South Asian Statistical Data
This is a selective guide to resources for statistical data on South Asia. The guide includes both print and electronic resources with library locations and call numbers wherever relevant. Please consult CLIO for the most current holdings information. Items in Reference and the South Asian Studies Reading Room (601 Butler) do not circulate.
Resources marked with this symbol are restricted to Columbia affiliates.
Start with
- GIS and Spatial Data Resources
These resources cover international subjects and are supported by the Digital Social Science Center located in Lehman Library. Visit their web pages for detailed information on the holdings and services available.
E-resources
Statistics from International Agencies
- Aquastat (FAO)
From the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations. Coverage: water Resources, irrigation, agriculture, food and environment data.
- Asia Pacific in Figures (ESCAP)
From the Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific. - Business & Investment Reports and Data (IFC)
From International Finance Corporation. Coverage: Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal and Sri Lanka. - Children's Health & Education Data (UNICEF)
- Debt, Lending, and other Key Indicators (World Bank)
Coverage: the countries of South Asia.
- Development Outlook and Forecast (ADB)
From Asian Development Bank. Coverage: Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, and Sri Lanka. - Economic Analysis and Data Services (EADS) (USAID)
Provides statistical data on the development process, as well as data analysis tools. - Economist Intelligence Unit
Provides country analysis, industry trends, forecasts and management strategies. - Health Profiles (Country wise) (WHO)
From World Health Organization. - Human Development Report (UNDP)
From the United Nations Development Programme. Presents a wealth of statistical information on different aspects of human development. - Labor, Employment, Income, Expenditure, Consumer Price Index Statistics (ILO)
From the International Labour Office. - Source OECD
Online library of statistical databases, books and periodicals of OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development).
- Statistical indicators for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP)
From the Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific. - UK Data Archive
UKDA is a resource centre of collection of digital data in the social sciences and humanities in the United Kingdom. It also provides access to international data through cooperative agreements and memberships with archives around the world. - US India Commodity Trade Data
From the International Trade Administration, US Dept. of Commerce.
Population Census and Key Economic & Development Indicators
Bangladesh
- Bangladesh National Accounts and Population Statistics
From Bangladesh Bureau of Statistics. - National Web Portal of Bangladesh
Bhutan
- Bhutan Reports and Statistics (National Portal of Bhutan)
- National Portal of Bhutan
India
- Banking, Finance and Economic Data (Reserve Bank of India)
- Climate and Weather Data (NOAA Library)
- Economic Data and Statistics (Planning Commission)
- Indiastat.com : revealing India -- statistically
- Key Population and Vital Statistics (Census of India)
- National Accounts, Economic Censuses, Survey of Industries, Human Development and many other National Sample Surveys
From the Ministry of Statistics and Programme Implementation, Government of India. - National Accounts & Financial Data
From the Ministry of Finance, Dept. of Economic Affairs. - National Portal of India
- Statistical Abstract Relating to British India (DSAL)
From the Digital South Asia Library. - Thematic Census Maps (Census GIS India)
Maldives
- Government & Ministries
- Maldives Key Indicators and Statistics
From the Ministry of Planning and National Development, Republic of Maldives.
Nepal
- Government of Nepal
- Nepal in Figures
From the Central Bureau of Statistics, Government of Nepal.
Pakistan
- Government of Pakistan
- Pakistan Population Census and Housing Statistics
From the Population Census Organization, Pakistan.
Sri Lanka
- Government of Sri Lanka
- Sri Lanka Census and Key Statistics
From the Department of Census and Statistics, Sri Lanka.
Print resources
Bangladesh
- Bangladesh [POT] Series.
DS393.4.P75 - Lehman - Statistical yearbook of Bangladesh.
HA1730.8 .A27 - Butler - Selected information on microfinance in Bangladesh.
HG178.33.B3 S45 - Lehman
India
- Alternative economic survey.
HC431 .S784 - Lehman - Analysis of budgeted expenditure on education.
LB2826.6.I4 I53 - Offsite - Automotive industry of India : facts & figures.
HD9710.I42 A98 - Business - CIER’s industrial databook.
HC431 .I5135 - Business - Combined finance and revenue accounts of the union and state governments in India ...
HJ65 .I5 - Business - Crime in India.
HV7091 .A25 - Social Work - Data India.
HA1724 .D3 - Lehman - Demography India.
HB848 .D46 - Lehman - Directory of sample surveys in India : annual report.
HA37.I4 A131- Lehman - External assistance.
C435 .In248 - Lehman - Family welfare programme in India year book.
HQ766.5.I5 I53 - Social Work - Handbook of statistics on Indian economy.
HC435.2 .H23 - Business - Health statistics of India.
Serial H - Health Sciences - India : Observer statistical handbook.
HA4581 .I53 - Lehman - Indian economy, statistical yearbook.
HC431 .A3451 - Business - Indian public finance statistics.
HJ65 .I554 - Business - Land use statistics at a glance.
HD871.A1 L36 - Lehman - Macroeconomic and monetary developments in ...
HC435.3 .M33 - Business - Monthly public opinion surveys
DS401 .I39 - Lehman - The Quantum stock market yearbook.
HG5731 .Q36 - Business - Statistical abstract, India.
HA1713 .A732 - Butler - Statistical pocket book, India.
HA1712 .A35 - Lehman - Statistical system in India.
HA37 .I3754 - Lehman - TERI energy data directory and yearbook : TEDDY.
HD9502.I42 T98 - Business
Nepal
- Statistical year book of Nepal.
HA4570.9 .S7 - Lehman - Nepal in figures.
HA4570.9 .A24 - Lehman
Pakistan
- Annual report ... of the public sector industries under Ministry of Production.
HD4295.5 .A26 - Business - Census bulletin (Population Census Organization, Pakistan)
HA4590.5 .A4 1980, 1998 - Butler - Federal government public sector development programme.
HC440.5 .A6211 - Lehman - Monthly statistical bulletin.
HC440.5 .A332 - Business - National accounts of Pakistan.
HC440.5.Z9 I55a - Lehman - Pakistan demographic survey.
HA4590.5 .A27 - Lehman - Pakistan Economic survey.
HC440.5 .P1711 - Business - Pakistan financial index.
HG3290.5 .A25 - Business - Pakistan [POT] series.
HC440.5.P47 - Lehman - Pakistan statistical yearbook.
HA1730.5 .P33 - Butler - Social development in Pakistan.
HN690.5 .A62 - Lehman - The state of Pakistan’s foreign trade.
HF1590.5 .S73 - Offsite - Statistical bulletin.
HG3290.5.A7 S77 - Business - White paper on the budget.
HJ67.5.Z5 B3544 - Lehman
Sri Lanka
- Sri Lanka [POT] Series.
DS488.S73 - Lehman - Statistical pocket book of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka.
HA1697 .A23 - Lehman
Microform resources
- Census of India, 1872-1951
MICFICHE FX2 381 - Butler - International population census publications, region, Asia (Bangladesh, Nepal & Sri Lanka)
MICROFLM F d7453-F d7456 and MICROFLM F d7687 - Butler
Related resources
- Statistics (from DSAL, University of Chicago)
Includes several volumes of statistical abstracts relating to British India. - Overview of Resources for International Data
- Statistical Sources
Prepared by Bindu Bhatt, South & Southeast Asian Studies Librarian.