collection of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture. "Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project" -- from which the collections draws its content, is the largest national project ever to locate, preserve and disseminate Hispanic culture of the United States in its written form from colonial times until 1960.

Biblioteca Digital Hispánica (Biblioteca Nacional de España)
Digitized texts, collections, and images from the collections of the Biblioteca Nacional de España.

La Biblioteca Digital Mexicana, BDMx, es una plataforma digital multi-institucional: El Archivo General de la Nación, La Biblioteca Nacional de Antropología e Historia (INAH), el Centro de Estudios de Historia de México CEHM- Carso, y el Consejo Nacional para la Cultura y las Artes.

Biblioteca Virtual del Patrimonio Bibliográfico (Spain)
Digitized manuscripts and rare books held in Spanish libraries and archives.

Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de Cervantes
Extensive site offering links to full-text collections of major literary authors and historical works
Colecciones Mexicanas (UNAM)
Colecciones Mexicanas es un proyecto que nace con la finalidad de difundir y preservar acervos documentales, fotográficos, videográficos, bibliográficos y hemerográficos sobre la historia de México. Buscamos que las colecciones aquí incluidas sean de relevancia para estudiantes, académicos, investigadores o cualquier interesado en conocer y ampliar su cultura sobre la historia de México

Digital National Security Archive
Collection of declassified US government documents covering United States' foreign relations with Latin American countries and other international affairs in the second half of the 20th century. Columbia also owns several sets of NSA document collections on microform. Consult Guide to Latin American & Iberian Microforms or search CLIO by the collection title.

Arquivos produzidos pela “comunidade de informações” e pela Resistência à ditadura Militar no Brasil (de 1964 à 1985), quando imperaram no país a censura, violação dos direitos políticos, prisões, tortura e mortes.

dLOC: Digital Library of the Caribbean
A cooperative of partners within the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean, dLOC provides users with access to Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials held in archives, libraries, and private collections.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
A comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century microfilm set, which has sought to include every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800. Best for English-speaking Caribbean.

Early Encounters in North America: peoples, cultures and the environment
Provides access to letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts concerning events that took place in North America between 1534 and 1860. The focus of the database is on description, travel, and accounts of interactions among various cultural groups.

European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 [Online]
It is a valuable index for libraries, scholars and individuals interested in European works that relate to the Americas.

Feminism in Cuba: Nineteenth through Twentieth Century Archival Documents [Online]
Works by feminists about feminists and their causes, works by men on the status of women, and literary works by feminist writers. From Cuban sources, mostly in Spanish. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1898-1958.

The Making of the Modern World: the Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature, 1450-1850
This collection documents dynamics of Western trade, economies, and wealth. Includes facsimiles of rare books and primary source materials such as political pamphlets and broadsides, government publications, proclamations, and a wide range of ephemera.

Foreign Relations between Latin America and the Caribbean States, 1930-1944 [Online]
Organized by country, this collection covers a wide range of viewpoints on political, social, and economic issues. It sheds light on the foreign relations interactions between Central American and South American countries. In the Caribbean, Cuba, Haiti, and the Dominican Republic are represented. This collection includes cables, memoranda, correspondence, reports and analyzes, and treaties.
Guide to Latin America & Iberian Microform Collections
(Columbia University Libraries)
Focuses on collections of documents (i.e. not individual books) that have been microfilmed for preservation purposes.

Latin American Pamphlet Digital Collection (Harvard University)
Harvard's collections of more than 5,000 scarce and unique 19th century Latin American pamphlets contain political and social commentary.

Latin American Travelogues (Brown University)
The goal of this project is to create a digital collection of Latin American travel accounts written in the 16th-19th centuries.

Portal de Archivos Españoles (PARES)
PARES ofrece un acceso libre y gratuito a los documentos con imágenes digitalizadas de los Archivos Españoles.

"Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. With over 6 million pages from 29,000 works, this collection is a cornerstone in the study of the western hemisphere."

Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice 1490-2007 [Online]
This digital collection documents key aspects of the history of slavery worldwide over six centuries, with 16 key areas of focus: slavery in the early Americas; African coast; the Middle Passage; slavery and agriculture; urban and domestic slavery; slave testimony; spiritualism and religion in slave communities; resistance and revolts; the Underground Railroad; the abolition movement and the slavery debate; legislation and politics; freed slaves, freedmen and free black settlements; education; slavery and the Islamic world; varieties of slave experience; slavery today and the legacy of slavery. The collection also includes case studies from America, the Caribbean, Brazil, and Cuba.

Slavery & Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive
Full-text documents from the United States, Europe, Latin America and the Caribbean. Includes books, pamphlets, newspapers, periodicals, and manuscripts. Currently contains Part 1, "Debates over Slavery and Abolition." Parts 2-4 are scheduled for release between 2011 and 2013.

The World Digital Library makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.

309 Lehman Library
(International Affairs Building)
420 West 118th St.
New York, NY 10027 USA