Career Resources in the Social Sciences
Resources marked with this symbol are restricted to Columbia affiliates.
Anthropology
- Careers in Anthropology
Compiled by the American Anthropological Association, with numerous listings and links. - The Chronicle of Higher Education Career Network: Jobs: Social Sciences
- Omohundro, John T.
Careers in Anthropology.
Mountain View, Calif. : Mayfield Pub. Co., c1998.
Call Number: GN41.8 .O56 1998 (copies available in multiple locations)
International Affairs
- Cantrell, Will.
How to Find an Overseas Job with the U.S. Government: a Complete & Comprehensive Guide.
Oakton, VA : Worldwise Books, c1992.
Call Number: HF5549.5 .E45 C336 1992 - Careers in International Affairs.
Washington, D.C. : Georgetown University Press, 1996.
Call Number: JZ1238 .U6 C37 2008 - The Chronicle of Higher Education Career Network: Jobs: Political Science and International Relations
- Council on Foreign Relations
Career Opportunities at the Council on Foreign Relations, in NYC & DC. - Directory of American Firms Operating In Foreign Countries. Annual.
New York, Simon & Schuster, 1955-
Call Number: HG4538 .D62
Political Science
- The Chronicle of Higher Education Career Network: Jobs: Political Science and International Relations
- Political Science Job Resources
Joblist compiled by the American Political Science Association
Public Administration
- Boyce, Charles and Ralph Gakenheimer, Eds.
Career Opportunities for American Planners in International Development.
New York, NY: International Division, American Planning Association, Institute of Public Administration, 1994.
Call Number: HD87.55 .C67 1994g - Careers in Public Administration
Job listings from the American Society of Public Administration = government, nonprofit, and university. - Job Openings In State Legislatures
Job listings from the National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL)
Sociology
General Resources
- Academic Employment Network
Lists available positions in colleges, primary and secondary educational institutions for faculty, staff, and administrative professionals. - Accredited Online Colleges
A finding aid for accredited online colleges around the US. - Bolles, Richard Nelson.
What Color Is Your Parachute?
Berkeley, Calif. : Ten Speed Press, 1971-
Call Number: HF5382.7 .B64 (copies available in multiple locations)
JobHuntersBible.com: an online supplement to the book series - America's Career InfoNet
Provided by the U.S. Dept. of Labor, Career InfoNet is strong on wage and employment trends, occupational requirements, state-by-state labor market conditions, and a career resource library. - Career Development eManual
A guide to career and life planning, aimed at the graduating student, from the University of Waterloo Career Services. - Career Magazine
A muiltifacted resource for both employees and employers, it provides a resume bank, job listings, feature articles & columns, and special sections directed toward the college student, internships, and job hunting tools. - CareerCity:Cutting Edge Careers
"CareerCity is specifically designed for those technical and professional people who are seeking the most demanding and challenging positions available today in their chosen field." A unique feature is interactive interview that assist in the decision-making process. - CareerBuilder.com
CareerBuilder alows you to search employment ads from U.S. newspapers, search job postings which have been gathered from employers' web sites, and post your resume. Additionally, there are company profiles on featured employers and a host of career resources. - CTI Career Search
Contains extensive, unique career information including: Career Stories, Daily news summaries and feature articles, Interviews with 25 career directors from colleges and universities, and more. - Careerjet.com
Careerjet is an employment search engine for the USA. It allows you to search forf jobs listed on company sites as well as jobsites in one go. - The Chronicle of Higher Education Career Network: Jobs: Social/Behavioral Sciences
- Careers in National Defense
- Columbia University Center for Career Education
Helps students and alumni develop the key competencies necessary to make informed decisions and take the necessary steps to achieve their career goals.
- Directory of American Firms Operating In Foreign Countries. Annual.
New York, Simon & Schuster, 1955-
Call Number: HG4538 .D62 - Environmental Careers Organization (ECO)
ECO's mission is to protect and enhance the environment through the develoment of professionals, the promotion of careers, and the inspiration of individual action. - Freelance Jobs
Search for jobs and find freelance positions. as well as create an online profile and resume that potential employers can review.
- H-Net Job Guide for the Humanities and Social Sciences
Links to postings for mostly academic openings in all disciplines of the humanities & social sciences. - JobStar
Help with resumes and career guidance, but also links to over 300 salary surveys, in various career fields. - Monster.com
Search for jobs, research companies, upload a resume, look for career advice, join a chat group. - The Nonprofit Career Center
The aim here is to provide you with the best resources on the Web for starting a career or getting a better job in the nonprofit sector, worldwide. Includes information on jobs, internships, and fellowships. - Occupational Outlook Handbook.
Washington, D.C. : U.S. Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics.
Call Number: HD8051 .A62 (copies available in multiple locations)
Detailed descriptions of over 250 professions, including employment forecasts for the next several years and salary guides. - Overseas Jobs Express
Search a database of international job openings, send your resume to international recruiters, or look at their guide to over 700 career, employment, job and recruiter sites in 42 countries. - The Riley Guide: Employment Opportunities and Job Resources on the Internet
Named Best Guide to Job-Hunting Sites by Yahoo! Internet Life Top '98 of the Net for 1998. - USAJobs
The U.S. Government's official site for jobs and employment information provided by the United States Office of Personnel Management. - WetFeet.com
Beside career advice and the opportunity to purchase a variety of career-oriented books, the strength of WetFeet.com is its offerings of detailed employment information about over three dozen industries and hundreds of companies. - Office of Career Services, School of International and Public Affairs
Preparing a Resume
- 101 Great ResumesProvides examples of situational and occupational resumes.
- Guide to Resume Writing, from JobWeb
A brief, step-by-step guide, with a sample resume with links to the various content areas. - Resumes for College Students and Recent Graduates
Provides information on crafting resumes and cover letters.
- Yahoo! Resumes
Conduct a search on Yahoo! for online resume information.