International Company Information


These resources were selected for their authority, ease of use, and accessibility. If you need more assistance, please contact the Watson Library research librarians.

Additional resources can be found in CLIO, the library catalog. For news and research tips from the Watson Library, please visit the Watson Library Blog.

Resources marked with this symbol are restricted to Columbia affiliates.


Company Directories

  • D&B Principal International Businesses
    HD69 .I7 D8 (Directories Shelves)
    Listings of 50,000 companies in over 100 countries. Companies listed by product classification (Standard Industrial Classification), geographically, and alphabetically.
  • Directory of American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries
    HG4538 .D62 (Directories Shelves)
    Lists overseas companies in which American firms have substantial direct capital interest. Volume 1 lists in alphabetical order American firms operating abroad. Volumes 2 and 3 contain country-by-country listings of American firms' foreign operations.
  • Directory of Corporate Affiliations: International Public and Private Companies
    HG4057 .A22 (Directories Shelves)
    Volume 6 contains listings for companies with non-U.S. located headquarters. Companies are arranged alphabetically by name of parent company. Indexes include company names, geographically and Standard Industrial Classification code.
  • Directory of Foreign Firms Operating in the US
    HG 4057 .A1 D51 1995g (Directories Shelves)
    Contains listings for 1,644 firms based in 46 countries and the United States in which the foreign firms have some ownership. Indexed by parent country, parent firm, and U.S. subsidiary.
  • Europe's 15,000 Largest Companies
    T12.5 .E8 E82 (Directories Shelves)
    Companies are ranked by turnover or in the case of banks, assets. The information is laid out in tables: Europe's: 500 Largest Companies, Largest Industrial Companies, Largest Trading Companies, Largest Service Companies, and an alphabetical listing.
  • ORBIS
    Integrates data from all of BvDEP's databases. Includes financial information on public and private companies around the world.
  • OSIRIS
    OSIRIS is a comprehensive database of listed companies, banks and insurance companies around the world. In addition to the income statement, balance sheet, cash flow and ratios, it contains news, ownership, ratings, earnings estimates and stock data. Covers over 120 countries, includes 25,000 publicly listed corporates (10,000 US and 15,000 non US) 1,500 banks, and 350 insurance companies.
  • Thomson ONE
    Thomson ONE provides access to financial data on public companies, as well as merger and acquisition information and market data. Users can search and screen across databases to identify companies that meet specific investment criteria, as well as conduct peer analysis.
  • There are additional directories for specific countries and continents. To find specific country directories use CLIO and do a subject search using the following format:

    COUNTRY NAME--commerce--directory
    corporations--COUNTRY NAME--directories

Financial Information

  • Bloomberg
    Business Electronic Resources (Library Use Only)
    Access financials for international companies using the "Equity" menu of analytics.
  • Datastream
    Business Electronic Resources (Library Use Only)
    Large database of statistical time series covering stocks, bonds, commodities and economic data for numerous countries, along with company profiles. See the notebook at the workstation for instructions. Coverage varies by dataset.
  • Factiva
    Click the "Companies/Markets" button on the navigation bar. Search by stock symbol or company name to locate financial profiles on more than 12,000 major companies in 58 countries, including those both publicly and privately held. Reports include corporate profiles, operating summaries, balance sheets, income statements, financial ratios, stock data, and accounting practices.
  • ISI Emerging Markets
    Choose a country and click on "Company Focus" to select from a search by company name or industry grouping. Includes company information, financial statements, stock quotes and news articles for the most actively traded companies and leading, privately held firms.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Select "Business", then "Company Financial Information", and then use the drop-down menu to select "International Company Reports".
  • ORBIS
    Integrates data from all of BvDEP's databases.  Contains financial information for public and private companies around the world.
  • OSIRIS
    OSIRIS is a comprehensive database of listed companies, banks and insurance companies around the world. In addition to the income statement, balance sheet, cash flow and ratios it contains news, ownership, ratings, earnings estimates and stock data. Covers over 120 countries, includes 25,000 publicly listed corporates (10,000 US and 15,000 non US) 1,500 banks, and 350 insurance companies.
  • Standard and Poor's Net Advantage
    Contains Computstat stock reports, S&P Tear Sheet Reports, Industry Surveys and three years of compensation history for directors and current compensation for executives for companies within the S&P 1500. Updated annually.
  • Thomson ONE Banker
    Thomson ONE Banker provides access to financial data on public companies, as well as merger and acquisition information and market data. Users can search and screen across databases to identify companies that meet your specific investment criteria as well as conduct peer analysis.

Stock Prices

  • Bloomberg
    Business Electronic Resources (Library Use Only)
    Bloomberg has current and historical equity information. Use the "Equity" key for the menu of analeptics.
  • Datastream
    Business Electronic Resources (Library Use Only)
    Download time series of prices into EXCEL by seleting the "Datastream AFO" option from the menu.
  • OSIRIS
    OSIRIS is a comprehensive database of listed corporates, banks and insurance companies around the world. In addition to the income statement, balance sheet, cash flow and ratios it contains news, ownership, ratings, earnings estimates and stock data. Covers over 120 countries, includes 25,000 publicly listed corporates (10,000 US and 15,000 non US) 1,500 banks, and 350 insurance companies.
  • Thomson ONE
    Thomson ONE provides access to financial data on public companies, as well as merger and acquisition information and market data. Users can search and screen across databases to identify companies that meet your specific investment criteria as well as conduct peer analysis.

Graphs/Charts

  • Bloomberg
    Business Electronic Resources (Library Use Only)
    In addition to the othe functions it offers, Bloomberg has built-in graphing capability.
  • Datastream
    Business Electronic Resources (Library Use Only)
    Download time series of prices into Excel by selecting the "Datastream AFO" option from Excel. Built in graphing capabilities in Datastream Advance
  • Morgan Stanley Capital International Perspective. Quarterly Issue.
    Serials M
    Presents essential information on the shares of some 2,700 of the largest companies in the U.S., Canada, Europe, and the Far East. Coverage includes 22 countries and 38 international industry groups.
  • ORBIS
    Integrates data from all of BvDEP\'s databases. "ORBIS includes full searching facilities and global standard report format for in-depth international searching and analysis."
  • OSIRIS
    OSIRIS is a comprehensive database of listed corporates, banks and insurance companies around the world. In addition to the income statement, balance sheet, cash flow and ratios it contains news, ownership, ratings, earnings estimates and stock data. Covers over 120 countries, includes 25,000 publicly listed corporates (10,000 US and 15,000 non US) 1,500 banks, and 350 insurance companies.
  • Thomson ONE
    Thomson ONE provides access to financial data on public companies, as well as merger and acquisition information and market data. Users can search and screen across databases to identify companies that meet your specific investment criteria as well as conduct peer analysis.

Analysts' Reports

  • Investext (now part of Thomson ONE)
    Contains full-text research reports from over 600 investment banks, brokerages, and other third party researchers. The reports cover U.S. and international companies and are updated daily.

Articles & Journals

Find Articles

Search across these three databases by entering words in the box below:

  • ABI/INFORM Global
  • Business Source Complete
  • Factiva
  • ABI/Inform Global on ProQuest Direct
    Periodical database specializing in business literature, including full text of over 2060 of the 3040 ABI/Inform titles. All titles are indexed and abstracted. Also included in ProQuest are Newspapers and General Periodicals. Coverage: 1971 to present ; Updates: Daily
  • Business Source Complete
    Covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance, international business, econometrics and economics. Contains full text of the Harvard Business Review, California Management Review and other important journals. BSP also includes country reports from EIU and Global Insight as well as company reports from Datamonitor.
  • Factiva
    Factiva is an excellent resource for finding company and industry information. Factiva contains a database of nearly 8,000 publications, including: academic and trade publications, industry newsletters, international and regional newspapers, business magazines, and business newswires. The two sections of the database that are most commonly used for this assignment are the "Factiva Library" (which allows researchers to search the 8,000 sources) and the "Quick Company Search" (which contains company profiles - information about: finances, competitors, company history, etc.).
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Access hundreds of foreign and domestic information sources including the full text of newspapers, magazines, wire services, and journals.