Indexes, Current Literature, & Full-Text Online Resources


Resources marked with this symbol are restricted to Columbia affiliates.

Indexes

(Note: Core art historical indexes are preceded by an asterisk)

AATA Online. (Art and Archaeology Technical Abstracts.) (Online: 1932 to date)
Compiled by the Getty Conservation Institute. Prior to 1997 also compiled by the International Institute for Conservation of Historic and Artistic Works, London and the Canadian Heritage Information Network.
Avery Reference N35 Ar75 (Paper 1955-2000) and also within BCIN: Bibliographical Database of the Conservation Information Network =Réseau d'Information sur la Conservation. (1955-1997) (see Below)

AIDA: articoli italiani di periodici accademici = Bibliography of Italian periodical literature. (Online: 1997 to date)
Citation database containing journal articles from Italian academic journals covering the humanities and social sciences, classified using the Basis Classification in German and Italian.

America: History and Life. (Online: 1964-to date)
Subject, author, title and keyword index to articles, book reviews, and dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.

L'Anneé Philologique. (Online: 1924-2009)
The standard index of current literature for classical archaeology and philology.
Butler Reference R016.88 M341 (Paper 1924/26 to date) Annual. (copies available in multiple locations)

* Art & Architecture Complete. (Online: 1937 to date)
A bibliographic database that provides indexing and abstracts for academic journals, magazines and trade publications with full text for some, as well as selective coverage for a number of other publications.

*Art Index. (Online: 1929 to date)
Periodical coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish. In addition to articles, indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. Subjects covered include archaeology, architecture, art history, city planning, crafts, motion pictures, graphic arts, industrial design, interior design, landscape architecture, museology, and photography. Art Index Retrospective covers 1929-1984. Art Full Text covers 1984 to date.

ARTBibliographies Modern. (Online: 1974-to date)
Index to literature on 19th and 21st century art. (Identified online as CSA Illumina: Artbibliographies Modern)

Article First. (Online: 1990-to date)
Citations and abstracts for articles in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, humanities, and popular culture periodicals.

Articles. (Online: Tab on lower part of Columbia Library Web)
The Articles tab allows you to search through a massive collection of journal and newspaper articles, e-books, and conference proceedings.  Find Articles is primarily a database of online content, with some citations to print articles. It does not include newspapers, but you can choose to include newspaper articles from the search results page. Records from CLIO, our online catalog, are not included in Find Articles.

Artlibraries.net : virtual catalogue for art history. (Online) -- See section 16.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index (Resides within Web of Knowledge – scroll down to bottom of first screen).  (Online: 1975–to date)
Interdisciplinary index to books and articles.  Can also search by citation, to allow you to discover who cites whom.

ATLA Religion Database. (Online: 1949 to date)
Indexes periodicals from 1949, multi-authored works from 1960, book reviews from 1975.

*Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals. (Online: 19th century to date, with some earlier citations back to 1741)
The standard architectural periodical index, which also may include archaeology, mosaics, mural painting, architectural sculpture, etc. Use keyword to retrieve newer and older citations.

BCIN: Bibliographical Database of the Conservation Information Network =Réseau d'Information sur la Conservation. (Online: 1954 to date)
Incorporates v.1-34 (1955-1997) of Art & Archaeology Technical Abstracts (AATA see above). Now it is compiled by the Canadian Conservation Institute (CCI), the International Center for the Study of the Preservation and Restoration of Cultural Property (ICCROM), and the National Archives of Canada.

*BHA: Bibliography of the History of Art. (Online: 1973-2007)
This includes all of RILA (see below) and 1973-1989 of RAA (see below). (BHA is a merger of RAA and RILA.) Index to books and articles on western art history from late antiquity to the mid-20th century, or non-western art as it influences western art of this period. Ceased. Continued by International Bibliography of Art.

Bibliographie de civilisation medievale. (Online-a choice within Brepols' offerings: 1957 to date)
A companion to the index of articles in the International Medieval Bibliography Online, this database indexes books and book reviews on the same topics.

Bibliotheca Hertziana, Max-Planck-Institut. Kataloge der bibliotheca Hertziana in Rom. Sektion 3. Aufsatzautoren-Katalog. (8 vols.)
Author index to 19th to 20th century periodical articles.
Avery N35 R66

Book Review Digest
(Book Review Digest Plus: Online: index, abstracts, some full text from 1983 to date and Book Review Digest Retro: Online: index from 1905 to 1982)
Indexes to book reviews of works of fiction and nonfiction, reference works, textbooks, and children's books in the areas of art, biography, business, education, general interest, history, humanities, literature, library and information science, music, religion, science and technology, and social sciences. (A Wilson Index.)

Book Review Index Plus. (Online: 1965 to date)
An index to book reviews from approximately 600 scholarly and popular English-language journals with links to more than 630,000 full-text reviews.

British Humanities Index. (Online: 1962 to date)
An international abstracting and indexing tool for research in the humanities, BHI indexes over 320 internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK. Topics include architecture, archaeology, art, antiques, education, economics, foreign affairs, environment, cinema, current affairs, gender studies, history, language, law, linguistics, literature, music, painting, philosophy, poetry, political science, religion, and theatre.

Columbia University Libraries website. (Online)
In addition to CLIO (Columbia Libraries on-line catalog), CUL-web has a growing number of periodical and newspaper indexes, dictionaries and encyclopedias on general and specific subjects, full-text databases, on-line library catalogs from all over the world, WORLDCAT (OCLC) {Described in Section 17}, image collections, and an ever changing assortment of other services. You only have access to this as a Columbia University affiliate at computers located through-out the libraries and off campus (using your UNI and Password) through any internet connection.

*Custom Search. (Online-LibraryWeb: in E-Resources drop-down menu)
Local consolidation of many basic databases (online indexes) sorted by subject, which allows you to perform simple searches in multiple databases.  Limits results to 30 citations per database, but you can see how many results each database retrieved. 

Design Abstracts Retrospective (DAR). (Online as a part of DesignInform offerings: 1921-1986)
Ongoing abstracting and indexing service covering many of the most important design and applied arts journals and annuals published during the twentieth century. When complete it will cover over 70 titles.

*Dyabola. (listed as Projekt Dyabola). (1958-to date) (There is also a free version available (ZENON.DAI), which, when searched, gives slightly different results: http://opac.dainst.org)   Useful (Linked in CLIO record): U-Tube tutorial from NYU and a text tutorial from Berkeley.
Citations to articles on classical, near eastern, and Egyptian archaeology, Byzantine art history, epigraphy, and numismatics. The print version, Archaeologisches Bibliographie ceased in 1993. Projekt Dyabola also includes other databases covering arts of the antiquities, e.g. Datenbank der attischen Grabreliefs des 5. und 4. Jahrunderts v. Chr (see below), Census of Antique Art & Architecture known to the Renaissance (see above), Corpus der Antiken Denkmaler, etc.

Essay & General Literature. (Online: 1985 to date)
Indexes essays and articles contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada. Areas covered include the humanities and social sciences, with subject coverage ranging from economics, political science, and history to criticism of literary works, drama, and film.

Fasti Archaeologici. (1946-1986) Annual. Avery AB F26 & now:
FastiOnline. (Online: 2000 to date)
Online version has coverage of current excavations, begun in Italy and now expanding to Albania, Bulgaria, Macedonia, Malta, Morocco, Romania and Serbia. This database will contain a basic record sheet for each site excavated for any period in a given year with, at the discretion of the site director, the interim report for the year, together with any further documentation the director wishes to add. There is no chronological limitation to the sites listed, which range from the Upper Palaeolithic to the nineteenth century, and reports on restoration projects and new museum displays are also welcomed. Sites are searchable by project name, by period and type of site, and by clickable maps which provide an overview of the excavation locations. Links will be provided to a project’s web site where possible.

Francis. (Online: 1984 to date)
Humanities and social sciences journal index compiled by the Institut de l'Information Scientifique et Technique du Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (INIST-CNRS) and the Getty Research Institute (GRI). Useful in the fields of archaeology and world art.

Frick Art Reference Library. Original Index to Art Periodicals. (1983)
Covers 1923-1969.
At NYU/IFA, MMA, Frick and on microfilm in Avery: Microfilm F d2604

Garden Landscape & Horticultural Index. (Online: 1964 to date)
Provides access to articles about plants and gardens. Topics include horticulture, garden and landscape design and history, botany, ecology, plant and garden conservation, garden management, and horticultural therapy.

Humanities Index
(Humanities Full text: Online: Index with abstracts (1984-1995) and selected full text 1995 to date and Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective (Online: 1907-1984)
The database indexes, and 1984 to date abstracts feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama, and poetry, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs. (A Wilson Index.)

*International Bibliography of Art. (IBA) (Online:1990s to date)
ProQuest database of citations to articles and books in western art beginning in 2008 to present.  Coverage partially mirrors the now frozen Bibliography of the History of Art, and more is being added.

International Bibliography of Periodical Literature (IBZ = Internationale Bibliographie der Zeitschriftenliteratur.) (Online: 1983 to date)
Indispensable for interdisciplinary research, this universal index of periodical literature covers basic research from all fields of knowledge, and is particularly strong in the humanities and the social sciences. Over 11,000 periodicals are indexed by this multilingual database, now containing over 2.5 million records. It is international in scope, and indexes a significant proportion the periodicals published on the European continent.
Butler Reference R050 AIn851 (Paper, 1896-1984)

International Medieval Bibliography. (Online-a choice within Brepols' offerings: 1967 to date)
Covers all aspects of medieval studies within the date range of 400 to 1500 for the entire continent of Europe, the Middle East and North Africa for the period before the Muslim conquest and parts of those areas subsequently controlled by Christian powers. Includes more than 300,000 articles published 1967 to date, all of which are fully classified by date, subject and location. (Identified online as Brepols. Click on ENTER DATABASE to find.)
Butler Reference R016.9401 In86 (Paper, 1980-2001)

Iter : gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance. (Online: 1784 to date)
Bibliographic database of interdisciplinary journals pertaining to the Middle Ages and the Renaissance. Indexes over 1,346 journals published since 1784 as well as 2,800 scholarly collections published since 1980. In addition is has a online version of P.O. Kristeller's Iter Italicum, Baptisteria Sacra: an Iconographic Index of Baptismal Fonts, an International Directory of Scholars, and a few other interesting listings.

19th Century Master File. (Online: 1800-1925)
Includes several 19th-century periodical indexes (including Poole's), as well as indexing of the Harper's Magazine, The New York Daily Tribune (1875-1906) and The New York Times (1863-1905).

Periodicals Index Online. (Online: 1770 to early 20th century)
An index to tables of contents of periodicals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, including some published as far back as 1770. Includes periodicals in English, German, Italian, French, Spanish, and other Western languages. Provides access, where available, to page images in the related Periodicals Archive Online (PAO). (When no corresponding text is available in PAO, an E-link is displayed.)

*Répertoire d'Art et d'Archéologie.
This title merged with RILA to form BHA. Covers 200AD to early 20th century.
Avery N2 R29 (Paper, 1910 to 1972)
From 1973 is available in Bibliography of the History of Art {see above}

RIBA: British Architectural Library Online Catalogue and Index. (Online: late 1970's to date)
Library catalog and index to approximately 300 current architectural periodicals. Subjects include: architecture, architectural conservation, urban history, construction technology, design, environmental studies, landscape and planning. Periodical citations from the late 1970's. (Identified online as architecture.com. Click on "search the online catalogue.")

RILA: International Repertory of the Literature of Art. (Online: 1975-1989)
NOTE: RILA resides fully within Bibliography of the History of Art {see above}. Abstracted index to articles in books, exhibition catalogs, congress proceedings & festschriften as well as periodicals. Merged with RAA to form BHA.

Ryerson Library, Chicago Art Institute. Index to Art Periodicals. (1907-1969)
Indexing predates Art Index. Coverage: 1907-1929, after which it only indexed journals not covered in Art Index until 1969. Emphasis on 19th & 20th century art.
At NYU/IFA

Schmidt, M. Index to 19th-Century American Art Periodicals. (Online)
Index to 42 art journals published between 1800-1899.
Avery N1 Sch551 (Paper)

Bibliographies About Art Journals

Roberts, Helene. American Art Periodicals of the Nineteenth Century. (1961)
Avery Reference N35 R543

Robinson, Doris. Fine Arts Periodicals: an International Directory of the Visual Arts. (1991)
Avery Reference N50 R554

Journals and Books Full Text Online

NOTE: Columbia University Libraries subscribes to a substantial number of electronic journals, aggregated in the list of services below, which can be found by searching the journal by title in CLIO. Additionally, Columbia Libraries subscribes to aggregators of electronic books, each of which should be findable in CLIO.

Selected Full Text Online Journal Collections and Aggregators

American periodicals series online. (Online: 1740-1900)
Digitized reproductions of more than 1,100 eighteenth and nineteenth century newspapers and periodicals in the original microfilm reproduction series, American periodical series, I, II, and III. When completed in 2003, this database will have more than 7,000,000 pages of full text periodicals.

AnthroSource. (Online)
Integrates over 100 years of the American Anthropological Associations' publications in a single searchable resource.

British Periodicals. (Online: late 17th to early 20th century)
Provides access to the searchable full text of more than 160 British periodicals from the late seventeenth to the early twentieth century. Includes high-resolution facsimile page images. (This is a subset of Periodicals Archive Online -- see below)

Cambridge journals online
Presents full text coverage of over 100 electronic journals that are published by Cambridge University Press (CUP), headquartered in Cambridge, England. Lists the current titles that are available. Notes that registration is required. Explains that all users have access to the tables of contents, abstracts, and searching and alerting services. States that only subscribers have access to the full text of articles. Provides online registration and subscription information.

CSA Illumina. (Online)
Provides access to full-text and bibliographic databases covering major areas of research, such as art history, literature, education, social sciences, political sciences, aquatic sciences, materials sciences, biological sciences, psychology, and more. Includes the following databases: ( ) ArtBibliographies Modern, British Humanities Index, Design & Applied Arts Index, Index Islamicus, PAIS Archive (1915-1976), and PAIS International (1972 to date)

Eastview Universal Databases. (Online)
This database provides full text in-depth information from Russia and the former Soviet Union. Resources include newspapers, newswires, popular and scholarly periodicals, and government documents.

EBSCOhost electronic journal service. (Online)
Gateway to thousands of journals in a variety of disciplines. Dates of earliest issue varies from journal to journal.

Gu gong qi kan tu wen zi liao ku : Databases of articles and images from the National Palace Museum's periodicals. (Online)
Provides searchable full text for four periodicals published by Taiwan Palace Museum including Gugong wen wu yue kan; Gugong ji kan; Gugong xue shu ji kan; Ying wen ban yue kan (or ban nian kan).

Ingenta. (Online: 1988-to date)
Current, multidisciplinary database with keyword searching and journal browsing. Offering online access to selected electronic journals based on institutional subscriptions.

JSTOR. (Online)
JSTOR is in the process of becoming "a comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature." Complete runs of individual journals are available up to approximately the last five years, and in selected titles up to the present in the following areas: African American Studies, Anthropology, Archaeology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology, Statistics. JSTOR provides keyword searching of any number of journals simultaneously. Individual journal titles may be accessed through CLIO. Journal titles can be found in CLIO.

Lexis-Nexis academic. (Online)
Academic Universe is a database of current (generally since the mid-1980's) international newspapers and magazines that can be searched for archaeology news in general, interviews with archaeologists, book reviews, and obituaries. Congressional Universe tracks legislation. Statistical Universe contains government and other reports.

Oxford journals online. (Online)
Provides full-text online access to electronic journals published by the Oxford University Press. Disciplines covered are humanities, social sciences, and the sciences. A brief bibliographic description of each title is given in an "About this journal" section. The "Online journals" table lists the available online material for each journal. The full text of these online journals is generally available for the past several years, though abstracts of articles date back additional years.

Periodicals Archive Online.
Archive of over 500 digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Includes high-resolution facsimile page images Covers journals from the 17th century to the early 20th century. (Use Periodicals Index Online to find specific articles in this database.)

Project Muse Scholarly Journals Online.
Over 300 scholarly full-text journals covering arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Searchable collectively or singly. Individual journal titles may be accessed through CLIO.

ProQuest. (Online)
Includes ABI/Inform global, Accounting & Tax Databases (full-text) and New York Times (full-text 90 days) Includes citations and full text articles covering business, economics, management, health, news and general interest from the following databases: ABI/INFORM global; Accounting & tax; Accounting & tax newspapers; the American Medical Association; ProQuest newspapers, which includes Barron's, the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal and others; Research library; APS online; ProQuest historical newspapers.

ProQuest historical newspapers. (Online)
Full-text and full-image articles from major American newspapers: Atlanta Constitution (1868-1925), Boston Globe (1872-1901), Chicago Tribune (1890-1958), Los Angeles Times (1881-1968), New York Times (1851-2001), Wall Street Journal (1889-1987), Washington Post (1877-1988), every page from every issue in PDF files.

ReVIEW (AKA DRP Review). (Online as a part of DesignInform offerings)
ReVIEW is a service that aims to digitize many of the most important decorative and fine arts journals published in Europe and the USA during the nineteenth and early years twentieth centuries. As of August 2011 the database contains The Studio (vols. 1-50, 1893-1910) and Deutsche Kunst und Dekoration (vols. 1-27, 1897-1911).

Torrossa. (Online)
Casalini Libri’s platform offering full text access to over 180,000 articles and chapters, 8,500 ebooks and 440 ejournals from over 110 Italian and Spanish publishers.

University of Chicago Press journals online.
Multidisciplinary collection of journals published by the University of Chicago Press.

Selected Full-Text Online Book Collections and Aggregators

Don't forget to try Google Books. Once on the Google screen, click on "more," choose "Books" in the dropdown menu.

ACLS Humanities E-Book. (Online)
Provides full-text and full-page image access to titles in most humanities disciplines and in area studies. The books included have been recommended by scholars as significant contributions to their respective fields. Offered by the American Council of Learned Societies in collaboration with ten learned societies and 80 contributing publishers. Books in this collection can be found in CLIO.

Art Theorists of the Italian Renaissance. (Online)
Collection of treatises on art and architecture from the period 1470 to 1775. It is structured around the two Italian editions of Giorgio Vasari's Lives of the Artists.

Census of Antique Art & Architecture known to the Renaissance. (Online)
A database of texts and images which documents the links between the art and architecture of classical antiquity and the Renaissance. Includes drawings, sketches, treatises, etc. as recorded in Renaissance documents illustrating the knowledge and study of classical antiquity by Renaissance artists.

EBRARY. (Online)
Collection of thousands of online full-text books in a variety of subject areas. Books in this collection can be found in CLIO.

eHRAF. (Online)
A collection of full-text information (e.g. books, journal articles, and dissertations) on archaeological traditions from around the world. (At this point, the primary collection covers Latin American Pre-Columbian materials.) The eHRAF Collection of Archaeology is unique in that the text is subject-indexed for quick retrieval of information. Every year more archaeological traditions are added to the eHRAF Collection of Archaeology.

FastiOnline. (Online: 2000 to date)
Coverage of current excavations, begun in Italy and now expanding to Albania, Bulgaria, Macedonia, Malta, Morocco, Romania and Serbia. This database will contain a basic record sheet for each site excavated for any period in a given year with, at the discretion of the site director, the interim report for the year, together with any further documentation the director wishes to add. There is no chronological limitation to the sites listed, which range from the Upper Palaeolithic to the nineteenth century, and reports on restoration projects and new museum displays are also welcomed. Sites are searchable by project name, by period and type of site, and by clickable maps which provide an overview of the excavation locations. Links will be provided to a project’s web site where possible.

NetLibrary. (Online)
Searchable collection of current electronic books from university and commercial publishers and electronic books in the public domain. WARNING: Only one person can gain access to NetLibrary titles at a time. Books in this collection can be found in CLIO.

Oxford Islamic Studies Online.
Contains more than 3,000 encyclopedia articles as well as primary source documents, maps, images, and timelines. Comprehensive resource for the study of the history, people, politics, and cultures of the Islamic world.

Torrossa. (Online)
Casalini Libri’s platform offering full text access to over 180,000 articles and chapters, 8,500 ebooks and 440 ejournals from over 110 Italian and Spanish publishers.