Industry Information


These resources were selected for their authority, ease of use, and accessibility. If you need more assistance, please contact the Watson Library research librarians.

Additional resources can be found in CLIO, the library catalog. For news and research tips from the Watson Library, please visit the Watson Library Blog.

Resources marked with this symbol are restricted to Columbia affiliates.


General Sources

  • Encyclopedia of Associations
    A guide to over 23,000 national and international organizations. Useful for finding trade and industry associations and their web sites.
  • National Trade and Professional Associations
    HD2425 .D623 (Directories shelves)
    Lists over 7000 national trade associations, labor unions, professional, scientific or technical societies and other professional organizations.

Industry Classification

Industry Overviews & Market Research

  • Business and Company Resource Center
    Business & Company Resource Center brings together a variety of global business information. Resources in the database include: company profiles (including corporate parent/sibling relationships), industry ranking, products and brands, stock prices, investment reports, industry statistics, corporate chronologies and histories, consumer marketing data, emerging technology reports, industry newsletter news and analysis, and business journal news and analysis.
  • Datamonitor 360
    Resources cover company, country, industry and product intelligence as well as business strategies and news and opinion.
  • Faulkner's Advisory for IT Studies
    Virtual library of reports covering IT infrastructure, telecom, data networking, wireless communications, security, enterprise systems, the Internet and World Wide Web, as well as technology vendors. FAITS also links to technology and business news resources such as Nando Net, The New York Times, Financial Times, NewsBytes, and the BBC.
  • Global Market Information Database
    GMID contains over a million demographic, economic and marketing statistics for 205 countries worldwide. The database also contains 6-year historic market size data for more than 330 consumer products in 52 countries, plus 5-year forecasts.Coverage: 1977 to present, forecasts to 2016.
  • Mintel Oxygen
    Offers yearly reports covering UK, Europe, US and International consumer markets in the CPG/FMCG, financial services, media, retail, leisure and industrial space. Market data including size, segmentation and forecasts. Includes daily updates on the hottest issues affecting key consumer markets and the economy.
  • Investext [now part of Thomson ONE Banker]
    Full text of over 30,000 company and industry research reports covering 11,000 U.S. and international companies and 53 industries. Reports are written by over 270 brokerage, investment bank and research firms from the U.S., Canada, Europe and Asia. Also includes Moody's financial reports as well as documents from trade and professional associations.
  • Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys
    Each survey is divided into two parts. 1) the basic analysis which contains an examination of prospects for that industry followed by composite industry data & a comparative company analysis 2) the current analysis which contains the latest developments and some industry and company statistics.
  • Value Line Investment Survey and the Value Line Investment Survey Expanded Edition
    1-2 page summaries including information on the timeliness of the industry; relative strength, statistics, and an overview of the industry by an analyst.

Statistical Sources

See also the GIS & Statistical Data Resources in the DSSC.

  • Business Statistics of the United States
    HF 105 .B87 (Reference stacks)
    Contains Industry Profiles, for aggregate industry data including production, labor and earnings, and prices.
  • Economic Census
    Statistics on industries and business activity in geographic areas (including the nation, states, metropolitan areas, counties, and cities). Data includes number of establishments, number of employees, payroll, sales, receipts, value of shipments, value of construction work done, etc.
  • LexisNexis Statistical
    Statistical Universe indexes statistics produced by governmental, non-governmental, and private sources. Coverage is international in scope.
  • Manufacturing & Distribution U.S.A.
    HD 9724. M3 (Reference Stacks)
    Contains basic statistics on more than 450 manufacturing industries organized by SIC code. Data is for the United States with some state and company information.
  • Mergent's Industry Review [stopped publishing February 2009]
    HD 9981.4 .S4 (Reference Stacks)
    Comprehensive statistical reference containing key financial information, operating data, and ratios on approximately 4,000 companies arranged and ranked by industry.
  • Mintel Global Market Navigator
    GMN is a trusted database containing market size, market share and forecast data for thousands of consumer goods categories worldwide.
  • Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys
    Each survey is divided into two parts. 1) the basic analysis which contains an examination of prospects for that industry followed by composite industry data & a comparative company analysis 2) the current analysis which contains the latest developments and some industry and company statistics.
  • Standard & Poor's Statistical Service
    HG4921 .S71 (Reference Stacks)
    Cumulative annual with monthly updates. Contains current and historical time series data on money, commodities, stock indexes, and industry indexes.
  • Statistical Abstract of the United States
    A comprehensive summary of statistics on social, political, and economic aspects of the United States.

Industry Ratios

  • Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios
    HF5681 .R25T68 (Reference stacks)
    Contains operating and financial information for corporations with and without net incomes as well as only for those companies in an industry that operated at a profit. Organized by the SIC Code.
  • Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios
    HD47. D82 (Reference stacks)
    Financial ratios arranged by Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) Codes.
  • IRS Corporate Financial Ratios
    HF5681 .I77 (Reference stacks)
    Compiled from IRS data from income statements and balance sheets for companies with and without net income. Organized by major and minor industry groups.
  • RMA Annual Statement Studies
    HF5681 .B2R5 (Reference stacks)
    Balance sheet and income statements as well as commonly used ratios for over 360 industries. Organized by the SIC Code as well as title of industry. Includes the most recent five years of data.

Industry Rankings

  • Business and Company Resource Center
    Business & Company Resource Center brings together a variety of global business information. Resources in the database include: Company profiles (including corporate parent/sibling relationships), Industry ranking, Products and brands, Stock prices, Investment reports, Industry statistics, Corporate chronologies and histories, Consumer marketing data, Emerging technology reports, Industry newsletter news and analysis, and Business journal news and analysis.
  • D& B Business Rankings
    HF5028 .D8 (Reference Stacks)
    Ranks over 25,000 private and public businesses by size, state, and industry category. Within each section, companies are ranked by both number of employees and sales volume.

Articles & Journals

Find Articles

Search across these three databases by entering words in the box below:

  • ABI/INFORM Global
  • Business Source Complete
  • Factiva
  • ABI/Inform Global on ProQuest Direct
    Covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance, international business, econometrics and economics.   Contains academic and trade journals, and dissertations.  Also includes country reports from EIU.

  • Business Source Complete
    Covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance, international business, econometrics and economics. Contains full text of the Harvard Business Review, California Management Review and other important journals. BSP also includes country reports from EIU and company reports from Datamonitor.

  • Factiva
    Resource for finding company and industry information. Factiva contains a database of nearly 8,000 publications, including: academic and trade publications, industry newsletters, international and regional newspapers, business magazines, and business newswires.

  • LexisNexis Academic
    Ccontains access to hundreds of information sources including the full text of newspapers (foreign and domestic), magazines, wire services, newsletters, journals and broadcast transcripts.