Resources marked with this symbol are restricted to Columbia affiliates.
Latin American and Iberian Cultures
Find Books
CLIO
Columbia's catalog.
Borrow Direct
Borrow books from Borrow Direct member libraries.
WorldCat
Catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide. Identify and request materials not in CLIO or BorrowDirect.
Find Articles
Literary and Linguistic Databases
MLA International Bibliography
via EBSCO (includes MLA Directory of Periodicals)
via CSA
via ProQuest: Directory of Periodicals
Indexes critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Proved access to citations from worldwide publications, including periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies. Some full-text and links to additional full-text. Coverage: 1923 - present.
Bibliografía de la literatura Española desde 1980 (BLE)
Bibliography of scholarly works published since 1980 about Spanish literature. More Info
Area Studies Databases
Handbook of Latin American Studies
HLAS Online (Coverage: 1936 - present)
HLAS WEB (Coverage: 1990 - present)
An annotated, authoritative bibliography on Latin America since 1936, HLAS is edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress. Covers books and published reports in addition to journal articles. The tables of contents from print volume 50 (1990) to the present may be browsed.
HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index)
Information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Index to citations from over 500 Latin American studies journal with some links to full-text articles. Coverage: 1970 to the present.
Index of academic journals from Spain and Latin America with links to some full text.
Has some full-text theses from Spanish universities.
Digital Collections
Admyte II: Archivo digital de manuscritos y textos españoles (CD-ROM)
Alexander Street Literature
Searchable collection of poetry, short fiction, and novels, along with full-text plays and film scripts. Includes:
Black Short Fiction and Folklore
Caribbean Literature
Latin American Women Writers
Latino Literature
Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de Cervantes
Extensive site offering links to full-text collections of major literary authors and historical works
Brasiliana Eletronica (Coleção Brasiliana)
Editada originalmente pela Companhia Editora Nacional no período de 1931 a 1993, a Coleção Brasiliana reúne 415 volumes de autores brasileiros e estrangeiros que retrataram o país nos campos da História, Sociologia, Antropologia e História Natural, entre muitos outros.
Life and Times of Jorge Luis Borges
This database includes bibliographic citations to works by and about Borges, selected full-text articles and reference material including photographs, documents, complete transcriptions of all of his work, and an encyclopedia of Borges.
Online Text Collections in Western European Literature (WESS)
Revista de libros
Digitalia (Recent issues)
JSTOR (Latest 3-years not available)
A Spanish book (and film) review magazine that offers in-depth analysis written by writers in the Spanish and Latin American cultural scene. .
Sur Digital Archive
Covers full-text of the Revista Sur (1931-1992) published in Buenos Aires. A major literary journal.
Teatro Español del Siglo de Oro
Contains the full text of the earliest available editions of the most important plays of the sixteenth and seventeenth century in Spain. More than 800 plays by 16 dramatists are included with associated texts, stage directions, and frontmatter.
Reference Works
Digital
Diccionario de términos clave de ELE
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online
Cambridge History of Latin American Literature
Cambridge History of Spanish Literature
Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean literature, 1900-2003
Credo Reference Edition
NetLibrary Edition
Encyclopedia of Latin American Theater
The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Criticism
Diccionario de la lengua española
Diccionario panhispánico de dudas
Nuevo Tesoro Lexicográfico de la Lengua Española
A searchable database containing digital facsimiles over 60 of the most important dictionaries in the history of Spanish lexicography, dating from 1495 to the present. You can search subsets of this collection. Use accents and other diacritical marks when entering search terms.
Tesoro de la lengua castellana o española / Sebastián de Covarrubias Orozco
Diccionario de autoridades / Real Academia Española
Additional Reference Sources for Literature in Spanish and Portuguese [PDF]
Corpus
This 100 million word corpus of Spanish texts has been funded by the NEH and has been created by Prof. Mark Davies of Brigham Young University. In addition to being very fast, the search engine allows a wider range of searches than almost any other large corpus in existence.
Corpus de Referencia del Español Actual (CREA) (Real Academia Española)
Corpus Diacrónico del Español (CORDE) (Real Academia Española)
Glosario Electrónico de Términos Lingüísticos | Electronic Glossary of Linguistic Terms
Edited by J. Albert Bickford and David Tuggy for the Summer Institute of Linguistics in Mexico.
La Wikilengua es un recurso sobre el uso del castellano, donde se pueden consultar, con una orientación esencialmente práctica, dudas frecuentes y que se puede ir extendiendo y corrigiendo con la colaboración de la propia comunidad.
Web Portals, Blogs, and More
El Boomeran(g): El blog literario latinoamericano
"El Boomeran(g) es el blog literario latinoamericano, quizá el único portal abierto en la galaxia Google para ofrecer la más destacada información literaria en español." Features audio, critical essays, a forum, excerpts from unpublished works, and more.
Centro Virtual Cervantes: Lengua
Centro Virtual Cervantes: Literatura
El CVC es un sitio de Internet para contribuir a la difusión de la lengua española y las culturas hispánicas.
Essay & Science ensayo y ciencia
"The works selected for the Essay and Science web provide a panoramic view of the most notable achievements of essayists and scientists who think and write in Spanish."
Cordel: Literatura popular em verso
O Acervo de Literatura Popular em Versos da Fundação Casa de Rui Barbosa, o maior da América Latina, atualmente com mais de 9.000 folhetos de cordel foi formado a partir da década de 1960 e, dessa iniciativa resultou uma extensa bibliografia, composta de catálogos, antologias e estudos especializados.
Have a Research Question?
Contact Sean Knowlton, Latin American & Iberian Studies Librarian.
Phone: 212-854-1679.
Revised 2/14/2012