Individual records from the Federal population censuses are confidential for 72 years, by law (Title 44, U.S. Code). Microfilm copies of the original population schedules, from 1790 to 1930, have been released and are available at the National Archives in Washington and other libraries around the country. Columbia University does not have copies of the schedules, but they are available at two places in the city: the New York Public Library's Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, and the National Archives and Records Administration's Northeast Region Office. Information on both is below. Butler Reference has catalogs to the schedules, also lilsted below.
Decennial Census Information
[Section Heading]
- African American Census Schedules Online
A project which mounts individually submitted census schedules or records that include African Americans, Slaves, or Persons of Color. - Availability of Census Records About Individuals
Detailed description of schedules for each census. 1930 schedules were released on April 1, 2002.
Official 1940 Census Website (National Archives) - Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture
515 Malcolm X Boulevard
New York, NY 10037-1801
(212) 491-2200 - NARA's Northeast Region Office
201 Varick Street
New York, NY10014-4811
(212) 337-1306
Catalogs to Census Schedules
It may be useful to begin a search for individual census records with the National Archives web page, Census Records. Additionally, the following specific catalogs and reference tools are available:
- U.S. National Archives and Records Service.
The 1790-1890 Federal Population Censuses: Catalog of National Archives Microfilm.
Washington : National Archives Trust Fund Board, 1997.
R016 .3173 Un36112 - Butler Reference - 1890 Federal Population Census
Most of the 1890 population schedules were badly damaged by a fire in the Commerce Department Building in January 1921. The extant schedules are numbered and noted here. - National Archives Trust Fund Board.
1900 Federal Population Census : a Catalog of Microfilm Copies of the Schedules.
Washington : National Archives and Records Administration, 2000.
R016.3173 Un36111 Suppl. - Butler Reference - National Archives Trust Fund Board.
1910 Federal Population Census : a Catalog of Microfilm Copies of the Schedules.
Washington : National Archives Trust Fund Board, 2000.
R016 .3173 Un361131 - Butler Reference - National Archives Trust Fund Board.
1920 Federal Population Census.
3rd ed.Washington : National Archives Trust Fund Board, 1998.
R016.3173 Un36114 - Butler Reference - National Archives Trust Fund Board.
The 1930 Federal Population Census.
Washington : National Archives Trust Fund Board, 2002.
R016.3173 Un36115 - Butler Reference - How to Research the 1930 Census Microfilm (National Archives)
- Shepherd, JoAnn.
Age Search Information.
Washington, D.C. : U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, 1990.
HB 1545 .S54 1990g - Lehman - U.S. Census Bureau.
Availability of Census Records About Individuals.
Washington, D.C. : U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, 1997.
C 3.252:2/5/REV. - Offsite - U.S. National Archives and Records Service.
Using the Census Soundex.
Washington : National Archives and Records Service, 1997.
HA 214 .U84 1997g - Lehman