- 2000 Census volumes (complete set)
HA 201 2000 .A5 ... - Lehman Library stacks
Detailed description of 2000 depository print holdings.
The library also has the complete set of depository CD-ROMs with downloadable files of all 2000 Census data, located in the Electronic Data Service in Lehman Library.
Detailed description of 2000 depository CD-ROM holdings. - The Data Service provides access to data files for the 2000 Census. Sources include: online data extraction, GIS products and FTP files. For full description, see the Data Service guide, Census 2000.
Decennial Census Information: 2000 Census
Columbia Holdings
Web Information
Note: Data for NYC has been extracted and tabulated by local groups. Below are links to their sites, which enable you to easily obtain NYC census data.
U.S. Census Bureau
- American FactFinder
Information from Census 2000 is made available here first. Data is available as Quick Tables, Detailed Tables, and Community Profiles. It also will help you to create your own extracts and custom tabulations online. Use the FactFinder to summarize information for geographic areas and generate maps online. - Census 2000 Data Products at a Glance
Lists the release dates for Census 2000 data products. It summarizes the data for each product, the lowest level of geography for which the data are available, and the media in which the data is provided. - Census 2000 Page
Complete information about Census 2000 data and progress. All files available in both PDF and Excel formats. Includes:- Congressional Apportionment
- Demographic Profiles
- Rankings, Comparisons, and Summaries
- Redistricting Data
- County-To-County Worker Flow Files
- State Population Totals
- Summary File 1
- Summary File 2
- Summary File 3
- Summary File 4 Categories Table
- 1-Percent Public Use Microdata Sample (PUMS) Files
- 108th Congressional District Summary Files
- 109th Congressional District Summary Files
- 110th Congressional District Summary Files
- Census Briefs & Special Reports
Brief analyses of census data on various topics. - Census 2000 Supplementary Survey
The Supplementary Survey collected long form type information at the same time as, but separate from, the Decennial Census, from a national sample of 700,000 households. Economic, demographic, and housing characteristics from the Census 2000 Supplementary Survey are reported for the United States as a whole, the 50 states, and the District of Columbia. - Census 2000 U.S. Gazetteer Files
Census 2000 gazetteer of counties, county subdivisions (MCDs/CCDs), places and ZIP Code Tabulation Areas (ZCTAs) for the 50 states, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico. These files allow you locate a county, county subdivision, incorporated place or Census Designated Place (CDP) by name without having to know the Latitude/Longitude coordinates. - Guide to Census Tract Resources
How to locate census tracts/BNAs, with links to maps; info about "qualified census tracts," HUBZones, Health Professional Shortage Areas (HPSAs) and Medically Underserved Areas (MUAs). - Maps
- Mapping Census 2000: The Geography of U.S. Diversity
HA 201 2000 .B74g - Lehman Reference
An atlas with 72 color maps illustrating demographic patterns and changes in population between 1990 and 2000. - Census 2000 Questionnaires
Copies of both the short and long form questionnaires. - ESCAP Report
The Executive Steering Committee for Accuracy and Coverage Evaluation Policy (ESCAP) recommended, and Commerce Secretary Donald L. Evans has agreed, that unadjusted block data be released as the official Census 2000 redistricting data.
- Kids Count: Census Data Online
View regional profiles for the nation as a whole, individual states, congressional districts, or any of the 7 other kinds of geographic areas. Create a ranking table from one of over 21 population indicators.
Columbia University, Data Service
- Tract Comparability Tables, New York City, 1970-2000
Lewis Mumford Center for Comparative Urban and Regional Research
- Metropolitan Racial and Ethnic Change - Census 2000
Topics covered include: Segregation, Hispanic Groups, Asian Groups, School Segregation, Homeowners and Renters, The New Americans, State of the Cites, Separate and Unequal, Diversity in Black and White, and Dimensions of Segregation.
- The Modern Language Association Language Map
The MLA Language Map is intended for use by students, teachers, and anyone interested in learning about the linguistic and cultural composition of the United States. The MLA Language Map uses data from the 2000 United States census to display the locations and numbers of speakers of thirty languages and seven groups of less commonly spoken languages in the United States.
New York City. Dept. for the Aging
New York City. Dept. of City Planning Population Division
- New York City Census FactFinder
The New York City Census FactFinder provides quick and easy access to New York City population information from the 2000 U.S. Census. Profiles are presented for community districts, individual census tracts and user-defined groups of census tracts. - Demographic Profiles
Includes selected social characteristics. - Socioeconomic Profiles
Includes selected population and housing characteristics. - NYC2000 Census Briefs
- 2000 Census Summary
Tables and narrative text for Change in Total Population, 1990 and 2000, NYC and Boroughs; table and narrative text for Comparison of Population by Race and Hispanic Origin NYC, 1990-2000; and plans for Community District and Housing Counts data. - 2000 Census Demographic Tables
An expanding series of tables in PDF format for various population categories, concentrating on New York City at all geographic levels. Some tables also as Excel files. - 2000 Census Socioeoconomic Tables
An expanding series of tables in PDF format for various population categories, concentrating on New York City at all geographic levels. Some tables also as Excel files. - Demographic Maps
Includes maps of all boroughs by census tract for population density, change in population, & numerous racial and ethnic groups. - Socioeoconomic Maps
Includes maps of all boroughs by census tract for education, income, language, foreign-born, and ancestry.
New York State Data Center
- Census 2000
Contains links to special tabulations created by the NYSDC for NYS and NYC data.
- Demographic Profiles
- DP1: Contains basic demographic information such as age, race, Hispanic Origin, sex, household relationship, and housing occupancy for each county, municipality, Indian Reservation, and Congressional District within New York State.
- DP2, DP3, DP4: The population data provided includes items such as: educational attainment, ancestry, migration, place of birth, language spoken, income, poverty, employment status, occupation, and commuting. Housing data includes: units in structure, year structure built, house heating fuel, value, mortgage costs, and rent paid. Geographically, data is being released for every county, city, town, village, and Census Designated Place in New York.
- School District Files
Includes summaries for the school districts in New York State as they existed on July 1, 1999. - New York City Summary Profile
Basic demographic data.
New York State Task Force on Demographic Research and Reapportionment
- Task Force Website
Census 2000 redistricting data and both current and proposed maps for Senate and Assembly Districts.
Asian American Federation of New York
- Census Information Center
Includes data tables, maps, and charts for Asian populations in New York City.
Reference Guides
- Census 2000 Briefs
U.S. Census Bureau
This series will focus on discussing the most important aspects of the topics, as well as exploring the geographic distribution of the subject matter. There will also be a discussion of change in the subject matter since the 1990 census, if applicable.
Notes and Errata 2000: 2000 Census of Population and Housing
Statement Regarding the Adjustment Decision, October 17, 2001
- New York in Focus: A Profile from Census 2000
Brookings Institute
- Civics Lessons in the Census
Cato Institute
An indictment of Census 2000 as an invasion of privacy. - A Census that Mirrors America: Interim Report
Washington, DC : National Academy Press, 1993.
HA 201 .N38 1993g - Lehman
- General Accounting Office / Government Accountability Office Publications
GAO has published numerous studies of the 2000 census. Search for them at the Government Accountability Office web site - The 2000 Census: Interim Assessment
National Research Council
Washington, D.C.: National Academy Press, 2001.
HA 201.12 .N38 2001g - Lehman - The 2000 Census, Counting Under Adversity
Washington, D.C.: National Academy Press, 2004.
HA 201.12 .N386 2004g - Lehman - Measuring a Changing Nation: Modern Methods for the 2000 Census
Washington, D.C.: National Academy Press, 1999.
HA 201.12 .M43 1999g - Lehman - Modernizing the U.S. Census
Washington, D.C.: National Academy Press, 1994.
HA 214 .M6 1995g - Lehman
- Unlocking the Census with GIS
Peters, Alan H.
Redlands, Calif. : ESRI Press, c2004.
HA 37.U55 P48 2004 - Lehman, Health Sciences
- Demographic Reports
Pew Charitable Trusts, Pew Hispanic Center - Counting the "Other Hispanics": How Many Colombians, Dominicans, Ecuadorians, Guatemalans and Salvadorans Are There in the United States? (May 2002)
Pew Charitable Trusts, Pew Hispanic Center - Population Reference Bureau Publications
Search on "census 2000" for a series of reports and articles from PRB which analyzes issues related to the 2000 census.
- Preparing for Census 2000: Subjects Planned for Census 2000: Federal Legislative and Program Uses
Washington, D.C.: Bureau of the Census, 1997.
C 3.2:P 91/2 - Offsite
- Preparing for the 2000 Census: Interim Report II
Washington, D.C.: National Academy Press, 1997. - Who We Are Now: the Changing Face of America in the Twenty-First Century
Roberts, Sam.
New York, Henry Holt, 2004.
E 169.12 .R576 2004 - Milstein (Butler)
- Census 2000 Basics
Sevetson, Andrea.
Washington, D.C.: U.S. Census Bureau, 2002.
C 3.2:B 29/2000 - Offsite - Symposium on the Decennial Census
Government Information Quarterly, v.17, no.2, 2000.
JA 27 .G69 - Lehman
- Final Report to Congress
U.S. Census Monitoring Board
The Board released numerous studies of 2000 census data.
- 2000 Census: Status of Nonresponse Follow-up and Key Operations (May 11, 2000)
U.S. Congress. General Accounting Office. - Oversight of the 2000 Census: Status of Bureau of the Census Operations and Activities (March 8, 2000)
U.S. Congress.
House of Representatives. - Provisional Guidance on the Implementation of the 1997 Standards for Federal Data on Race and Ethnicity (Federal Register, January 16, 2001)
U.S. Office of Management and Budget. - Metropolitan Racial and Ethnic Change - Census 2000
University of Albany. Lewis Mumford Center for Comparative Urban and Regional Research.
A series of analytical reports and data concerning race and ethnicity in metropolitan areas. - The Who, What, and Where of America: Understanding the Census Results
Lanham, MD : Bernan Press, c2003.
