Statistics and Data


Databases

Europa World Plus
Economic, political, historical, and geographic profiles of 250+ countries and global regions.

EIU (Economist Intelligence Unit)
Country Reports and Profiles produced by the same company that publishes the Economist weekly magazine. Online archive of these weekly, monthly and annual reports.

Inter-American Development Bank: Statistics and Databases
Established in 1959, IDB is the largest source of development financing for Latin America.

International Monetary Fund: Data and Statistics

ISI Emerging Markets
Full-text sources from and about Latin America, including government publications, news, political, economic and financial sources.

United Nations

Economic Commission for Latin America
(ECLAC): Statistical Information

Comisión Económica para América Latina
(CEPAL): Información estadística

Statistical Yearbook for Latin America and the Caribbean / Anuario Estadístico

USAID
Development Statistics for Latin America and the Caribbean

World Bank
Data and Research

National Statistical Agencies

Public Opinion

file

Latin American Public Opinion Project (LAPOP)

Datasets of surveys of democratic public opinion and behavior in the Americas using national probability samples of voting-age adults. Also known as AmericasBarometer. (Vanderbilt University)

AmericasBarometer Surveys (Login via IP authentication)


file

Latinobarómetro

An annual public opinion survey in 18 Latin American countries.


file

Polling the Nations

A database of polls taken on a variety of subjects all over the world from 1986 to the present.

Internet Resources

Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC): Statistics

Latin American Election Statistics: A Guide to Sources

Latin America: Statistics (International Energy Agency)

Latin American Electronic Data Archive (LAEDA)

Hispanic Origin (US Census Bureau)

Centro Centroamericano de Población

Montevideo-Oxford Latin American Economic History Database
Its purpose is to provide economic and social historians worldwide with a systematic collection of available statistical information in a single on-line source.

Mapa da violencia (CEBELA / FLACSO Brasil)
Statistical source on violence and race in Brazil.

Subject Headings

Knowing the correct subject headings can greatly improve your results when searching in CLIO or WorldCat. Here are some possible headings to help you improve, expand, or narrow your search. Or, simply add terms like "statistics" and "census" to your keyword searches.

[country name] - statistics

[country name] - statistics, vital

[country name] - census

Cuba--Economic conditions--1959-1990--Statistics

 

Print Resources

International Historical Statistics. Americas 1750-2005

The latest edition of an authoritative collection of statistics. Updated to 2004 wherever possible, it provides key economic and social indicators for the last 254 years for countries on the American continent, serving as an essential reference source for both hard-to-find historical data and the latest figures available, and as a tool for comparisons between countries and across time.

Statistical Abstract of Latin America

The annual Statistical Abstract of Latin America (SALA) published (up to 2002) current reliable statistics on the societies, economies, and politics of Latin America and guides users to additional quantitative publications and statistical sources on the region. Also explore Supplementary titles cataloged separately.

General Statistical Sources

General Statistical Sources: International Statistics
(Columbia University Libraries Research Guide)

Latin American and Iberian Studies Librarian

Librarian for this subject
Sean Knowlton
Sean.Knowlton@Columbia.edu

212-854-1679

309 Lehman Library
(International Affairs Building)
420 West 118th St.
New York, NY 10027 USA