Music in Latin America, Spain and Portugal


This is a selective guide to research resources for Latin American and Iberian music available at Columbia University Libraries.

Resources marked with this symbol are restricted to Columbia affiliates.



Reference Works

Oxford Music Online
Major online resource that includes the Encyclopedia of Popular Music, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, The Oxford Companion to Music and Grove Music Online. 

Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online

Baker's biographical dictionary of musicians [Online]

"Bibliography," by John Druesedow.
In Latin America and the Caribbean: A Critical Guide to Research Sources, edited by Paula H. Covington. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1992.
Bibliography of major sources on Latin American music.
Butler Reference R016.98 L34
Lehman Reference Z1601 .L3225 1992

Cuban music from A to Z [Online]
By Helio Orovio. Durham: Duke University Press, 2004.
Also in Print: Music & Arts Library Reference ML106.C8 O7613 2004
(Original edition is Diccionario de la música cubana; biográfico y técnico)

Diccionario de hip-hop y rap afrolatinos / coordinado por Zona de Obras.
Madrid : SGAE, 2002.
Music & Arts Library Reference ML102.R27 D53 2002

Diccionario de la música española e hispanoamericana / director y coordinador general, Emilio Casares Rodicio. Madrid: Sociedad General de Autores y Editores, c1999-2002. 10 vols.
Music & Arts Library Reference ML315 .D53 1999g 

Diccionario del rock latino / coordinado por Zona de obras.
Madrid :SGAE, 2000.
Music & Arts Library Reference ML102.R6 D53 2000

Diccionario del tango / coordinado por Zona de Obras
Madrid : Sociedad General de Autores y Editores, 2001
Music & Arts Library Reference GV1796.T3 D53 2001g

Enciclopédia da música brasileira
São Paulo: Art Editora: Publifolha, 2000. 4 Vols.
Music & Arts Library Reference ML101.B7 E53 2000g

Encyclopedia of contemporary Latin American and Caribbean cultures
New York: Routledge, 2000. 3 vols.
Butler Reference R980 En19
Latin American Studies Reading Room F1406 .E515 2000

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture [Online]

Encyclopedia of Latin American music in New York / by Frank M. Figueroa
Petersburg, FL: Pillar Publications, c1994.
Music & Arts Library Reference ML102.P66 F54 1994g

Latin American classical composers : a biographical dictionary / by Miguel Ficher.
Lanham, Md: Scarecrow Press, 2002. (2nd Ed.)
Music & Arts Library Reference ML105 .F53 2002

Histories of Music

The Brazilian sound : samba, bossa nova, and the popular music of Brazil / Chris McGowan and Ricardo Pessanha. Philadelphia : Temple University Press, 2009. Rev. Ed.
Music & Arts Library ML3487.B7 M4 2009

Ese músico que llevo dentro / Alejo Carpentier; selección Zoila Gómez.
Ciudad de La Habana: Editorial Letras Cubanas, 1980. 3 volumes.
Butler Library ML207.C8 C37

História da música no Brasil / Vasco Mariz
Rio de Janeiro, RJ, Brasil : Editora Nova Fronteira, c2000.
Music & Arts Library ML232 .M26 2000

Historia de la música en España e Hispanoamérica
Madrid : FCE, c2009-
Music & Arts Library ML315 .H57 2009

Music in Latin America and the Caribbean : an encyclopedic history / Edited by Malena Kuss.
Austin : University of Texas Press, c2004-
Music & Arts Library ML199 .M858 2004
Notes: Ask at Music circ desk for accompanying CDs.

Music of Latin America and the Caribbean / Mark Brill
Upper Saddle River, NJ : Prentice Hall/Pearson, c2011 Music & Arts Library ML199 .B75 2011

 

Subjects

Knowing the correct subject headings can greatly improve your results when searching in CLIO or WorldCat. Here are some possible headings to help you improve, expand, or narrow your search.

  • Music - Latin America
  • Music - Peru
  • Musicians -- Chile
  • Rock Music - Latin America
  • Rock Musicians
  • Rap Musicians
  • Popular Music -- Brazil
  • Popular Instrumental Music
  • Dance Music - Venezuela
  • Bossa Nova (Music)
  • Choros -- History and criticism
  • Hip-hop -- Colombia
  • Tango (Dance)
  • Tangos 
  • Tropicalia (Music)
  • Rap (Music) -- Colombia

Articles

HAPI Online (Hispanic American Periodical Index)
Indexes about 500 journals from or about Latin America. Covers 1970 to the present. Some links to full-text.

HLAS Online (Handbook of Latin American Studies)
Covers books and published reports in addition to journal articles, from 1935 to the present.

International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP full text)
Covers over 400 international journals, and provides full-text for over 80 journals.

Music Index
Index to articles about classical, popular, and non-western music in music journals. Online version covers 1978- to the present; print covers 1949 to present.
In print: Music & Arts Library Reference ML118 M84

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Offers international coverage of the music scene from 1967 to the present; links to full-text for some journals.

Journals

Search journal titles in CLIO for links to online versions and print holdings

Revista de música latinoamericana = Latin American Music Review [Online]

Latin Beat Magazine  [Online]

Revista Musical Chilena [Online]

Streaming Music

Contemporary World Music

Smithsonian Global Sound
Includes published recordings of the Smithsonian Folkways Recording label, along with other detailed information.

Naxos Music Library
Collection of recorded music. Can search by country.

Classical Music Library
The Classical music library includes around 15,000 recordings, along with program notes, composer biographies, and images cross-referenced to the recordings. Includes Latin American composers and performers.

Web Portals

LANIC: Music
Organized directory of web resources on music in Latin America

Latin American Music Center (Indiana University School of Music)
Online resources

Zona Latina: Latin American Music
Major portal to media in Latin America, links to radio stations and websites about music.


Have a Research Question?
Contact Sean Knowlton, Latin American & Iberian Studies Librarian.
Phone: 212-854-1679
Revised 8/28/2011