Dissertations


Columbia University Dissertations and Theses

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses 

Most Columbia University Dissertations are available in full text here. If full text is not available, PQDT provides abstracts and/or citations. To see only those from Columbia, simply limit by "School Name/Code." 

CLIO

To find Columbia theses and dissertations that are not available in full-text online (above), search the Library Catalog. The catalog treats theses and dissertations like books. Search by author, title, keyword or LC subject heading. In the catalog, the term "thesis" denotes both Masters' theses and dissertations. A keyword search for "thesis" and "Columbia University" will find all theses and dissertations produced at Columbia. You may also narrow your search by including the name of the department or school.

The card catalog in Butler Library Reference, organized by author/title and by subject, is no longer updated; however, it may have information about the small number of items that are not yet cataloged online. See also: CLIO Help


Dissertations Beyond Columbia University

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses 

Provides access to the full text of theses and dissertations produced since 1997 in the United States, Canada, Great Britain and, to a lesser and more selective extent, other countries.  Also provides subject, title, and author access to almost all American dissertations accepted at an accredited institution since 1861. Masters theses have been selectively indexed since 1962. Abstracts are included for doctoral dissertation records from July 1980 to the present and for masters theses from 1988. 

WorldCat  

Contains all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries, including many international institutions. To find dissertations, limit results by subtype to "thesis/dissertation."

Center for Research Libraries Catalog: Dissertations

All materials located in the CRL catalog are available through interlibrary loan (ILL) for Columbia affiliates. CRL maintains an impressive collection of foreign language newspapers in print and on microfilm, both historical and current.

Dissertations and Theses. UK and Ireland

Listing of dissertations and theses, most with abstracts, accepted for higher degrees by universities in the United Kingdom and Ireland, 1716 to present. 

Biblioteca Digital de Teses e Dissertações Universidade de São Paulo

Biblioteca Digital de Teses e Dissertações (BDTD)

Theses and Dissertations of Brazilian universities and libraries available online.

CARINDEX

An index to the contents of West Indian journals published in the Caribbean region. It also includes theses, conference papers and collections of working papers.

Cybertesis  

Catalog of the theses from the Universidad de Chile.

DIALNET (Spain)

Lists almost 1.4 million articles in over 4,000 mostly Spanish journals and magazines, and thousands of books and dissertations. Subjects covered include primarily the sciences and technology, but also the social sciences, humanities, education, business, and law. Open-access database created by a group of Spanish universities under the leadership of the Universidad de la Rioja, Logrono, Spain. Free article-alert service for registered users. Coverage: 2001 - present.

Theses and Dissertations (Iberian Studies in SALALM)  

A directory of dissertations and theses from Spain and Portugal.

Red Peruana de Tesis Digitales

Disseertations from Peruvian universities.

Tesis UBA  

Catálogo Colectivo de Tesis de la Universidad de Buenos Aires, Argentina. Catalog of theses from the Universidad de Buenos Aires, Argentina.


Borrowing Dissertations from Other Institutions

BorrowDirect  

If the print dissertation you need is not available at Columbia, request it from the collections of Brown, Cornell, Dartmouth, the University of Pennsylvania, Princeton or Yale. This service does NOT allow you to request journal articles.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Request print dissertations not at Columbia and monitor your requests online. Click on the "Request It" link anywhere on the Columbia University Libraries' website to navigate to the ILL request form.  Or use the E-Link feature from databases or catalogs (such as WorldCat) to link to an auto-filled ILL form.

Center for Research Libraries: Demand Purchase Program

To meet scholars’ individual research needs, CRL purchases materials in the following areas for CRL libraries on request:Foreign Doctoral Dissertations from institutions in countries outside of the U.S. and Canada, Newspapers for which CRL owns at least one day of a newspaper title, Archival material from national governments, NGOs, and other organizations and institutions.


Have a Research Question?
Contact Sean Knowlton, Latin American & Iberian Studies Librarian.
Phone: 212-854-1679
Revised 8/28/2011