Cultural Anthropology Resources
Resources marked with this symbol are restricted to Columbia affiliates.
Find Books & Manuscripts
- CLIO: Columbia Libraries Online Catalog
CLIO is the online catalog for the Columbia and Barnard libraries. It includes over 4 million records for books, journal or newspaper titles (not articles), online resources, government documents, microforms, sound or video recordings, archival collections, etc. - Digital Dissertations
Access to almost all American dissertations accepted at an accredited institution since 1861. Abstracts are included for doctoral dissertation records from July 1980 to the present In addition, the full text of dissertations published since 1997 (and some from earlier dates) is available. - Educat: Teachers College Catalog
The online catalog for includes for books on Education.
- WorldCat
An online catalog of the collections of 24,000 member libraries of the OCLC consortium, comprising more than 36 million records for books, serials, manuscript collections, audiovisual materials, computer files, and other media. - Borrow Direct
A borrowing service offered by the university libraries of Columbia, Brown, Cornell, Dartmouth, Pennsylvania, Princeton, and Yale. It is designed to allow students, faculty and staff to request (and receive in four days) books directly from each other's collections.
Background Information
- 21st Century Anthropology: A Reference Handbook Edited by H. James Birx. 2010.
- Biographical Dictionary of Social and Cultural Anthropology Edited by H. James Birx. 2004
- Country Studies Area Handbooks, Library of Congress.
- Encyclopedia of Anthropology Edited by H. James Birx. 2006.
- Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology: Health and Illness in the World's Cultures Edited by Carol R. Ember and Melvin Ember. 2004.
- Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology Edited by Alan Barnard and Jonathan Spencer. 2010.
- World Email Directory of Anthropologists
A searchable directory of anthropologists and scholars in related disciplines from around the world. The names and mailing addresses of academic & research institutions, museums, government and private organisations, individual scholars, journals, laboratories, and electronic databases are listed.
Find Journal Articles
- Annual Review of Anthropology
Full text of the articles in these volumes from vol. 1, 1972 to present. - AnthropologyPlus
Combines Anthropological Literature and the Anthropological Index, includes all core periodicals in the field in addition to lesser-known journals, covers from late 19th century to the present. - AnthroSource
Includes current and archived issues of the American Anthropological Association's journals and bulletins. - Art full text
Print version in Avery Architectural and Fine Arts Library - N1 Ar756
Indexes, abstracts and full-text from international periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, 1929 to the present. monthly updates. - ATLA (American Theological Library Association) Religion Database.
Citations to articles, reviews, and books in the fields of religion, theology, and ethics, 1975 to the present, updated quarterly. - Avery index to architectural periodicals
Include not only scholarly and popular periodical literature, but also publications of professional associations, American state and regional periodicals, and the major serials on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Coverage is mainly from 1934 to the present, with selective coverage back to 1741. - Hispanic American periodicals index (HAPI online)
Citations to articles and book reviews in scholarly journals published in Latin America and the Caribbean, or those dealing with topics relating to Latin America, the Caribbean and Hispanic Americans.
- JSTOR
A database of selected academic journals, including many in the field of anthropology, such as Annual Review of Anthropology, Anthropology Today, Biennial Review of Anthropology, Current Anthropology, Journal of the Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland, Man, Proceedings of the Royal Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland, RAIN, Yearbook of Anthropology. (Click on any of these individual journals for an exclusive search.) It also includes publications in related fields such as Asian studies, ecology, history, and literature, whose content may be relevant to anthropological research. Generally, these files do not include issues published in the last five years. - International Bibliography of the Social Sciences
Core social sciences and related materials from over 100 countries in more than 90 languages. Coverage 1951 to the present. - North American Indian thought and culture
North American Indian thought and culture contains biographies, auto-biographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries, letters, and oral histories. - Project MUSE
Current collection of journals in the humanities and history, maintained by Johns Hopkins University Press. Full-text searching available. It also provides access to individual titles within the collection, such as Africa Today, American Imago, Contemporary Pacific, Ethnohistory, and Public Culture, as well as to other interdisciplinary journals which may also prove useful to anthropological research. - Scopus
Provides indexing, abstracting of and citation linking to journals in the sciences, medicine, and the social sciences. - Social Sciences Citation Index Expanded
U.S. and international cited references, bibliographic information, some author abstracts, links to full-text. Coverage 1965 to the present. - Sociological Abstracts
Provides citations from 1963 to the present to international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Find Book Reviews
- Book Review Index Plus
An index to book reviews from approximately 600 scholarly and popular English-language journals with links to more than 630,000 full-text reviews - International bibliography of book reviews : IBR
An interdisciplinary index to book reviews published in scholarly journals, primarily in the social sciences and the humanities, including many European journals.
Research Methodology
- Doing Cultural Anthropology: Projects for Ethnographic Data Collection Ed by Michael Angrosino. 2007.
- Handbook of Methods in Cultural Anthropology. H. Russell Bernard, ed., 1998.
Call Number:GN345 .H37 1998. - The Practice of Qualitative Research. Sharlene Nagy Hesse-Biber, Patricia Leavy, 2011
Call Number: H62 .H478 2011 - Writing Ethnographic Fieldnotes. Robert M. Emerson, Rachel I. Fretz, and Linda L. Shaw. 2011.
Call Number: GN307.7 .E44 2011
Find Conference Papers/Proceedings
- PapersFirst
Provides access to indexes of published papers presented at conferences worldwide, based on items received by the British Library Supply Centre. Also available in French, Spanish, Chinese, Japanese, and Korean. Coverage begins in 1993. - ProceedingsFirst
Contains citations to proceedings of every congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received at The British Library from October 1993 to the present. - MRS proceedings library
Collection of online proceedings papers from Materials Research Society meetings.
Archival Collections
- Avery Architectural & Fine Arts Library
Home to books and periodicals in architecture, historic preservation, art history, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, city planning, real estate, and archaeology.
- Burke Library at Union Theological Seminary
Home to the largest theological library in the western hemisphere, containing rich collections for theological study and research.
- Digital Dissertations
Access to almost all American dissertations accepted at an accredited institution since 1861. Abstracts are included for doctoral dissertation records from July 1980 to the present In addition, the full text of dissertations published since 1997 (and some from earlier dates) is available.
- Ethnographic video online
Contains classic and contemporary documentaries; previously unpublished footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers in the field; and select feature films. Includes footage from every continent and hundreds of unique cultures.
- Human Relations Area Files (HRAF) Collection for Archaeology
A collection of full-text information on archaeological traditions from around the world. Coverage 1930s to present. - Human Relations Area Files (HRAF) Collection of Ethnography
A collection of full-text primary source materials on ca. 400 different cultural, ethnic, religious and national groups in the following regions of the world: Asia, Europe, Africa, Middle East, North America, Oceania, Eurasia and South America. Access is via keyword, as well as through geographic (OWC) codes and a topical (OCM) classification scheme. - National Anthropological Archives
"The National Anthropological Archives collects and preserves historical and contemporary anthropological materials that document the world's cultures and the history of the discipline."
- Rare Book & Manuscript Library
Home to many of Columbia's greatest treasures. The library contains cuneiform tablets, papyri, ostraca, astronomical and mathematical instruments, maps, works of art, photographs, posters, early printing presses and papermaking equipment, type specimens, sound and moving image recordings, theater set models, puppets, masks, ephemera and memorabilia.
- Smithsonian Institution: Bureau of American Ethnology (BAE)
Contains all publications by the Bureau dating as far back as a century ago. It includes annual reports, contributions to North American ethnology, publications of the Institute of Social Anthropology, and the Bureau's Bulletins.
Professional Associations & Research Centers
- American Anthropological Association
- Centre for Social Anthropology and Computing University of Kent, UK.
- Fourth World Documentation Project: Center for World Indigenous Studies
Organized by the Center For World Indigenous Studies (CWIS) in 1992. Its mission is to document and make available to tribal governments, researchers and organizations, important documents relating to the social, political, strategic, economic and human rights situations being faced by Fourth World nations and create an historical archive of the political struggles waged by Indigenous Peoples to assert their rights as sovereign nations. The FWDP gathers documents from nations and organizations around the world and processes them into electronic text for online distribution. - Future of Tropical Rainforest Peoples (FTRP)
This multi-disciplinary project sponsored by the European Community aims to investigate and document the future of the peoples of the rainforest. The major input is from anthropologists. - Mayan Epigraphic Database Project University of Virginia
The project's goal is to assemble, display, and distribute a Mayan hieroglyphic image collection. - National Science Foundation: Cultural Anthropology Program.
- Royal Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland
- Society for Economic Anthropology.
- Society for Latin American Anthropology.
- Society for the Anthropology of Europe (SAE).