Online catalogs and select databases provide the most direct means of locating books and other published materials (with the exception of journal articles) on your topic. Start with Columbia's online catalog, CLIO.
Online catalogs and select databases provide the most direct means of locating books and other published materials (with the exception of journal articles) on your topic. Start with Columbia's online catalog, CLIO.
The online catalog for Columbia, Barnard, and Union Theological Seminary Libraries, it contains records for materials added since 1981 and many materials acquired before that date.
WorldCat contains records of books and other published and archival materials held in libraries throughout the United States and in selected international libraries. It is an invaluable tool for identifying materials not at Columbia and for verifying bibliographic information. Advanced search allows you to limit by publication year(s), language, formats, and more.
All materials located in the CRL catalog are available through interlibrary loan (ILL) for Columbia affiliates. CRL maintains an impressive collection of foreign language newspapers in print and on microfilm, both historical and current.
Biblioteca Nacional de Portugal
The Hispanic Society of America (New York City)
Reference library for the study of the arts and cultures of Spain, Portugal, and Latin America.
Ibero-American Institute (Berlin)
The largest specialized European library on the Caribbean, Latin America, Spain and Portugal.
LANIC (UT-Austin)
MaRLI (Manhattan Research Library Initiative)
New York University Libraries: Research Guides: Latin American Studies
Online catalog of materials held in various libraries and centers in Central America, including Mexico, Guatemala, El Salvador, Honduras, Nicaragua, Costa Rica, and Panama.
Libraries and Archives (Iberian Studies in SALALM)
Directory of Iberian libraries and archives.
Archival Collections Portal (Columbia University Libraries)
Archivo General de Indias (Seville, Spain)
Archivo General de la Nacion (Mexico)
Directorio Web de Archivos Iberoamericanos
A directory of links to Latin American archives.
Specializes in pre-1825 books from and about the Americas.
Checklist of holdings relating to Saint-Domingue and the Haitian Revolution, 1735-1834
Latin American & Iberian Literary Manuscripts (LANE)
Union list of collections at several northeastern universities.
LANIC: Archives (UT-Austin)
Directory of archives and archival resources on and in Latin America and the Caribbean. Also includes archives of diaspora communities.
Library of Congress Hispanic Reading Room
PARES: Portal de Archivos Españoles
Princeton University Library Primary Sources & Special Collections
Deep collections of Latin American literary manuscripts.
Stanford University Latin American & Iberian Collections
University of Florida: Rare Books and Manuscripts (Latin American holdings)
University of California-Berkeley, Bancroft Library: Latin Americana
University of Texas-Austin: Benson Archival Collections (Latin Americana)
Yale University: Archival and Manuscript Materials (Latin American Collection)
BorrowDirect books only
If the book you need is not available at Columbia, request it from the collections of Brown, Cornell, Dartmouth, the University of Pennsylvania, Princeton or Yale. This service does NOT allow you to request journal articles.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Request books or articles not at Columbia and monitor your requests online. Click on the "Request It" link anywhere on the Columbia University Libraries' website to navigate to the ILL request form. Or use the E-Link feature from databases or catalogs (such as WorldCat) to link to an auto-filled ILL form.
Have a Research Question?
Contact Sean Knowlton, Latin American & Iberian Studies Librarian.
Phone: 212-854-1679
Revised 10/13/2012