Pharmaceutical Industry
These resources were selected for their authority, ease of use, and accessibility. If you need more assistance, please contact the Watson Library research librarians.
Additional resources can be found in CLIO, the library catalog. For news and research tips from the Watson Library, please visit the Watson Library Blog.
Resources marked with this symbol are restricted to Columbia affiliates.
Articles & Journals
- ABI/Inform Global on ProQuest Direct
Periodical database specializing in business literature, including full text of over 2060 of the 3040 ABI/Inform titles. All titles are indexed and abstracted. Also included in ProQuest are Newspapers and General Periodicals. Coverage: 1971 to present ; Updates: Daily - Business Source Complete
Similar to above, but includes industry profiles and market research reports. Note that this is the only source currently that has full text of Harvard Business Review and the California Management Review - Factiva
Good source for industry publications and dealmakers.
Industry Analyses & Overviews
- Healthcare Business Market Research Handbook
RA395 .A3T96 [Reference stacks]
Extensive market data on all aspects of the healthcare market in the United States. - American Health: demographics and spending of health care consumers
RA445 .A447 2005g [Reference stacks]
Provides a comprehensive report on the demographics and spending of health care consumers in the United States. - Health, United States
Health, United States is an annual report on trends in health statistics. The report consists of two main sections: a chartbook containing text and figures that illustrates major trends in the health of Americans; and a trend tables section that contains 147 detailed data tables. - Investext (now part of Thomson ONE Banker)
InvesText has reports on companies and industries written by analysts at investment banks. To search for industry reports written by analysts, click on Research from the menu on the left and then choose Conduct a Research Report Search. You can also find reports on individual companies by searching by company name or ticker symbol. - In Vivo
In Vivo covers the pharmaceutical and medical devices industries, with news and reports on major M&A activities in the medical industry. Additionally, reports on industry trends, new products, and emerging markets are also included. - Life Science Analytics Report Center via Datamonitor 360
Provides comprehensive pipeline and financial information on over 2,500 pharmaceutical, biotechnology, and biomedical companies worldwide, including accurate market data and authoritative analysis and information. - Net Advantage [Standard and Poor's]
Use this for a comprehensive presentation of the state of the industry in the US. Click on ‘industry’ tab and select your industry from the dropdown list in the middle of the page. The ‘Industry References’ section of the Survey lists all the magazines, books, associations, government agencies etc. that the S&P analyst uses to keep up-to-date on industry events. Note the variety of other reports available from Compustat. - Red Book: Pharmacy’s Fundamental Reference
RS356 .D711 [Reference stacks]
Listings of more than 160,000 prescription and OTC drugs, medical devices, and accessories. Includes pricing information, suppliers, trade marked and generic names, etc. - Thomson ONE
Contains investment analysts’ reports provided by Thomson Reuters. May be screened by industry, by contributor [i.e. the investment bank], by country, etc.