Handbook of Latin American Studies
HLAS Online (Coverage: 1936 - present)
HLAS WEB (Coverage: 1990 - present)
An annotated, authoritative bibliography on Latin America since 1936, The Handbook of Latin American Studies is edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress. It covers books and published reports in addition to journal articles. The tables of contents from print volume 50 (1990) to the present may be browsed.
HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index)
Covers Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, the US-Mexico border, and Hispanics in the US. Index to citations from over 500 Latin American studies journals with links to full-text articles. Coverage: 1970 to the present.
LAPTOC (Latin American Periodicals Tables of Contents) Temporarily Unavailable
Provides access to the tables of contents of more than 950 journals published in Latin America, primarily in the humanities and social sciences, that are not generally included in HAPI, HLAS or the MLA. The database contains citations for over 325,000 articles.This index to citation covers 1990 - 2010. Journals not at Columbia are available through Interlibrary Loan.
CLASE indexes documents published in Latin American journals specializing in the social sciences and humanities. PERIODICA covers journals specializing in science and technology. Produced by National Autonomous University of Mexico (UNAM). Covers all countries of Latin America.
Coverage: 1975 to present.
Full-text database of Latin American academic journals in social sciences, humanities, science and medicine; Informe also covers popular Latin American and Latino magazines and newspapers. Coverage: 1980 to present
Bases de datos Bibliográficas del CSIC
Full access restricted to susbcribers. "The ICYT, ISOC and IME bibliographic databases covers the Spanish scientific production published in Spain from the 70s up to date. They mostly include articles from scientific journals, but also a selection of congress and conference proceedings, serials, compilations, reprots and monographies." The Bases de Datos del CSIC contains three databases that index Spanish journals and conference papers. ISOC - 1970 to present; contains nine subdatabases in the social sciences and humanities. ICYT - 1979 to present; science and technology. IME - 1971 to present; medicine.
Indexes thousands of journals (millions of articles), mostly published in Spain. Covers all subject areas, including works about Latin America. Also includes some full-text theses from Spanish universities.