This is a selective guide to resources for religions of South Asia that excludes Christianity, Judaism and Islam in South Asia. The guide includes library locations and call numbers, but please consult CLIO for the most current holdings information. Items in Reference and the South Asian Studies Reading Room (601 Butler) do not circulate.
South Asian Religions
Resources marked with this symbol are restricted to Columbia affiliates.
Electronic resources
- Bibliography of Asian Studies
Coverage: 1971 to the present. A comprehensive bibliographic index to articles and other published materials on all fields of Asian Studies. Though not specifically focused on religion only, this is the single most comprehensive database covering a broad range of subjects related to Asia.
- Subject Resources for Asian Religions
A list of resources collated by the University of British Columbia Library, arranged by format and subject, and covering the entire Asian continent and sub-continent. - South Asian E-texts
Includes a list of e-texts on religion & philosophy.
South Asian religions in general
- Religion in South Asia: a Selected Bibliography
Selected bibliography on all South Asian religions compiled by Julie Gutmanis of University of Wisconsin/Madison. - Encyclopedia of Indian Philosophies
An expanded version of the Bibliography which appeared as Volume I of Encyclopedia of Indian Philosophies. - Indica et Buddhica: materials for Indologists and Buddhologists
Buddhism
- Buddhist Studies WWW Virtual Library
Extensive links to resources on all forms of Buddhism. - Digital Library & Museum of Buddhist Studies
Provides access to a searchable Buddhism database of bibliographies, books, journals, periodicals, research reports, thesis etc. . The National Taiwan University Library is responsible for maintaining this site from 1 April 2003 onwards. - H-Buddhism
A very active and informative discussion forum on all forms of Buddhism. - Religious Movements: Buddhism
Resource for teaching and scholarship developed by Prof. Jeffrey K. Hadden at the University of Virginia. - Thesaurus Literaturae Buddhicae (TLB)
Presents Buddhist literature sentence by sentence in Sanskrit, Chinese, Tibetan and English.
Hinduism
- Religious Studies Web Guide: Hinduism
Selected links to resources on Hinduism. - Klassische Indologie Südasien Institut (Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg)
Selected links to resources on Hinduism. - Religious Movements: Hinduism
Resource for teaching and scholarship developed by Prof. Jeffrey K. Hadden at the University of Virginia. - Blackwell companion to Hinduism
Issued as part of Blackwell Reference Online
Jainism
- Jainism: Jain Principles, History, Resources
Selected links to resources on Jainism. - Jainism Literature Center
Links to core concepts, articles, books, etc. - Religious Movements: Jainism
Resource for teaching and scholarship developed by Prof. Jeffrey K. Hadden at the University of Virginia. - JAIN eLibrary
Contains Shvetambar Agams, Digambar Shastras, Four Anuyogas, Commentary literature, Prakrit & Sanskrit literature and ancient and modern literature representing all aspects of Jainism.
Sikhism
- Religious Movements: Sikhism
Resource for teaching and scholarship developed by Prof. Jeffrey K. Hadden at the University of Virginia. - Sikh Religion and Tradition
Links to basic principles and Khalsa.
Print resources
- Encyclopedia of Asian philosophy
Covers all aspects of Asian philosophy and religion.
B121.E53 2001 (East Asian Ref)
Also available in CLIO as an e-book. - Eastern definitions: a short encyclopedia of religions of the Orient
A guide to common, ordinary, and rare philosophical, mystical, religious, and psychological terms from Hinduism, Buddhism, Ṣufism, Islam, Zen, Taoism, the Sikhs, Zoroastrianism, and other major and minor Eastern religions.
R032 R37 (Butler Ref) - Eastern religions: origins, beliefs, practices, holy texts, sacred places
BL1055.E25 2005 (Barnard, Comp Lit & Society RR) - The encyclopedia of Eastern philosophy and religion: Buddhism, Hinduism, Taoism, Zen
An English translation of Lexikon der östlichen Weisheitslehren.
R032 L587 (Butler Ref)
Buddhism
- The A to Z of Buddhism
A dictionary-style history and chronology of all aspects of Buddhism.
BQ130.P73 2001 (Barnard Ref, East Asian Ref)
Hinduism
- Encyclopaedia of the Hindu world
R032.945 En19 (Butler Ref) - Guide to Hindu Religion / David J. Dell ... [et al.]
R016.2945 D38 (Butler Ref) - Harper's dictionary of Hinduism: its mythology, folklore, philosophy, literature, and history
BL1105.S78 1984 (Barnard Ref)
Jainism
- Historical dictionary of Jainism
BL1303.W45 2004 (Barnard Ref, South Asian RR)
Sikhism
- The encyclopaedia of Sikhism
R032.946 En19 (Butler Ref)
Additional resources
Prepared by Bindu Bhatt, South & Southeast Asian Studies Librarian.