Online Catalogs | Background Information | Books & Journal Articles | Directories
Periodic and Annual Reviews | Statistics & Data | Nongovernmental Organizations (NGOs)
Intergovernmental Organizations (NGOs) | US & NY Immigration Information Sources | Related Resources & Guides
Population, Migration and Refugee Studies: Information Resources
This is a selective guide to resources at Columbia University Libraries and on the Internet, for conducting research in Population, Migration and Refugee Studies. Each section lists specific types of resources of an international nature, with the exception of the final section, which lists resources of all types regarding domestic immigration and population issues.
Resources marked with this symbol are restricted to Columbia affiliates.
Online Catalogs
- CLIO: Columbia Libraries Online Catalog
CLIO is the online catalog for the Columbia and Barnard libraries. It includes over 4 million records for books, journal or newspaper titles (not articles), online resources, government documents, microforms, sound or video recordings, archival collections, etc. - Pegasus: Columbia University Law School Library Online Catalog
Pegasus includes: U.S. federal and state law, selected Commonwealth jurisdictions, major foreign language collections and, since 1983, vernacular and Western language materials pertaining to law in Japan and the People's Rep. of China. - WorldCat
An online catalog of the collections of 24,000 member libraries of the OCLC consortium, comprising more than 36 million records for books, serials, manuscript collections, audiovisual materials, computer files, and other media. - Borrow Direct
A borrowing service offered by the university libraries of Columbia, Brown, Cornell, Dartmouth, Pennsylvania, Princeton, and Yale. It is designed to allow students, faculty and staff to request (and receive in four days) books directly from each other's collections.
Background Information
- Domschke, Eliane.
The Handbook of National Population Censuses : Africa and Asia
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1986.
Call Number: HA 37 .A33 D65 1986 (Copies available in multiple locations) - Encyclopedia of Diasporas: Immigrant and Refugee Cultures Around the World. 2 vols.
New York: Kluwer, 2004.
Call Number: JV 6225 .E53 2004g
- Encyclopedia of Population. 2 vols.
New York : Macmillan Reference USA, c2003.
Call Number: HB 871 .E538 2003 (Copies available in multiple locations) - Gilbert, Geoffrey.
World Population : a Reference Handbook. 2nd ed.
Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, c2005.
Call Number: HB 871 .G47 2005
- Gorman, Robert F.
Historical Dictionary of Refugee and Disaster Relief Organizations.
Lanham, MD : Scarecrow Press , 2000.
Call Number: HV 640 .G66 2000 (Copies available in multiple locations) - Goyer, Doreen S.
The Handbook of National Population Censuses: Europe.
New York : Greenwood Press, 1992.
Call Number: HA 37.E93 G69 1992 (Copies available in multiple locations) - Goyer, Doreen S.
The Handbook of National Population Censuses : Latin America and the Caribbean, North America, and Oceania
Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, c1983.
Call Number: HA 36 .G67 1983 (Copies available in multiple locations) - Handbook for the Protection of Internally Displaced Persons (UNHCR< 2008)
- Handbook of Population.
New York : Springer, c2006.
Call Number: HB 871 .H3447 2006 (Copies available in multiple locations) - Haupt, Arthur.
The Population Reference Bureau's Population Handbook. 4th ed.
Washington, DC : The Bureau, c1997.
Call Number: HB 871 .H357 1997g (Copies available in multiple locations)
Online version: 5th ed., 2004 - Immigration and Asylum: from 1900 to the Present. 3 vols.
Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, c2005.
Call Number: JV 6012 .I56 2005 (Copies available in multiple locations) - International Handbook on Internal Migration. Charles B. Nam et al., Eds.
Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1990.
Call Number: HB 1952 .I55 1990 - International Migration 2009 [chart].
New York : United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs, Population Division, c2009.
Call Number: Shelved Geographically - International Migration Report.
New York : United Nations, 2002-
Call Number: JV 6019 .I56
Online versions: 2002, 2006 - Long-Term Global Demographic Trends: Reshaping the Geopolitical Landscape
A 2001 report from the CIA Directorate on Intelligence, which provides background information and analysis of major demographic trends in the world. - Ness, Immanuel.
Encyclopedia of Global Population and Demographics. 2 vols.
Armonk, NY : Sharpe Reference, 1999.
Call Number: HB 871 .N43 1998 (Copies available in multiple locations) - People on the Move : Handbook of Selected Terms and Concepts, The Hague Process on Refugees and Migration and UNESCO (2008)
- Poverty: an International Glossary.
London ; New York : Zed Books, 2007.
Call Number: HC 79 .P6 I52 2007 - Refugee Caselaw Site
The core collection contains cases from the highest national courts of Australia, Canada, New Zealand, the United Kingdom, and the United States. Since 2004, the collection has been incrementally expanded to include decisions from 28 other asylum countries, as well as the most important decisions of lower courts and tribunals in the core collection states. - Rothenbacher, Franz.
The European Population, 1850-1945.
New York : Palgrave Macmillan, 2002.
Call Number: R314.1 R743
- Rothenbacher, Franz.
The European Population Since 1945.
New York : Palgrave Macmillan, 2005.
Call Number: HB 3581.A3 R684 2005 - Segal, Aaron.
An Atlas of International Migration.
New York: Hans Zell Publishers, 1993.
Call Number: G 1046 .E27 S4 1993 - U.S. Immigration Policy: Chart Book of Key Trends , Congressional Research Service, March 2013
- World Population Policies. Biennial.
New York : United Nations, 2004-
Call Number: HB 883.5 .W67
Earlier title: National Population Policies.
Online versions: 2007, 2009
Books, Journals, & Articles
Books
- CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is designed to be the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 on that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences. - Center for Migration Studies (U.S.).
Refugees: Holdings of the Center for Migration Studies Library/Archive.
Staten Island, NY: The Center, 1987.
Call Number: Z 7164 .I3 C46 1987g
The online List of CMS Archives not only updates the above publication, but also provides ongoing access to one of the premier collections in the U.S. on all aspects of human migration. - Historical Abstracts. Monthly.
Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-Clio, 1955-
Call Number: D 299 .H5 - International Bibliography of Historical Demography. Annual.
[Liege, Belgium] Comite International des Sciences Historiques, 1982-1994/1995.
Call Number: Z 7164 .D3 B525 - International Development Abstracts.
Norwich [Norfolk] : Geo Abstracts, 1982-2006.
Call Number: HC 59.7 .I11 - International Political Science Abstracts. Bimonthly.
Paris: International Political Science Association, 1951-
Call Number: JA 36 .I5 (Copies available in multiple locations) - Latin American Population Abstracts. Resúmenes Sobre Población en América Latina. Annual.
Santiago, Chile: Centro Latinoamericano de Demografia, 1977-1992.
Call Number: HB 3530.5 .R48 (Copies available in multiple locations) - PAIS International in Print. Monthly.
New York : Public Affairs Information Service, 1915-
Call Number: Z 7163 .P922 (Copies available in multiple locations) - Popline
Citations and abstracts of the worldwide literature on population and family planning. The majority of items date from 1970 on, but some sources date as early as 1827. - Population Index.
Princeton, NJ: Office of Population Research, 1986-2000.
Call Number: Z 7164 .D3 P83
- Population Index Bibliography.
Boston, Mass. : G.K. Hall, 1971 and 1984.
1935-1968 cumulation (4 vols.) - Call Number: Z 7164 .D3 P832
1969-1981 cumulation (4 vols.) - Call Number: Z 7164 .D3 P6 (Copies available in multiple locations) - Sociological Abstracts. Monthly.
San Diego, Calif.: Sociological Abstracts, Inc., 1952-
Call Number: HM 1 .S67 - USAID Development Experience Clearinghouse
Links to full text reports on population and health topics, for developing countries.
Directories
- Demographic, Population and Family Planning World Wide Web Sites
Maintained by the United Nations Population Information Network, POPIN. - Directory of Population Study and Research Centres (ACERD)
From the Committee for International Cooperation in National Research in Demography. - Leadership Library
A comprehensive set of directories which includes IGOs, NGOs, foreign governments and nonprofits.
Periodic and Annual Reviews
- Annual Review of Population Law.
New York: United Nations Fund for Population Activities, 1974-1997. - Asylum Trends (UNHCR)
- European Yearbook of Minority Issues. Annual.
- Evolution Démographique Récente en Europe. Annual.
Strasbourg : Editions du Conseil de l'Europe, 1994- .
Call Number: HB 2041 .R44
Narrative in French, Graph and Statistical Table captions in English. - International Migration Outlook : Annual Report.
Paris : Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, 2006-
Call Number: JV 6001.A1 T741
- The State of the World's Refugees/United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees. Biennial.
Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1993-
Call Number: HV 640 .S678
Online versions: - The State of World Population. Annual.
New York: United Nations Population Fund, 1992- .
Call Number: HB 848 .S73
Issues also have theme titles. - Trends in International Migration. Annual.
Paris, France: Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, 1992-
Call Number: JV 6001 .A1 T74 - World Disasters Report/ International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies. Annual.
Dordrecht : Martinus Nijhoff, c1993-
Call Number: HV 553 .W67 - World Migration Report. Biennial.
[Geneva, Switzerland] : International Organization for Migration : United Nations, c2000-
Call Number: JV 6006 .W67
Online version: 2010 - World Population Monitoring. Biennial.
New York: United Nations Secretarian, Population Division, 1990- .
Call Number: HB 848 .W68
Web versions: - World Refugee Report. Irregular.
Washington, DC: Department of State, Bureau for Refugee Programs, 1985- .
Call Number: HV 640 .W65
- World Refugee Survey. Annual.
New York, N.Y., United States Committee for Refugees, 1980-
Call Number: HV 640 .U52
Web versions: Current Survey, with access to archives of individual country reports, 1990s-present.
Statistics & Data
- Migrant Integration Policy Index (MIPEX)
The Migrant Integration Policy Index (MIPEX) measures policies to integrate migrants in 25 EU Member States and 3 non-EU countries. It uses over 100 policy indicators to create a rich, multi-dimensional picture of migrants' opportunities to participate in European societies. MIPEX covers six policy areas which shape a migrant's journey to full citizenship. - Statistical Yearbook of the UN High Commissioner for Refugees
The yearbook analyses recent levels, composition and trends in the number of people considered to be of concern to UNHCR. It includes information on new displacement; protracted situations; the demographic composition; or on the type of settlement in which they live. - UNHCR Statistical Online Population Database
In a single electronic platform, UNHCR’s Statistical Online Population Database is bringing together for analysis and comparison standardized data on UNHCR’s population of concern at country, regional, and global levels. Detailed information on country of asylum and origin is available, for some population categories going back to 1951.
International statistical resources are located in the Population/Demographic Statistics section of Sources for International Statistics. Statistics on U.S. population can be found in the General Statistical Sources: United States and Canada web page.
You may also wish to visit the U.S. Census Bureau site.
Nongovernmental Organizations (NGOs)
CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is designed to be the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 on that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences.
- American Refugee Committee International
Refugee news and links, with information about the programs that ARC has in place. - Center for Immigration Studies
It is the Center's mission to expand the base of public knowledge and understanding of the need for an immigration policy that gives first concern to the broad national interest. The Center is animated by a pro-immigrant, low-immigration vision which seeks fewer immigrants but a warmer welcome for those admitted. - Center for Migration Studies, Staten Island, NY
The Center for Migration Studies (CMS) is one of the premier institutes in the United States committed to facilitating the study of sociodemographic, historical, economic, political, legislative, and pastoral aspects of human migration and refugee movements. Established in 1964, CMS is a non-profit institute. The CMS WebSite provides information on the various ongoing CMS projects, information on the many CMS publications and journals, as well as news and announcements that would be of interest to those who are involved in migration studies. - Centre for Refugee Studies, York University, Toronto, Canada
The Centre for Refugee Studies (CRS) is an organized research unit of York University in Canada. Research activities have been arranged into five related programmes, each with its own research unit: Gender; Refugee Law Research; Development, Displacement and Repatriation; Resettlement; and Prevention. The web site provides more information on the Centre, the research units, the education programme, and a list of online refugee and human rights resources. - Centre for Research in International Migration and Ethnic Relations, Stockholm University
- Doctors Without Borders/Medcins Sans Frontieres
Doctors Without Borders/Medecins Sans Frontires (MSF) is the world's largest independent international medical relief agency aiding victims of armed conflict, epidemics, and natural and man-made disasters, and others who lack health care due to geographic remoteness or ethnic marginalization. Annually, more than 2,000 volunteers representing 45 nationalities work in over 80 countries in front-line hospitals, refugee camps, disaster sites, towns, and villages. Doctors Without Borders teams provide primary health care, perform surgery, vaccinate children, rehabilitate hospitals, operate emergency nutrition and sanitation programs, and train local medical staff. - ERCOMER - the European Research Centre on Migration and Ethnic Relations, Utrecht University, Utrecht, the Netherlands
The European Research Centre on Migration and Ethnic Relations within the Department of General Social Sciences of the University of Utrecht, is devoted to the specialized study of migration and ethnic relations in Europe. It brings together researchers with an interest in these issues to initiate new projects, to provide advanced training and to promote the dissemination of relevant information and research results. ERCOMER hosts the WWW Virtual Library Migration and Ethnic Relations. - The European Centre for Minority Issues
ECMI's aim is to promote interdisciplinary research on various dimensions of minority-majority relations in a European perspective, and to contribute to the improvement of inter-ethnic relations in those parts of Western and Eastern Europe where ethnopolitical tension and conflict prevail. - Forced Migration Online
Forced Migration Online (FMO) provides access to a wide variety of online resources concerning the situation of forced migrants worldwide. Designed for use by practitioners, researchers, policy makers, students or anyone interested in the field, FMO aims to give comprehensive information in an impartial environment and to promote increased awareness of human displacement issues to an international community of users. - Institute for the Study of International Migration
ISIM focuses on all aspects of international migration, including the causes of and potential responses to population movements, immigration and refugee law and policy, comparative migration studies, the integration of immigrants into their host societies, and the effects of international migration on social, economic, demographic, foreign policy and national security concerns. ISIM also studies internal displacement, with particular attention to the forced movements of people for reasons that would make them refugees if they crossed an international border. - Internal Displacement Monitoring Centre
The Internal Displacement Monitoring Centre (IDMC), established in 1998 by the Norwegian Refugee Council (NRC), is the leading international body monitoring conflict-induced internal displacement worldwide. Through its work, the Centre contributes to improving national and international capacities to protect and assist the millions of people around the globe who have been displaced within their own country as a result of conflicts or human rights violations. - The International Center for Migration, Ethnicity and Citizenship, New School for Social Research, New York, NY
The ICMEC is engaged in scholarly research and public policy analysis bearing on international migration, refugees, and the incorporation of newcomers in host countries. The web site provides more information about the Center, its activities, working groups, and an online newsletter 'EpiCenter'. The Center also maintains an active mailing list which disseminates information about activities and lectures. - International Planned Parenthood Federation
The IPPF is made up of national planned parenthood organizations from over 150 countries. The IPPF works as an advocate for family planning, reproductive health rights, and women's rights. The website provides access to bibliographies, and online journals, bulletins, and reports. The IPPF Regions link to country profiles which contain detailed information about demographic indicators, and family planning and population policies in many countries. - International Rescue Committee
The International Rescue Committee is a private, voluntary organization providing relief and resettlement services for refugees around the world. Information on programs, weekly news updates, and country reports are available on the web site. Extensive information on the Kosovo crisis is currently available. - International Union for the Scientific Study of Population
The IUSSP is a non-profit worldwide association of population specialists with the aim of drawing the attention of governments, international governmental and non-governmental organizations, and the general public to population problems and to promote demography as a science. - Migration Information Source
The Migration Information Source provides fresh thought, authoritative data from numerous global organizations and governments, and global analysis of international migration and refugee trends. A unique, online resource, the Source offers useful tools, vital data, and essential facts on the movement of people worldwide. - Migration Policy Institute, Washington, D.C.
The Migration Policy Institute (MPI) is an independent, non-partisan, non-profit think-tank in Washington, D.C. dedicated to the study of the movement of people worldwide. MPI provides analysis, development, and evaluation of migration and refugee policies at the local, national, and international levels. MPI's work is organized around four research pillars: Migration Management, Refugee Protection and International Humanitarian Response, North American Borders and Migration Agenda, Immigrant Settlement and Integration - Migration Research Unit, University College London, UK
The Migration Research Unit (MRU) is based in the Department of Geography at University College London (UCL). Research interests include labor migration, especially highly skilled workers, statistics and information systems, and analyses of trends and processes of international migration in the UK and Europe. The web site provides information on the research unit and a list of links to migration resources on the World Wide Web. - Norwegian Refugee Council
The task of the Norwegian Refugee Council Foundation is to offer humanitarian assistance to refugees and internally displaced persons regardless of race, religion, nationality and political views; to defend the human rights of refugees and internally displaced persons; to participate in international refugee work, emergency preparedness work, and emergency assistance, and to contribute towards a greater understanding for the situation and needs of refugees and internally displaced persons. - Office of Population Research, Princeton University, Princeton, New Jersey
Website for the oldest population research center in the United States. In addition to information about Princeton's academic programs, this site provide access to a data archive, the Population Index, and the its research library, the Coale Collection. See also the affiliated Center for Migration and Development page. - Population Action International
Population Action International (PAI) is an independent policy advocacy group working to strengthen public awareness and political and financial support worldwide for population programs grounded in individual rights. At the heart of Population Action International’s mission is its commitment to advance universal access to family planning and related health services, and to educational and economic opportunities, especially for girls and women. - The Population Council, New York, NY
The Population Council is a nonprofit, nongovernmental research organization established in 1952. Its New York headquarters supports a global network of regional and country offices. The Council seeks to improve the wellbeing and reproductive health of current and future generations around the world, and to help achieve a humane, equitable and sustainable balance between people and resources. The Council analyzes population issues and trends; conducts biomedical research to develop new contraceptives; works with public and private agencies to improve the quality and outreach of family planning and reproductive health services; helps governments to influence demographic behavior; communicates the results of research in the population field to appropriate audiences; and helps build research capacities in developing countries. The web site provides information on ongoing research programs, and links to full text of some Population Council publications, including working papers, booklets, and the organization's newsletter. - The Population-Environment Research Network
The Population-Environment Research Network seeks to advance academic research on population and the environment by promoting on-line scientific exchange among researchers from social and natural science disciplines worldwide. It sponsors a research database and a cyber seminar series. - Population Reference Bureau
PRB provides timely,objective information on U.S. and international population trends. They seek to inform policymakers, educators, the media, and concerned citizens working in the public interest about the demographic trends that shape our world. PRB is a nonprofit, nonadvocacy organization. The PRB webside provides access to several publications, including Population Today, full text and/or excerpts from special reports, world population data sheets, and a variety of other reference information. - Population Research Institute, Pennsylvania State University, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
The Population Research Institute provides an organizational setting for interdisciplinary population research and training. The institute includes more than forty faculty associates and fifty graduate students from eleven different departments in the social and agricultural sciences and in health-related fields. Website provides information about study and research programs, access to the PRI's Library catalog and data archive, - The RAND Corporation Population and Ageing Program
RAND research on population and aging analyzes demographic and immigration trends and explores a range of concerns, from family planning to religion to discrimination. RAND also addresses vulnerable populations—such as the elderly and the poor—analyzing retirement and other aspects of financial decisionmaking, welfare, and end-of-life issues. - Refugee Studies Centre, University of Oxford
Its objectives are to carry out multidisciplinary research and teaching on the causes and consequences of forced migration; to disseminate the results of that research to policy makers and practitioners, as well as within the academic community; and to understand the experience of forced migration from the point of view of the affected populations.
&bnsp; Forced Migration Online provides instant access to a wide variety of online resources dealing with the situation of forced migrants worldwide. - Refugees International
Refugees International provides early warning in crises of mass exodus. The organization mixes quiet diplomacy and the power of the press to mobilize governments and engage the UN. Our on-the-ground emergency assessment paves the way for relief agencies and human rights organizations to step in with life saving measures. - U.S. Committee for Refugees and Immigrants
USCR defends the rights of all uprooted people regardless of their nationality, race, religion, ideology, or social group
Intergovernmental Organizations (IGOs)
- International Migration Branch of the International Labour Organisation
Website describes the objectives, research programs, and publications of the ILO in the area of international migration and labor standards for migrant workers. Full text of some of their International Migration Papers and reports is available. - International Organization for Migration (IOM)
The IOM is an intergovernmental body "committed to the principle that humane and orderly migration benefits migrants and society." Its Web site includes information on its mandate and structure, news releases, statements, and publications including the journal International Migration. - Demographic and Migratory Flows Affecting European Regions and Cities (DEMIFER)
The project deals with the effects of demographic and migratory flows on European regions and cities and examines the implications for regional competitiveness and European cohesion.
United Nations
- United Nations Dept. of Economic and Social Affairs, Population Division
- United Nations Economic Commission for Europe - Population Unit
The UNECE Population unit works to promote policy dialogue among the UNECE Member states on various facets of demographic change in Western and Eastern Europe, the Caucasus and Central Asia, as well as Canada, Israel and the United States of America, with a particular focus on ageing as well as on the relationships between generations and between the genders. - United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR)
Contains full-text of several publications, news and updates on refugee sitations around the world, and information on UNHCR activities and functions. - UNHCR Research and Evaluation
Access to documents produced by the UNHCR Research/Evaluation department. Of particular value are the Where We Work sections which provide information on refugees, including current country reports, and the Refworld section. Refworld contains a vast collection of reports relating to situations in countries of origin, policy documents and positions, and documents relating to international and national legal frameworks. - United Nations Population Information Network (POPIN)
- United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA)
The United Nations Population Fund home page provides a variety of demographic, population, and family planning information from around the world, including reports of meetings, technical reports, press releases and statements.
US & NY Immigration
This section deals exclusively with domestic immigration and population issues. However, earlier sections such as Online Catalogs, NGOs and Books, Journals & Articles also contain resources relevant to U.S. and N.Y immigration. Please consult those sections.
- American FactFinder
American FactFinder is the portal for census data for the U.S., including the 1990 & 2000 censuses and the annual American Community Survey, from the U.S. Census Bureau - Center for Immigration Studies
Think tank devoted to research and policy analysis of the effects of immigration in the United States. Full text of many policy reports is available on their website. "It is the Center's mission to expand the base of public knowledge and understanding of the need for an immigration policy that gives first concern to the broad national interest. The Center is animated by a pro-immigrant, low-immigration vision which seeks fewer immigrants but a warmer welcome for those admitted."
- Directory of Services to Immigrants: a Guide to Community-based Organizations in New York City. 4th ed.
New York : Mayor's Office of Immigrant Affairs and Language Services, [1997].
Call Number: HV 4012 .N4 D57 1997g
Online version: Directory of Immigrant Services - Encyclopedia of American Immigration. 4 vols.
Armonk, NY: M.E. Sharpe, 2000.
Call Number: JV 6465 .E53 2000 (Copies available in multiple locations) - Encyclopedia of Immigration and Migration in the American West. 2 vols.
Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage Publications, c2006.
Call Number: R325.73 En18
- The Federation for American Immigration Reform
Advocacy group which promotes low-immigration into the U.S. Website provides information on legislation and publications.
FAIR immigration Report - Flanders, Stephen A.
Atlas of American Migration.
New York: Facts On File, Inc., 1998.
Call Number: G 1201 .E27 F5 1998 (Copies available in multiple locations) - Growing Global Migration and Its Implications for the United States.
[Washington, D.C.] : National Intelligence Council, 2001.
Call Number: JV 6032 .G7 2001g (Copies available in multiple locations) - The Handbook of International Migration: the American Experience.
New York : Russell Sage Foundation, 1999.
Call Number: JV 6465 .H25 1999 (Copies available in multiple locations) - Illegal Immigration: a Reference Handbook. Charles B. Nam et al., Eds.
Santa Barbara, CA : ABC-CLIO, c2007.
Call Number: JV 6483 .L46 2007 - Immigration in America Today : an Encyclopedia.
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2006.
Call Number: JV 6465 .I4754 2006 - McArdle, Nancy.
The New Immigrants: Demographic and Housing Characteristics.
Cambridge, MA: Joint Center for Housing Studies, Graduate School of Design [and] John F. Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University, [1994].
Call Number: JV 6455.5 .M3 1994g - Miller, Willard E.
United States Immigration: A Reference Handbook.
Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 1996. - Moore, Stephen.
Fiscal Portrait of the Newest Americans.
Washington, D.C. : National Immigration Forum : Cato Institute, 1998.
Call Number: JV 6471 .M658 1998g
- National Conference of State Legislatures: Immigration
Current information about immigration policy and enforcement across all 50 states, including:
2011 Immigration-Related Laws and Resolutions in the States
State Omnibus Immigration Legislation
- National Immigration Forum
Advocacy group which promotes policies that welcome immigrants and refugees in a fair and supportive manner. Reports, news, information on policy and immigration trends are available on their website. - National Network for Immigrant and Refugee Rights (NNIRR)
"We work to promote a just immigration and refugee policy in the United States and to defend and expand the rights of all immigrants and refugees, regardless of immigration status." - The New Neighbors: a User's Guide to Data on Immigrants in U.S. Communities
- New York City, Mayor's Office of Immigrant Affairs
- The New York Immigration Coalition
The New York Immigration Coalition (NYIC) is an umbrella policy and advocacy organization for more than 200 groups in New York State that work with immigrants and refugees.
Working for a Better Life : a Profile of Immigrants in the New York State Economy (2007) - The Newest New Yorkers.
New York, N.Y. : Department of City Planning, 1992-- 1982-1989: Call Number: F 128.9 .A1 S39 1992g (Copies available in multiple locations)
- 1982-1989: Call Number: F 128.9 .A1 S392 1992g (Copies available in multiple locations)
- 1990-1994: Call Number: F 128.9 .A1 S394 1996g (Copies available in multiple locations)
- 1995-1996: Call Number: F 128.9 .A1 S395 1999g (Copies available in multiple locations)
- 2000: Call Number: F 128.9 .A1 L63 2004g (Copies available in multiple locations)
- Pew Hispanic Center
The Pew Hispanic Center is a nonpartisan research organization supported by The Pew Charitable Trusts. Its mission is to improve understanding of the U.S. Hispanic population and to chronicle Latinos' growing impact on the entire nation. - Powell, John.
Encyclopedia of North American Immigration.
New York : Facts On File, c2005.
Call Number: JV 6465 .P68 2005
- Refugees in America in the 1990s: A Reference Handbook. Ed. David B. Haines
Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1996.
Call Number: HV 640.4 .U54 R425 1996 - U.S. Census Bureau.
United States Foreign-Born Population: contains links to Foreign-Born Profiles, Reports, Data Tables, and Multimedia - U.S. Committee for Refugees and Immigrants
The U.S. Committee for Refugees and Immigrants is a non-profit organization that works to protect and assist refugees in all regions of the world. Their website contains extensive statistical information (based on the World Refugee Survey), reports and current news related to refugee crises around the world. - U.S. Congress. Senate.
Reports of the Immigration Commission. 41 vols.
Washington, DC, 1910.
Call Number: 325.73 Un332
Immigrants in Cities. A Study of the Population of Selected Districts in New York, Chicago, Philadelphia, Boston, Cleveland, Buffalo, and Milwaukee: Volume 1 , Volume 2 - U.S. Congressional Budget Office.
Immigration Special Collection
Research reports requested by Congress on various immigration topics, plus cost estimates of immigration-related legislation. - U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Refugee Resettlement
Refugee Arrival Data
State Profiles: State Refugee Program - U.S. Department of Homeland Security, Citizen and Immigration Services
- U.S. Department of Homeland Security, Immigration and Customs Enforcement
- Yearbook of Immigration Statistics.
Call Number: JV 6461 .S8
- Yearbook of Immigration Statistics.
- U.S. Department of State. Bureau of Population, Refugees, and Migration.
This agency has primary responsibility for formulating policies on population, refugees, and migration, and for administering U.S. refugee assistance and admissions programs.
- U.S. Government Accountability Office.
Reports on U.S. Immigration
- Wasem, Ruth Ellen.
Immigration Reform Issues in the 112th Congress, Congressional Research Service, February 2, 2010 - Youssef, Nadia H.
The Demographics of Immigration: A Socio-Demographic Profile of the Foreign-Born Population in New York State.
New York: Center for Migration Studies, 1992.
Call Number: JV 7045 .Y68 1992
Related Resources & Guides
- Economic and Political Development: Information Resources
Columbia University Libraries - Human Rights and Humanitarian Affairs: Information Resources
Columbia University Libraries - Women in Development: Information Resources
Columbia University Libraries - General Statistical Sources: International Statistics
Columbia University Libraries - General Statistical Sources: United States and Canada
Columbia University Libraries - Department for Population and Family Health, Mailman School of Public Health
Columbia University - U.S. Census Bureau