Sources for Data
- Bloomberg [available in Watson library and other locations in Uris Hall & Warren Hall]
Online database providing current and historical financial quotes, business newswires, and descriptive information, research and statistics on over 52,000 companies worldwide. Located on three standalone workstations in the Business and Economics Library. Printing and downloading are available. For search help see our Bloomberg Help Guide.
Business Electronic Resources (Library Use Only)
Large database of statistical time series covering stocks, bonds, commodities and economic data for numerous countries, along with company profiles. See the notebook at the workstation for instructions. Coverage varies by dataset. Also available in the DSSC in Lehman Library.
- CEIC Data Manager
CEIC Data contains economic, industrial and financial time-series data and cover over 60 countries. Data comes from analysts on the ground and the prime national and regional statistical agencies and major industrial data issuing organizations of each country covered.
- Global Development Finance Online
Global Development Finance Online (GDF) provides data on more than 200 external debt and financial flow indicators for the 134 countries that report public and publicly-guaranteed debt to the World Bank Debtor Reporting System. The time series data run from 1970 to 2016, where available.
- Global Financial Data
Global Financial Data contains historical financial and economic data on 200 countries. Data includes:long-term historical indices on stock markets; total teturn data on stocks, bonds, and bills; interest rates; exchange rates; inflation rates; bond indices; commodity indices and prices.
- Global Insight
Time series, economic and business data for the United states and international economies. Coverage varies with indicator.
- IMF eLibrary
Provides offers direct access to IMF's periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools.
- OECD iLibrary
The online publications portal of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). Includes all OECD books, reports, periodicals and statistical databases. Coverage: 1988 to the present, updated weekly.
More than 450 statistical time series for countries from around the world covering a wide range of economic and socio-demographic topics. Descriptions of the international sources and definitions used in compiling the data are included.
- World Development Indicators
WDI Online is a comprehensive database on development data covering 575 indicators, 225 countries, and 18 regional and income groups. The extensive collection of development data includes population, income, social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators for more than forty years (1960 to 2000, where data are available).
Commonly Cited Sources
- ALFRED™: ArchivaL Federal Reserve Economic Data from the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
Users can retrieve vintage versions of data that were available on specific dates in history. In general, economic data for past observation periods are revised as more accurate estimates become available. As a result, previous vintages of data can be superseded and may no longer be available from various data sources. Vintage data allows academics to reproduce others' research, build more accurate forecasting models, and analyze economic policy decisions using the data available at the time.
- Beige Book
Published by the Federal Reserve Board, this publication analyzes the overall economic prospects of each of the 12 federal reserve districts.
- Business Statistics of the United States
HF105 .B87 - Reference
Older editions (2002 - 2006) available online
US Bureau of Economic Analysis historical data and methodological notes for many of the series that appear in its Survey of Current Business. Monthly, quarterly, and annual data; latest 25-35 years. Good source for GNP Price Deflator.
- CPI Detailed Report
Slot C- 070 - Current Serials
US Bureau of Labor Statistics monthly report on consumer price movement; includes CPI for urban consumers (CPI-U) and CPI for wage earners and clerical workers (CPI-W); latest 4 months in each issue. Good source for Inflation Rate.
- Economic Accounts
Slot E - 270 - Current Serials
Prepared for the U.S. Congress Joint Economic Committee by the Council of Economic Advisors. Weekly data; latest 6 weeks. Monthly data; latest 13 months. Annual data; latest 6-10 years. Good source for Per Capita Income.
- Economic Report of the President
HC 106.5 .U5 A121 - Reference
The first part contains a narrative analysis of economic issues and conditions. The latter contains over 100 statistical tables which track the most important economic indicators. Each offers monthly or quarterly data for the previous two or three years together with over 20 years of annual data.
- Federal Reserve Bulletin
Slot F-350 - Current Serials
Articles from the Federal Reserve Bulletin. These articles report and analyze economic developments, discuss bank regulatory issues, and present new data. Issues back 1997.
- FRED™ II (Federal Reserve Economic Data)
A database of over 1000 U.S. economic time series. With FRED II you can download data in Microsoft Excel and text formats and view charts of data series.
- International Financial Statistics
The IFS database contains approximately 32,000 time series covering more than 200 countries and areas and includes all series appearing on the IFS Country Pages; exchange rate series for all Fund member countries, plus Aruba and the Netherlands Antilles; major Fund accounts series; and most other world, area, and country series from the IFS World Tables.
- Monthly Economic Indicators
From the U.S. government, provides statistical data including Gross Domestic Product, consumer and producer price indexes, retail and wholesale trade, industrial production, building permits and housing starts, new construction and foreign trade.
- Monthly Labor Review
Slot M-660 - Current Serials
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics publication. Monthly data: latest 12-13 months; Annual data: latest 9 years. Good source for the unemployment rate.
- PPI Detailed Report (Producer Price Indexes)
Slot P-475 - Current Serials
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics monthly report on producer price movement; latest 2 months in each issue; and annual supplement contains monthly data for calendar year, annual averages, and information on weights. Best source for the Producer Price Index.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States
Current volume in the Reference stacks; earlier editions in stacks at HA 202 .Un31.
U.S. Bureau of the Census annual data for the latest 10-40 years. Good source for Inflation Rate and Per Capita Income.
- Survey of Current Business
Slot B-842 - Current Serials
U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis publication. Monthly data: latest 13 months; annual data: latest 2 years; Compilations of historical data are in Business Statistics. Good source for Dow Jones Averages.
- Daily Treasury Statements
The Daily Treasury Statements summarize the financial activities of the Federal Government and off-budget Federal entities in accordance with the Budget of the U.S. Government.
Free website containing historical economic data, forecasts and market overviews
EH.net is the home of Economic History Services on the web. Includes a wide array of historical time series data available free. Also houses the Economic History fileserver, and contains resources including bibliographies, course syllabi, directories and book reviews.
This site provides an entry way to access U.S. Government information online.
- GIS & Statistical Data Resources in DSSC
- Institute for International Economics
The Institute for International Economics is a "private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research institution devoted to the study of international economic policy." This web site contains short abstracts and press releases of books published by the Institute. Speeches, testimonies and essays by the staff at the Institute on a variety of international economics issues are also available as is a collection of working papers published since 1994.
- Purchasing Power Profiles (from the University of Wisconsin at Milwaukee)
The University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Employment and Training Institute provides comparison data on purchasing power, business activity, and workforce density for all census tracts, residential ZIP codes, and the 100 largest metro areas in the U.S. The profiles are designed to help cities, companies, developers, small business owners, and community organizations assess the advantages of urban density for underserved city neighborhoods.