Company Information


These resources were selected for their authority, ease of use, and accessibility. If you need more assistance, please contact the Watson Library research librarians.

Additional resources can be found in CLIO, the library catalog. For news and research tips from the Watson Library, please visit the Watson Library Blog.

Resources marked with this symbol are restricted to Columbia affiliates.


Company Directories

  • Directory of Corporate Affiliations
    HG4057 .A22 (Reference Stacks)
    Corporate who owns whom. Contains information on US public & private companies as well as international firms. Indexed alphabetically, geographically, and by industry.
  • Hoover's Company Capsules & Profiles (via Proquest)
    Find information on 15,000 companies covered by Hoover's. Company Capsules and Profiles deliver information on a company's location, summary financials, top competitors, top officers, and more. Use the title or company field to search company names.
  • Standard & Poor's Register of Corporations, Directors, and Executives
    HG4057 .A111 (Reference Stacks)
    Volume 1: Alphabetical entries of companies
    Volume 2: Listing of directors & executives
    Volume 3: Indexes to volumes 1 & 2: companies indexed by industry; companies indexed geographically; cross-references of subsidiaries, divisions, and affiliates; obituary listing of directors and executives, and a list of new additions to the directors and executives volume.
  • Thomson ONE
    Thomson ONE provides access to financial data on public companies, as well as merger and acquisition information and market data. Users can search and screen across databases to identify companies that meet your specific investment criteria as well as conduct peer analysis.

Corporations' Filing with the SEC

See also the US Corporate Filings and Annual Reports page.

  • Bloomberg
    Business Electronic Resources (Library Use Only)
    Bloomberg provides access to SEC filings such as 10Ks, 10Qs, Proxies.  Includes scanned annual reports
  • Capital IQ (Library use only)
    Extensive financial database covering publicly traded companies around the world. Also includes private equities.
  • EDGAR [from sec.gov]
    SEC filings from publicly registered companies. 
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Comprehensive online database which contains company filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission.
  • SEC Filings in Microfiche
    1st floor cabinets marked with red dots
    Annual Reports, 10-Ks, and Prospectuses for companies on the New York Stock Exchange and the American Stock Exchange are on microfiche. They are filed alphabetically by company. Microfiche holdings are from 1970 through Fall 1994.
  • Thomson Research
    Thomson Research contains real-time and historical SEC EDGAR filings, scanned images of company annual reports and foreign exchange filings.

Company Histories

  • Hoover's Company Capsules & Profiles (via Proquest)
    Find information on 15,000 companies covered by Hoover's. Company Capsules and Profiles deliver information on a company's location, summary financials, top competitors, top officers, and more. Use the title or company field to search company names.
  • International Directory of Company Histories
    Via Business and Company Resource Center
    Also available in print: HD2721 .I581988 (Reference Stacks)
    Contains a 2 or more page summary of a company's history along with a brief bibliography of other sources for information. Companies included must have at least $500 million (US) in annual sales or be a leader in their industry. 
  • Notable Corporate Chronologies
    Via Business and Company Resource Center
    This source identifies important events in a company's history.

Stock Prices

  • Bloomberg
    Business Electronic Resources
     (Library Use Only)
    Ticker Symbol <EQUITY> HP <GO> for Historical Prices
  • Capital IQ (Library use only)
    Extensive financial database covering publicly traded companies around the world. Also includes private equities.
  • CRSP via WRDS
    Business Electronic Resources (Library Use Only)
    Contains historical equity and index data.
  • Daily Stock Price Record
    Serials S (Serials)
    Shelved with Standard & Poor's. Alphabetical listing by company giving daily high, low, close and volume for each quarter along with dividend and stock split information.
  • Datastream
    Business Electronic Resources (Library Use Only)
    Datastream contains time series data for equities, including stock prices.
  • Factiva
    Full-text database providing timely and detailed facts, figures and analyses of companies, industries and financial markets. Includes industry and trade publications, news sources, and company and market data. Coverage varies by source.
  • National Stock Summary
    Serials N (Serials)
    Contains a summary of market quotations which have appeared in the National Daily Services or have been supplied by dealers or special lists.
  • Thomson ONE
    Thomson ONE provides access to financial data on public companies, as well as merger and acquisition information and market data. Users can search and screen across databases to identify companies that meet your specific investment criteria as well as conduct peer analysis.

Financial & Operating Info

  • Bloomberg
    Business Electronic Resources
    (Library Use Only)
    Online database providing current and historical financial information, research and statistics on over 52,000 companies worldwide. Printing is available. Downloading is not available. For search help see our Bloomberg Help Guide.
  • Capital IQ (Library use only)
    Extensive financial database covering publicly traded companies around the world. Also includes private equities.
  • Compact Disclosure
    Business Electronic Resources (Library Use Only)
    CD-ROM database which contains extracts of the Securities and Exchange Commission filings from 12,000 public companies required to file with the SEC. Coverage: Current 18 months. Updates: Monthly. (Backfiles are available at the Reserves Desk in the Business Library.)
  • Factiva
    Full-text database providing timely and detailed facts, figures and analyses of companies, industries and financial markets. Includes industry and trade publications, news sources,  and company and market data. Coverage varies by source.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Choose Business and then selelct SEC Filings from the menu on the left.
    Coverage: Varies by source Updates: Varies by source.
  • Mergent Manuals
    Check CLIO for call numbers
    Depending on the company, information includes a brief corporate history, explanation of the business/products, list of subsidiaries, key management personnel, financial data, and description of outstanding securities (debt, capital stock). There are Mergent Manuals for Industrial, International, OTC Industrial, OTC Unlisted, Public Utilities, and Bank & Finance Companies.
  • Merrill Lynch Security Risk Evaluation
    Serials S
    Includes information on beta, alpha, R-SQR, resid std. dev.-n, std err of beta & alpha, adjusted beta, and number of observations listed alphabetically by company and by beta value.
  • Moody's Handbook of Common Stocks
    HG4905 .M771 (Reference Stacks)
    Contains 1 page summaries on mostly NYSE companies (some ASE companies). Information included: Moody's comment on company; long-term price chart; capitalization; interim earnings; dividend information; company background; recent developments; prospects; 10 year statistics/ratios; incorporation date; address; telephone; number of stockholders; institutional holdings; key personnel.
  • OSIRIS
    OSIRIS is a comprehensive database of listed companies, banks and insurance companies around the world. In addition to the income statement, balance sheet, cash flow and ratios it contains news, ownership, ratings, earnings estimates and stock data. Covers over 120 countries, includes 25,000 publicly listed corporates (10,000 US and 15,000 non US) 1,500 banks, and 350 insurance companies.
  • Standard & Poor's Net Advantage
    Includes electronic versions of S&P publications providing company, industry and market specific information and data.  Includes the S&P Stock Reports.
  • Standard & Poor's Standard Corporation Descriptions (formerly Corporation Records)
    Serials S
    Corporate backgrounds includes information on products and services, subsidiaries, officers, bond descriptions, stock data, earnings, and finances.
  • S & P's Stock Reports (aka tearsheets) [via S&P Net Advantage]
    Print: Serials S
    Contains 2 page summaries on 1800 NYSE companies, 800 ASE companies, 1500 OTC combines, and 1 page summaries for 600 OTC companies. Information included: summary of the business; per share data; income data; balance sheet data; finances; dividends; capitalization; address; telephone; key personnel; incorporation date; employees; selected betas; S&P ranking; and S&P analyst.
  • Thomson ONE
    Thomson ONE Banker provides access to financial data on public companies, as well as merger and acquisition information and market data. Users can search and screen across databases to identify companies that meet your specific investment criteria as well as conduct peer analysis.
  • Value Line Investment Surveys
    Current reports in reference stacks [HG4501 .V262]
    Contains 1 page summaries on approximately 1750 publicly traded companies. Information included: financial data; ratios; forecasts on financials & ratios; line of business; analyst information; quarterly sales, EPS, and dividends; capital structure; rankings for timeliness, safety, beta, price projections, insider & institutional decisions; and a long term price chart.

Charts & Graphs

  • Bloomberg
    Business Electronic Resources (Library Use Only)
    The Bloomberg system offers comprehensive information on companies and securities as well as many analytical functions. Bloomberg allows you to chart and graph a company's financial data.
  • Capital IQ (Library use only)
    Extensive financial database covering publicly traded companies around the world. Also includes private equities.
  • O'Neil Database
    Serials O
    Datagraphs of 2500 best rated and actively traded companies. Information included: alpha; beta; sales; earnings/share; margin after tax; price/earnings; funds/share; which mutual funds own; earnings growth rate; if the stock has options, etc.
  • OSIRIS
    OSIRIS is a comprehensive database of listed corporations, banks and insurance companies around the world. In addition to the income statement, balance sheet, cash flow and ratios, it contains news,  ownership, ratings, earnings estimates and stock data. Covers over 120 countries, includes 25,000 publicly listed corporates (10,000 15,000 non-US and US) 1,500 banks, and 350 insurance companies.
  • Standard & Poor's/Trendline Current Market Perspectives
    Slot T-635 (Current Serials)
    Daily high, low, close and volume for 728 companies and statistics for 51 indicators. Information included: capitalization; annual price range; institutional holdings; dividends; 10 and 30 week moving average; EPS; book value; current yield; P/E; earnings and more. Updated monthly.    
  • Thomson ONE
    Thomson ONE provides access to financial data on public companies, as well as merger and acquisition information and market data. Users can search and screen across databases to identify companies that meet your specific investment criteria as well as conduct peer analysis.

Analysts' Reports

  • Investext [now part of Thomson ONE Banker]
    Web accessible database which contains the full text of over 50,000 company and industry research reports covering 11,000 US and international companies and 53 industries. Reports are written by over 270 brokerage, investment bank and research firms from the US, Canada, Europe, and Asia Pacific.

Articles & Journals

Find Articles

Search across these three databases by entering words in the box below:

  • ABI/INFORM Global
  • Business Source Complete
  • Factiva
  • ABI/Inform Global on ProQuest Direct
    Periodical database specializing in business literature, including full text of over 2060 of the 3040 ABI/Inform titles. All titles are indexed and abstracted. Also included in ProQuest are Newspapers and General Periodicals. Coverage: 1971 to present ; Updates: Daily
  • Business and Company Resource Center
    The Business & Company Resource Center brings together a variety of global business information. Resources in the database include: Company profiles (including corporate parent/sibling relationships), Industry ranking, Products and brands, Stock prices, Investment reports, Industry statistics, Corporate chronologies and histories, Consumer marketing data, Emerging technology reports, Industry newsletter news and analysis, and Business journal news and analysis. Coverage: Varies by title ; Updates: Continuous
  • Business Source Complete
    Covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance, international business, econometrics and economics. Contains full text of the Harvard Business Review, California Management Review and other important journals. BSP also includes country reports from EIU and Global Insight as well as company reports from Datamonitor.
  • Factiva
    Factiva is an excellent resource for finding company and industry information. Factiva contains a database of nearly 8,000 publications, including: academic and trade publications, industry newsletters, international and regional newspapers, business magazines, and business newswires. The two sections of the database that are most commonly used for this assignment are the "Factiva Library" (which allows researchers to search the 8,000 sources) and the "Quick Company Search" (which contains company profiles - information about: finances, competitors, company history, etc.).
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Comprehensive online database which contains access to hundreds of information sources including the full text of newspapers (foreign and domestic), magazines, wire services, newsletters, journals, and broadcast transcripts, Financial filings, Coverage: Varies by source ; Updates: Varies by source