Nonprofit Organizations


These resources were selected for their authority, ease of use, and accessibility. If you need more assistance, please contact the Watson Library research librarians.

Additional resources can be found in CLIO, the library catalog. For news and research tips from the Watson Library, please visit the Watson Library Blog.

Resources marked with this symbol are restricted to Columbia affiliates.


Directories

  • Annual Register of Grant Support.
    Q180.A1 A5 (Reference, Butler Library)
    The Annual Register of Grant Support provides descriptions of over 3,200 organizations in 12 categories ranging from the humanities to technology and industry. In addition to basic directory information, many of the entries include an e-mail address, areas of interest, type of funding, geographic restrictions, eligibility, amount of award, number of applicants and awards given, and an inquiry contact.
  • Associations Unlimited
    The Encyclopedia of Associations contains over 120,000 entries for regional, national, and international nonprofit organizations. The Encyclopedia provides directory (e.g., phone, address) and descriptive (e.g., organization profile, conference schedule) information. The database also provides links to each organization's home page.
  • Cumulative List of Organizations Described in Section 170(c) of the Internal Revenue Code.
    HJ4653 D4 .A3 (Directories Table)
    Published by the IRS, the Cumulative List of Organizations lists the name and location of every tax-exempt organization.
  • Foundation Directory
    HV16 .F82 (Directories Table)
    The Foundation Directory profiles foundations with over $2 million in assets or $200,000 in annual giving. Each of the over 7,000 entries includes fields of interest, types of support, and contact information.
  • Foundation Directory Database
    Foundation Directory provides descriptions of grant makers, including private grant-making foundations, community foundations, operating foundations, and corporate grant makers.
  • Foundation Grants to Individuals
    Comprehensive directory of grantmakers to individuals.
  • Guidestar Database of Non-Profits (data from IRS documents)
    http://www.guidestar.org/
    From Philanthropic Research, a free information service on the programs and finances of more than 600,000 charities and nonprofits, news on philanthropy, and resources for donors and volunteers.
  • Guide to U.S. Foundations, Their Trustees, Officers, and Donors
    AS911.A2 F651 (Reference, Butler Library)
    A compendium of grantmaking foundations arranged in two volumes. Vol. 1 describes over 35,000 public, private, and community grantmaking foundations, with grants identified by amount, state, and category. Vol. 2 lists officers, trustees, and donors, and an alphabetical index of foundations.
  • The Money Market Directory of Tax-exempt Organizations
    HD2769.2.U6 M65 (Reference)
    Profiles tax-exempt organizations. The profiles include: basic contact information, key personnel and titles, board members and trustees, total investment pool and investment allocation.
  • National Directory of Corporate Giving
    HV89 .N26 (Reference)
    Contains information on the philanthropic activities of major corporations. Entries contain business descriptions, types of support, management contacts, grant criteria, samples of grant awards and some financial analysis.
  • National Directory of Nonprofit Organizations
    AS29.5 .N3 (Directories Table)
    Brief entries on 265,000 organizations. Indexed by activity and zip code.
  • National Trade and Professional Associations of the United States. (NTPA)
    HD 2425 .D623 (Directories Table)
    Includes indexes by association, subject, geographic, budget, executive, acronym, and association management companies.

Handbooks

  • Financial and Accounting Guide for Not-For-Profit Organizations
    HF5686.N56 G76 2000 (Reference)
  • Managing the Non-Profit Organization: Practices and Principles
    HD62.6 .D78 1990 (Business Library)
    Includes interviews with executives of nonprofit organizations and analysis of the nonprofit organization's mission statement, strategies, marketing, performance and personnel policies.
  • Nonprofit Handbook: Fundraising/ 2001
    HD62.6 .N662 2001 (Business Course Reserves)
  • Nonprofit Handbook: Fundraising: 2002 Supplement
    HD62.6 .N662 2001 Suppl. 2002 (Business Course Reserves)
  • Nonprofit Handbook: Management. 2001 Supplement
    HD62.6 .N662 2002b Suppl. (Business Course Reserves)
  • Nonprofit Handbook: Management. 2002 Supplement
    HD62.6 .N662 2002b Suppl. (Business Course Reserves)
  • 990 Handbook" A Line-by-Line Approach
    HJ 4640 .B55 2001g (Business Reference)
  • Enterprising Nonprofits: A Toolkit for Social Entrepreneurs
    HD 62.6 .D44 2001 (Business Library)
  • Careers in Fundraising
    HG177 .W34 2002 (Business Library)
  • Fundraising Fundamentals: A Guide to Annual Giving for Professionals and Volunteers
    HG 177 .G763 2002 (Business Library)

Periodicals

Articles & Journals

Find Articles

Search across these three databases by entering words in the box below:

  • ABI/INFORM Global
  • Business Source Complete
  • Factiva
  • ABI/Inform Global on ProQuest Direct
    Periodical database specializing in business literature, including full text of over 2060 of the 3040 ABI/Inform titles. All titles are indexed and abstracted. Also included in ProQuest are Newspapers and General Periodicals. Coverage: 1971 to present ; Updates: Daily
  • Business Source Complete
    Covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance, international business, econometrics and economics. Contains full text of the Harvard Business Review, California Management Review and other important journals. BSP also includes country reports from EIU and Global Insight as well as company reports from Datamonitor.
  • Factiva
    Factiva is an excellent resource for finding company and industry information. Factiva contains a database of nearly 8,000 publications, including: academic and trade publications, industry newsletters, international and regional newspapers, business magazines, and business newswires. The two sections of the database that are most commonly used for this assignment are the "Factiva Library" (which allows researchers to search the 8,000 sources) and the "Quick Company Search" (which contains company profiles - information about: finances, competitors, company history, etc.).
  • LexisNexis Academic
    An interdisciplinary, full-text, database containing over 18,000 sources including newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, company reports, case law, government documents, transcripts of broadcasts, and selected reference works.

Primary Sources

Internet Resources

  • Associations on the Net
    Collection of more than 500 Internet sites for professional and trade associations, cultural and art organizations, business, industry and labor groups, political parties and advocacy groups.
  • BoardSource
    Includes materials to help board members and senior staff at nonprofits work together to lead their organizations more effectively.
  • Charity Navigator
    Provides evaluations and ratings of more than 5,000 charities in the United States.  Registered users (free registration) can compare, track, and search charities based on financial health and efficiency to identify and assess worthy charities in America.
  • Foundation Center
    The Center's purpose is to disseminate information about foundations, corporate giving, and grant-making. This site includes a publications catalogue, statistics on foundation giving, and information about the Center's and activities.
  • Foundation Center: Researching Philanthropy
    Free access national, state, and metropolitan area data on U.S. foundations and their grants
  • Global Directory of Nonprofit Web Sites (The Idealist)
    Provides links to more than 10,000 Web sites in 120 countries.
  • Guidestar Database of Non-Profits (data from IRS documents)
    From Philanthropic Research, a free information service on the programs and finances of more than 600,000 charities and nonprofits, news on philanthropy, and resources for donors and volunteers.
  • Independent Sector
    Nonprofit organization whose mission is to strengthen the nonprofit sector by encouraging volunteerism, philanthropy and citizen action. IP publishes research reports on trends in the nonprofit sector.
  • Indiana University Center on Philanthropy
    In addition to supporting degrees in nonprofit management and philanthropic studies, the Center publishes research material on the nonprofit sector, including the Philanthropic Studies Index. The Joseph and Matthew Payton Philanthropic Studies Library accommodates reference requests from practitioners and researchers outside the Indiana University community.
  • The Institute for Not-for-Profit Management (INM), Columbia University
    INM was formed to build the managerial capacity of not-for-profit organizations. Through intensive, graduate-level programs, participants study core management disciplines tailored specifically to the not-for-profit sector. INM’s programs emphasize the importance of deploying resources strategically to fulfill the organization’s mission and meet its goals.
  • The National Center for Charitable Statistics at the Urban Institute
    The national repository of data on the nonprofit sector in the United States.
  • New York State Attorney General Office's Charities Site
    Tips and guides, reports, forms, and other web sites.
  • U.S. Chief Financial Officers Council
    An organization of CFOs and deputy CFOs of federal agencies, along with Treasury and Budget Office executives, dedicated to improving financial management in the federal government.