U.S. Government Documents International Guides
Publications of Intergovernmental Organizations (IGOs)
Several libraries on campus, primarily Lehman, Business, and Butler, have IGO publications. You may also want to consult the following guides:
- IGO Publications Ready Reference Collection
For locations of major IGO publications, in print and online. - European Union Studies
- Treaty Resources
Check CLIO by title, subject, or issuing organization to locate other IGO publications not listed.
Check Pegasus for items in the Law Library.
Resources marked with this symbol are restricted to Columbia affiliates.
IGOs in General
IGO Web Search
This web search enables you to find information only from intergovernmental organizations (IGOs) such as the ones listed below. It utilizes 355 core IGO URLs.
- Accidental Tourist on the New Frontier: an Introductory Guide to Global Legal Research.
Littleton, Colo. : F.B. Rothman, 1998.
K 85 .A27 1998
A good, current source for the details of locating foreign and international documents: treaties, laws, regulations, etc., including web resources. - Bureau of International Organization Affairs, U.S. Dept. of State
The source for U.S. policy toward IGOs. - Directory of Economic, Commodity and Development Organizations
Alphabetically, with links to their web sites: from the International Monetary Fund. - Encyclopedia of Associations. International Organizations. Annual.
Detroit : Gale Research : 1956-
HS 17 .En192
Web version: Associations Unlimited - Global Governance: a Review of Multilaterism and International Organizations. Quarterly.
Boulder, CO : Lynne Rienner Publishers, Inc., c1995-
JX 1 .G58
The articles in this scholarly journal all deal with IGO issues. - International Geneva Yearbook. Annual.
Dordrecht ; Boston : Martinus Nijhoff, 1988-
JX 1995 .I524
JX 1995 In778 - Law - International Information: Documents, Publications, and Electronic Information of International Government Organizations. 2nd ed. 2 vols.
Englewood, Colo. : Libraries Unlimited, 1997-2001.
JZ 4850 .I58 1997 - International Organizations Funding Directory : Grants and Projects Involving Non-governmental Organizations.
London : Europa, 2004.
JZ 4839 .I68 2004g
Provides information on each major IGO and the projects which it funds in partnership with local, national or international NGOs. Includes full contact details and procedures for application for funding. - Mays, Terry M.
Historical Dictionary of International Organizations in Sub-Saharan Africa.
Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, c2002.
JZ 4850 .M39 2002 - McDougall, Derek.
Historical Dictionary of International Organizations in Asia and the Pacific.
Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, c2002.
JZ 4850 .M38 2002 - Morrison, Andrea.
International Government Information and Country Information : a Subject Guide.
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2004.
Call Number: ZA 5050 .M67 2004
An authoritative guide that offers a subject approach to the plentiful resources provided by international government organizations, national governments, and other foreign information sources. In addition to an overview section, 21 chapters cover rich resources of topical, statistical, and analytical information on agriculture and food; crime; health; human rights; laws and treaties; transportation; women and children; and more. - Peaslee, Amos Jenkins.
International Governmental Organizations : Constitutional Documents. Rev. 3rd ed. 5 vols.
The Hague : Nijhoff, 1974.
JX 1995 .P42
For each organization there is a summary of its origin, purpose, mission, etc.; the basic document(s) related to it; and often, a bibliography. - ProQuest Statistical Insight
The ProQuest Statistical database provides comprehensive access to statistical data. Many of the sources are linked to the full text of the data, although some state, private, and IGO sources are cited, allowing the researcher to then locate the statistical source on the internet or in the library, either in print or as part of the microfiche service which accompanies the printed index. - Schechter, Michael G.
Historical Dictionary of International Organizations.
Lanham, MD : Scarecrow Press, 1998.
JZ 4838 .S34 1998 - Schiavone, Giuseppe.
International Organizations: a Dictionary and Directory. 5th ed.
New York : St. Martin's Press, 2001.
JX 1995 .S34 2001g - Who's Who in International Organizations: a Biiographical Encyclopedia of More Than 14,000 Leading Personalities. 3rd ed. 3 vols.
Munchen ; New Providence : K.G. Saur, 2000.
CT 120 .W485 2000 - Williams, Robert Virgil.
The Information Systems of International Inter-Governmental Organizations: a Reference Guide.
Stamford, Conn. : Ablex, c1998.
JZ 4850 .W55 1998
A comprehensive guide to IGOs, with a chapter on each, providing its background, structure, an overview of its information & publication system, internet access, documentations centers, bibliographic guides & indexes, statistical publications & indexes.
International Inter-governmental Organization Web Page Finder: portion of the Williams book - World Factbook. Annual.
Washington, D.C.: Central Intelligence Agency, 1981-
G 122 .U58
Contains International Organizations and Groups. - Yearbook of International Organizations. Annual.
Brussels: Union of International Associations, 1967-
JX 1904 .Y33
United Nations Sources
- United Nations
A complete UN site, including sections for Conferences & Events, General Information, UN Documents (fulltext), Publications & Sales, Databases, UN News (including the UN Journal, Daily Highlights & Press Releases), UN Around the World, and What's New. There are also sections covering the UN's main areas of concern: Peace & Security, International Law, Economic & Social Development, Human Rights, and Humanitarian Affairs. The whole site is searchable.- We, the Peoples: the Role of the United Nations in the 21st Century: Millennium Report of the Secretary General of the United Nations, April 3, 2000
- Official Web Site Locator for the United Nations System of Organizations
Alphabetical and classified lists of all the United Nations Organizations (UNOs), with searching capabilities and links. - United Nations System Pathfinder
The Pathfinder identifies major publications of the UN system by numerous subject categories. - The UN System (organizational chart with links)
- Dag Hammarskjöld Library
The Dag Hammarskjöld Library in New York is open only to UN staff members. However, they have made much information available on their web site, including:- UNBISnet
UNBISnet is the catalog of UN publications and documentation indexed by the United Nations Dag Hammarskjöld Library and the Library of the UN Office at Geneva. Also included are non-UN publications held in the collection of the Dag Hammarskjöld Library. - Index to Speeches made in the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council, and the Trusteeship Council
- United Nations Documentation: Research Guide
This guide is designed for researchers and information professionals new to United Nations documentation. It provides an overview of the various types of documents and publications issued by the Organization (e.g, reports, resolutions, meeting records, sales publications, press releases) and gives guidance as to where to find them in either electronic or paper format and how to work with them. - Voting Records for the General Assembly and the Security Council
- UNBISnet
- AccessUN
AccessUN is an index to current and retrospective UN documents and publications, from the six main governing bodies of the UN. Full-text resolutions from the General Assembly, Security Council and Economic and Security Council are linked to their records. - ProQuest Statistical Insight
The ProQuest Statistical database provides comprehensive access to statistical data. Many of the sources are linked to the full text of the data, although some state, private, and IGO sources are cited, allowing the researcher to then locate the statistical source on the internet or in the library, either in print or as part of the microfiche service which accompanies the printed index. - United Nations Treaty Collection
This collection includes five categories of treaty-related data:- Status of Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary-General
- The United Nations Treaty Series
- Texts of Recently Deposited Multilateral Treaties
- Photographs of Treaty Signature Ceremonies
- Titles of the Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary-General in the UN official languages
- Conferences, Meetings and Events
- UN Documents
Menu access to a selection of UN Documents from the General Assembly, Economic & Social Council, Security Council, Secretary-General, and Secretariat, as well as to all the UN databases: UNBIS, ODS, UN-I-QUE and UNTERM. - UN Peacekeeping Operations
Very detailed information on one of the most prominent UN activities; includes maps of world operations and individual UN missions. - Bureau of International Organization Affairs, U.S. Dept. of State
A good source for U.S. policy toward the United Nations.
- Global Policy Forum
GPF monitors the global policy making process at the United Nations. It has addressed issues primarily in three areas: the UN Security Council and Council reform, the UN financial crisis, and social and economic policy at the global level. - Research Guide: the United Nations
A straightforward guide to locating and using UN depository documents at the Columbia University Law Library.
You may also want to consult the online library guide, United Nations Resources, for detailed information about the UN and its agencies.
European Union Sources
- Europa
A European Commission service offering user-friendly and interactive information on the European Union's goals, institutions and policies, with links to all of the Union's component institutions and databases.
- European Union Fact Sheets
U.S. Dept. of State - ProQuest Statistical Insight
The ProQuest Statistical database provides comprehensive access to statistical data. Many of the sources are linked to the full text of the data, although some state, private, and IGO sources are cited, allowing the researcher to then locate the statistical source on the internet or in the library, either in print or as part of the microfiche service which accompanies the printed index.
You may also want to consult the online library guide, The European Union, for detailed information about the UN and its agencies.