Alternative Investment


Databases and Directories

Barclay Hedge Fund Directory (Available in Watson Library only)
Provides quarterly analysis on the performance on hedge funds and funds of funds.  Statistical data includes rates of return, expected months to new peak and probability of losing, projectability and comparison with benchmarks.

Bloomberg (Available in Watson Library only)
Good resource for information on hedge funds.
Enter HFND and hit the GO key for Bloomberg’s Hedge Fund menu

Capital IQ
Current
non-Business School affiliates can use Capital IQ at one of the four designated terminals in the library. Business School students and faculty may request individual accounts.  For access information see: Business 24/7 Help.  Access to this resource is restricted to CURRENT Columbia University affiliates.

Dow Jones LP Source (Available in Watson Library only)
Provides over 4,000 profiles of active limited partners and investment firms worldwide with coverage on their investment criteria, allocation targets, preferred industries, fund histories, executives and more. Access to this resource is restricted to CURRENT Columbia University affiliates.

Eurekahedge
Provides data on over 20,000 hedge funds and alternative funds worldwide. It covers directory, strategies, assets, industry trends and statistics, and news information on hedge funds, private equity funds, and specialist funds such as real estate funds and Islamic funds, etc. Historical data are available for each fund covered.

Pratt’s Guide to Private Equity Sources
HG64.P73 (Reference shelves)

Thomson ONE [includes SDC Platinum]
Click on the Deals tab for access to the full SDC Platinum database.  This database contains data on LBOs as well as M&A and IPOs deals.

VentureXpert via Thomson ONE (click on Private Equity tab)
Historical venture capital and private equity deals and industry statistics.

Articles and Journals

Business Source Complete
Full text scholarly business journals and other sources, including industry and market research reports.

TheDeal Pipeline
Integrated access to thedeal.com as well as data on deals, and bankruptcies.

Factiva
Good source for industry publications and dealmakers.

Institutional Investor website [includes rankings of hedge funds]

Proquest
An interdisciplinary database containing scholarly journals, newspapers, trade journals, dissertations and market research.

Specific Journals

Industry Statistics

Librarian for this subject
Watson Library of Business and Economics

Staff contacts

Email us!

212-854-7804

Uris Hall, first floor

Watson Library Blog