Graves, A. Art Sales. 3 vols. (1918)
English paintings, 18th to early 20th cent.
Avery Reference N8680 G78
Back to 1599.
Available online in the libraries of New York University, Museum of Modern Art, Metropolitan Museum of Art (Watson Library)
H. Lancour. American Art Auction Catalogues 1785-1942. (1944)
Avery Reference N3000 AL22
Lugt, F. Les Marques des Collections des Dessins et d'Estampes. (1921; suppl. 1956)
Classic dictionary of collectors' marks. Good for provenance studies.
Avery Reference N8380 L96
Lugt's Répertoire online. (Online)
Provides access to two different databases: the Répertoire online database and the Libraries database. The Répertoire online is the online edition of the Répetoire des catalogues de ventes publiques, by Frits Lugt. Recently discovered catalogues have been added, and corrections to the original work have been made. The database can be consulted both in French and in English. Corrections and additions to the database will be constantly added. The Libraries database provides the opportunity to search through libraries with holdings of art sales catalogues. We also have in paper: Répertoire des Catalogues des Ventes Publiques:1600-1925. 3 vols. (1938 to date).
Avery Reference N3000 AL96
Provenance Research. (Online)
Website at the J. Paul Getty Center for the History of Art and the Humanities, Santa Monica includes: Getty Provenance Index Database, Provenance Research Resources, Guide to Holocaust-era Research Resources, Project for the Study of Collecting and Provenance. These databases contain indexed transcriptions of materials from auction catalogs and archival inventories of western European works of art, and contain nearly 1,000,000 records that cover the periods from late 16th century to the early 20th century.
Search in CLIO as a phrase keyword: Provenence Index to retrieve a list of books we own produced by the Getty Provenence Index. One example: Index of Paintings Sold in the During the 19th Century. (1989 to date) Avery Reference N8680 In2