Primary Sources


A primary source is a document or record that allows the researcher to get as close as possible to the historical event or period being studied.  (Definition courtesy of UC-Berkeley Library) It is usually a product of the historical era or environment that you are researching. For example, if you are studying the Mexican Revolution, articles published in magazines or newspapers at that time, diaries, personal accounts, and government records would all be considered primary sources. Records of organizations and movements and speeches are other examples of primary sources. Literary texts and manuscripts, music sound recordings, photographs, film and video can also serve as  primary sources for certain topics.

Primary sources may be published (government documents, newspapers, journals and magazines) or unpublished (manuscripts, letters etc). Both published and unpublished sources may be in their original form, or they might be reproduced in books, or as microfilm or microfiche, or in digital versions. Many digitized materials are available online and reprinted books and microfilm/fiche may be available via Interlibrary loan. Fragile, rare, and original copies of sources generally do not circulate beyond the libraries or archives where they are held.

Finding Primary Sources - Library of Congress Subject Headings (MIT Libraries)


Library Catalogs

Archival Collections Portal (Columbia University Libraries)

CLIO 

The Online Catalog for Columbia, Barnard, and Union Theological Seminary Libraries.  Many primary sources are cataloged as part of library collections. See CLIO's help guide to Archives and Manuscripts

WorldCat

This "world catalog" contains information on books and other published and archival materials held in libraries throughout the United States and in selected libraries abroad. Limit by date and format, among others. While rare and archival materials in their original form usually don’t circulate, microfilmed or reprinted materials may be readily accessible through Interlibrary Loan.

Archives (LANIC)

A directory of links to archives in the United States, the Caribbean and Latin America.

Portal de Archivos Españoles (PARES)

PARES ofrece un acceso libre y gratuito a los documentos con imágenes digitalizadas de los Archivos Españoles.

Specialized Guides

Guide to Latin America & Iberian Microform Collections (Columbia University Libraries)

Focuses on collections of documents (i.e. not individual books) that have been microfilmed for preservation purposes.

Archival and Manuscript Guides

Many collections publish guides to their holdings, and this guide list those for some major collections. Tip: You can also search for published guides in CLIO or in WorldCat, using the archive or collection’s name as a keyword or author search.

Libraries and Archives Research Guide (Columbia University Libraries, Latin American & Iberian Studies)


Have a Research Question?
Contact Sean Knowlton, Latin American & Iberian Studies Librarian.
Phone: 212-854-1679
 Revised 10/13/2012