Entrepreneurship


These resources were selected for their authority, ease of use, and accessibility. If you need more assistance, please contact the Watson Library research librarians.

Additional resources can be found in CLIO, the library catalog. For news and research tips from the Watson Library, please visit the Watson Library Blog.

Resources marked with this symbol are restricted to Columbia affiliates.


General Resources

  • Angel Investor’s Handbook: How to Profit from Early Stage Investing
    HG4963 B463 (Watson Course Reserves)
    Limited Preview (Google Books)
  • Associations Unlimited
    Contains over 144,000 detailed entries for organizations all over the world including U.S. regional and national associations, and international associations.
  • Business of Investment Banking
    HG4534 L528 (Watson Course Reserves)
  • Business Strategies
    HF5356 B87  (Reference stacks)
    Published by CCH, this source is a comprehensive guide emphasizing all aspects of business planning, taxation, human resources and accounting concerns.
  • Deal Terms. Wilmerding, Alex.
    HG4751 .W55 (Watson Course Reserves and Stacks)
  • Economic Census
    Profiles American business every 5 years, from the national to the local level.
  • Entrepreneur's Guide to Business Law
    KF390.B84 B34 (Watson Course Reserves)
    Limited Preview (Google Books)
  • Hoover's Company Capsules and Profiles (via Proquest)
    Find information on 15,000 companies covered by Hoover's. Company Capsules and Profiles deliver information on a company's location, summary financials, top competitors, top officers, and more. Use the title or company field to search company names.
  • Inc 500. - Annual ranking of America's Fastest Growing Private Companies
    HF 5001 .I534 (Reference stacks)
  • The Portable MBA in Entrepreneurship
    HD62.5 .P65 (Reference stacks)
    Limited Preview (Google Books)
  • ReferenceUSA
    Directory information on U.S. and Canadian business, health care, and residential listings. Search by company name, geographic area, business type, SIC code, yellow page listing, revenue, location, number of employees or any combination of the above.
  • Small Business Sourcebook: The Entrepreneur's Resource
    HD2346 .U5 S65 (Reference stacks)
    Comprehensive guide to sources of information on all aspects of small business. Covers over 350 topics related to starting and running a small business.
  • Steps to Small Business Start-Up (e-Book)
  • U.S. Small Business Administration

The Business Plan

Additional sources can be found in CLIO, the library catalog.  Search by keyword: "business plans" or "business plan" (use quotes).

  • Business plans handbook
    A compilation of actual business plans developed by small businesses throughout North America.

Market

Demographics

  • American FactFinder
    Easy to user interface to census data. Includes the decennial census, the American Community Survey and the Economics Census.

Market Research

  • Datamonitor 360
    Market research on various industries including consumer products and biotechnology. Company reports are also included
  • Faulkner's Advisory for IT Studies
    Virtual library of reports covering IT infrastructure, telecom, data networking, wireless communications, security, enterprise systems, the Internet and World Wide Web, as well as technology vendors. FAITS also links to technology and business news resources such as Nando Net, The New York Times, Financial Times, NewsBytes, and the BBC.
  • Forrester Research
    Forrester's research publications analyze a broad range of technology areas such as new media, computing, software, networking, telecommunications and the Internet, and project how technology trends will affect businesses, consumers, and society. Forrester reports include up-to-date industry statistics, as well as illustrative graphs and charts.
  • Gartner
    In depth market research reports on information technology. Topic areas include: computing hardware, software infrastructure, IT services, communications, semiconductors and business objectives.
  • Global Market Information Database (GMID)
    GMID contains over a million demographic, economic and marketing statistics for 205 countries worldwide. The database also contains 6-year historic market size data for more than 330 consumer products in 52 countries, plus 5-year forecasts.Coverage: 1977 to present, forecasts to 2016.
  • Lifestyle Market Analyst
    HF5415.33.U6 L54 (Reference stacks)
  • Local Market Audience Analyst [from SRDS]
    A consumer market research tool that delivers demographic, segmentation, and targeting data for media planners and consumer marketers.
  • Mintel Oxygen
    Contains market research on consumer products for the United States and Europe.
  • MRI+
    Provides consumer magazine audience data, measuring the readership of over 230 magazines in the United States; we also have access to the Mediamark Reporter database [within in MRI+] that provides summary tables of key audience and product usage data from national probability sample of 27,000 households. Registration of e-mail address required.

Financial Plan

  • Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios
    HF5681 .R25T68 (Reference stacks)
    Contains operating and financial information for corporations with and without net incomes as well as only for those companies in an industry that operated at a profit.
  • Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios
    HD47.D82 (Reference stacks)
  • IRS Corporate Financial Ratios
    HF5681 .I77 (Reference stacks)
    Compiled from IRS data from income statements and balance sheets for companies with and without net income. Organized by major and minor industry groups.
  • RMA Annual Statement Studies
    HF5681 .B2R5 (Reference stacks)
    Balance sheet and income statements as well as commonly used ratios for over 360 industries. Organized by the SIC Code as well as title of industry. Includes the most recent five years of data.

Sources of Financing

  • Dow Jones LP Source Basic (Available in Watson Library only)
    Replaces Galante's Venture Capital and Private Equity Directory and Directory of Alternative Investment Programs.
  • Pratt's Guide to Private Equity & Venture Capital Sources
    HG65 .P72 (Directories Shelves)
    This directory contains information on over 1,200 venture capital companies including some Canadian, European, and Asian-Pacific companies. Entries are arranged by state or country and list project preferences, type of financing, minimum investment, preferred investment, and contact person.
  • Private Equity and Venture Capital [via Thomson ONE]
    Once in the database click on the Private Equity tab. 
  • Preqin [Available in Watson Library only]
    Provides current and historical data on the private equity industry covering compensation, deals, fund managers, funds, fund of funds, fund terms and conditions, LP investors, and fund performance. Subscription is for Performance Analyst database only. Please note: access to this resource is restricted to CURRENT Columbia University students, faculty and staff.

Databases

Articles on companies & industries

Find Articles

Search across these three databases by entering words in the box below:

  • ABI/INFORM Global
  • Business Source Complete
  • Factiva
  • ABI/Inform Global on ProQuest Direct
    Periodical database specializing in business literature, including full text of over 2060 of the 3040 ABI/Inform titles. All titles are indexed and abstracted. Also included in ProQuest are Newspapers and General Periodicals. Coverage: 1971 to present ; Updates: Daily
  • Business Source Complete
    Covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance, international business, econometrics and economics. Contains full text of the Harvard Business Review, California Management Review and other important journals. BSP also includes country reports from EIU and Global Insight as well as company reports from Datamonitor.
  • Factiva
    Factiva is an excellent resource for finding company and industry information. Factiva contains a database of nearly 8,000 publications, including: academic and trade publications, industry newsletters, international and regional newspapers, business magazines, and business newswires. The two sections of the database that are most commonly used for this assignment are the "Factiva Library" (which allows researchers to search the 8,000 sources) and the "Quick Company Search" (which contains company profiles - information about: finances, competitors, company history, etc.).

Country overviews & data

  • CEIC Data Manager
    Contains economic, industrial and financial time-series data and cover over 60 countries
  • Economist Intelligence Unit
    Includes EIU publications, Country Commerce, Country Reports, Country Finance and Country Forecasts. These publications include economic, political and legal analysis on over 190 countries.
  • EIU Country Data
    Analytical database of worldwide economic indicators and forecasts, covering more than 270 statistical variables in series for each of 115 countries. Major data categories include economic structure, foreign payments, external debt stock, external debt service, external trade, trends in foreign trade, quarterly indicators.
  • Global Insight
    Economic and financial data on US and international economics. Includes detailed country analysis from Global Insight economists.

Valuation

Additional sources can be found in CLIO, the library catalog.  Search by subject: business enterprises - valuation

Venture Capital and Private Equity Industry

Additional sources can be found in the Alternative Investment research guide.