Library Catalogs


Resources marked with this symbol are restricted to Columbia affiliates.

Here are a sample of some online library catalogs of particular use to researchers in art history.
NOTE: Butler Reference has collected many printed dictionary catalogs of national libraries, e.g. Catalogue général de la Bibliothèque nationale de France and the British Library General Catalogue.  (As of 2011, however, few records for these printed catalogs can be found in CLIO.  Please visit Butler Reference to discover what is owned. Many of these printed catalogs have been partially converted into online catalogs, but, like Columbia University Library’s catalog, few have been 100% converted.)

Library Catalogs

Arcade / New York Art Resources Consortium (Online) Merged library catalogs of the Museum of Modern Art Library, the Frick Art Reference Library and the Brooklyn Museum of Art Libraries and Archives. 

Art Libraries Network: Florence – Munich – Rome: union catalog (A.K.A. KuBiKat) (Online) Union catalog of the Kunsthistorisches Institut in Florenz, Max-Planck-Institut, the Zentralinstitut für Kinstgeschichte in Munich, and the Bibliotheca Hertziana, Max Planck Institute for Art History in Rome.  Includes coverage of articles in periodicals, proceedings, exhibition catalogues, festschriften etc. as well as intense subject indexing. Since december 2005 the Union Catalogue comprises also articles from E-Journals, they are indexed by ZI within the scope of the project of arthistoricum.net (module ARTicles online) which is promoted by the DFG.    

Artlibraries net: virtual catalogue for art history. (Online) Based on the interface technology of the Karlsruher Virtueller Katalog, this European specialized meta-catalog allowing the integrated retrieval of bibliographic records and other objects from significant art historical databases.  It includes articles in periodicals, conference reports, festschriften, exhibition catalogs, etc.

Bibliotheca Hertziana. Max-Planck-Institut (Rome) (Online as a part of Kubikat)
Kataloge der Bibliotheca Hertziana in Rom.
Avery Reference N 35 R66 on the Library Catalog Shelves (1985)

Brooklyn Museum Libraries and Archives (Brooklyn, NY) (Online)

Deutsches Archäologisches Institut. Rome. Römische Abteilung (Online)
    Katalog der Bibliothek des DAI in Rom von August Mau. (1913-1932)
        Avery N 35 D48
    Katalog der Bibliothek des Deutschen Archäologischen Instituts.
        Autoren und Periodica Kataloge. 7 vols. (1969)
            Butler Reference RO16.913 D48
        Systematischer Katalog. 3 vols. (1969)
            At NYPL
        Zeitschriften - Autorenkatalog. 3 vols. (1969)
            Butler Reference RO16.913 D483
        Realkatalog der Bibliothek des D.A.I. ... (337 microfiche) (1986)
            Avery Microfiche FX3 4546

Harvard University Libraries (A.K.A. Hollis) (Online)
Includes Fine Arts Library, Graduate School of Design, Villa I Tatti, Florence. Berenson Library, and more.

Kunsthistorisches Institut. Katalog des Kunsthistorischen Instituts in Florenz. (Online catalog, Art Libraries Network Florence A.K.A. Kubikat: a union catalog with:
Max-Planck-Institut  Zentralinstitut für Kunstgeschichte, München Bibliotheca Hertziana, Max Planck Institute for Art History, Rome)  

Metropolitan Museum of Art Library (New York, N.Y.) (A.K.A. Watsonline) (Online)

Museum of Modern Art Library (New York, N.Y.) (A.K.A. Dadabase) (Online)

New York Public Library. The Research Libraries (New York, N.Y.) (A.K.A. Catnyp) (Online)

Pierpont Morgan Library (New York, N.Y.) (A.K.A. Corsair) (Online)

Regesta Imperii bei der Akademie der Wissenschaften und der Literatur Mainz. Deutsche Kommission fur die Bearbeitung (Mainz) (A.K.A. RI Opac) (Online)

Rijksmuseum (Netherlands). Kunsthistorische Bibliotheek (Rijksmuseum Research Library) (Online)
Catalogus der Kunsthistorische Bibliotheek... . 4 vols.
Avery AZ 100 Am8 (1934-1936)

Royal Institute of British Architects Library Catalog (London) (A.K.A. RIBA Library Online Catalog) (Online)

Smithsonian Institution. Archives of American Art (Online-as a part of)(Washington, D.C.

Smithsonian Institution. Libraries. Cooper-Hewitt Museum of Design Library (Washington, D.C.) (Online as part of SIRIS: Smithsonian Institution. Libraries)

Smithsonian Institution. Libraries. Freer Gallery of Art (Washington, D.C.) (Online-as a part of SIRIS Smithsonian Institution. Libraries)

Smithsonian Institution. Libraries. National Museum of African Art (Online-as a part of SIRIS Smithsonian Institution. Libraries)

Victoria and Albert Museum. Library (London). (Online: http://www.vam.ac.uk/nal/)

Warburg Institute, University of London. (Online: http://catalogue.ulrls.lon.ac.uk/search~S12)

Online Union Catalog

WORLDCAT. (aka OCLC) on Columbia University Libraries website. This is a database that serves as a major union catalog of records held in libraries around the world, including most North American research and academic libraries; archives and museum libraries; law, medical, and theological libraries; art and music libraries; public and corporate libraries; historical societies and book clubs.. Entries describe books, serials, archival collections, manuscripts, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, photographs, posters, electronic resources, and more. The Catalog extends from the advent of printing to the present. New records are added daily.

Columbia University Libraries website has direct links to the on-line library catalogs of: Cornell University , New York University, New York Public Library, Rutgers University, Yale University, Princeton University, and others under e-resources / databases / "by type:" catalogs.

Library Directory

Metro Handbook and Directory of Members. (New York). (Online)
(URL: http://web.memberclicks.com/me/directory/viewallmembers.do?masthead=true&orgId=mnylc)