Country Profiles


Country Profiles

Cambridge History of Latin America (1984-2008)
Authoritative, multi-volume history, now available online.

Country Watch
Political & Economic Intelligence, Analysis, Forecasts & News Across the Globe.

Cuba On-Line (University of Miami)
A full-text, searchable database that contains current economic, demographic, political, historical and business information on Cuba.

EIU (Economist Intelligence Unit)
Country Reports and Profiles produced by the same company that publishes the Economist weekly magazine. Online archive. 

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture [Online]
Second edition (2008) of this authoritative, specialized encyclopedia. Completely searchable full-text reference source.

Europa World Plus
Economic, political, historical, and geographic profiles of countries and global regions. Contact information for political, business, media, and cultural agencies and officials, including international organizations. 

LANIC: Country Directory (UT-Austin)

NACLA Report on the Americas
Magazine on domestic developments in Latin America and the Caribbean and their relations with the United States. Issued 5x yearly.

OECD Economic Surveys
In-depth reviews of Member countries' economies and selected non-Member countries.

Perry-CastaƱeda Library Map CollectionMaps of the America (UT-Austin)

The World Factbook (CIA)

Additional Country Profile Resources

International Affairs Resources (Digital Social Science Center, Columbia University Libraries)

Sustainability Research Guide (Lehman Social Sciences Library, Columbia University Libraries)

Current News

Latin American Newsletters
Daily and weekly political, economic, regional, and security reports in English and Spanish. Archives: 1960s  - present.  

LADB: Latin America Data Base
Archive of news digests covering Latin American countries from 1985 to the present.  Articles cite original sources in Latin American newspapers, so you can use this database to identify articles in the Latin American press. You must specify beginning and end dates for searches.

Information Services Latin America
Assembles news from major sources and organizes stories by country.

NACLA Digital Archive
North American Congress on Latin America's Report on the Americas. A biweekly source of analysis and news on Latin American Affairs.

Library of Congress Subject Headings

Knowing the correct subject headings can greatly improve your results. Here are some possible headings to help you improve, expand or narrow or search. To use them, do a "Subject" search in CLIO, WorldCat, or HLAS Online.

Sustainable Agriculture - country

Sustainable Development - Caribbean Area

Sustainable Development - Latin America

Sustainable Development - country

Economic Development - South America

Environmental policy - country

Environmental protection - country

country - Economic conditions

country - Politics and government

Latin America - Social policy


Have a Research Question?
Contact Sean Knowlton, Latin American & Iberian Studies Librarian.
Phone: 212-854-1679
Revised 9/16/2011