Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States [Online]
Also in print edition.
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2005.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States [Online]
Also in print edition.
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2005.

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture [Online]
Second edition (2008) of this authoritative, specialized encyclopedia. Completely searchable full-text reference source.

Encyclopedia of New York. [Print]
2nd edition. 2010. Edited by Columbia University Professor Kenneth T. Jackson.

Hispanic New York: A Sourcebook [Online]
Also in print edition.
2010. People referred to as Hispanics or Latinos have been part and parcel of New York since the beginning of the city's history. Hispanic New York is the first anthology to offer a comprehensive view of this multifaceted heritage. Edited by Claudio Iván Remeseira (Columbia University).
Wikipedia is a free, web-based, collaborative, multilingual encyclopedia project supported by the non-profit Wikimedia Foundation. Using Wikipedia for Academic Research [short video]
Columbia's catalog.
A catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide. Identify and request materials not in CLIO or BorrowDirect.
Borrow books from Borrow Direct member libraries.
Truncation
Expand your search by using truncation:
hispan? finds hispano, hispanic, hispana, hispanos ...
Also consider: latin? chican? dominican? mexic? brazi? colomb? peru?
Keywords as a Phrase
"Washington Heights" dominican?
Subject Headings
Hispanic Americans--New York (State)--New York
Hispanic Americans - New York (State) - New York -Statistics
Puerto Ricans--New York (State)--New York
Dominican Americans--New York (State)--New York
Mexican Americans - New York (State)--New York
Colombians--New York (State)--New York
Colombian Americans --New York (State)--New York
Cuban Americans--New Jersey--Union City
Salvadorans--New York (State)--Brentwood
New York (N.Y.)--Emigration and immigration
Ethnicity--New York (State)--New York
Neighborhoods--New York (State)--New York
Brooklyn (New York, N.Y.)
East Harlem (New York, N.Y.)
Lower East Side (New York, N.Y.)
Long Island (N.Y.)
Union City (N.J.)

America, History and Life with full text
Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes journals from 1964 to present and includes citations and links to book and media reviews.

Provides listings of all types of materials concerning the Mexican-American, Chicano, and broader Latino experience.

Full-text newspaper, magazine, and journal articles from the ethnic, minority, and native press in the U.S. Coverage is from 1960 to date.

HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index)
In addition to Latin America, also covers the US-Mexico border, and Hispanics in the US. Index to citations from over 500 journals with links to full-text articles. Coverage: 1970 to the present.

Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
Full-text Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries.

New York Times [Online]
Complete archival and current coverage of this major newspaper via various scholarly databases.
Hispanic Origin (U.S. Census Bureau)
A presentation that highlights past, present and future trends of the Hispanic population in the United States.
American FactFinder: Hispanic or Latino Origin (U.S. Census Bereau)
Your source for population, housing, economic, and geographic data.
Mapping America: Every City, Every Block [New York Times]
Browse local data from the Census Bureau's American Community Survey, based on samples from 2005 to 2009.
Digital Atlas of New York City
By Professor William A. Bowen, California State University, Northridge. Data is principally for 1990, atlases are divided into six major topics, including Ancestry.
New York City Latino Neighborhoods Databook [Print]
Published in 1996. Data for the 21 Latino neighborhoods and an additional 33 smaller Latino "sub-neighborhood" areas, along with statistics for the city as a whole and for each borough.
NYC2010 : results from the 2010 census : population growth and race/Hispanic composition [Online]
The City of New York, Michael R. Bloomberg, Department of City Planning, Amanda M. Burden.
General Statistical Sources: New York City and State
Columbia University Libraries Research Guide.
Catalan, Hispanic, and Luso-Brazilian New York
Columbia University, Latin American and Iberian Cultures. A directory of NY area libraries and cultural centers.
New Jersey Hispanic Research and Information Center
Houses the Latino Oral History Collection.
Columbia University Libraries Research Guide.
Hispanic New York and the Latinoization of the United States [Video]
Panel Discussion & Presentation of Hispanic New York: A Sourcebook (Columbia University Press, 2010)
Ventanas al pasado (New York State Library)
Ventana al pasado is a bilingual web-based research collection that links the Latino-related records located in ten New York State archival repositories. Ventana brings together collections documenting the New York’s Latino/Hispanic community, and makes them accessible to researchers all over the world.
LANIC: Spanish-Language Newspapers in the Continental U.S.
ALZAR (Academic Latina/o Zone of Activism & Research)
Its goal is to provide to resources addressing Latina/o issues in the academic setting.
Archives of the Centro de Estudios Puertorriqueños (Hunter College-CUNY)
Dominican Studies Institute Archives (City College of New York)

309 Lehman Library
(International Affairs Building)
420 West 118th St.
New York, NY 10027 USA