Title (Start of Title) | Title Keywords | Keywords | Common Words | Diacritics | Punctuation
Boolean Operators (AND, OR, NOT) | Phrases | Wildcards | Page Length Limit Options | Bookmarking Database URLs
Search Tips for Using the "Find Databases" Interface
Title (Start of Title) Search
The Title (start of title) search seeks matches for initial words appearing in titles as left-anchored phrases. The order in which words are input affects retrieval. The last word is wildcarded on the right. For example:
art
retrieves:
Art abstracts
ARTbibliographies modern
ARTFL: American research on the treasure of the French language
ArticleFirst
[etc.]
Title Keywords Search
The Title Keywords search seeks matches for words appearing in titles. The order in which words are input does not affect retrieval. For example:
women american
retrieves:
African American women: a biographical dictionary
Native American women: a biographical dictionary
North American women's letters and diaries
[etc.]
More information about keyword searching: Boolean (AND, OR, NOT); Phrases; Wildcards
Keywords
The Keywords search seeks matches for words appearing anywhere in the "More Info" pages that describe the databases. For example:
chile argentina
retrieves:
Hapi, Hispanic American periodicals index
Latin America data base
Latin American periodicals tables of contents (LAPTOC)
[etc.]
More information about keyword searching: Boolean (AND, OR, NOT); Phrases; Wildcards
Common Words
Common words such as articles, prepositions, and pronouns are stoplisted, i.e., not indexed for searching. If you input stoplisted words, they will be ignored; only non-stoplisted words will be searched.
Stoplisted words: a, an, and, are, as, at, be, but, by, for, if, in, into, is, it, no, not, of, on, or, s, such, t, that, the, their, then, there, these, they, this, to, was, will, with
Ampersands are ignored.
Diacritics
Diacritics are indexed for searching. If you input diacritics, they will not be ignored.
Punctuation
In general, punctuation is ignored. An apostrophe followed by an "s" is ignored. For example, whether you input women or women's, your search will retrieve the same results.
Boolean Operators (AND, OR, NOT)
AND
When more than one word is input, the search is processed as a Boolean "AND" search: only those databases described by all the words present are retrieved.
OR
Use the Boolean "OR" operator to find databases described by any of the words. To do this, input "OR" in uppercase letters between the words to be searched. For example:
business OR economics
NOT
Use the Boolean "NOT" operator to find databases not described by a particular word. To do this, input "NOT" in uppercase letters before the word to be excluded. Alternatively, input a minus sign "-" directly before the word to be excluded. For example:
science NOT medical
or:
science -medical
or, to exclude multiple words:
science NOT medical NOT medicine
or:
science -medical -medicine
Phrases
Use quotation marks ('') to find databases described by exact phrases. For example,
"global warming"
Wildcards
Use a wildcard (i.e., a truncation symbol) to find databases described by words with variant endings. Wildcards cannot be used at the beginning of a word.
To use a wildcard, input a question mark (?) for a single character or an asterisk (*) for more than one character. For example:
wom?n
retrieves:
woman, women
child*
retrieves:
child, children, childhood [etc.]
Page Length Limit Options
You can determine the number of titles you wish to see displayed on each search results page: 10, 25, 50, 100 or "all results." The default number of titles displayed per search results page is "all results" -- this allows you to scroll through all the retrieved titles on a single page.
Bookmarking Database URLs
Since many database URLs are long, complex, and often changing, we have set up a system of URLs that will not change over time. These links begin with http://www.columbia.edu/cgi-bin/cul/resolve. Please bookmark those.
Example:
