Databases | Directories | Journals | Industry Statistics | Internet Resources
Alternative Investment
These resources were selected for their authority, ease of use, and accessibility. If you need more assistance, please contact the Watson Library research librarians.
Additional resources can be found in CLIO, the library catalog. For news and research tips from the Watson Library, please visit the Watson Library Blog.
Resources marked with this symbol are restricted to Columbia affiliates.
Databases
ABI/Inform Global
Good source for industry publications and dealmakers.
Bloomberg
Business Electronic Resources (In-Library Use Only)
Good resource for information on hedge funds.
Enter HFND and hit the GO key for Bloomberg’s Hedge Fund menu
Business Source Complete
"Full text for scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for peer-reviewed business publications. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. This database provides full text (PDF) for top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922."
Capital IQ
Business School students and faculty can now access Capital IQ both on and off campus: Go to http://my.gsb.columbia.edu/, log in, and then choose the Capital IQ hyperlink on the next page.
Non-Business School affiliates may use Capital IQ in the Business and Economics library. Access is available on 4 library workstations near the circulation desk
**As a reminder, you are allowed to use Capital IQ for academic purposes only.**
Eurekahedge
EurekaHedge provides comprehensive data services on over 20,000 hedge funds and alternative funds worldwide. It covers directory, strategies, assets, industry trends and statistics, and news information on hedge funds, private equity funds, and specialist funds such as real estate funds and Islamic funds, etc. Historical data are available for each fund covered.
Factiva
Good source for industry publications and dealmakers.
Institutional Investor website [includes rankings of hedge funds]
TheDeal Pipeline [includes contents from Bankruptcy Insider and DealFocus]
Integrated access to thedeal.com as well as data on deals, and bankruptcies.
Thomson ONE [includes SDC Platinum]
Click on the Deals tab for access to the full SDC Platinum database. This database contains data on LBOs as well as M&A and IPOs deals.
VentureXpert via Thomson ONE (click on Private Equity tab)
Historical venture capital and private equity deals and industry statistics.
Directories
Barclay Hedge Fund Directory
Business Electronic Resources (In-Library Use Only)
A quarterly publication, delivers in-depth analysis on the performance of the more than 2,400 hedge funds and funds of funds. Statistical data includes rates of return, expected months to new peak and probability of losing, projectability and comparison with benchmarks.
Directory of Alternative Investment Programs
Business Electronic Resources (In-Library Use Only)
Directory of Limited Partners: Investors in Private Equity and Other Alternative Asset Funds
HG4961.D5641 (Business Reference Directories Shelf)
Directory of Registered Investment Advisors
HG4907.D53 (Business Reference Directories Shelf)
Galante’s Venture Capital and Private Equity
Business Electronic Resources (In-Library Use Only)
Global Fund of Hedge Funds Directory (Eurekahedge)
HG4530.G561 (Business Reference Directories Shelf)
Global Private Equity Fund Directory
HG4751.G56 (Business Reference Directories Shelf)
Lipper HedgeWorld Annual Guide
HG4530.H4341 (Business Reference Directories Shelf)
Pratt’s Guide to Private Equity Sources
HG64.P73 (Business Reference Directories Shelf)
Journals
- Alpha Magazine for hedge funds
- Alternative Investment Quarterly
Slot: A500 (Current Serials)
- Acquisitions Monthly
- AsiaMoney
- Asia Private Equity Review
- AsiaRisk
Print: Business Reserves
- Asian Venture Capital Journal
Slot: A855 (Current Serials)
- Buyouts
Print: Reserves Desk
- European Venture Capital and Private Equity Journal
Print: Business Reserves
- HedgeWorld Daily
- Debevoise & Plimpton Private Equity Report
Slot: D100 (Current Serials)
- Institutional Investor website [includes rankings of hedge funds]
- Journal of Alternative Investments
- Journal of Private Equity
Print: Slot J-757
- Venture Capital
Print: V250 (Current Serials)
- Venture Capital Journal
Print: Business Reserves
- Putting a Public Face on Private Equity by Janet Hartmann. Medford: Mar/Apr 2008. Vol. 32, Iss. 2; p. 14, 5 pages [Note: to find article, search by article title]
Industry Statistics
- Cambridge Associates: Proprietary Indices and Benchmark Studies
- Eurekahedge Indices
- Asia 300: Guide to Venture Capital in Asia
HG5701.G85 (Business Reference Directories shelf)
- Investment Benchmarks Report: Buyouts and Other Private Equity (2008)
HG4961.I58 (Business Reserves) - Investment Benchmarks Report: Venture Capital (2008)
HG4961.V467 (Business Reserves) - MoneyTree Survey
A quarterly study of venture capital investment activity in the United States. This survey is a collaboration between PricewaterhouseCoopers, Thomson Venture Economics and the National Venture Capital Association - MSCI Hedge Fund Indices
- National Venture Capital Association Yearbook
HG4961.N382 (Business Reference) - Preqin Global Private Equity Report (2010-2011) (HG4751 .P741 Business Reserves)
An annual publication that provides an overview and detailed analysis of the global private equity industry, data and statistics on fundraising, performance, and deals data, etc., and reference guides for different aspects of the industry.
Internet Resources
- HedgeAct [free registration required]
Online directory of 7500 hedge funds, funds of funds, and managed futures funds.
- British Venture Capital Association
Good industry statistics and resources.
- European Private Equity and Venture Capital Association
Good industry statistics and resources.
- Hedge Fund Association
HFA is an international not-for-profit association of hedge fund managers, service providers, and investors. Includes some basic information on hedge funds.