Principal Article Databases


Interdisciplinary Databases for Researching Latin America, Spain and Portugal

Handbook of Latin American Studies 

HLAS Online (Coverage: 1936 - present)
HLAS WEB (Coverage: 1990 - present)

An annotated, authoritative bibliography on Latin America since 1936, The Handbook of Latin American Studies is edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress. It covers books and published reports in addition to journal articles. The tables of contents from print volume 50 (1990) to the present may be browsed. 

HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index) 

Covers Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, the US-Mexico border, and Hispanics in the US. Index to citations from over 500 Latin American studies journals with links to full-text articles. Coverage: 1970 to the present.

Portal de Portales Latindex

Ofrece acceso a los textos completos de revistas disponibles en varias hemerotecas digitales de América Latina, el Caribe, España y Portugal, con el propósito de dar acceso y difundir el conocimiento científico que se publica en las mejores revistas de la región. Busca en: Dialnet, SciELO, Redalyc, E-revistas (UNAM), etc.

CLASE/PERIODICA

CLASE indexes documents published in Latin American journals specializing in the social sciences and humanities. PERIODICA covers journals specializing in science and technology. Produced by National Autonomous University of  Mexico (UNAM). Covers all countries of Latin America.
Coverage: 1975 to present.

Informe

Full-text database of Latin American academic journals in social sciences, humanities, science and medicine; Informe also covers popular Latin American and Latino magazines and newspapers. Coverage: 1980 to present

Bases de datos Bibliográficas del CSIC

Full access restricted to susbcribers. "The ICYT, ISOC and IME bibliographic databases covers the Spanish scientific production published in Spain from the 70s up to date. They mostly include articles from scientific journals, but also a selection of congress and conference proceedings, serials, compilations, reprots and monographies." The Bases de Datos del CSIC contains three databases that index Spanish journals and conference papers. ISOC - 1970 to present; contains nine subdatabases in the social sciences and humanities. ICYT - 1979 to present; science and technology. IME - 1971 to present; medicine.

Dialnet

Indexes thousands of journals (millions of articles), mostly published in Spain. Covers all subject areas, including works about Latin America. Also includes some full-text theses from Spanish universities.


Select Discipline-Based Databases

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)

Comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. CIAO includes working papers, occasional papers, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings, books, journals and policy briefs. Coverage: 1991 - present.

FRANCIS: International Humanities and Social Sciences

A multilingual and multidisciplinary bibliographic database with international scope, covering the humanities (archaeology, history of art, history of science, linguistics, literature, philosophy, prehistory, religions); social sciences (administration, Latin America, computer and law, education, ethnology, geography, health, sociology); and economics. Coverage: 1984 to the present.

Historical Abstracts

Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). Index, with some links to full-text. Coverage: 1954 to present.

MLA International Bibliography

Indexes critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Proved access to citations from worldwide publications, including periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies. Some full-text and links to additional full-text. Coverage: 1923 - present. More Info

PAIS International

Indexes articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories in the area of public affairs. Topics include business, government, international relations, banking, environment, health, social sciences, demographics, law and legislation, political science, public administration, finance, agriculture, education, and statistics. Index and abstracts with links to some full-text. Coverage: 1972 to the present.

Web of Science (formerly Arts and Humanities Citation Index)

Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. The interface encompasses the former "Social Sciences Citation Index" (1898-present)" and "Arts & Humanities Citation Index" (1975-present). Index and abstracts with some full-text.

Worldwide political science abstracts

The database provides access to citations and abstracts of journal articles appearing political science journals. Years of Coverage: 1975 to the present.

Find Databases by Title or Keyword (Columbia University Libraries)


Have a Research Question?
Contact Sean Knowlton, Latin American & Iberian Studies Librarian.
Phone: 212-854-1679
Revised 10/9/2012