Compiled by Dr. Yuusuf S. Caruso, African Studies Librarian, Columbia University
Basic Guide to Research on Africa at Columbia University Libraries
Table of Contents
- About the African Studies Collection at Columbia
- General Reference: Bibliographies, Biography, Encyclopedias, Handbooks, & Historical Dictionaries
- How to Cite Print and Internet Resources
- Atlases and Maps
- Online Image Sources
- Indexes, Abstracts, Law Databases, Journal TOCs & Reviews
- Journals at Columbia
- Online Journal Services, E-Book Collections, and Full Text Databases
- Current Information, News Digests, Government Documents & Statistics
- Newspapers at Columbia & Elsewhere
- "Google" for African Studies Research
- Guide to African Diaspora and African Literatures at Columbia
- Guides to African Lanugages Taught at Columbia
- Guide to Videos in African Studies at Columbia
- Guides to Dissertations
- Guides to Archival Collections
- Library Catalogs and Archives on the Internet
- Other Bibliographies and Resource Guides on the Internet
- African American Resources at Columbia
- African Diaspora Resources on the Internet
- Teaching Resources on Africa -- via the Internet
Resources marked with this symbol are restricted to Columbia affiliates.
General Reference: Bibliographies, Biography, Encyclopedias, Handbooks, & Historical Dictionaries
- Africa contemporary record. Annual. (London: Africana Publishing, 1968/69-)
Lehman Reference: DT1 Af815 - Africa south of the Sahara. Annual. (London: Europa, 1971-)
Current issues in Butler and Lehman Reference: DT351. A35
Back issues in Butler and Lehman Stacks
See also: Europa world plus (described below) - Africa today. 3rd ed. Know Africa series. (London: Africa Journal, Ltd. for Africa Books, 1996)
Lehman Stacks (Non-Circulating): DT1 .A2542 - Africa who's who. 3rd ed. Know Africa series. (London: Africa Journal, Ltd. for Africa Books, 1996)
Lehman Stacks (Non-Circulating): DT18 .A22
Butler Reference: R049.2 Af825 (Alcove 10) - African biographical archive. 457 microfiches. Comp. by Victor Herrero Mediavilla. (Munchen: K.G. Saur Verlag, [1995-1999])
Butler Reference: MICFICHE--FX3 7162
See also:- African biographical index. 3v. Comp. by Victor Herrero Mediavilla. (Munchen: K.G. Saur, 1999) Index to: African biographical archive.
Butler Reference: R049.2 H43
- African biographical index. 3v. Comp. by Victor Herrero Mediavilla. (Munchen: K.G. Saur, 1999) Index to: African biographical archive.
- An African biographical dictionary. 2nd ed. Compiled by Norbert C. Brockman. (New York: Grey House Pub., c2006) (667 p.)
African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: DT18 .B76 2006g
Butler Reference, 301 Butler: R049.2 B782
Lehman Reference: DT18 .B76 2006g - African Biography on the Internet. (Compiled by Columbia University Libraries.)
- African folklore: an encyclopedia. Edited by Philip M. Peek and Kwesi Yankah. New York : Routledge, 2004. (593 p.)
Butler Reference: R398 Af81
Barnard Reference & African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: GR350 .A33 2004 - African higher education: an international reference handbook. Ed. by Damtew Teferra, Philip G. Altbach. (Bloomington, Indiana: Indiana University Press, 2003). (714 p.)
African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: LA1503 .A39 2003 - African studies companion. 5th rev. and expanded ed. -- Lochcarron, Scotland, UK:
Hans Zell, 2011.
The print edition of this reference guide (2006) is available:
African Studies Reading Room--607 Butler: DT19.8 .Z45 2006
Butler Reference: R068 Af832
See also: - Africana: the encyclopedia of the African and African-American experience. 5 vols. Edited by Kwame Anthony Appiah and Henry Louis Gates, Jr. Oxford, UK; New York: Oxford University Press, 2005.
Butler Reference: R960 Af8321
Lehman Reference: DT14 .A37435 2005
African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: DT14 .A37435 2005
- See also: Oxford African American studies center
- Area Handbook series. Prepared by the Library of Congress and sponsored by the US Dept. of the Army. (Washington)
Lehman Reference
- For the handbook of an individual country, search in CLIO by selecting "Keyword." Use the name of the country and "area handbook" (in quotes) for the keyword search.
- To access the online handbooks on Africa, go to the section on US Dept. of the Army in "US Organizations on Africa," compiled by Columbia University Libraries.
- See updated information for selected countries from the Library of Congress: Country Profiles, 2004 to present
- Armes, Roy. Dictionary of African filmmakers. (Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press, c2008)
Butler Reference: R809.22 Ar54 - Black leaders in southern African history. Ed. by Christopher Saunders. (London: Heinemann, 1979) [Pre-20th century leaders, except for one.]
Lehman Reference: DT739 .B47
Butler: DT739 .B47 - Brockman, Norbert C. An African biographical dictionary. 2nd ed. (New York: Grey House, c2006)
African Studies Reading Room (607 Butler): DT18 .B76 2006g
Butler Reference (301 Butler): R049.2 B782
Lehman Reference: DT18 .B76 1994 - Chiefs of state and cabinet members of African goverments. Selected by Columbia University Libraries, from the US Central Intelligence Agency's Chiefs of state and cabinet members of foreign governments (World Leaders). (Washington, DC: The Agency, 2001--)
- "Children in Africa" Web dossier (September 2008) -- Leiden, The Netherlands: African Studies Centre and Leiden University Library, Documentation and Information Department, 2008.
- Civil society--West Africa, Cameroon, Chad: Annotated bibliography = Société civile--Afrique de l'Ouest, Cameroun, Tchad: Bibliographie annotée (février 2006) -- Dakar, Sénégal: CODICE--Centre de documentation et d'information du CODESRIA, 2006. 237 pages en format PDF
- Commonwealth universities yearbook. Annual. (London: Association of Commonwealth Universities, 2000--)
Butler Reference: LB 2310 .Y5 - Compendium of elections in southern Africa. Ed. by Tom Lodge [et al.]. Johannesburg, South Africa: Electoral Institute of Southern Africa, 2002.
Lehman Reference: JQ2720.A95 C65 2002 - Contact Africa. 4th ed. Biennial. (Washington, D.C. : African-American Institute, 2001)
Lehman Reference: DT30.5 .C667 - Dictionary of African biography. 6 vols. Emmanuel K. Akyeampong and Henry Louis Gates, Jr., editors in chief. (Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, c2012)
Butler Reference: CT1920 .D52 2012 - Directories of currently active NGOs in individual countries:
Check CLIO using a Subject keyword search for "non-governmental organizations" and
[name of country] and "directories"
--For example: Répertoire des organisations non-gouvernementales membres du CONGAD. Ed. 2004. Dakar, Senegal: CONGAD, c2004.
Lehman Reference: HC1045.Z9 E443 2004g - Directory of development organizations (2011): Africa (Bert Wesselink, The Netherlands) Reports in PDF format.
- Elections in Africa: a data handbook. Edited by Dieter Nohlen, Michael Krennerich, Bernhard Thibaut. (New York : Oxford University Press, 1999)
Lehman Reference: JQ1879.A55 E44 1999
Barnard Reference: JQ1879.A55 E44 1999 - Electronic journal of Africana bibliography. -- Iowa City, Iowa: University of Iowa Libraries, 1996-.
"EJAB is a refereed online journal of bibliographies on any aspect of Africa, its peoples, their homes, cities, towns, districts, states, countries, regions, including social, economic sustainable development, creative literature, the arts, and the Diaspora." - Encyclopedia of African history. 3 v. Ed. by Kevin Shillington. (New York : Fitzroy Dearborn, 2005)
Butler Reference: R960 En188
Barnard Reference: DT20 .E53 2005 - Encyclopedia of Islam. -- Leiden, The Netherlands: E. J. Brill, 2004-
Requires a special font.
For print version, ask at Butler Reference Desk: R032.97 En11 - Encyclopedia of the Middle Passage. Edited by Toyin Falola and Amanda Warnock. (Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2007)
Butler Reference R326.9 En2 - Ethnologue. Country Index: Languages of Africa -- Dallas, Texas: SIL International, 1999-
- Europa world plus. -- New York, NY : Routledge ; Taylor & Francis Group, 2007-Economic, political, historical, and geographic profiles of 250+ countries and global regions. Contact information for political, business, media, and cultural agencies and officials, including international organizations. Select "Africa South of the Sahara"
- Fatula, Olugbemi. 2000 foremost Nigerians. 2 vols. (Ibadan, Nigeria: Caltop Publications, 2000-)
Lehman Reference: CT2522 .F38 2000g, v. 1-2 - Le Festival panafricain du cinéma et de la télévision de Ouagadougou et l'Association des trois mondes.
Les cinémas d'Afrique: dictionnaire. (Paris : Karthala : Editions ATM, 2000)
Butler Reference: R038.092 C493 - The Garland encyclopedia of world music. -- Alexandria, Virginia: Alexander Street Press.
- Guide to Videos in African Studies at Columbia University
- Handbook of Political Science research on Sub-Saharan Africa: trends from the 1960s to the 1990s. (New York: Greenwood Press, 1992)
Lehman Reference: JA84 .A337 H36 1992 - Handbook of political science research on the Middle East and North Africa. Ed. by Bernard Reich. (Westport, CT : Greenwood Press, 1998)
Lehman Reference: JQ1758 .A58 1998 - Historical Dictionary series. Scarecrow Press (Metuchen, NJ ; Lanham, MD)
Most are found on the Lehman Library Reference shelves.
For a dictionary of an individual country, search in CLIO, select "Guided Keyword" search, and use keywords [current name of country] and "historical dictionary" (as a phrase).
Other noteworthy historical dictionaries include:- Historical dictionary of ancient and medieval Nubia. By Richard A. Lobban.
African Studies Reading Room (607 Butler): DT159.6.N83 L63 2004 - Historical dictionary of ancient Egypt. 2nd ed. By Morris L. Bierbrier.
Butler Stacks:DT83 .B56 2008 - Historical dictionary of civil wars in Africa. 2nd ed. By Guy Arnold.
Lehman Reference & African Studies Reading Room (607 Butler): DT21.5 .A76 2008 - Historical dictionary of international organizations in Sub-Saharan Africa. 2nd ed.
By Terry M. Mays and Mark W. DeLancey.
Lehman Reference: JZ4850 .M39 2002 - Historical dictionary of pre-colonial Africa. By Robert O. Collins.
Butler Stacks & Barnard Reference: DT17 .C65 2001
- Historical dictionary of United States-Africa relations. By Robert Anthony Waters Jr.
Lehman Reference: DT38 .W385 2009 - Historical dictionary of women in Sub-Saharan Africa. By Kathleen E. Sheldon.
Barnard Reference & Lehman Reference: HQ1787 .S44 2005
- Historical dictionary of ancient and medieval Nubia. By Richard A. Lobban.
- How to Cite Print and Internet Resources
- Cheney, Debora. The complete guide to citing government information resources: a manual for social science and business research. Bethesda, MD: LexisNexis ; Congressional Information Service, c2002.
Butler Reference : R010 G181
Lehman Stacks: J9.5 .G37 2002g
- Hacker, Diana. The Bedford Handbook, 7th Edition: Research and Documentation Online. New York: Bedford/St. Martin's.
- Walker, Janice R. and Todd Taylor. The Columbia Guide to Online Style. 2nd ed. New York: Columbia University Press, 2006.
- Columbia University Libraries. How to Cite Internet Resources
- Cheney, Debora. The complete guide to citing government information resources: a manual for social science and business research. Bethesda, MD: LexisNexis ; Congressional Information Service, c2002.
- Human rights law in Africa. 2 vols. Edited by Christof Heyns, Morne Vander Linde. (The Netherlands: Martinus Nijhoff, 2004)
Law: JX4263.P3 - Human rights manual and sourcebook for Africa. Compiled by Keir Starmer and Theodora A. Christou; edited by Kate Beattie...[et al.] (London: British Institute of International and Comparative Law, c2005)
Law: Af908.5 St28 2005 (Non-Circulating) - International directory of African studies scholars = Répertoire international des spécialistes de l'Afrique (IDASS). Produced by Columbia University Libraries.
The IDASS is the only up-to-date, searchable, electronic directory of Africa specialists on the Internet. Entries are in English or French. - Irele, Modupeola. The Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS): a bibliography and sourcebook. (Lagos: Nigerian Institute of International Affairs, 1990)
Lehman Reference: HC1000 .I74 1990 - "Islam in Sub-Saharan Africa" web dossier (May 2005) -- Leiden, The Netherlands: African Studies Centre and Leiden University Library, Documentation and Information Department, 2005.
- Kagan, Alfred and Yvette Scheven. Reference guide to Africa: a bibliography of sources. 2nd ed. (Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2005)
African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: Z3501 .K15 2005
Butler Reference:R016.96 Af8441
Lehman Reference: Z3501 .K15 2005 - Makers of modern Africa. 3rd ed. Know Africa series; no. 1. (London: Africa Journal, Ltd. for Africa Books, 1996)
Lehman Stacks (Non-Circulating): DT1 .A3 - McIlwaine, John. Africa: a guide to reference material. 2nd rev. and expanded ed. (Lochcarron, Scotland : Hans Zell, 2007)
Butler Reference: R016.96 M2271
Lehman Reference: Z3501 .M3 2007 - The Middle East and North Africa. Annual. (London: Europa, 1995-)
Lehman Reference: DS49 .M58 - Networking: Directory of African NGOs = Réseau d'interconnexions: annuaire des ONG africaines. (2004) 3rd ed. -- New York: United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs, 2004.
- New dictionary of South African biography. Edited by E.J. Verwey. 2 vols. Pretoria: HSRC Publishers; Johannesburg: Thorold’s Africana Books [distributor], c1995-
Butler Reference: R049.28 N42, v.1-2 - New encyclopedia of Africa, 5 v. Editor in chief, John Middleton; editor, Joseph C. Miller. Detroit: Thomson/Gale, c2008.
African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: DT2 .N48 2008, v.1-5
Butler Reference (301 Butler): R960 N42, v.1-5 - Oxford African American Studies Center. New York: Oxford University Press, 2008-
Content includes: Africana (5 volumes); Encyclopedia of African American history; Black women in America--2nd edition; and, the African American national biography. - The Oxford encyclopedia of African thought. Editors in chief, F. Abiola Irele and Biodun Jeyifo. 2 vols.
New York : Oxford University Press, 2010.
African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: DT14 .I74 2010 - A political and economic dictionary of Africa. Compiled by David Seddon, with Daniel Seddon-Daines. (London: Routledge, 2005)
Lehman Reference: DT30.5 .S433 2005 - Political parties of Africa & the Middle East. Ed. by R. East and T. Joseph. (Harlow, England: Longman; Detroit, MI: Gale Research, distributor, 1993)
Lehman Reference: JQ39.A45 P65 1993g - Population et développement en Afrique de l'ouest: bibliographie annotée 1990-2001. 2 vols. [Dakar, Senegal]: Union for African Population Studies, [2003].
Lehman Reference: HB3665.5 .P668 2003g - The population of southern Africa: an annotated bibliography 1980-1997. 2 vols. [Dakar, Senegal]: Union for African Population Studies, 1998.
Lehman Reference: HB3663.3 .P66 1998g - Rake, Alan. African leaders: guiding the new millennium. (Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2001)
Lehman Reference: DT18 .R344 2001 - Rake, Alan. 100 great Africans. (Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1994)
Butler Reference: R049.2 R11 - Schmidt, Nancy. Sub-Saharan African films and filmmakers, 1987-1992: an annotated bibliography. (London; New Jersey: Hans Zell, 1994)
Butler Reference: R016 .08922 Sch551 - Schmidt, Nancy. Sub-Saharan African films and filmmakers: an annotated bibliography. (London: Hans Zell, 1988)
Butler Reference: R016 .80922 Sch55 - Schrijver, Paul. Islam in contemporary Sub-Saharan Africa. (Leiden, The Netherlands: Afrikastudiecentrum = African Studies Centre, University of Leiden, 2006) --via AfricaBib.Org
- Siler, Michael J. Strategic security issues in Sub-Saharan Africa: a comprehensive annotated bibliography. (Westport, Conn.: Praeger, 2004)
Lehman Reference: UA855.7 .S54 2004 - Stanley, Janet L. (comp.) Modern African art: a basic reading list. (Washington, DC: National Museum of African Art, Smithsonian Institution Libraries, 2011)
An online, full-length, annotated bibliography. Last update: August 2011. - Sweetman, David. Women leaders in African history. (London : Heinemann, 1984)
Butler: HQ1787.A3 S93 1984
Butler Reserves: HQ1787.A3 S93 1984
Barnard: HQ1787.A3 S93 1984 - Ugowe, C.O.O. Eminent Nigerians of the twentieth century. (Lagos, Nigeria : Hugo Books ; Ibadan, Nigeria : Ebony Bookmakers, 2000)
Butler Reference: R049.2 Ug78 - United States. Central Intelligence Agency. The World factbook. (Washington, DC: The Agency)
- U.S. Foreign Policy: Information Resources Lehman Social Sciences Library -- Subject Guide, Columbia University Libraries.
- Verdier, Isabelle ; in collaboration with Victor Mpara ; English ed., Kimberly Conniff Taber.
Gulf of Guinea oil: the top 100 people. (Paris: Indigo Publications, 2003)
Business Reference: HD9577.G9252 V47 2003g - Verdier, Isabelle and Victor Mpara.
Sénégal: les hommes de pouvoir: le guide permanent. Collection "Les hommes de pouvoir." (Paris: Indigo Publications, c2001)
Lehman Reference: CT2418.2 .V47 2001g - Walsh, Gretchen. The media in Africa and Africa in the media: an annotated bibliography. (London ; New Providence N.J. : Hans Zell, 1996)
African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: Z5634.A4 W35 1996 - West Africa over 75 years: selections from the raw material of history. Kole Omotoso et al., researchers; Kaye Whiteman, editor. (London: West Africa, 1993)
African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: DT476.2 .W4 1993g - Westley, David. The Mfecane: an annotated bibliography. (Madison: African Studies Program, University of Wisconsin-Madison, 1999)
Butler Reference: R016.968 W527 - Who = who in African art. Compiled by Guy Van Rijn. (Antwerp, Belgium: Van Rijn Documentation Center, c1995)
Fine Arts Reference: N55 Af83 W62 - Wiseman, John A. Political leaders in Black Africa: a biographical dictionary of the major politicians since independence. (Aldershot, England; Brookfield, VT: E. Elgar, 1991)
Lehman Reference: DT352.8 .W57 1991
Butler Reference: R049 .2W75 - The World Bank. Bibliography of publications: Africa Region, 1990-1997. Ed. by P.C. Mohan. (Washington, DC : World Bank, 1998) See also: 1993-1998, published in 1999.
Business Reference: Z7165.A4 B514 1998 -and- Z3501 .B532 1999
See also:- E-book, 1990-97 (via World Bank e-Library)
- World Bibliographical Series. Published by Clio Press in Oxford, England and Santa Barbara, CA: 1979-1999.
For an individual country bibliography, search in CLIO: select "Guided Keyword" search, and use keywords [name of country] and "world bibliographical" (as a phrase). - World of learning. Annual. (London: Europa)
Current print volume in Butler Reference: A52 .W89
See also: Europa world plus (described above) - Yakan, Mohamad Z. Almanac of African peoples & nations. (New Brunswick, NJ : Transaction, c1999)
Butler Reference: R960 Y11 - Zell, Hans M. Publishing, books & reading in Sub-Saharan Africa: a critical bibliography. 3rd ed.
London : Hans Zell, 2008.
African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: Z465.2 .Z443 2008g
See also:- E-book (includes annual updates to the present)
Atlases and Maps
- Africa: atlas of our changing environment. Nairobi, Kenya: United Nations Environment Program, 2008. PDF format
- Atlas du continent africain. (Paris: Jeune Afrique & Les Editions du Jaguar, 1993)
Lehman Reference: G2445 .A85 1993 - Betz, Richard L. The mapping of Africa: a cartobibliography of printed maps of the African continent to 1700. 't Goy-Houten [Utrecht], The Netherlands: Hes & de Graaf Publishers, c2007. (540 p.)
Butler Reference (301 Butler): R912.96 B466 - Christopher, A.J.. The atlas of apartheid. (New York: Routledge, 1994)
Lehman Reference: G2566 .E625 C5 1994 - Christopher, A.J. The atlas of changing South Africa. 2nd ed. (London ; New York : Routledge, c2001)
Lehman Reference: G2566.E625 C5 2001 - Conservation atlas of tropical forests: Africa. (New York; London: Simon & Schuster, 1992)
Lehman Reference: G2446 .K3C6 1992 - Freeman-Grenville, G.S.P. The new atlas of African history. (New York: Simon & Schuster, 1991)
Lehman Reference: G2446 .S1 F73 1991
Butler Reference - Griffiths, I.L. An atlas of African affairs. (New York: Routledge, 1994)
Lehman Reference: G2445 .G7 1994 - Historical atlas of Africa. Ed. by J.F. Ade Ajayi et al. (New York: Cambridge University Press, 1985)
African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: G2446.S1 H5 1985
Butler Reference: R912 H62 - Kwamena-Poh, Michael et al. African history in maps. (London; New York: Longman, 1982)
Lehman Reference: G2446 .S1 A4 1982
African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: G2446 .S1 A4 1982 - The Lehman Social Sciences Library Map Room, 2nd Floor, has a large collection of maps of Africa, including recently published demographic, economic, political, and tourist road maps from Botswana, Lesotho, Ghana, Madagascar, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Senegal, South Africa, & Zimbabwe. See also, the general guide to the Lehman Map Collection/GIS.
- Mapping Specialists, Inc. Africa on file. 2 vols. (New York: Facts on File, 1995)
Lehman Reference: DT6.7 .A34 1995
(Maps and diagrams.) - Maps and Power in Modern African History
A bibliographic guide compiled by Columbia University Libraries in support of a proposed course to be taught at Columbia University. - Maps of Africa
A selection of online maps that are publicly available and downloadable, compiled by Columbia University Libraries. - McIlwaine, John. Maps and mapping of Africa: a resource guide. (London: Hans Zell Publishers, 1997)
African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: Z6027 .A2 M38 1997 - Perry Castañeda Library, University of Texas at Austin: Maps of Africa (Austin, Texas)
- Pourtier, Roland. Atlas de la Zone Franc en Afrique subsaharienne: monnaie, économie, société. (Paris: Documentation française, 1995)
Lehman ATLAS collection: G2445 .G1 P68 1995g - Robin, Nelly. Atlas des migrations ouest-africaines vers l'Europe: 1985-1993. (Paris: ORSTOM, 1996)
Lehman Reference: G2640 .E27 R63 1996 - SEDAC--Socioeconomic Data and Applications Center -- Map Gallery (Center for International Earth Science Information Network, The Earth Institute, Columbia University, New York)
This site features maps based on research findings on poverty, environment, and other development issues in Africa and the rest of the world.
-- See also: Data sets
Online Image Sources
- Africa Focus: Sights and Sounds of a Continent (University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries and African Studies Program, Madison, Wisconsin)
The website offers downloadable images, sound files, and other materials on Africa drawn from contributions by UWM faculty over the last 20-30 years. - Ancient Egypt on the Internet (via Columbia University Libraries)
- Art and Archaeology of Africa on the Internet (via Columbia University Libraries)
- Association Images et Mémoires (Paris, France)
A French language site offers a digital archive of postcards, as well as some photographs and engravings from all over Africa during the colonial era. - G.I. Jones' Photographic Archive of Southeastern Nigerian Art & Culture (Prof. John C. McCall, in cooperation with Ursula Jones, Dept. of Anthropology, Southern Illinois University, Carbondale, Illinois)
"This is an archive of digitized photographs depicting the arts and cultures of southeastern Nigeria. The collection includes examples from Ibibio, Igbo, Ijo and Ogoni speaking peoples. All of the photographs were taken in the 1930s by the late G.I. Jones, Department of Social Anthropology, University of Cambridge. The majority of the images are from the Igbo speaking regions where Jones conducted most of his research." - Images du passé en Afrique de l'Ouest (Olivier Blot, Paris, France)
Another French language site offering a digital archive of over 900 postcards and other images from the colonial era in Senegal, French Soudan (Mali), Guinea, Upper Volta (Burkina Faso), Côte d'Ivoire, Togo, Dahomey (Benin), Niger, Chad, and Cameroon. - Northwestern University Herskovits Library--Humphrey Winterton Collection of East African Photographs, 1860-1960 -and- Southern Africa/Anti-Apartheid Posters (Evanston, Illinois)
- PictureNet Africa (Johannesburg, South Africa)
A commercial respository of photographs from photographic agencies in South Africa, with information on fees and permissions. - Post Cards = Cartes Postales de l'Afrique Occidentale Française (1895-1960). Collection Iconographie. (Archives Nationales du Sénégal, Dakar, Sénégal)
- West African Online Digital Library
Selected Historical Photographs, Islamic, and Other Images from 20th century Senegal, Guinea, and West Africa. (African Studies Center, Michigan State University, East Lansing, Michigan)
Indexes, Abstracts, Law Databases, Journal Tocs, And Reviews
The titles below are first choice options.
- Africa bibliography. Annual. (Manchester, England ; Dover, N.H. : Manchester University Press, 1984-)
Butler Stacks: Z3501 .A57- 2004 to present available online via Cambridge Journals Online
- Africa-Wide Information via EBSCO (Baltimore, Maryland: National Information Services Corporation, 1997--
A comprehensive, interdisciplinary, international index to publications on Africa.
Includes: African Studies Abstracts since 1994-2010--see also, ASA online (described below) - African Legal Resources: Foreign Law Guide, Jutastat, LawAfrica.Com, and Law in Ghana
(via Columbia University Law School Library)
Access restricted to Columbia Law Library, check with Law Library Reference: "Foreign Law Guide" is an excellent source for current legal citations, including many African countries. "Jutastat" is an online, full-text database of statutes and law reports from South Africa, Zimbabwe, Zambia, Namibia, and Tanzania. "LawAfrica.Com" is a database of case law for East Africa and COMESA countries. "Law in Ghana" is a database of Ghana's legal material, including Ghana Law Reports and Consolidated Statutes, etc. Reference librarian assistance, on campus use, or Law School affiliates only.- For French (and English) language legal materials on Africa, see OHADA.com
- African Studies Abstracts (ASA) Online. (The Netherlands: African Studies Centre, Leiden University)
Excellent annotated index of articles from periodicals, chapters from edited works and collective volumes on Africa in the field of the social sciences and the humanities.
- African Women Bibliographic Database (AfricaBib.Org, Davis Bullwinkle, University of Arkansas, Little Rock)
A searchable bibliographic database on African women, organized by region, country, and subjects. "This English language database contains over 27,000 citations from 1986 to current." - AnthropologyPlus. (Dublin, Ohio: OCLC)
"Anthropology Plus provides worldwide indexing on publications in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Coverage is from the late 19th century to the present." Includes citations based on the collections of Harvard University's Tozzer Library and the Royal Anthropological Institute in London, UK. - Book Reviews
- Book review digest plus. (H.W. Wilson Co., USA; via FirstSearch)
An index for the general public to a limited number of reviews of English language fiction and nonfiction books since 1983; plus links to full text. - H-Net Reviews. (East Lansing, Michigan: H-Net, Humanities & Social Sciences OnLine, Michigan State University, 1995 to present)
An archive of reviews of Africana books, electronic resources, exhibitions, and films since March 1995.
Select from "lists": H-Africa, H-AfrArts, H-AfrLitCine, H-Luso-Africa, H-SAfrica, H-West-Africa, and others.
- International Bibliography of Book Reviews. Monthly. (Published by K.G. Saur Verlag, Thomson Corporation, 1985 -)
European and North American journals in the Humanities and Social Sciences are indexed. - Janz, Bruce B., "African Philosophy Resources: Selected Online Book Reviews." African Philosophy Resources. (via University of Central Florida, Orlando)
- JSTOR
--Use "Advanced Search" and select "Reviews" and "African Studies"
- Book review digest plus. (H.W. Wilson Co., USA; via FirstSearch)
- Current bibliography on African affairs. Quarterly. (Amityville, NY: Baywood, 1962-)
Butler Reference: R016.96 Af86 - Francis: International Humanities and Social Studies Online Index. Monthly. -- Paris : CNRS ; USA : RLG Eureka, 1984-
Interdisciplinary index to periodicals, books, theses, reports, and conference proceedings, with emphasis on Western European publications. Some citation entries contain abstracts. - Historical Abstracts. Monthly. (Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 1982--)
A searchable online index (with abstracts) to all western language publications (and dissertations) in the field of history, excluding the U.S. and Canada. - International African bibliography, 2001 to present. Quarterly. Published for the International African Institute, School of Oriental & African Studies, University of London. (London: Mansell, 1971-)
See also print edition, 1971-2008: Z3501 .I54
- International Legal Databases--Access UN, UN Treaty Collection, HeinOnline.
"Select by Type: International"
Access to some of these databases is restricted to Columbia Law Library. Ask at Law Library Reference
See also:- African International Courts and Tribunals. (Duke University, Durham, North Carolina; New York University, New York)
- MLA Bibliography. 10 times per year. (New York : Modern Language Association of America, 1963-)
A general index of journals and other publications in all major languages on literature, language, and folklore.
- PAIS International. Monthly. (New York: Public Access Information Service, 1972-)
A general social sciences index to books and journal articles, with abstracts since 1985. Note: this product offers the option to search "specific databases" ERIC, PAIS, and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (WPSA) together. - Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Monthly. Bethesda, MD: Cambridge Scientific Abstracts, 1975-
A general database for international relations and political science---citations and abstracts.
Note: this product offers the option to search "specific databases" ERIC, PAIS, and WPSA together.
The following resources are also helpful.
- Anthropological Index of the Royal Anthropological Institute. (London, UK: The Centre for Anthropology Library, The British Museum)
- EconLit. Monthly. Ipswich, Mass.: EBSCO, 1969-
"...the American Economic Association's electronic database, contains...citations, abstracts and full text to economic research dating back to 1969: journal articles, books, collective volume articles, dissertations, working papers, and full text book reviews." - ERIC--Educational Resources Information Center
Note: this product offers the option to search multiple databases together, including ERIC, PAIS, and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.
- H-Africa African Studies Journals – Home Pages and Tables of Contents (TOCs).H-Africa. (East Lansing, Michigan: H-Net, Humanities & Social Sciences OnLine, Michigan State University)
- Index Islamicus -- Cambridge, UK: Islamic Bibliography Unit, Cambridge University Library; via Cambridge Scientific Abstracts, 2004-
An index covering books, journals, and other publications since 1906. "The Index Islamicus indexes material on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world from periodicals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works, book reviews, websites, and other materials in European languages, Turkish, Malay and Bahasa Indonesia." -- [not in Arabic] - Linguistic Bibliography Online. (The Netherlands: Koninklijke Brill NV, 1993-)
Formerly BL Online: the bibliographical database of linguistics. - LITAF: Littérature africaine francophone -- Une base de données bibliographique (Université Montesquieu-Bordeaux IV, France)
In French. "The LITAF bibliographic database provides comprehensive information on literary production in French Sub-Saharan Africa. LITAF exists online and in a CD-ROM version."
- PubMed (Bethesda, MD: National Center for Biotechnology Information)
"Provides access to over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s."
- Quarterly index to African periodical literature. Nairobi, Kenya: The Library of Congress, 1991- -- ISSN 1018-1555
A searchable online index to materials acquired by The Library of Congress since 1991 mostly in eastern and southern Africa, plus since 2002: Cameroon, Gabon, Ghana and Senegal. - WEB-BALL: Web Bibliography of African Languages and Linguistics par J.F. Maho et alli. (Villejuif, France)
A French language database on the Internet with over 24,000 references, created with the support of LLACAN--Langage, Langues et cultures d'Afrique noire. - World Health Organization Library: African Index Medicus
A newly revised, web-based international index to publications on health in Africa; with Quick and Advanced Search options.
See also:- African index medicus. Quarterly. (Brazzaville, Republic of the Congo: Library & Documentation Centre, WHO Regional Office for Africa, 1993-95) -- Check HEALTH SCIENCES Reference.
- WHOLIS -- World Health Organization Library Database (Geneva, Switzerland)
"WHOLIS indexes all WHO publications from 1948 onwards and articles from WHO-produced journals and technical documents from 1985 to the present [***including selected online full text documents]."
African Studies Journals Currently Received At Columbia
For each journal, only title, place of publication, and location of holdings at Columbia are provided below. Recent issues of the titles listed can be found on the current periodical shelves. Older issues have been bound and are located in the stacks. For full bibliographic records and complete holdings, search for the title in CLIO.
Back issues (3 years or older) for some titles, see: JSTOR
For open access publications on the Internet, see also: Electronic Journals and Newspapers on Africa
Some journal titles that are not at Columbia University can be found at The Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, or at one of the other research branches of The New York Public Library.
- Aethiopica: international journal of Ethiopian studies. (Wiesbaden) (BUTLER Stacks)
- Africa. (London) (BUTLER)
- 2006 to present available online via Project Muse
- 2006 to present available online via Project Muse
- Africa confidential. (London) (LEHMAN)
- 1998 to 2006 available online via EBSCO
- 2007 to present available online via Publisher
- Africa development Afrique et développement. (Dakar) (LEHMAN)
- Africa insight. (Pretoria) (LEHMAN)
- Africa mining intelligence. (Paris)
- 2000 to present, plain text, via Lexis-Nexis Academic or Factiva
- Africa today. (Bloomington, IN) (LEHMAN)
See also:- 1999 to present available online via Project Muse
- 1986-1998 available online via ProQuest
- African affairs. (London) (LEHMAN)
- 1996 to present available online via Oxford Journals
- African archaeological review. 1997 to present available online (Cambridge, UK) via SpringerLink
-- 1983-2008 in print (BUTLER stacks) - African arts. (Los Angeles) (FINE ARTS)
See also:- 1998 to present available online via WilsonWeb Art Full Text
- African business. (London) (BUSINESS)
See also:- Nov 1996 to present available online via ProQuest
- Aug 1992 to present available online via Thomson Gale Business & Co. Resource
- African crop science journal. 1993 to present available online (Kampala) via Bioline international
- African development review = Revue africaine de développement. (Abidjan ; Oxford) (BUSINESS)
See also:- 1999 to present available online via EBSCO
- African diaspora archaeology newsletter. 2005- (Urbana, Illinois)
- African historical review. (Pretoria) Supercedes: Kleio. (BUTLER)
- African journal in conflict resolution. 1999- (Durban, South Africa)
- African journal of ecology. (London, UK; Nairobi, Kenya)
- African journal of environmental assessment and management. (Tampa, Florida; Cairo, Egypt)
- African journal of legal studies. 2005- (Terrace, British Columbia, Canada) via HeinOnline Law
- African journal of political science. (Harare) (LEHMAN)
See also:- African e-Journals Project : 1997-2003
- See also: African Journals Online
- African.org: views and analyses from the African continent. 2011- (Pretoria/Tshwane)
- African renaissance. (London) (BUTLER)
- African research & documentation. 1973- (Birmingham & London) (BUTLER)
See also:- 2006 to present available online (via WilsonWeb)
- African security review. (Pretoria) --via Taylor & Francis
- African sociological review. (Grahamstown) (LEHMAN)
See also: - African studies. (Johannesburg) (BUTLER)
See also:- 1999 to 1 year ago via EBSCO Academic Search Complete
- African studies review. (Atlanta) (LEHMAN)
See also:- 2013 to present via Cambridge University Press
- 2005-2012 via Project Muse
- Afrika zamani. (Dakar) (BUTLER stacks only)
See also: - Afrique contemporaine. (Paris) (LEHMAN) Résumés et les tables des matières, 2003- (via CAIRN.Info)
- Afriques: débats, méthodes et terrains d'histoire. (Paris) (via Revues.org)
- Les Afriques: le journal de la finance africaine.: Articles sélectionnés (Genève)
- Agenda: a journal about women and gender. (Durban) (BUTLER)
- Annales d'Éthiopie. (Paris) (BUTLER Stacks: 2000-)
See also:- Offsite: 1955-1987 -and- 1955-2005 available online via Persée
- ASA news (New Brunswick, NJ) 2012 to present
See also: 2004 to 2009, via Black Studies Center
Plus, 1981-2006 in print (LEHMAN stacks) - AU monitor. (Oxford, UK)
- Azania. (Nairobi) (BUTLER)
- 1997 to present online via Taylor & Francis
- Billets d'Afrique et d'ailleurs. (Paris)
- Black renaissance/Renaissance noire. (Bloomington) (BUTLER)
- Bulletin de l'APAD. (Association euro-africaine pour l'anthropologie du changement social et du développement) (Leiden; Marseille)
- Business Africa (London)
- 1996 to 6 months ago via Business Source Complete
- 2003 to present via Factiva
- Cahiers d'études africaines. (Paris) (BUTLER)
- Full text through 1999 via Persée
- 2000-2004 via publisher
- 2001 to present available online via CAIRN.info
- Canadian journal of African studies. (Montreal) (LEHMAN)
- Chimurenga. (Cape Town) (BUTLER)
- CODESRIA Bulletin. 2001- (Dakar) (LEHMAN)
- See also: African Journals Online: T-of-C, Abstracts, and Document Delivery Service for 1999-
- Concerned African Scholars Bulletin. (Association of Concerned Africa Scholars) (East Lansing, MI) (LEHMAN)
- Critical African studies.. 2009- (Edinburgh, UK)
- Current writing. (Durban, South Africa) (BUTLER)
- East African medical journal. (Nairobi) (HEALTH SCIENCES)
- Eastern Africa social science research review. (Addis Ababa) (LEHMAN)
See also:- See also: African Journals Online: T-of-C, Abstracts, and Document Delivery Service for 2000-
- Electronic journal of Africana bibliography. (Iowa City)
- Electronic journal of information systems in developing countries. (Hong Kong; Omaha, Nebraska)
- Ecquid Novi : African journalism studies. (Madison & Stellenbosch)
- Eritrean studies review. (Lawrenceville, NJ) (LEHMAN)
- Ethiopian journal of health development. (Addis Ababa)
- Ethiopiques: revue negro-africaine de littérature et de philosophie. (Dakar)
(BUTLER Stacks: 2010- ; African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: 1975-2009)
- See also: Ethiopiques.
- Feminist Africa.. 2002- (Cape Town)
- Focus on Africa: BBC magazine. (London) (LEHMAN)
- Ghana studies. (Madison, Wis.) (BUTLER)
- Glendora review. 1995-2004. (Lagos, Nigeria) via African e-Journals Project, Michigan State University (USA)
- Haramata.: bulletin of the drylands. (London)
- History in Africa. (Waltham, MA) (BUTLER stacks only)
- Horn of Africa. (Summit, NJ) (LEHMAN)
- Horn of Africa bulletin. 2007- (Uppsala, Sweden)
1991-2006 issues in Lehman Stacks - Indian Ocean newsletter. (Paris)
- 1993 to present, plain text (via Lexis-Nexis Academic or Factiva)
- International journal of African historical studies. (Boston) (BUTLER)
- Islamic Africa. 2010- (Evanston, IL) via INGENTA
- Jeune afrique. (Paris) (LEHMAN)
See also:- Jeune afrique: excerpts from current issue and selected articles since 2003
- Journal des africanistes. (Paris) (BUTLER)
For tables of contents, book reviews, & full-text--2005 and earlier, see: Persée - Journal of African cinemas. (Bristol, UK)
- Journal of African economies. (Oxford) (BUSINESS)
See also: - Journal of African history. (Cambridge) (BUTLER: 1960-2006 only, LEHMAN: 1960-1999 only; BARNARD.)
See also:- 2001 to present available online via Black Studies Center
- 2001 to present available online via Black Studies Center
- Journal of African law. (Oxford) (LAW)
- Journal of contemporary African studies. (Pretoria) (LEHMAN)
See also:- 1997 to present via Taylor & Francis
- Journal of eastern African research & development. (Nairobi) (LEHMAN)
- Journal of eastern African studies. 2007 to present available online (Nairobi)
- Journal of modern African studies. (London) (LEHMAN)
See also:- 1963 to present available online via JSTOR
- Journal of religion in Africa. (Leiden) (LEHMAN)
See also: - Journal of social development in Africa. (Harare) (LEHMAN)
- See also:African Journals Online
- Journal of southern African studies. (Cambridge, UK) (LEHMAN)
See also:- 1997 to present available online via Taylor & Francis
- 1997 to present available online via Taylor & Francis
- Kleio: Bulletin of the Department of History, University of Pretoria. (Pretoria) (BUTLER Stacks)
- Kwani? (Nairobi) (BUTLER Stacks)
- Law in Africa = Recht in Afrika = Droit en Afrique. (Cologne) (LAW)
- Leadership. (Johannesburg) (LEHMAN)
- Liberian studies journal. (Hamilton, New York) (LEHMAN)
See the cumulative online index (1968-1996) for this journal at the home page of the Liberian Studies Association. - Lusotopie: enjeux contemporains dans les espaces lusophones. (Paris) (LEHMAN)
See also: 2005 to 2009
- Mande studies. (Madison, Wis.) (BUTLER)
- Market intelligence. (Nairobi) (BUSINESS)
- Medrek: the newsletter of the Forum for Social Studies. FSS Bulletin. (Addis Ababa) (LEHMAN)
- Monde diplomatique, Le. (Online), 2006 to present online via Le Monde diplomatique
- New African. (London) (BUSINESS)
See also:- 1998 to present available online via ProQuest's Black Studies Center
- New contrast. (Cape Town) (BUTLER)
- Nordic journal of African studies. 1992- (Helsinki, Finland)
- Orita: Ibadan journal of religious studies. (Ibadan) (LEHMAN)
- OSSREA newsletter. (Addis Ababa) (LEHMAN)
- Pambazuka news: weekly forum for social justice in Africa. (Cape Town)
- Philosophia africana. (Chicago) (BUTLER)
See also:- 2001 to present available online via EBSCO Academic Search Complete
- Politique africaine. (Paris) (LEHMAN)
See also:- 1999 to present online via Cairn.info
- Présence africaine. (Paris) (BUTLER)
- Psychopathologie africaine: sciences sociales et psychiatrie en Afrique. (Dakar) (BUTLER)
- Research in African literatures. (Bloomington, IN) (BUTLER)
See also:- 1999 to present available online via Project Muse
- Research review. (Legon, Accra, Ghana) (LEHMAN)
- Review of African political economy. (Sheffield, UK) (LEHMAN)
See also:- 1997 to present available online via EBSCO
- Revue noire. (Paris) (FINE ARTS)
- Rural and urban African studies. (East Lansing, MI) (LEHMAN) (Since 1994, replacing "Rural Africana" and "African urban studies")
- Safere: Southern African feminist review. (Harare) (BUTLER Stacks)
- See also: African Journals Online: T-of-C, Abstracts, and Document Delivery Service for 1999--
- Safundi: the journal of South African and American studies. (Nashville)
See also:- 2000 to present available online via InformaWorld
- Sea breeze journal of contemporary Liberian writings. (Castro Valley, California)
- Slavery & abolition. (London, UK) (BUTLER)
See also:- 1997 to present available online via EBSCO
- Social dynamics. (Rondebosch, Cape Town) (LEHMAN)
- South African historical journal. (Bloemfontein) (BUTLER)
- South African journal of international affairs. (Johannesburg) (LEHMAN)
- Southern African humanities, 2000 to present available online. (Pietermaritzburg) via SAePublications
- Think Africa press. 2011- (London, UK)
- Transition. (New York ; Kampala, Uganda) (BUTLER)
See also:- 1997 to present available online via Proquest
- 2000 to present available online via Project Muse
- Transafrican journal of history. (Nairobi) (LEHMAN)
- Transformation: critical perspectives on southern Africa. (Durban) (LEHMAN)
- See also: African e-Journals Project: 1986-2003
- Wasafiri. (London) (BUTLER)
Online Journal Services, E-Book Collections, and Full-Text Databases from Organizations and Research Centers
- Africa Portal Library (A project of the Centre for International Governance Innovation, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; Makerere University, Kampala, Uganda; South African Institute of International Affairs, Johannesburg, South Africa)
A digital library of over 3000 books, journals, and documents related to African policy issues; a directory of experts; plus, current news analysis and opinion articles. - African Digital Library -- Selected Electronic Books Collection In association with NetLibrary. (Technikon South Africa Gold Fields Library and Information Centre, Florida, South Africa)
Note: Columbia faculty and students have access to this collection via NetLibrary subscription.
"[Established in 1999]...a collection of electronic books that can be accessed and used free-of-charge by any person living on the African continent [with registration]." - African e-Journals Project (Michigan State University, East Lansing, Michigan)
The website offers general information about the on-going project, access to full text archive of 11 African journals, and a searchable directory of African e-journals--with links to websites. "An initiative co-sponsored by the Association of African Universities (AAU), the African Studies Association in the USA, and Michigan State University."
- Full text archive: African Journal of Political Science, Glendora, Journal of Social Development in Africa, Transformation, Zambezia, and others
- E-Journal Directory
- African Journals OnLine (AJOL) (International Network for the Availability of Scientific Publications, Oxford, UK)
"African Journals OnLine (AJOL) is an online service to provide access to African-published research, and increase worldwide knowledge of indigenous scholarship. AJOL is a Non Profit Organisation based in South Africa."
- African Writers Series, part of Chadwyck Healey Literature Collections
- See also: Literature Online
- Afrobarometer--Data and Publications (Institute for Democracy in South Africa, Cape Town; Ghana Centre for Democratic Development, Accra; and Michigan State University, Dept. of Political Science, East Lansing, Michigan)
'A comparative series of national public attitude surveys on democracy, markets and civil society in Africa.' The website includes: sample surveys and selected abstracts from final reports. The 1st round survey covered: Ghana, Uganda, Zambia, Nigeria, Botswana, Lesotho, and Zimbabwe.- Raw data is available starting with the 1st round of the survey, -- Search for"Afrobarometer" at
ICPSR: Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research"
- Raw data is available starting with the 1st round of the survey, -- Search for"Afrobarometer" at
- ALUKA: Struggles for Freedom in Southern Africa (Ithaka Harbors, Princeton, New Jersey)
Full text digital archives on the independence and anti-apartheid movements in southern Africa. "The Struggles for Freedom content area, launched in June 2007, focuses on the complex and varied liberation struggles in the region, with an initial concentration on six nations: Angola, Botswana, Mozambique, South Africa, Namibia, and Zimbabwe." - AnthroSource. -- Berkeley, California: University of California Press [in partnership with the American Anthropological Association], 2004-
A searchable database providing access to the full texts (via AnthroSource or a link to JSTOR) of all of the journals and bulletins of the American Anthropological Association since the 1880s. - Bibliothèque Nationale de France: Gallica Voyages en Afrique (Paris)
In French. Voyages en Afrique offers a wide selection of documents of many kinds covering the entire African continent. It provides access to often-scattered, multi-disciplinary resources focused on the history of the Arabian and European exploration of the African coast and interior, and the process of the European colonization of Africa through 1914.
- Bioline International Publications: Abstracts, Full Texts for Selected Journals, and Subscriptions (Centro Referência Informação Ambiental, Brazil ; Electronic Publishing Trust for Development, UK.)
A selection of African medical, crop science, insect science, and/or general science journals, plus numerous others from outside of Africa, can be accessed online. There are also links to technical reports and newsletters. This is a program that allows the reader to view the abstracts of a small number of science journals without charge. However, to view online or receive full texts, paid registration is required. There are journals from Nigeria, Kenya, Uganda, Zimbabwe, South Africa. - Black Drama, 1850 to the Present (Alexander Street Press, LLC; The University of Chicago, Illinois)
A selection of "Black drama" from Africa, North America, the Caribbean, and other African Diaspora countries. The database includes full texts of plays, biographical information, selected playbills, production photos, and ephemera. - Black Short Fiction & Folklore (Alexander Street Press, LLC; The University of Chicago, Illinois)
The most comprehensive collection yet created of stories from Africa and the African Diaspora. When complete, it will offer more than 8,000 short stories and folktales, ranging thematically from oral traditions that date back many hundreds of years to contemporary tales of modern life. In addition to these works, the database includes complete runs of selected literary magazines." - Black Studies Center (ProQuest Information & Learning, Cambridge, Massachusetts)
Black Studies Center combines three resources for research and teaching in Black Studies: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index of Black Periodicals (IIBP)---with back issues of major journals in full text, and The Chicago Defender. This fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies includes scholarly essays, recent periodicals, and historical newspaper articles. - Black Women Writers (Alexander Street Press, LLC; The University of Chicago, Illinois)
"Celebrates the many voices of women from Africa and the African Diaspora. Offering fiction, poetry, and essays from three continents and 20 countries, the database gives an unparalleled view of black women's struggles through time. New content is uploaded on a biweekly basis, giving users immediate access to a steadily growing treasury of extraordinary writings. The database currently features over 37,000 pages of poetry and prose." - Cambridge History of Africa Part of Cambridge Histories Online. -- Cambridge, UK: Cambridge University Press, 2008.
The online version in searchable PDF format of the popular 8-volume history anthology originally published 1975-1986. Select "Browse" and "Regional History". - Confidential Print: Africa, 1834-1966 Part of Archives Direct. -- London, UK: Adam Matthew, 2012.
Full text of selected British colonial records from the National Archives in Kew. "The Confidential Print series, issued by the Foreign and Colonial Offices...Spanning the full era of the modern European colonisation of Africa, from the occupation of Algeria by France, through increasing British presence on the west African coast and around the Cape of Good Hope in the south, the Berlin Conference which set off the 'Scramble for Africa', the high-water mark of economic exploitation of Africans in the Congo Free State, rivalries amongst European powers and the era of withdrawal that followed the Second World War." - Connecting-Africa (African Studies Centre, Leiden University, Leiden, The Netherlands)
" [A] service that provides access to African research information produced in the Netherlands and elsewhere: details of Africa experts affiliated to Dutch and Belgian organizations; details of Dutch and Belgian development-related organizations, universities and research institutes; titles of published research on Africa in the Netherlands and elswhere; digital resources on Africa (full-text of publications, images and sound) in about 55 institutional repositories." - Constitutions on the Internet
- Constitution Finder (John Paul Jones, T.C. Williams School of Law, University of Richmond, Virginia)
- International Constitutional Law -- Constitutional Documents and Country Information (Axel Tschentscher, Universität Bern, Switzerland)
- Dictionary of literary biography. (Online). -- Detroit, Michigan: Gale Group, 2003.
- Droit-Afrique.Com: le droit des entreprises en Afrique francophone. (Paris, France)
In French. "Droit-Afrique.com is a publicly available site covering business law and taxation in 24 French-speaking African countries. It provides: the texts of codes, laws, decrees, orders, agreements, and doctrine; a list of web portals containing African legal information; and a directory of business lawyers..." - East African Development Library -- Paris, France: UNESCO Direction de l'Information et de l'Informatique, 1999. --via New Zealand Digital Library, University of Waikato, New Zeland.
A small archive of digitized documents furnished by the World Bank, FAO, UNDP, and other UN agencies on East African development.
See also:- Le Hub rural = The Rural Hub, described below
- Sahel point DOC, described below
- eHRAF World Cultures: Human Relations Area Files (Collection of Ethnography). -- New Haven, Connecticut: Yale University; Ann Arbor, Michigan: University of Michigan Digital Library, c1987, 1996-
A searchable, online library of full text books, articles, dissertations, and unpublished manuscripts on a wide variety of cultures and societies around the world. See also at Columbia: the HRAF in paper and microfiche in Lehman Library. - ELDIS: Electronic Development and Environment Information System (Institute of Development Studies, University of Sussex, Brighton, UK)
Search by country, region, and topic: An indexing service provided by IDS. Papers are selected from all over the Internet based on topics in African, Asian, and Latin American studies. Documents are produced by research institutes or international organizations. Some documents are electronic versions of printed works, while others are full online documents--with citations and bibliographies. Note: Some documents listed in the search are only accessible at the IDS library, University of Sussex. - Electronic Journals and Newspapers on Africa, compiled by Columbia University Libraries.
- Érudit : promoting and disseminating research = promouvoir et diffuser la recherche (Montréal, Québec, Canada)
Select "Advanced Search" or "Recherche détailée to look for open access, online full-text MA essays/mémoires de maîtrise from McGill University, Université Laval, & Université de Montréal...or journal articles published in major Canadian and French journals. - Gallica Voyages en Afrique (described above in the entry for Bibliothèque nationale de France)
- House of Commons Parliamentary Papers -- Selections (Cambridge, UK: Chadwyck-Healey, 2005)
See Subject catalogue, look for Africa under "The Dominions and Colonies" ; "Slavery and the Slave Trade" ; and, "Foreign Affairs and Diplomacy". - Le Hub Rural: Appui au développement rural en Afrique de l'Ouest et du Centre = The Rural Hub: Supporting Rural Development in Western and Central Africa (Dakar, Sénégal)
In French and English. This site offers information on research and development project activities in the region, with an extensive, searchable archive of downloadable reports from US government, intergovernmental, and international NGOs; plus a library of links to web sites of development organizations.
See also:- East African Development Library, described above
- Sahel point DOC, described below
- IFAN--Institut Fondamental d'Afrique Noire, Université Cheikh Anta Diop: Biens culturels africains: entrepôt de ressources documentaires de l'IFAN-CAD (Dakar, Sénégal)
- IRD--Institut de Recherche Pour le Développement "Ressources documentaires -- Horizon/Pleins textes" (Paris, France)
In French. "Research scientists of the IRD focus on the relationship between humans and their environment in tropical and Mediterranean..."
See also HORISEN--Base bibliographique de l'IRD pour le Sénégal - ISRA--Institut sénégalais de recherches agricoles : Bibliothèque numérique de publications (1974-1999) Greenstone Digital Library Software (Dakar, Sénégal)
In French. A "public scientific institution, [ISRA] was established in 1974 to design, organize and complete all research on the rural sector in Senegal." - Memórias de África et do Oriente, Biblioteca Digital (Universidade de Aveiro, Centro de Estudos sobre África e do Desenvolvimento--Universidade Técnica de Lisboa, e Fundação Portugal-África, Lisboa, Portugal)
In Portuguese and English. "[Its] main aim [is the] creation of an online library of historical data available in archives, documentation centers, libraries and institutions, private organizations and individuals involved...in African countries with Portuguese as the national language (PALOP)...[and] digitalization of rare works or those works that are difficult to access..."- Boletim cultural da Guiné Portuguesa: 1946-1973. -- Bissau: Centro de Estudos da Guiné Portuguesa, 1946-73. In Portuguese.
- História geral de Cabo Verde. (3 volumes) Coordenado pela Luis Albuquerque e Maria Emilia Madeira Santos. -- Lisboa, Portugal : Instituto de Investigação Científica Tropical ; Bissau, Guiné-Bissau : Instituto Nacional de Estudos e Pesquisa, 1991-2002. In Portuguese.
- Digital collections Full list. In Portuguese and English.
- OHADA.com: Le Portail du Droit des Affaires en Afrique (Centre d'affaire La Défense, Paris, France)
In French. An archive of publications on African law. Must register to access the full text and other site services.
- Online Publications on Africa from Research Centers & Universities (Compiled by Columbia University Libraries)
- Persée: portail de revues scientifiques en sciences humaines et sociales. ([Paris]: Aliacom;
Lyon: Université Lumière Lyon 2, pour le Ministère de l'éducation nationale, de l'enseignement supérieur et de la recherche, 2004-) - webPulaaku: Suudu Laawol Pulaaku, FulƁe e Haali-Pular'en = Foyer de la nation FulƁe et Haal-Pular (Afrique de l'Ouest) (Tierno S. Bah, Afriq*Access, Inc, Maryland, USA)
In French. A collection of full text that focuses especially on Islam and the Fulani; a collection of articles and book excerpts in French and English; several bibliographies; texts in Pulaar; tables of contents of books; and links to sites about the Fulani in Senegal, Mauritania, Guinea, and other countries of the Sahel region.
See also: webFuuta: Fuuta-Jalon, webTooro, and webGuinée. - Sahel point DOC: anthologie du développement au Sahel -- Paris, France: UNESCO, Division de l'Information et de l'Informatique, 1999. --via New Zealand Digital Library, University of Waikato, New Zealand.
A small archive of documents provided by the World Bank, Centre Songhai, OECD–Club du Sahel, CILSS, FAO, UNDP, and several other organizations in the Sahel.
See also:- Le Hub rural = The Rural Hub, described above
- Slavery and anti-slavery: a transnational archive (Farmington Hills, Michigan: Gale, Cengage Learning, 2009-)
"...includes documents from the United States and Europe, as well as other parts of the world. In addition to newspaper collections and books published in the antebellum era, Slavery and Anti-Slavery contains documents from several archives originally available only on microfilm." - Slave Trade Archives -- Digital Projects
- Emory University: Voyages--The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database (Atlanta, Georgia)
The site provides free access to selected data on thousands of slave ship voyages; plus scholarly essays and maps.
--See 4 minute video: Searching the Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database: An Introduction
(Timothy Johnson, Africana Studies Librarian, New York University Libraries; via vimeo.com) - University of Wisconsin: On-Line Data Archive--Slave Movement During the Eighteenth and Nineteenth Centuries (Madison, Wisconsin)
An archive of raw data and documentation on selected aspects of the history of the transatlantic slave trade that is downloadable once one has completed their free registration.
See especially: What DISC and the Slave Movement Site Can and Cannot Do for You
- Emory University: Voyages--The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database (Atlanta, Georgia)
Current Information, News Digests, Government Documents, And Statistics
- Africa research bulletin: economic, financial & technical series. Monthly. (Oxford: Blackwell, 1964-)
Lehman Reference: HC501 .A1 A3511 -- Current issues only.
Lehman Stacks: HC501 .A1 A3511 -- Back issues.
1997 to present (via EBSCO) - Africa research bulletin: political, social & cultural series. Monthly. (Oxford: Blackwell, 1964-)
Lehman Reference: DT1 .A21211 -- Current issues only.
Lehman Stacks: DT1 .A21211 -- Back issues.
1997 to present (via EBSCO) - African Development Bank -- Statistics Division (Tunis, Tunisia ; Abidjan, Côte d'Ivoire)
- African statistical yearbook, 2009 to present -- Tunis, Tunisia: African Development Bank ; Addis Ababa, Ethiopia: United Nations Economic Commission for Africa.
- African statistical yearbook = Annuaire statistique pour l'Afrique. (Addis Ababa: Economic Commission for Africa, United Nations, 1974--)
Lehman Stacks: HA1955 .A37 (1974-2007)
Latest in Lehman Reference - Gender, Poverty, and Environmental Indicators on African Countries. (Online) -- Tunis: African Development Bank, 2000- Annual
- African Development Bank: Selected statistics on African countries, 2006-- (Tunis, Tunisia: Statistics Division)
- African Economic Outlook (African Development Bank, OECD Development Centre, and the United Nations Economic Commission for Africa; Paris, France)
Annual African economic outlook (via OECD iLibrary)...The website provides comprehensive and comparable data and analysis of 50 African economies..." - African Elections Database (Albert C. Nunley, via Tripod.Com, USA)
A compilation of electoral results by country; frequently updated, with results from the 1990s for some countries. Sources include various other election monitor websites; see links.
- AFRISTAT: Observatoire économique et statistique d'Afrique Subsaharienne (Bamako, Mali)
This French-language site provides official, general and detailed statistics and text summaries from the member states of the CFA Zone in HTML and PDF formats. - AllAfrica.Com News (Washington, DC)
Selected articles from electronic African newspapers and other sources, with searchable archive, in English and French and includes the archive of Africa News Service dating from 1997.
See also:- Electronic Newspapers of Africa: a list of titles available on the Internet compiled by Columbia University Libraries
- Electronic Newspapers of Africa: a list of titles available on the Internet compiled by Columbia University Libraries
- Business source complete (Ipswich, Mass.: EBSCO Pub.)
A searchable database with citations, abstracts, and full texts to several major English-language business and economic newsletters covering Africa, especially: Business Monitor (Africa Monitor--North Africa; West & Central Africa; Southern Africa ; and individual "country monitor" and "forecast" reports). - Demographic & Health Surveys (DHS) (Macro International, Calverton, MD)
Search especially under "Obtaining Data" for reports on individual countries or the Sub Saharan Africa region. - The Economist Intelligence Unit Publications
- Africa and the Middle East Online Country Reports, Profiles, and Selected Articles from Other EIU Publications
Select HTML or PDF files. - Business Africa. Semimonthly. (London: Economist Intelligence Unit, 1993-)
**For back issues in print, 1993-2000, seeBusiness Stacks (non-circulating): HC800 .A1 B87 - Country Forecast Africa, 1996-
A quarterly regional overview. - EIU CountryData, 1980-
An analytical database of indicators, forecasts, and statistical variables in series for 115 countries...including in Africa. - EIU Publications - Full List (The Economist Intelligence Unit, London, UK)
Access to EIU full texts and data services includes: Business Africa; Business Asia; Business China; Business Eastern Europe; Business Europe; Country Profile; and Country Report.
- Africa and the Middle East Online Country Reports, Profiles, and Selected Articles from Other EIU Publications
- Ethnic Newswatch Online. (1990--)
'This database provides comprehensive access to the ethnic, minority and native press in the United States, Canada, and the United Kingdom.' - Factiva.Com. (New York: Dow Jones and Reuters, c2002--)
A subscription-based, searchable, plain text, news service derived from selected US and international business and general news sources, with coverage since the mid to late 1990s. African news sources include selected archives from online African newspapers via AllAfrica.Com, Indian Ocean Newsletter, and others. - Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports, 1941-1996 -- Naples, Florida: Readex.
a searchable digital archive of the US government service providing excerpts from headline articles in English (or in translation) from selected newspapers and transcripts from radio and TV broadcasts around the world, including Sub-Saharan Africa and The Middle East and North Africa. Since the mid-1990s, the service was re-organized as World News Connection (described below). - Foreign relations of the United States. (Washington, DC: US State Dept.). v. X (Africa, 1955-57);
v. XII (Arab-Israeli/North Africa, 1958-60); v. XVI (Africa, 1958-60); v. XX (Congo Crisis, 1961-63);
v. XXI (Africa, 1961-63) ; v. XXIV (Africa, 1964-68)
Butler stacks: JX233 .A3
Butler Reference has index only
Lehman Stacks: JX233 .A3
- HeinOnline provides full text of this series and other US legal history.
- See also: US Foreign Policy: Information Resources, described below
- France. Agence française de développement (Paris)
Site in French and English; publications primarily in French. One can search for publications within the portal of each country in Sub-Saharan Africa and the Middle East. - France. Ministère des Affaires étrangères: Actualités, dossiers et textes récents sur les relations franco-africaines (Paris)
- Global Insight -- Englewood, CO: IHS Global Insight, 2010-
Economic time series & financial market data for the past 5 years and 4 years in the future, with political risk analysis. "Country Intelligence" reports are particularly useful for African countries with major extractive industries. - Guide to Sources for International Statistics (Lehman Social Sciences Library, Columbia University Libraries, New York)
- International Documentation Network on the Great African Lakes Region = Réseau documentaire international sur la région des Grands Lacs africains (Geneva, Switzerland)
The website is in French and English, and consists of an archive of documents from governments, local and international NGOs, scholars, and other individuals from the early 1990s to the present. - Inventaire des recensements et enquêtes démographiques en Afrique (CePeD--Centre Population et Développement, Université Paris Descartes, France)In French. IREDA is an inventory of the demographic censuses and surveys realized in West and Central Africa: Benin, Cameroon, Democratic Republic of Congo, Côte d'Ivoire, Mali, and Niger.
--See also: General bibliography -and- links and other resources - Investir en Zone Franc: Les Guides Pratiques sur les Pays de la Zone (IZF.Net, France)
In French. IZF.net was established in 1998 and is an initiative of the Minsters of Economy and Finance from the countries in Africa's Zone Franc. Its purpose is to fill the need for credible and useful information to facilitate investment in countries in Zone Franc. The site includes key economic indicators, maps of countries and cities, and directories of institutions and associations. - ISI Emerging Markets (New York: Internet Securities, 2000-)
In English, French, and Arabic. Selected business and economic news in full text (plain ascii or original format) from newspapers, company reports, banks and brokerage houses, and research services, as well as some general news sources, in Africa both north and south of the Sahara. - Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
This online subscription service claims to offer full texts excerpted from a wide variety of publications. Warning: Only a handful of titles relevant for African studies research are included in the database; most notable are: Africa Energy & Mining ; Business Day (South Africa) ; The Indian Ocean Newsletter (Paris) ; and Maghreb Confidential (Paris). For more titles, see the content information. - News and Information Services on Africa (via Columbia University Libraries)
- PARLINE Database on National Parliaments (Inter-Parliamentary Union, Geneva, Switzerland)
A searchable directory of national assemblies and parliaments, with links to official web sites and recent document collections. - South Africa. Central Statistical Service (Pretoria)
- United Kingdom. Foreign & Commonwealth Office on Sub Saharan Africa -and- Middle East & North Africa (London)
- United Kingdom. Department for International Development on Eastern & Southern Africa ;
West & Central ; Middle East & North Africa (London)
See also:- Archive of past DFID programs in Africa (via The National Archives, UK)
- United Kingdom. Overseas Development Institute (London)
- United Nations Conference on Trade and Development: Economic development in Africa series.
-- Geneva, Switzerland: UNCTAD, 2000- - United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization: UNESCO Institute for Statistics (Montreal, Quebec, Canada)
Regional and country statistical data and a searchable document library. - United Nations Environment Programme: Enivronmental Data Explorer (UNEP, Geneva, Switzerland)
"...is the authoritative source for data sets used by UNEP and its partners in the Global Environment Outlook (GEO) report and other integrated environment assessments. Its online database holds more than 450 different variables, as national, subregional, regional and global statistics or as geospatial data sets (maps)." - United Nations. Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs (UNOCHA)
- Integrated Regional Information Network (IRIN) for Africa (English) or in French.
Daily and weekly bulletins for regions and individual countries.
Note: the archive only contains back issues from the past month or less. - ReliefWeb
This searchable site provides links to full-length reports on areas of the world affected by humanitarian "emergencies", assorted on-line maps, and "the latest" news from many areas of the world. See especially: Countries
- Integrated Regional Information Network (IRIN) for Africa (English) or in French.
- USAID Development Experience Clearinghouse (Washington, DC)
An extensive, updated archive of all available USAID reports on individual projects and countries. Search by country and download (in PDF--Adobe Acrobat 5 or Word Perfect) -- or order USAID-funded publications (many on African countries and topics). - US Congressional Hearings -- via LexisNexis (Washington, DC)
"The LexisNexis Congressional Hearings Digital Collection includes abstracting, indexing, bibliographic information, and searchable PDFs for Congressional hearings from 1824-2003."
- US Foreign Policy: Information Resources (Lehman Social Sciences Library, Columbia University Libraries, New York)
- US Government Agencies on Africa -- Internet Resources (Compiled by Columbia University Libraries)
- The World Bank Publications (Washington, DC)
- African development indicators. Annual. (Washington, DC: World Bank, c1995- )
2008-2009 online edition
Current print issue in Business Reference: HC800.A1 A35
Back issues in Business Stacks: HC800.A1 A35 - Worldwide Governance Indicators, 1996-2010
Data on 212 countries and territories, with charts and tables for 6 major "governance indicators" recognized by the Bank. - World Bank e-Library
Search for all documents available in electronic full text. - World dataBank (Washington, DC: The World Bank)
"A complilation of a number of World Bank data products, the most significant one being World development indicators (WDI)."
- African development indicators. Annual. (Washington, DC: World Bank, c1995- )
- World News Connection (National Technical Information Service ; Foreign Broadcast Information Service)
Current news excerpted from major news agencies in Europe and US and in Sub-Saharan Africa and the Near East and North Africa; includes radio broadcasts. Warning : Older news coverage for Africa is poor.
Newspapers At Columbia And Elsewhere
- Current Newspapers from Sub-Saharan Africa in Lehman Library
Title and place of publication listed only.- The Daily Independent. (Lagos)
- The East African. (Nairobi)
- The Guardian. (Lagos)
- Mail & Guardian. (Johannesburg)
- Rai. (Dar es Salaam ; Swahili weekly)
- Sud quotidien. (Dakar)
- The Sunday Independent. (Johannesburg)
- The Sunday Nation. (Nairobi)
- The Sunday Vision. (Kampala)
- Back Issues of Newspapers of Africa on Microfilm at Columbia University Libraries
- Some African newspapers NOT at Columbia may be found at The Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture ; search the NYPL Libraries Catalog.
- AFRINUL: African Newspapers Union List. A project of the Cooperative Africana Microform Project. (The Center for Research Libraries, Chicago, Illinois)
A project --under construction-- consisting of a searchable database of holdings (mostly of current subscriptions) in North America. "Initially, this database ... will consolidate holdings information for collections in North America, but will later expand to include holdings in Africa, Europe, and elsewhere."
For back issues of African newspapers on film at the Center for Research Libraries, search the main catalog. - Electronic Newspapers of Africa. Compiled by Columbia University Libraries.
- All Africa.Com: Selected Articles from Electronic African Newspapers and Other Online News Sources.
Search for articles since 1997. - Indexkenya.org: Kenya Indexing Project (Nairobi, Kenya)
This free database provides only an index to topics covered in newspapers published (in Kenya only) for the period 1993 to 2002. There are no links to online archives, but there is a document delivery option. "Indexkenya.org is an online index of articles published in Nairobi newspapers. The focus of the articles indexed includes culture, law/governance, reproductive health, and other topics about which information is difficult to obtain." - World Newspaper Archive -- African Newspapers Collection In collaboration with The Center for Research Libraries. (Naples, Florida: Readex, 2010-)
Select "More newspaper collections" to see the African Newspapers ed newspapers from Africa before 1923. This full-text database is Phase I of a long-term project.
Guides To African Languages Taught At Columbia
- Columbia has one of the largest print collections in and about African languages in the United States. However, most instructional materials in audio, video, and electronic formats are available outside of the Libraries through the university's Language Resource Center.
- Hausa
- Fula (Pulaar/Fulfulde)
- Wolof
- Swahili
- Zulu
Guides To Dissertations
- African Theses and Dissertations -- on the Internet (Karen Fung, Africa South of the Sahara--Selected Internet Resources, Stanford University Libraries, Stanford, California)
- The Center for Research Libraries: Dissertations Catalog (Chicago, Illinois)
- Curto, José C. and Raymond R. Gervais. Bibliography of Canadian master's theses and doctoral dissertations on Africa, 1905-1993. (Montréal: Canadian Association of African Studies, 1994)
Butler Reference: R016 .378 AZ Af835 - Cyberthèses: publication et diffusion en ligne des thèses (Lyons, France ; Montréal, Canada)
Selected French language theses in full text and abstracts from a project based at Université Montréal, Université de Genève, and Université Lumière de Lyon II. - Proquest Digital Dissertations. (Ann Arbor, MI: ProQuest University Microfilms International, 1980-)
Formerly Dissertation abstracts, older issues (1966-1987) in paper can be found in Butler stacks. - Lauer, Joseph J. et al., comps. American and Canadian doctoral dissertations and masters' theses on Africa, 1974-1987. (Atlanta: Crossroads Press and Emory University for the African Studies Association, 1989)
Lehman Reference: Z3501 .L33 1989 - Lauer, Joseph J. et al., comps. "Recent Doctoral Dissertations." In ASA news: for African Studies Association members.. (Atlanta: African Studies Association)
Lehman Current Periodical Reading Room
Lehman Stacks: DT1 .A138
(These are updates to Lauer et al., 1989, published 3 times per year.) - Mémoire Online Memoireonline.com (France)
An open access, self-publishing masters' thesis depository (in HTML format only). - Price, Helen C. et al., comps. Theses on Africa, 1976-1988: accepted at the universities of the United Kingdom and Ireland. Published for the Standing Conference on Library Materials on Africa. (London; New York: Hans Zell, 1993)
Butler Reference: R016 .37842 AZ Af831
Lehman Reference: Z3501 .P75 1993 - ResearchKenya.org: Union List of Theses and Dissertations Held by Universities and Research Institutions in Kenya. (Ruth Thomas et al., Kenya Information Preservation Society, Nairobi, Kenya)
- Sims, Michael and Alfred Kagan. American and Canadian doctoral dissertations and master's theses on Africa, 1886-1974. (Waltham, Mass.: African Studies Association, 1976)
Butler Reference - Catalogue SUDOC: Rechercher par "Note de thèse" (ABES--Agence bibliographique de l'enseignement supérieur, Montpellier, France)
"[SUDOC est]...le catalogue collectif français réalisé par les bibliothèques et centres de documentation de l'enseignement supérieur et de la recherche. Il comprend plus de 9 millions de notices bibliographiques qui décrivent tous les types de documents (livres, thèses, revues, ressources électroniques, documents audiovisuels, microformes, cartes, partitions, manuscrits et livres anciens...)" - South African Universities' Theses & Dissertations Catalogs and Selected Electronic Full-Text
- Rhodes University eResearch Repository: full-text theses, journal articles, conference papers. (Grahamstown, South Africa)
- University of Cape Town Libraries--ETDs
- UPeTD: University of Pretoria
- UnisaETD: University of South Africa
- University of the Western Cape ETD
- WIReDSpace: ETDs at the University of the Witwatersrand (Johannesburg)
Guides To Archival Collections
- Africana Library Catalogs and Archives Online (Compiled by Columbia University Libraries)
- African Activist Archive Project (African Studies Center, Michigan State University, East Lansing, Michigan)
The website includes galleries of documents, photographs, posters, audio and video files, and an extensive "archives list" for the U.S. "[The project] seeks to preserve for history the record of activities of U.S. organizations and individuals that supported African struggles for freedom and had a significant collective impact on U.S. policy during the period 1950-1994." - Agyei, Samuel Kwasi. A guide to the records relating to Ghana in repositories in the United Kingdom excluding the Public Record Office, London. [microfiche] (London: Altair, 1988)
Lehman Library, 2nd floor: MICFICHE FX3 7868 - Arabic literature of Africa. Edited by John O. Hunwick and R.S. O'Fahey. (Leiden; New York: E.J. Brill, 1994-)
African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: Z6605 .A6 A73 1994-
Butler Stacks: Z6605 .A6 A73 1994-
Burke (Union Theological Seminary): Z6605.A6 A73 1994-- Volume 1- The writings of eastern Sudanic Africa to c.1900: compiled by R.S. O'Fahey with the assistance of Muhammad Ibrahim Abu Salim [et al.]
- Volume 2- The writings of central Sudanic Africa. Compiled by John O. Hunwick with the assistance of Razaq Abubakre [et al.]
- Volume 3- The writings of the Muslim peoples of northeastern Africa. Compiled by R. S. O’Fahey with the assistance of Hussein Ahmed [et al.]
- Volume 4- The writings of western Sudanic Africa. Compiled by John O. Hunwick.
- Arabic Manuscripts from West Africa: A Catalog of the Melville J. Herskovits Library Collection, Northwestern University: The Umar Falke Collection, The John Paden Collection, The John Hunwick Collection, and The University of Ghana Collection. (Evanston, Illinois)
- Archives nationales de la France. IREL: Etats général des fonds Le Centre des Archives d'Outre Mer. (Aix-en-Provence, France)
- Archives nationales (France). Les archives nationales: état général des fonds. 5 vols. Publié sous la direction de Jean Favier. (Paris: Archives nationales, 1978-)
Butler Reference: R016 .944 F84
(See Tome 3: Marine et oûtre-mer.) - Archives nationales du Sénégal (Dakar)
- The Center for Research Libraries : Cooperative Africana Microform Project (CAMP) (Chicago, Illinois)
An archive of selected newspapers (including titles received on current subscriptions); journals; government publications; personal and corporate archives; personal papers of historians, journalists, anthropologists, geographers, and government leaders; writings in English, French, Portuguese, Spanish, German, and other European languages as well as works in Swahili, Xhosa, Zulu, and other African languages. Accessible through interlibrary loan.
Search the Center's online catalog. - Columbia University Libraries -- Archival Collections (New York)
- Archival Collections Portal
- Burke Theological Library: Missionary Research Library
- Rare Book & Manuscript Library
- Défap, Service Protestant de Mission, Bibliothèque d'histoire de la mission et de missiologie:
Guides pour les archives manuscrites et imprimées -et- Archives iconographiques: Cameroun, Gabon, Lesotho, Madagascar, et Zambèze. Anciennement Société des missions évangéliques de Paris, 1822-1971. (Paris, France)
--Catalogue en ligne - French, Tom. The SCOLMA directory of libraries and special collections on Africa in the United Kingdom and Western Europe. 5th ed. (London; New York: Hans Zell, 1993)
Butler Reference: R027 .2 Sco641
Lehman Reference: Z3501 .F75 1993 - La Gazette des archives. Annual. (Paris: Association amicale professionnelle des archivistes français, 1933-)
Butler Stacks: CD7 .G31
(many older back issues are in the Annex) - Germany. Reichskolonialamt. Reichskolonialamt. R 1001 Microfilm Collection at The Center for Research Libraries, Chicago, Illinois. (Koblenz, Germany: Bundesarchiv, 1996-) 862 reels, with online introduction in English.
- See the 3-volume finding aid from Das Bundesarchiv, Butler Reference: JV2018 .H65 2003g
- Online
- Great Britain. Colonial Office. West African sources in British Colonial Office records. (London: Commonwealth Archivists Association, 1987)
Butler Stacks: Z3516.5 .G74 1987g
See also: - Instituto Português de Arquivos. Guia de fontes portuguesas para a história de Africa. 3 vols. (Lisboa, Portugal: Comissão Nacional para as Comemorações dos Descobrimentos Portugueses: Fundação Oreinte: Imprensa Nacional-Casa de Moeda, 1991-92)
Butler Reference (301 Butler): R016.96 G94 - Jones, Adam. German sources for West African history, 1599-1669. (Wiesbaden: Steiner, 1983)
Butler Stacks: DT472 .J66 1983 - Kenya National Archives Microfilm Collection at Syracuse University Library -- Guides
(Syracuse, New York)
The list of document titles and microfilm reel numbers; plus visitor information. "The selected documents include 157 microfilm reels...and a large number of newspapers, journals, and papers of assorted associations also on microfilm."
See also: Printed guides (1971-84) in African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: Z7165.A42 S9 - Legal records in the Commonwealth. (Aldershot, UK; Brookfield, VT: E. Elgar, 1994)
Columbia University Law Library
Check PEGASUS, the Law Library's catalog for more information.
- The Library of Congress: "The State of Arabic Manuscript Collections in Nigeria" (2007) Report of a Survey Tour to Northern Nigeria, March 3-19, 2007. (Dr. Angel Batiste, Area Specialist, Sub-Saharan Africa; Washington, DC)
- McIlwaine, John. Writings on African archives. (London; New Jersey: Hans Zell, 1996)
African Studies Reading Room, 607 Butler: Z5140 .M45 1996
Butler Reference: R016.96 M2273 - Mundus: gateway to missionary collections in the United Kingdom (Archive Staff, School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London, UK)
- Musiker, Reuben. Companion to South African libraries. (Craighall, South Africa: Ad. Donker, 1986)
Offsite: Z857.S35 M868 1986g - National Archives of Nigeria (Abuja)
The site includes current basic information on the administration of the archives and its branches.
- National Archives of South Africa (Pretoria)
The site offers general information about the NASA and access to the various databases of the NAAIRS--National Automated Archival Information Retrieval System. - Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture: Manuscripts, Archives, and Rare Books Division
The New York Public Library (New York) - South, Aloha. Guide to Federal archives relating to Africa. (Waltham, MA: African Studies Association, 1977)
Butler Reference: R016.96 G94 - South, Aloha. Guide to non-Federal archives and manuscripts in the United States relating to Africa. 2 vols. (London; New York: Hans Zell, 1988)
Butler Reference: R016.96 So87 - South Africa: the making of U.S. policy, 1962-1989: guide and index. (Alexandria, VA: National Security Archive, 1991)
Lehman Reference: FX3 4765 Guide
See also: Online version of guide and documents (via Digital National Security Archive) - Swahili manuscripts from the School of Oriental and African Studies [Microform]. 45 reels ; 35 mm. (Marlborough, Wiltshire, England: Adam Matthew Publications, 2004-2005)
Butler Microforms, 401 Butler: MICROFILM F d70941
Pt. 1. The Taylor, Hichens and Werner collections. pt. 2. The Knappert, Whiteley, Allen, Misc. and Yahya Ali Omar collections. [Manuscripts dating from the 1790s to the 1970s.]
See Also: - Thurston, Anne. Guide to archives and manuscripts relating to Kenya and East Africa in the United Kingdom. 2 vols. (London; New York: Hans Zell, 1991)
Butler Stacks: Z3587 .T48 1991 - United Kingdom. Archives Hub: a national gateway to descriptions of archives in UK universities and colleges (University of Manchester, UK)
- United Kingdom. The National Archives: Academic Research (Kew, Richmond, Surrey, UK)
- Search the catalogue
- See also: Administering the Empire, 1801-1968: a guide to the records of the Colonial Office in the National Archives of the UK. By Mandy Banton. (London: University of London, Institute of Historical Research, c2008)
- Butler Reference: CD1052 .A53 2008
- Researching British Colonies and Dominions in the National Archives
- House of Commons Parliamentary Papers
- West African Arabic Manuscript Project & Database (Prof. Charles C. Stewart and Bruce Stewart Hall, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, Illinois)
A catalog of West African Arabic manuscript collections from Kano--Nigeria at Northwestern University (Evanston, Illinois), from Ségou (Mali) at La Bibliothèque nationale de France (Paris), in Boutilimit and Nouakchott--Mauritania, Timbuctu--Mali, and Niamey--Niger. The database is searchable in English or in Arabic.
- World directory of map collections. 3rd ed. (Munich; New York: K.G. Sauer, 1993)
Butler Reference: R912 .W89 - World survey of Islamic manuscripts. 5 vols. Edited by Geoffrey Roper. (London: Al Furqar Islamic Heritage Foundation; Leiden: E.J. Brill, distributor, 1991-1994)
Islamic Studies Reading Room, 602 Butler: Z6605 .07 W67 1992g