Current News


Databases

Latin American Newsstand

Full-text of Latin American newspapers and newswires covering international and Latin-American regional topics. Built in translation tool.

ISI Emerging Markets

Full-text news from Latin America, including government publications, and political, economic and financial sources. 

Latin American Newsletters

Daily and weekly political, economic, regional, and security reports in English and Spanish. Archives: 1960s  - present.  

LADB: Latin America Data Base

Archive of news digests covering Latin American countries from 1985 to the present.  Articles cite original sources in Latin American newspapers, so you can use this database to identify articles in the Latin American press. You must specify beginning and end dates for searches.

Information Services Latin America (ISLA)

Assembles news from major US sources and organizes stories by country. Coverage of Latin American topics from Christian Science Monitor, Financial Times, Los Angeles Times, Miami Herald, Manchester Guardian/Le Monde, New York Times, Washington Post, and Wall Street Journal.

NACLA Digital Archive

North American Congress on Latin America's Report on the Americas. A biweekly source of analysis and news on Latin American Affairs.

Ethnic NewsWatch

Full-text newspaper, magazine and journal articles from the US ethnic press, including Latino news sources and coverage of Latin America.

---

Factiva

Full-text news sources, includes Latin American and Iberian papers. Change the language option to All Languages or Spanish or Portuguese to get foreign language results. Use Spanish or Portuguese keywords to search. Browse recent headlines by choosing "News Pages" from the top of the screen, then "Factiva Pages," followed by selecting a country from the drop-down menu.

Lexis-Nexis Academic

Large database of full-text news, covering U.S. papers and several Latin American sources.  Worthwhile to use Power Search and learn about language and geographic limits to focus your searching.

World News Connection

Full-text summaries and translations of news appearing in print and broadcast media around the world; goes back to 1994.  For previous years see our Foreign Press Translation guide and consult the Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports, 1941-1996

Online Newspapers

ABC (Spain)

Diario de Notícias (Portugal)

El Pais (Spain)
Provides complete full-text access to the current issue and the searchable archive.

Jornal de Notícias (Portugal) 

iSiS: Newspapers and Radio (Iberian Peninsula)

LANIC: News & Newspapers
Links to major news sources and agencies throughout Latin America. Also a Twitter-based news feed.

News Analysis

EIU (Economist Intelligence Unit)
Country Reports and Profiles produced by the same company that publishes the Economist weekly magazine.  Online archive.

Country Watch
Political & Economic Intelligence, Analysis, Forecasts & News Across the Globe.

Tuiteros Iberoamericanos (Foreign Policy en Español)
FP en español ha hecho una lista de los tuiteros iberoamericanos que publican información relevante sobre Iberoamérica y que aportan una visión más global de las relaciones internacionales, política exterior y cooperación.

 


Have a Research Question?
Contact Sean Knowlton, Latin American & Iberian Studies Librarian
Phone: 212-854-1679
Revised 2/29/2012