NOTE: Core archaeological indexes ONLINE are preceded by an asterisk.
NOTE: Most of the listed indexes and bibliographies DO NOT in themselves contain online full-text articles. If they do not, to find out whether the articles in your citations are available online, search the Journal title (or book title) in CLIO. Be sure to note if the years covered online match the date of your citation. (Also, see section II: Electronic Journals. )
In addition, there is a service, E-Link, within many of the online indexes listed below. E-Link can be found as a button to the right of the citation. It provides direct links from a database citation to the full text of the article online (if available) and if full-text isn't available, E-Link checks CLIO, our library catalog, to see if the Libraries have what you need in print. E-Link will also help you submit an interlibrary loan request. Just click on the E-Link icon or text link for a menu showing the options available to you.
AATA ONLINE: Abstracts of International Conservation Literature. (Online: 1932-to date)
Indexes journals, reports, conference proceedings, etc. covering the "management and conservation of international material cultural heritage -- broadly interpreted to include works of art, cultural objects, museum collections, archives and library materials, architecture, historic sites, and archaeology." Getty Conservation Institute. (Replaces the print version of Art and Archaeology Technical Abstracts )
Avery Reference N35 Ar75 (paper version)
ABIA Index. (Online: 1990-to date)
Bibliographic database on South & Southeast Asian art and archaeology, compiled by IIAS, covering articles, monographs, grey literature published 1990 to present.
Avery Fine Arts Reference N1 Ab52 (paper version)
AIDA : articoli italiani di periodici accademici = Bibliography of Italian periodical literature. (Online: 1997-to date)
Citation database containing journal articles from Italian academic journals covering the humanities and social sciences, classified using the Basis Classification in German and Italian.
America: History and Life. (Online: 1964-to date)
Subject, author, title and keyword index to articles, book reviews, and dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
The ancient arts of western and central Asia: a guide to the literature. by Bernard Goldman, 303 p., (1991).
Classified annotated bibliography (books, journal articles, exhibition catalogs, archaeological reports, etc.) on the arts of those who lived anywhere from the eastern shores of the Mediterranean to the eastern borders of Chinese Turkestan and from the Ukraine and southern Soviet Asia to Pakistan and the Arabian peninsula. Chronologically arranged from Neolithic to the coming of Islam.
Avery Reference N35 G556
*L'Anneé Philologique. (Online: 1924-to date)
The standard index of current literature for classical archaeology and philology.
Butler Reference R016.88 M341 (paper version)
Annuario bibliografico di archeologia. (Istituto Nazionale di Archeologia e Storia dell’Arte, Rome), n.s. 1982-to date.
Classified bibliography of archaeological literature by the library of the research institute in Rome. Includes short abstracts. Indexes of abbreviations, authors, and proper names. (Old series published from 1952-1072.)
Avery AC Is77
Anthropological Index of the Royal Anthropological Institute. (Online: 1950s to date) (London) (A.K.A. Anthropological Index online)
Index to anthropological journals currently received by the Museum of Mankind Library (London), which incorporates the former Royal Anthropological Institute library; includes bibliographies and obituaries.
AnthropologyPlus. (Online coverage: 19th century to present)
Combines Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and the Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the U.K. Provides worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. The index offers coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals.
Archäologische Anzeiger. 1963 to date.
Bibliographie, published annually since 1970 within Archäologische Anzeiger, lists completed dissertations in the field from German, Swiss, and Austrian Universities.
Avery AC D480105
Archäologische Bibliographie. 1932-1993.
Ceased. Now published in electronic form as Dyabola (1957 to date). Indexes international journals covering Europe, Mesopotamia, and Egypt. References arranged by subject. Separate subject, author, book review, and site indexes. No annotations or abstracts. Dyabola, is available online through LibraryWeb, and on CD-ROM at Butler’s Electronic Text Services.
Avery AC D48011 (paper version)
Art & Architecture Complete. (Online)
A bibliographic database that provides indexing and abstracts for academic journals, magazines and trade publications with full text for some, as well as selective coverage for a number of other publications.
*Art Index (aka Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective). (Online: 1929-to date)
Periodical coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish. In addition to articles, indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. Subjects covered include archaeology, architecture, art history, city planning, crafts, motion pictures, graphic arts, industrial design, interior design, landscape architecture, museology, and photography. Art Index Retrospective covers 1929-1984. Art Full Text covers 1984 to date. For archaeology-related articles in business, education, humanities, science, and social sciences, also search other WilsonWeb indexes:()Business Full-Text, Essay & general literature, Education Full-Text, General Science Full-Text, Humanities Full-Text, Humanities & social sciences index retrospective, 1907-1984, and Social Sciences Full-Text at the same URL. WARNING: Be sure to click on OPEN DATABASE SELECTION area to see which part of Art Index has been selected, so you will know what you are getting.
Article First. (Online: 1990-to date)
Citations and abstracts for articles in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, humanities, and popular culture periodicals.
Articles. (Online: Tab on lower part of Columbia Library Web)
The Articles tab allows you to search through a massive collection of journal and newspaper articles, e-books, and conference proceedings. Rather than search for all of these things in separate databases, Find Articles lets you find them all at once. Find Articles is primarily a database of online content, with some citations to print articles. It does not include newspapers, but you can choose to include newspaper articles from the search results page. Records from CLIO, our online catalog, are not included in Find Articles.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (Online: 1975 –to date. Resides within Web of Knowledge-scroll down to bottom of first screen to select)
Interdisciplinary index to books and articles. Can also search by citation, to allow you to discover who cites whom.
ATLA Religion Database. (Online: 1949-to date)
Indexes periodicals from 1949, multi-authored works from 1960, book reviews from 1975.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals. (Online: 19th century-to date with some earlier citations back to 1741)
Standard architectural periodical index, which also may include archaeology, mosaics, mural painting, architectural sculpture, etc. Use keyword to retrieve newer and older citations.
BCIN: Bibliographical Database of the Conservation Information Network =Réseau d'Information sur la Conservation. (Online: 1954-to date)
Incorporates v.1-34 (1955-1997) of Art & Archaeology Technical Abstracts. Now it is compiled by the Canadian Conservation Institute (CCI), the International Center for the Study of the Preservation and Restoration of Cultural Property (ICCROM), and the National Archives of Canada.
BHA (Bibliography of the History of Art). Getty Information Institute. (Online: 1973-2007)
Indexes books, journals, dissertations, and exhibition catalogs. Covers Western art, all media, from late antiquity to the present. Includes RILA (International Repertory of the Literature of Art, 1975-1989), and RAA (Repertoire d'art et d'archeologie, 1973-1989; available in print for the years 1910 to 1989 at Avery Reference N2 R29). RAA covers late antiquity to the present; excludes Islamic, Far Eastern, and primitive art and archaeology.
*Bibliografia Mesoamericana. (Online)
Jointly supervised by John Weeks of the Museum Library of the University of Pennsylvania and Sandra Noble of the Foundation for the Advancement of Mesoamerican Studies, Inc. (FAMSI), provides a comprehensive and continually updated bibliographic dataset of the published literature pertaining to the anthropology of Mesoamerica. Content includes archaeology, ethnography, ethno-history, art history, linguistics, physichumal anthropology, and other related disciplines.
Bibliographie de civilisation médiévale. (Online: 1957-to date)
A companion to the index of articles in the International Medieval Bibliography Online, this database indexes books and book reviews on the same topics.
Bibliographie der Deutschsprachigen Arabistik und Islamkunde: von den Anfängen bis 1986 nebst Literatur über die arabischen Länder der Gegenwart.
ed. Fuat Sezgin, 21 vol.(1990-1996).
Classified unannotated bibliographies of German-language literature on the Islamic and Arabic world. Includes materials published up to 1986.
Butler Reference R016.95 B47
A bibliography of the architecture, arts and crafts of Islam.
ed. Keppel Archibald Cameron Creswell. (1960 and 1984 suppl).
Occasional brief annotations. Bibliography listing articles, books, etc. covering “every branch of Muslim Architecture and Art, except Numismatics.” –Pref.
Avery Reference N35 C86
Book review digest plus. (Online: 1983 to date)
Offers citations to reviews, summaries and some excerpts of book reviews published in the U.S., Canada and Great Britain, with book review citations and selected full text of book reviews from eleven other Wilson indexes.
Book review digest retro. (Online: 1905-1982)
Offers citations to book reviews for books in all fields. (Another Wilson index.)
Book review index plus. (Online: 1965 to date)
Index to book reviews from approximately 600 scholarly and popular English-language journals with links to more than 630,000 full-text reviews.
British humanities index: BHI. (Online: 1962 to date)
An international abstracting and indexing tool for research in the humanities, BHI indexes over 320 humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries as well as several newspapers published in the U.K.
*Bulletin analytique d’histoire romaine. Association pour l’étude de la civilization romaine. Strasbourg. (Online: 1962-to date)
Bibliography to current periodical literature on ancient Roman history. Citations lack annotations, but do include keyword, geographic, and thematic headings after each entry. Click on French or English version of Bulletin analytique… once at web site.
Butler DG11 .B85 (paper version)
Census of Antique Art & Architecture known to the Renaissance. (Part of Projekt Dyabola) (Online: 1990-to date)
Useful U-Tube tutorial from NYU and a text tutorial from Berkeley)
Database of texts and some images which document links between the art and architecture of classical antiquity and the Renaissance. Includes drawings, sketches, treatises, etc. as recorded in Renaissance documents illustrating the knowledge and study of classical antiquity by Renaissance artists.
A searchable bibliography of Bronze Age archaeology of mainland Greece and Crete. Organized by site.
Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum. (Online: 1922 to date)
Digitized copy of the corpus of antique vases held in collections worldwide. Avery AK3800 In... (Paper version)
*Custom Search. (Online-LibraryWeb: second item in E-Resources drop-down menu)
Local consolidation of many basic databases (online indexes) sorted by subject, which allows you to perform simple searches in multiple databases. Limits results to 30 citations per database, but you can see how many results each database retrieved.
Datenbank der attischen Grabreliefs des 5. und 4. Jahrhunderts v. Chr. (Part of Projekt Dyabola) (Online: 2001(?) to date)
Useful U-Tube tutorial from NYU and a text tutorial from Berkeley)
Individual entries allow access to iconographic, epigraphic, social, chronological and geographic aspects. Descriptions of the picture motifs distinguish simple motifs, types and patterns which can be called up individually and in combination. Please also look at the following for help with how to use: www.lib.berkeley.edu/ARTH/attische.html.
*Dyabola (listed as Projekt Dyabola). (Online: 1957-to date)
(There is also a free version available (ZENON.DAI), which, when searched, gives slightly different results: http://opac.dainst.org)
Useful U-Tube tutorial from NYU and a text tutorial from Berkeley)
Citations to articles on classical, near eastern, and Egyptian archaeology, Byzantine art history, epigraphy, and numismatics. The print version, Archaeologisches Bibliographie ceased in 1993. Projekt Dyabola also includes other databases covering arts of the antiquities, e.g. Datenbank der attischen Grabreliefs des 5. und 4. Jahrunderts v. Chr (see below), Census of Antique Art & Architecture known to the Renaissance (see above), Corpus der Antiken Denkmaler, etc.
Essay & general literature. (Online: 1985 to date)
Indexes essays and articles contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada. Areas covered include the humanities and social sciences, with subject coverage ranging from economics, political science, and history to criticism of literary works, drama, and film. (Another Wilson Index.)
Fasti Archaeologici. (1946-1986) Annual.
[Avery AB F26]
Abstracts of books, periodical articles, book reviews, reports, etc., arranged by subject. Indexed by ancient and modern authors, geographical names, subjects, lexicalia, and literary and epigraphical sources. Now continued by FastiOnline below.
FastiOnline. (Online: 2000 to date)
Online version has coverage of current excavations, begun in Italy and now expanding to Albania, Bulgaria, Macedonia, Malta, Morocco, Romania and Serbia. This database will contain a basic record sheet for each site excavated for any period in a given year with, at the discretion of the site director, the interim report for the year, together with any further documentation the director wishes to add. There is no chronological limitation to the sites listed, which range from the Upper Palaeolithic to the nineteenth century, and reports on restoration projects and new museum displays are also welcomed. Sites are searchable by project name, by period and type of site, and by clickable maps which provide an overview of the excavation locations. Links will be provided to a project’s web site where possible.
*FRANCIS. (Online: 1984-to date)
Institut de l'Information Scientifique et Technique du Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique. Multidisciplinary, multilingual index to journals with emphasis on humanities and social sciences.
Gnomon Online. (Online)
Bibliographic index to publications in the areas of Classical Philology, Ancient History, and Archaeology including monographs, dissertations (German and US), conference proceedings, etc.
Goldman, B. The Ancient Arts of Western and : a Guide to the Literature. (1991)
[Avery Reference N 35 G556]
Humanities Full Text. (Online: 1984-to date)
Bibliographic indexes (starting 1984) and some full text (starting 1995) plus abstracts of scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as lesser known specialized magazines. (Another Wilson Index.)
Humanities and social sciences index retrospective. (Online: 1907-1984)
Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals.
*Index Islamicus. (Online: 1906-to date)
(Part of CSA Illumina) Indexes material on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world from periodicals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works, book reviews, websites, and other materials in European languages, Turkish, Malay and Bahasa Indonesia.
*International Bibliography of Periodical Literature (IBZ = Internationale Bibliographie der Zeitschriftenliteratur.). (Online: 1983-to date)
Indispensable for interdisciplinary research, this universal index of periodical literature covers basic research from all fields of knowledge, and is particularly strong in the humanities and the social sciences. Over 11,000 periodicals are indexed by this multilingual database, now containing over 2.5 million records. It is international in scope, and indexes a significant proportion the periodicals published on the European continent.
ButlerOffsite R050 AIn851 (1896-1984) (paper version)
International medieval bibliography online. (Online: 1967 to date)
Indexes articles, notes, and similar literature on medieval subjects in journals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, and collected essays. Covers all aspects of medieval studies from 400 to 1500 for Europe, the Middle East and North Africa for the period before the Muslim conquest and parts of those areas subsequently controlled by Christian powers. (International Medieval Institute & Medieval Academy of America)
Iter : gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance. (Online: 1784-to date)
Bibliographic database of interdisciplinary journals pertaining to the Middle Ages and the Renaissance. Indexes over 1,346 journals published since 1784 as well as 2,800 scholarly collections published since 1980. In addition is has a online version of P.O. Kristeller's Iter Italicum, Baptisteria Sacra: an Iconographic Index of Baptismal Fonts, an International Directory of Scholars.
*Nestor: International Bibliography of Aegean Studies. (Online: 2009-to date)
Bibliography of books, journal articles, conference proceedings, etc. of Aegean studies, Homeric society, Indo-European linguistics, and related areas. Click on “Search the Nestor Database” to bring up search screen.
19th century masterfile. (Online: 1800-1925)
Includes several 19th-century periodical indexes, as well as indexing of the New York Daily Tribune (1875-1906) and The New York Times (1863-1905).
OEB: Online Egyptological Bibliography. (Online: 1882 to date)
Combines the Annual Egyptological Bibliography (AEB) with Bibliographie Altägypten (BA).
Oxford Bibliographies Online (Online)
This resource offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas. There are at least 50 specific topical bibliographies in each subject area planned thus far. Each of these features an introduction to the topic. As of Sept. 2010 these annotated bibliographies cover topics in classics, criminology, Islamic studies and social work. The site offers introductions to each topic area, and including guides to introductory works, textbooks, guidebooks, journals, reference works etc., and links to useful websites. These bibliographies are browseable by subject area and are keyword searchable. Also contains a "My OBO" function that allows users to create personalized lists of individual citations from different bibliographies.
Periodicals Index Online. (Online: 1770-to date)
An index to tables of contents of periodicals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, including some published as far back as 1770. Includes periodicals in English, German, Italian, French, Spanish, and other Western languages. Provides access, where available, to page images in the related Periodicals Archive Online (PAO). (When no corresponding text is available in PAO, an E-link is displayed.)
Proquest Digital Dissertations. (Online: 1861-to date)
Provides subject, title, and author access to almost all American dissertations accepted at an accredited institution since 1861. Masters theses have been selectively indexed since 1962. Abstracts are included for doctoral dissertation records from July 1980 to the present and for masters theses from 1988. In addition, the full text of dissertations published since 1997 (and some from earlier dates) is available.
*TOCS-IN: Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists. (Online: 1992-to date.)
"TOCS-IN provides the tables of contents of a selection of Classics, Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals, both in text format and through a Web search program. Where possible, links are given with articles of which the full text or an abstract is available online (about 15%). The project began to archive current tables of contents in 1992, and now contains ca 185 journals, and over 45,000 articles, in a database at Toronto. In addition, the Louvain mirror site archives much additional material for some of the journals before 1992. Searches of all data can be made at both sites..." Maintained at the University of Toronto.