Historical News


Databases

World Newspaper Archive
Digitized newspapers from the collections of the Center for Research Libraries covering 1805-1922.
Tip: Select "Newspaper Titles" to view available papers. Not all titles have complete holdings.

Caribbean Newspaper Digital Library
Digital Library of the Caribbean. Growing collection of newspapers and magazines from the region.

Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808 - 1980
Spanish language papers published in the US in the 19th and 20th centuries.

Hemeroteca Digital
Biblioteca Nacional de España. Historical newspapers and periodicals from Spain, spanning the 17th to early 20th centuries.

Portuguese-American Digital Newspaper Collections
The Ferreira-Mendes Portuguese-American Archives at the Claire T. Carney Library, the Center for Portuguese Studies and Culture of the University of Massachusetts Dartmouth

Publicações Periódicas
National Library of Portugal's Digital Library

Spanish Periodicals & Newspapers: Women's Magazine Digital Collections
Univ. of Connecticut, 18th - 20th centuries.

Publicaciones Periódicas del Uruguay
Full-text of 19th and 20th century newspapers and journals published in Uruguay. Navigate to Presentación and use the Índice de títulos to navigate to information about each publication and links to full text.

Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports
Coverage: 1941-1996.
Searchable collection of translations produced by the US government of print and broadcast media from throughout the world. Translated articles cite original foreign language sources and thus can be used to help identify articles appearing in the Latin American press.

Other online historical collections of interest:

ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Full-text, searchable collections of major US newspapers

The Times Digital Archive
Coverage: 1785-1985. Full-text, searchable articles from the Times of London.

19th Century British Library Newspapers

Historical Guardian and Observer (U.K.)

Newspapers on Microfilm at Columbia University Libraries

Avance Criollo, El (Miami, FL, USA) July 1960-June 1962

Barricada (Managua, Nicaragua) July 1979- April 1994

Cambio 16 (Madrid, Spain) Nov. 1971- Nov. 1991

Caribe, El (Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic) Jan. 1956 - Feb. 1974

Comercio, El (Lima, Peru) Jan. 1938 - Dec. 1983

Día, El (Montevideo, Uruguay) Jan. 1962 -Sept. 1993

Envío (Managua, Nicaragua) 1981-2002

Estado de São Paulo (São Paulo, Brazil) Jan. 1890-1911; 1956-present

Estrella de Panamá (Panama City, Panama) Jan. 1956 - Dec. 1968

Excelsior (Mexico City, Mexico) Jan. 1918 - Dec. 1994

Granma (Havana, Cuba) Oct. 1965 - Dec. 1998. See searchable article index

Granma Weekly Review (English) (Havana, Cuba)

Imparcial, El (Guatemala City, Guatemala) Jan. 1962 - June 1985

Jornal do Brasil (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil) June 1965 -Aug. 1982 and Oct. - Dec. 1989

Marcha (Montevideo, Uruguay) 1958-1962 [microfilm] and 1971-1974 [print]

Mercurio, El (Santiago, Chile) July 1953 - present

Nación, La (Buenos Aires, Argentina) Mar. 1952 - present

Nación, La (Santiago, Chile) Jan. 1962 - Sept. 1971

Noticias de hoy (Havana, Cuba) Jan. 1962 - Dec. 1964

Obra revolucionaria (Havana , Cuba) May 1960 - July 1965

País, El (Madrid, Spain) Feb. 1979 - present

Prensa, La (Buenos Aires, Argentina) July 1938 - June 1976

Revolución (Havana, Cuba) Jan. 1959 - Oct. 1965

Tiempo, El (Bogota , Colombia) Aug. 1938 - Dec. 1970

Times of Havana (Havana, Cuba) Jan. 1959 - Jan. 1964

Universal, El (Caracas, Venezuela) Mar. 1944- present

Veja (São Paulo, Brazil) Jan. 1986 - Sept. 1998; 1999 - present in print. Online Archive

Verde Olivo (Havana , Cuba) Mar. 1960 - Dec. 1968

Underground Newspaper Collection
Large collection of "underground" press spanning 1963-1985. Mostly US papers but also includes 55 Latin American titles. Print Guide.

Accessing Microfilm at Columbia Libraries

Check holdings and locations in CLIO. Microfilm is held in ReCAP, the offsite storage facility, unless otherwise indicated. In the CLIO record, select "Get from Offsite" to request film for delivery to Butler Library. The Periodical & Microfilm Reading Room (Butler Library, room 401) has microfilm readers, copiers and high-speed scanners.

The Center for Research Libraries

CRL is a consortium of North American universities, of which Columbia University is a member. Microfilm identified here may be requested via interlibrary loan. CRL maintains an impressive collection of foreign language newspapers in print and on microfilm, both historical and current. Request materials via Interlibrary Loan. Include information about CRL holdings in your ILL request.  

Search CRL's Catalog

LAMP: The microform collections of LAMP (formerly Latin American Microform Project) form a large pool of historical, political, linguistic, economic, and geographical data and primary source materials not available elsewhere. Explore LAMP Collections or Search the CRL Catalog.

Notable Resources at CRL

Revolutionary Mexico in Newspapers, 1900-1929
Guide to the Microfilm Set

Independent Mexico in Newspapers, the 19th Century
Guide to the Microfilm Set

Rare Paraguayan Newspapers

El Pueblo (Asunción) November 24, 1966–August 26, 1987

El Radical (Asunción) October 1, 1970–August 23, 1978

Sendero (Asunción) July 1973–May 9, 1986.

Uno más Uno (Mexico, DF) Oct 1, 1979–Dec 31, 1987

Strategies for Locating Latin American Newspapers

 

When You Know The Title

CLIO Basic Search
Do a Title Search. Limit to "Journals/Newspapers/Serials"  

CLIO Advanced Search
 Do a Title Search. Limit by "Format" to "Journals/Newspapers/Serials". Choose "Medium" limit to "Microforms". Your title search will now be limited to newspapers in microfilm format.

Item not in CLIO
Do a title search in WorldCat to see if other libraries have holdings. Limit your search to "Serial Publications" and, under "Subtype Limits," select "Microform." change the "ANY FORMATS" to MICROFORM. If your title is a common word (Nación) add a city or country name as a keyword in your search.

 

When You Do Not Know The Title

CLIO Advanced Search
Enter [country name], "newspapers" and select "Subject" from the drop down menu. For example, , search: Argentina Newspapers.

WorldCat
Enter [country name] "newspapers" and select "Subject" from the drop down menu. Limit the search to "Serial Publications" and/or "Microforms." To further limit your search, add names of place of publication (city) as a keyword. 

Additional Sources

Bibliographies, union lists, and historical dictionaries can allow you to identify older newspapers not represented in WorldCat or other online databases.

LANE Union List (Latin America North East Libraries Consortium)
A union list of newspapers, news, and business magazine titles held in select research libraries in the North East US.

Latin American newspapers in United States libraries / Steven M. Charno (PDF) 
Published 1969. Organized by country and city and covering over 5,000 newspaper titles, this publication allows quick searching of newspapers held in US libraries (up to the 1960s). Provides holdings information that CLIO and Worldcat might be lacking.

Newspapers in Microform: United States and Foreign Countries (3 volumes) 1948-1983.
Also Available in PDF

Bibliografía - Publicaciones Periódicas del Uruguay
Provides some full text.

Catálogo de periódicos brasileiros microfilmados
Rio de Janeiro : Fundação Biblioteca Nacional, 1994.

Cien años de prensa en Colombia, 1840-1940
Medellín: Editorial Universidad de Antioquia, 2002.

English-language Press in Latin America  / Oliver Marshall
London: Institute of Latin American Studies, 1996.

German-Language press of the Americas, 1732-1968  
Pullach/München, Verlag Dokumentation [1973]

Historia del periodismo argentino : desde los orígenes hasta el centenario de mayo  
Buenos Aires : Editorial de la Universidad Católica Argentina, c2006.


Have a Research Question?
Contact Sean Knowlton, Latin American & Iberian Studies Librarian.
Phone: 212-854-1679
Revised 4/26/12