Eastern Europe
Resources marked with this symbol are restricted to Columbia affiliates.
Current Information Sources
This is a short list of factual information sources on Eastern Europe; all are located in the Reference area, unless another location is given. Please contact ref-global@columbia.edu for more help.
- Country reports: Central and Eastern Europe 1991: Bulgaria, Poland, Romania, Russia, Czechoslovakia, Hungary. [Eurostat]
CLIO record
- Daily report. East Europe/Foreign Broadcast Information Service. 1947-.
CLIO record (1959-1968)
CLIO record (microfiche, 1987-)
CLIO record (index, 1978-1986)
Current two-years of content available online at World News Connection
- LexisNexis academic
Business, political, and economic news from newspapers, magazines, wire services.
- Eastern Europe and the Commonwealth of Independent States. Biennial? 1992- .
CLIO record
- Handbook of reconstruction in Eastern Europe and the Soviet Union.
CLIO record
- Joint Publications Research Service [JPRS]. 1974-.
CLIO record (microprint)
- Political and economic encyclopedia of the Soviet Union and Eastern Europe.
CLIO record
- RFE/RL research report. [Continues: Report on Eastern Europe] Weekly. 1992-.
CLIO record
- Summary of world broadcasts. Pt. 2: Central Europe and the Balkans. Daily, with weekly economic report. 1962-2001.
CLIO record
Current issues available through LexisNexis academic
- Szajkowski, Bogdan. Encyclopaedia of conflicts, disputes and flashpoints in Eastern Europe, Russia and the successor states.
CLIO record
- Yearbook on international Communist affairs. 1966-1991.
CLIO record
For individual countries, see the Area Handbook Series prepared by the Library of Congress and sponsored by the Department of the Army. You can locate series volumes in CLIO under title Area Handbook Series and under individual title, [Name of Country], a country study. Current editions are in the Reference area, in paper and on Countries of the World CD-ROM.
Note: The Business Library Reference Dept., 130 Uris, has a complete collection of the Country Reports and Country Profiles, published by the Economist Intelligence Unit. These quarterly publications contain the latest statistical information on each country. To find the call numbers on CLIO, do a title search on the general title plus the name of the country. For example: t=country report bulgaria
Current Literature Sources
This short list of important bibliographies and indexes will help you find books, articles and other printed materials on Eastern Europe. Please ask the Reference staff or the Russian & East European Studies Librarian (306 Lehman Library), for other suggestions.
- ABC poli sci. Advance bibliography of contents: political science and government. Bimonthly. 1969-.
CLIO record
- ABSEES: American bibliography of Slavic and East European studies. Annual. 1956-.
CLIO record
- European bibliography of Soviet, East European and Slavonic studies. Annual. 1975-.
CLIO record
- Gates-Coon, Rebecca. Eastern European bibliography.
CLIO record
- Handbook of political science research on the USSR and Eastern Europe: trends from the 1950s to the 1990s.
CLIO record
- Horak, Stephan M. Russia, the USSR and Eastern Europe: a bibliographic guide to English language publications, 1964-74, and supplements, 1975-80, 1981-85. [Continued by Sullivan, below]
CLIO record
- International bibliography of the social sciences: political science. Annual. 1952-.
CLIO record
- International political science abstracts. Bimonthly. 1951-.
CLIO record
- PAIS international in print. Monthly. 1915-.
CLIO record
- Social sciences citation index. Triannual. 1956-.
CLIO record
- Social sciences index. Quarterly. 1974-.
CLIO record
- Sullivan, Helen F. Russia and the former Soviet Union: a bibliographic guide to English language publications, 1986-1991.
CLIO record
For individual countries, see the World Bibliographical Series published by ABC-CLIO. You can locate them in CLIO under title World Bibliographical Series, then under country name.
U.S. Government Documents in Lehman Library has reports on international and domestic affairs published by the United States government, as well as collections of statistical publications from international organizations, and declassified documents.
You may also wish to consult the Russian, Eurasian & East European Studies page.