Hispanic/Latin@ New York City


Resources marked with this symbol are restricted to Columbia affiliates.


A brief research guide to introduce students to sources and strategies to research the Latin American, Caribbean and Iberian presence and heritage in neighborhoods in the New York City metropolitan area.

Reference Works

Wikipedia

Wikipedia is a free, web-based, collaborative, multilingual encyclopedia project supported by the non-profit Wikimedia Foundation. Using Wikipedia for Academic Research [short video]

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture[Online]

Second edition (2008) of this authoritative, specialized encyclopedia. Completely searchable full-text reference source.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States [Online] - Also in print edition.

Encyclopedia Latina : history, culture, and society in the United States [Print]


Find Books

CLIO 
Columbia's catalog.

Borrow Direct 
Borrow books from Borrow Direct member libraries. 

WorldCat 
Catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide. Identify and request materials not in CLIO or BorrowDirect. 


Search CLIO By Keywords and Subject Headings

Truncation

Expand your search by using truncation: hispan? finds hispano, hispanic, hispana, hispanos ...
Also consider: latin? chican? dominican? mexic? brazi? colomb? peru?

Keywords as a Phrase

"Washington Heights" dominican?

Subject Headings

Hispanic Americans--New York (State)--New York
Puerto Ricans--New York (State)--New York
Dominican Americans--New York (State)--New York
Mexican Americans - New York (State)--New York
Colombians--New York (State)--New York
Colombian Americans --New York (State)--New York
Cuban Americans--New Jersey--Union City

Salvadorans--New York (State)--Brentwood

--

New York (N.Y.)--Emigration and immigration
Ethnicity--New York (State)--New York

--

Neighborhoods--New York (State)--New York

Brooklyn (New York, N.Y.)
East Harlem (New York, N.Y.)
Lower East Side (New York, N.Y.)
Long Island (N.Y.)
Union City (N.J.)


Find Articles

History and Ethnic Studies Databases

America, History and Life with full text

Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes journals from 1964 to present and includes citations and links to book and media reviews.

Chicano Database

Provides listings of all types of materials concerning the Mexican-American, Chicano, and broader Latino experience.

Ethnic Newswatch

Full-text newspaper, magazine, and journal articles from the ethnic, minority, and native press in the U.S. Coverage is from 1960 to date.

HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index) 

In addition to Latin America, also covers the US-Mexico border, and Hispanics in the US. Index to citations from over 500 journals with links to full-text articles. Coverage: 1970 to the present.

Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980

Full-text Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries.


More Online Resources

Catalan, Hispanic, and Luso-Brazilian New York (Columbia University, Latin American and Iberian Cultures)

Directory of NY area libraries and cultural centers.

New York City History (Columbia University Libraries, Research Guide)

American Fact Finder (U.S. Census Bereau)

Your source for population, housing, economic, and geographic data.

Hispanic Population of the United States (U.S. Census Bureau)

A presentation that highlights past, present and future trends of the Hispanic population in the United States.

Mapping America: Every City, Every Block (New York Times)

Browse local data from the Census Bureau's American Community Survey, based on samples from 2005 to 2009.

 


Have a Research Question?
Contact Sean Knowlton, Latin American & Iberian Studies Librarian.
Phone: 212-854-1679.
Updated 9/30/2011