Online Catalogs | Background Information | Books, Journals, & Articles | U.S. Government Agencies
Intergovernmental Organizations (IGOs) | Research & Policy Centers | Related Resources & Guides
International Conflict Resolution: Information Sources
This is a selective guide to library materials and Internet resources on international conflict resolution, disarmament, arms control, and peacekeeping.
Resources marked with this symbol are restricted to Columbia affiliates.
Online Catalogs
- CLIO: Columbia Libraries Online Catalog
CLIO is the online catalog for the Columbia and Barnard libraries. It includes over 4 million records for books, journal or newspaper titles (not articles), online resources, government documents, microforms, sound or video recordings, archival collections, etc. - Pegasus: Columbia University Law School Library Online Catalog
Pegasus includes: U.S. federal and state law, selected Commonwealth jurisdictions, major foreign language collections and, since 1983, vernacular and Western language materials pertaining to law in Japan and the People's Rep. of China. - WorldCat
An online catalog of the collections of 24,000 member libraries of the OCLC consortium, comprising more than 36 million records for books, serials, manuscript collections, audiovisual materials, computer files, and other media. - Borrow Direct
A borrowing service offered by the university libraries of Columbia, Brown, Cornell, Dartmouth, Pennsylvania, Princeton, and Yale. It is designed to allow students, faculty and staff to request (and receive in four days) books directly from each other's collections.
Background Information
- Aall, Pamela R.
Guide to IGOs, NGOs, and the Military in Peace and Relief Operations.
Washington, D.C. : United States Institute of Peace Press, 2000.
Call Number: JZ 4850 .A17 2000 - Annual Review of Global Peace Operations.
Boulder, CO : Lynne Rienner Publishers, c2006-
Call Number: JZ 6374 .C25a
Online versions: 2006, 2007, 2008
Note: Availability of the online version is generally delayed by 3 years. - Arms Control Impact Statements.
Washington, D.C.: GPO, 1979-.- Call Number: Y 4.F76/1:Ar5/21/
- Call Number: Y 4.F76/2:Ar5/20/
- Call Number: Y 4.In8/16:Ar5/6
- Atomic Audit: the Costs and Consequences of U.S. Nuclear Weapons Since 1940.
Washington, D.C. : Brookings Institution Press, c1998.
Call Number: U 264.3 .A874 1998 - Bercovitch, Jacob.
Regional Guide to International Conflict and Management from 1945 to 2003.
Washington, D.C. : Congressional Quarterly, c2004.
Call Number: D 842 .B464 2004 (Copies made available in multiple locations)
- The Blue Helmets: a Review of United Nations Peace-keeping. 3rd ed.
New York, NY : United Nations Dept. of Public Information, 1996.
Call Number: JX 1981 .P7 B595 1996g - Border and Territorial Disputes of the World. 4th ed.
London, U.K. : John Harper Pub. ; Farmington Hills, Mich. : Distributed exclusively in the U.S. and Canada by Gale Group, 2004.
Call Number: D 843 .B623 2004g - Conversion Survey: Global Disarmament, Demilitarization and Demobilization. Annual.
New York : Oxford University Press, 1996-2005.
Call Number: HC 79 .D4 C674
Web version includes introduction, table of contents, and some full text. - Dictionary of Conflict Resolution
San Francisco : Jossey-Bass, 1999 - Doyle, Michael W.
Making War and Building Peace: United Nations Peace Operations.
Princeton, N.J. : Princeton University Press, c2006.
Call Number: JZ 6374 .D69 2006 (Copies available in multiple copies) - Encyclopedia of Arms Control and Disarmament. 3 vol.
New York: Maxwell Macmillan International, 1993.
Call Number: JX 1974 .E57 1993 (Copies available in multiple copies)
- Encyclopedia of Modern Ethnic Conflicts.
Westport, Connecticut : Greenwood Press, 2003.
Call Number: GN 496 .E56 2003 - Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace, & Conflict.
New York: Elsevier, 2008. - Handbook on the Peaceful Settlement of Disputes Between States.
New York : United Nations, 1992.
Call Number JX 1952 .H36 1992g - Handbook of Best Practices on Small Arms and Light Weapons (OSCE, 2003)
- Handbook on United Nations Multidimensional Peacekeeping Operations, UN Dept. of Peacekeeping Operations, 2003
Report on the Progress of Training in Peacekeeping (December 2010) - Inventory of International Nonproliferation Organizations and Regimes
A regularly-updated public reference covering all international organizations, treaties, & agreements relevant to WMD disarmament and nonproliferation. - International Intervention in Local Conflicts : Crisis Management and Conflict Resolution Since the Cold War.
London ; New York : I.B. Tauris ; New York : Distributed by Palgrave Macmillan, 2010.
Call Number JZ 1320 .I58 2010g - Jessup, John E.
An Encyclopedic Dictionary of Conflict and Conflict Resolution, 1945-1996.
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1998.
Call Number: D 842 .J47 1998 - Larsen, Jeffrey Arthur.
Historical Dictionary of Arms Control and Disarmament.
Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2005.
Call Number: JZ 5645 .L38 2005 - Mays, Terry M.
Historical Dictionary of Multinational Peacekeeping.
Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, Inc., 2004.
Call Number: JZ 6374 .M38 2004 - Peace Agreements
Chronology and full texts of selected peace accords and processes from around the world, from INCORE. - Peace and Conflict. Biennial.
College Park, MD: Center for International Development and Conflict Management, 2001-
Call Number: JZ 6385 .G87 2003g
- Peace, Security and Conflict Prevention: SIPRI-UNESCO Handbook.
New York : Oxford University Press, 1998.
Call Number: JX 1905 .P43 1998g - Peacekeeping Maps
From the UN Cartographic Section. Maps are in PDF format, for both current deployment and an archives section for previous missions. - Peacekeeping Resource Hub: Policy, Lessons Learned and Training for the Peacekeeping Community (UN)
- Smith, Dan.
The Atlas of War and Peace.
London : Earthscan, 2003.
Call Number: G 1046 .R1 S6 2003g - Unesco Yearbook on Peace and Conflict Studies.
Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1980-1988.
Call Number: JX 1901 .U1 - United Nations Disarmament Yearbook.
New York: United Nations, 1976-
Call Number: JX 1974 .U372 - Watson, Cynthia Ann.
Nation-building : a Reference Handbook.
Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, c2004.
Call Number: E 840 .W38 2004 - World Encyclopedia of Peace. 2nd ed. 8 vols.
Dobbs Ferry, N.Y. : Oceana Publications, 1999.
Call Number: JZ 5533 .W67 1999 - World Military and Social Expenditures. Annual.
Leesburg, VA.: WMSE Publications, 1974-1996.
Call Number: HJ 7469 .W6 - World Military Expenditures and Arms Transfers
The annual report from the Dept. of State, Bureau of Arms Control
Books, Journals, & Articles
Books
- Arms Control Today. Monthly.
Washington, D.C.: Arms Control Association, 1980-
Call Number: JX 1974 .A757
See section "Arms Control in Print."
Web version includes full text of feature article for each issue. - International Conflict Resolution: Comparative & Theoretical Studies (Southern Africa, South & Southeast Asia, The Balkans, North Africa & the Middle East)
A bibliographic guide to both print and internet resources, compiled by Dr. Yuusuf S. Caruso, African Studies Librarian, Columbia University. - Armstrong, Glenda.
Peace and Stability Operations, a bibliography prepared for the Air University Library, November 2006 - Lakos, Amos.
International Negotiations: a Bibliography.
Boulder, Co.: Westview Press, 1989.
Call Number: Z 6464.Z9 L32 1989
- Making Peace Pay: a Bibliography on Disarmament & Conversion.
Claremont, Calif. : Regina Books, 2000.
Call Number: Z 6464 .Z9 M33 2000 - Müller-Brettel, Marianne.
Bibliography on Peace Research and Peaceful International Relations: the Contributions of Psychology, 1900-1991.
New York: K.G. Saur, 1993.
Call Number: JX 1952 .Z99 M85 1993g - McClean, Andrew.
Security, Arms Control, and Conflict Reduction in East Asia and the Pacific.
Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1993.
Call Number: Z 6724 .N37 M37 1993 (Copies available in mulitiple locations)
- Open CRS (Congressional Research Service Reports)
Full text reports. Search by keyword or topic for in-depth CRS reports, prepared for Congress. - Peaceful Settlement of Disputes Between States: a Selective Bibliography.
New York : United Nations, 1991.
Call Number: JX 4473 .P43 1991g (Copies available in mulitiple locations) - Peacekeeping: a Selected Bibliography, U.S. Army War College Library, July 2009
This bibliography is meant to provide a starting place for research on peacekeeping's expanding role in world affairs. It lists references for readings about peacekeeping in general, highlights special issues and concerns, and addresses past and present operations in the following areas: Africa, Asia and the Pacific, Central and South America, Europe, Russia and the New Independent States, and the Middle East. - Scrivener, David.
Bibliography of Arms Control Verification.
Brookfield, VT : Gower Pub. Co., c1990.
Call Number: Z 6724 .A73 .S38 1990 - UNIDIR Repertory of Disarmament Research (United Nations Institute for Disarmament Research).
New York : United Nations, 1990.
Call Number: JX 1974 .U39
Continues Repertory of Disarmament Research, Call Number: Z 6464.D6 R46, published in 1980. - UN System Pathfinder: Disarmament
- UN System Pathfinder: International Security and Peacekeeping
The purpose of these Pathfinders is to identify major publications of the organizations comprising the United Nations system. Materials were selected with a view to currency, relevance and usefulness. It includes global studies and reports, handbooks and guides, bibliographies and indices, international statistical publications, compilations of treaties, resolutions and documents as well as annual reports of UN bodies and specialized agencies. - United States Institute of Peace.
Bibliography on Peace, Security, and International Conflict Management.
Washington, D.C. : U.S. Institute of Peace, 1993.
Call Number: JX 4473 .U54 1993g
Journal Articles
- Armstrong, Glenda.
Peace and Stability Operations, a bibliography prepared for the Air University Library, November 2006 - CNS Nonproliferation Databases
The nonproliferation databases compiled by the Center for Nonproliferation Studies at the Monterey Institute of International Studies are the most comprehensive open source data resources in the world on nuclear, biological and chemical weapons and missile proliferation developments.
Experts and scholars at the Center for Nonproliferation Studies sift through and verify facts from over 400 publications and information sources in several languages to create these uniquely accurate and extensive databases. The databases contain current and archived information from various sources including trade journals, government and defense publications, periodicals and electronic news sources, academic journals, U.S. congressional testimony, conference proceedings, books, United Nations and International Atomic Energy Agency documents, correspondence from international advisors, unpublished papers and Internet sources. - EINIRAS Database Network
The EINIRAS database makes available several databases of citations to security-related articles, 1990-present. They can be searched by English, French, Spanish, and German keywords. - International Political Science Abstracts. Bimonthly.
Paris: International Political Science Association, 1951-
Call Number: JA 36 .I5 (Copies available in multiple locations)
- Kiss, Terry.
Peacekeeping, a bibliography prepared for the Air University Library, October 2005 - PAIS International. Monthly.
New York: Public Affairs Information Service, 1915-
Call Number: Z 7163 .P922 (Copies available in multiple locations) - Peace Research Abstracts. Quarterly.
Oakville, Ont.: Canadian Peace Research Institute, 1962-
Call Number: JX 1901 .P38 - ProQuest Statistical Insight
The ProQuest Statistical database provides comprehensive access to statistical data. Many of the sources are linked to the full text of the data, although some state, private, and IGO sources are cited, allowing the researcher to then locate the statistical source on the internet or in the library, either in print or as part of the microfiche service which accompanies the printed index. - Rand Corporation.
Search Rand Documents. Quarterly.
Santa Monica, CA.: Rand, 1964-
Call Number: Z 7911 .R151 (Copies available in multiple locations)
U.S. Government Agencies
- Department of Defense
- Defense Threat Reduction Agency
DTRA has four main functions: combat support, technology development, threat control and threat reduction. - Institute for National Strategic Studies, National Defense University
Numerous publications of interest, as well as the Center for the Study of Weapons of Mass Destruction - Proliferation: Threat and Response, Secretary of Defense, January 2001
Call Number: D 1.2:P 94/17/2001 - U.S. Army Peacekeeping and Stability Operations Institute, U.S. Army War College
- Defense Threat Reduction Agency
- Department of Energy
- National Nuclear Security Administration
Part of the mission of the NNSA is to promote international nuclear safety and nonproliferation - Office of Fissile Materials Disposition
The Department of Energy's Office of Fissile Materials Disposition is involved in the effort to reduce the global nuclear danger associated with inventories of surplus weapons-usable fissile materials (highly enriched uranium and plutonium). The Office is developing strategies and implementing actions to: (1) provide a Department-wide storage configuration that is secure, environmentally sound, inspectable, and cost effective; and (2) eliminate surplus weapons-usable fissile materials in a manner that encourages reciprocal action abroad.
- National Nuclear Security Administration
- Department of State
The Department of State is the primary source of foreign affairs information for the U.S. Government and is responsible for implementing the President's foreign policies. The Department provides much of the national security and economic data used by the government as well as most data on the internal politics of foreign countries.- Bureau of International Security and Nonproliferation
The Bureau of International Security and Nonproliferation (ISN) is responsible for managing a broad range of nonproliferation, counterproliferation and arms control functions. ISN leads U.S. efforts to prevent the spread of weapons of mass destruction (nuclear, chemical, and biological weapons) and their delivery systems. - Bureau of Arms Control, Verification and Compliance
(Formerly Known As Bureau of Verification, Compliance, and Implementation (VCI))
The Bureau of Arms Control, Verification and Compliance (AVC) provides oversight of both policy and resources of all matters relating to verification of compliance with international arms control, nonproliferation, and disarmament agreements and commitments. - Directorate of Defense Trade Controls
The Directorate of Defense Trade Controls advances national strategic objectives and U.S. foreign policy goals through timely enforcement of defense trade controls and the formulation of defense trade policy.
- Bureau of International Security and Nonproliferation
- Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
Global Security Nonproliferation Program
Its mission is to provide technology, analysis, and expertise to aid the United States government in preventing the spread or use of weapons of mass destruction. - Sandia National Laboratories
Nonproliferation Program
Its mission is to provide technology, analysis, and expertise to aid the U.S. government in preventing the spread or use of weapons of mass destruction. - United States Institute of Peace
The United States Institute of Peace is an independent, nonpartisan federal institution created and funded by Congress to strengthen the nation's capacity to promote the peaceful resolution of international conflict.- Peace Watch. Monthly.
Washington, DC : The Institute, 1994-
Call Number: Y 3.P 31:15/ - Publications
- Peace Watch. Monthly.
Intergovernmental Organizations (IGOs)
- International Atomic Energy Agency
Contains agreements, documents and resolutions regarding nonproliferation, and safeguards implementation. - Preparatory Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization (CTBTO PrepCom), Vienna
At this Web site, the CTBTO PrepCom provides information on the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty and activities to establish the global verification regime foreseen in the Treaty.
United Nations
- United Nations Homepage
- United Nations Documentation Research Guide: Disarmament
- Office for Disarmament Affairs
- Conference on Disarmament
- Conference on the Illicit Trade in Small Arms and Light Weapons in All Its Aspects, New York, July 2001
- The First Committee (Disarmament and International Security Committee), UN General Assembly
- Institute for Disarmament Research (UNIDIR)
- United Nations Register of Conventional Arms
- Office of the Special Representative of the Secretary-General for Children and Armed Conflict
- Peacekeeping Operations
- Includes deployment maps of all missions, contributors by country, information on both current and completed missions, and on mine clearance.
- Peacekeeping Statistics
- The Year in Review
- Panel on United Nations Peace Operations - Report, August 23, 2000
- Security Council
- Security Council Resolutions, 1974-present
- Repertoire of the Practice of the Security Council, 1946-present
The Repertoire is the only analytical record of the practice of the Security Council, as reflected in its decisions, positive and negative, and related statements. It presents all the data relevant to the interpretation and application by the Security Council of the provisions of the UN Charter and the Council's provisional rules of procedure.
- UN Peacemaker
UN Peacemaker (registration required), serves as an online mediation support tool for international peacemaking professionals. The site provides information for peacemakers, including Peace Agreements, Peace Agreement Summaries, Selected Literature on various substantive peacemaking issues, a Legal Library, as well as links to Research Centres and other useful resources. In addition, the site offers easy access to peacemaking knowledge by providing Lessons, Case Briefs, Operational Guidance Notes, Knowledge Essays and Comments on peace agreements and on the management of peace processes. - Peace Operations Training Institute
The Peace Operations Training Institute provides globally accessible and affordable distance-learning courses on peace support, humanitarian relief, and security operations. We are committed to bringing essential, practical knowledge to military and civilian personnel working toward peace worldwide.
Research & Policy Centers
- CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is designed to be the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 on that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences. - The Arms Control Association
The ACA website provides access to its journal, Arms Control Today, background information & analysis on the Comprehensive Test Ban (CTB) Treaty, and other arms control briefings, fact sheets, and background papers. - Bonn International Center for Conversion (BICC)
BICC is an independent non-profit organization dedicated to promoting and facilitating the processes whereby people, skills, technology, equipment, and financial and economic resources can be shifted away from the defense sector and applied to alternative civilian uses.
BICC Bulletin - The Carnegie Endowment for International Peace
The Endowment conducts programs of research, discussion, publication, and education in international affairs and U.S. foreign policy, including migration, nuclear non-proliferation, regional conflicts, multilateralism, democracy-building, and the use of force.
Publications - The Carter Center, Emory University
The Center wages peace by bringing warring parties to the negotiating table, monitoring elections, safeguarding human rights, and building strong democracies through economic development.
Peace Programs: Americas Program, China Program, Conflict Resolution Program, Democracy Program, Human Rights Program. - Center for International Development and Conflict Management, at the University of Maryland
CIDCM programs are based on the belief that "peace building and development-with-justice are two sides of the same coin." (Edward Azar, 1987). With this philosophy at its core, the Center has acted as a forum for the expression of a broad range of views about the transition from war to peace. - Center for Peace and Security Studies, Georgetown University, School of Foreign Service
Project areas include: Non-military aspects of security, conflict and conflict resolution, technology and security, arms and arms control, the U.S. and international security. - Center for Security Studies and Conflict Research, Zurich
The Center for Security Studies, founded in 1986, is an independent academic institution researching and teaching in the fields of security policy and conflict analysis. The Center maintains an extensive list of publications on general subjects in the field. It also serves as the Secretariat for the International Relations and Security Network (ISN), a daily updated electronic clearinghouse for resources in the field of security and defense studies, peace and conflict research, and international relations. The service is organized in a subject and a regional listing, contains a current issues page and links to related research institutions. - Center for Strategic and International Studies
The Center for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS) is a public policy research institution dedicated to policy analysis and impact. CSIS is the only institution of its kind that maintains resident experts on all the world's major geographical regions. It also covers key functional areas, such as international finance, the emerging markets, U.S. domestic and economic policy related to the Strengthening of America, and U.S. foreign policy and national security issues. - Centre for Conflict Resolution, University of Bradford, UK
The Centre for Conflict Resolution (CCR), which is based in the Department of Peace Studies, was established in 1990. From the beginning, emphasis has been placed on combining the ideas and experiences of both academics and practitioners and on the transference of research findings into practical applications. Research themes are: Peacebuilding from Below, Peacekeeping and Conflict Resolution, and Education and Training in Non-Violent Conflict Resolution Skills.
Publication: UN & Conflict Monitor - Conciliation Resources
Conciliation Resources serves as an international resource for local or national organisations pursuing peace or conflict prevention initiatives. The principal objective is to support sustained practical activities of those working at the community and national levels to prevent or transform violent conflict into opportunities for social, political and economic development based on more just relationships.
Publication: Accord: An International Review of Peace Initiatives - Conflict Information Consortium (Formerly Conflict Research Consortium), University of Colorado, Boulder
"A comprehensive gateway to information on more constructive approaches to difficult conflicts." - Council for a Livable World
The Council provides the U.S. Congress with sophisticated technical and scientific information that helps them make intelligent decisions about nuclear arms control, strategic and conventional weapons, the military budget and United Nations peacekeeping. Council for a Livable World will continue to advocate deep reductions and elimination of weapons of mass destruction. - German Association for Peace and Conflict Studies (AFK)
- Groupe de recherche et d'information sur la paix et la sécurité (GRIP)
- Heidelberg Institute for International Conflict Research
Research projects include a Conflict Barometer and the KOSIMO Database, containing (at this time) 693 political conflicts from 1945 to 1999. Each conflict is coded with 28 variables.
Publication: Internet Country Guides - International Boundaries Research Unit, University of Durham, UK
Home page of the center, its programs, and its publications; plus, a searchable news database: International Boundary News Archive (News briefs compiled from around the world, 1991-3/2001). - International Campaign to Ban Landmines
Publications: Cluster Munition Monitor, Country Profiles, Landmine Monitor - International Conflict Research Institute (INCORE)
INCORE is a joint initiative of the University of Ulster and the United Nations University.
Publication: Ethnic Conflict Research Digest - International Crisis Group, Washington, DC & Brussels, Belgium.
"The ICG is a private, multinational organisation committed to strengthening the capacity of the international community to understand and respond to impending crises. ICG's approach is grounded in field research ... and advocacy." Includes a Conflict Histories database, a Map database, and a monthly CrisisWatch newsletter. - International Peace Institute, New York
IPI is an independent, non-partisan, international organization dedicated to promoting the peaceful settlement of armed conflicts between and within states. It works closely with the United Nations, regional and other international organizations, governments, and parties to conflicts. - International Peace Research Institute, Oslo (PRIO)
Research at PRIO concentrates on the driving forces behind violent conflict and on ways in which peace can be built, maintained and spread. In addition to theoretical and empirical research, PRIO also conducts policy-oriented activities and engages in the search for solutions in cases of actual or potential violent conflict. - Inventory of Conflict and Environment (ICE), School of International Service, American University, Washington, DC
The ICE database contains summarized information on case studies of conflict and environment around the world. The database is organized by region and country. The files are searchable. - James Martin Center for Non-Proliferation Studies, at the Monterey Institute of International Studies
The CNS provides research tools, analysis, training, and education on nonproliferation issues to scholars and policy-makers from around the world. Since its inception in 1989, the CNS has grown into the leading U.S. center for training and research specifically on nonproliferation issues.
Publication: The Nonproliferation Review
Call Number: JX 1974.73 .N645
An international journal that features articles, viewpoints, and reports on a variety of nonproliferation problems, including the spread of nuclear, missile, chemical, biological, and advanced conventional technologies. - The Nautilus Institute for Security and Sustainability
Our shared vision is a peaceful, ethical, and sustainable world for our time. To this end, the Mission of the Nautilus Institute is to improve global problem solving by applying and refining the strategic tools of cooperative engagement to fundamental problems undermining global security and sustainability. - Nuclear Threat Initiative (NTI)
NTI's mission is to strengthen global security by reducing the risk of use and preventing the spread of nuclear, biological and chemical weapons. It is co-chaired by former Senator Sam Nunn and CNN founder Ted Turner. Program areas include: United States, Russia/New Independent States, Biological, Regional, and Public Education and Outreach.
Publication: Country Profiles - Peace Science Society (International), Pennsylvania State University
The Peace Science Society (International), or PSS(I), encourages the development of peace analysis and conflict management. PSS(I) does not confine itself to ideas specific to peace research, but welcomes and utilizes relevant work of the social and natural sciences.
Publications: Conflict Management and Peace Science, Journal of Conflict Resolution - Peace Support Training Centre, Kingston, Ontario, Canada.
[Founded in July 1996] "To provide a nucleus of expertise within the Canadian Forces responsible for the development of peace support techniques based on lessons learned, training methodology, training standards and the provision of training and training support." - PIR Center: Center for Policy Studies in Russia
Although its name and flexible structure permit it to conduct research on a wide range of issues related to Russian foreign and domestic policy, the Center is currently focused on international security, arms control, and nonproliferation issues that are directly related to Russia's internal situation. - RAND
RAND is a nonprofit institution that helps improve public policy through research and analysis. RAND research is carried out within centers, programs, and institutes that focus on particular areas of policy concern. - School for Conflict Analysis and Resolution , George Mason University
- Stockholm International Peace Research Institute (SIPRI)
- Union of Concerned Scientists
One of the main issues covered is Nuclear Weapons & Global Security. - University of California Institute on Global Conflict and Cooperation (IGCC)
IGCC was founded in 1983 as a multi-campus research unit serving the entire University of California (UC) system. In addition to its traditional work on arms control and proliferation, IGCC has expanded its research agenda to include several broad areas of inquiry: regional relations, international environmental policy, international relations theory, and the domestic sources of foreign policy.
Related Resources & Guides
- Advanced Consortium on Cooperation, Conflict, and Complexity (AC4)
AC4 Link, at the Earth Institute, acts as a web-based information hub featuring faculty, centers, and programs conducting research, practice, and teaching activities in the areas of violence prevention, conflict resolution, and sustainable development and peace at Columbia University - International Security Policy and Military Affairs Subject Guide
Columbia University Libraries - Treaty Resources Subject Guide
Columbia University Libraries - U.S. Government Documents: Foreign Policy
Columbia University Libraries - Saltzman Institute of War and Peace Studies
Columbia University - Center for International Conflict Resolution (SIPA)
Columbia University - Nonviolent Power in Action
A series of three e-seminars presented by Professor Dennis Dalton, on the nature and power of the Gandhian political philosophy and practice of nonviolence.