Congressional materials can be difficult to locate. Items like bills and hearings may have many different versions and may be found on several different databases, depending on year of issuance or status. A citation may give a year, but you need to know the session of Congress, or the Congressional Record volume number. An invaluable source for answering all of these questions is the Legislative Source Book, from the Law Librarians' Society of Washington, D.C.
CQ.com is the source for the latest reporting and analysis of events on Capitol Hill. CQ tracks and analyzes bills, and links to full text. It also provides committee coverage, floor votes, and more.
Note: Date coverage varies by file.
- CQ Press Electronic Library
CQ Electronic Library is a collection of full text materials produced by Congressional Quarterly Press. Included are reference and analysis titles: CQ Almanac, Congress and the Nation, Historic Documents, Politics in America, Vital Statistics in American Politics, Voting and Elections, and Washington Information Directory.
- ProQuest Congressional
The ProQuest Congressional database contains both citations and full text to a wide variety of Congressional publications, including committee documents, hearings, prints, & reports; the Congressional Record; Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports; GAO reports; serial set indexing; campaign financial data; bills; public laws; Statutes at Large; legislative histories; the U.S. Code; the Code of Federal Regulations; and the Federal Register.
Note: Date coverage varies by file; not all titles are full text. The Columbia subscription also includes full text for: CRS reports, 1916-present; hearings, 1824-2004; committee prints, 1830-2004; and Statutes at Large.
- Thomas: Legislative Information
In 1994, Congress directed the Library of Congress to make federal legislative information freely available to the public. Since that time THOMAS has expanded the scope of its offerings to include: bills & resolutions, public laws, roll call votes, the Congressional Record & Index, Congressional committee reports, Presidential nominations, and treaties.