Online Catalogs | Background Information | Books, Journals, & Articles
Bibliographies, Indexes & Databases | Intelligence Reform
Congressional Oversight & Budget | Classified/Declassification | Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) |
The U.S. Intelligence Community: Information Resources
Director of National Intelligence | Central Intelligence Agency | Defense Intelligence Agency
Dept. of Energy | Dept. of Homeland Security | Dept. of State | Dept. of Treasury
Federal Bureau of Investigation | National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency | National Reconnaissance Office | National Security Agency | National Security Council | Military Service Intelligence Agencies | Other Agencies
This is a selective guide to resources at Columbia University Libraries and on the Internet, for conducting research on U.S. government agencies involved in intelligence activities, the classification and declassification of government documents related to intelligence activities, and Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) requests. Some of the items included may also have information about commercial espionage or intelligence activities of foreign governments, but that is not the focus of this guide.
Start your research with a guide:
- Chapman, Bert.
Researching National Security and Intelligence Policy.
Washington, D.C. : CQ Press, c2004.
Call Number: UA 23 .C5135 2004
Resources marked with this symbol are restricted to Columbia affiliates.
Online Catalogs
- CLIO: Columbia Libraries Online Catalog
CLIO is the online catalog for the Columbia and Barnard libraries. It includes over 4 million records for books, journal or newspaper titles (not articles), online resources, government documents, microforms, sound or video recordings, archival collections, etc. - Pegasus: Columbia University Law School Library Online Catalog
Pegasus includes: U.S. federal and state law, selected Commonwealth jurisdictions, major foreign language collections and, since 1983, vernacular and Western language materials pertaining to law in Japan and the People's Rep. of China. - WorldCat
An online catalog of the collections of 24,000 member libraries of the OCLC consortium, comprising more than 36 million records for books, serials, manuscript collections, audiovisual materials, computer files, and other media. - Borrow Direct
A borrowing service offered by the university libraries of Columbia, Brown, Cornell, Dartmouth, Pennsylvania, Princeton, and Yale. It is designed to allow students, faculty and staff to request (and receive in four days) books directly from each other's collections.
Background Information
For books about the history of intelligence services in the U.S. , check CLIO under the subject heading: Intelligence service --United States--History.
- National Intelligence: a Consumer’s Guide (2009)
- U. S. National Intelligence: an Overview (2011)
Provides brief descriptions of the mission and activities of the major intelligence agencies. - An Overview of the United States Intelligence Community for the 111th Congress, January 2009
- The Challenge of Domestic Intelligence in a Free Society: a Multidisciplinary Look at the Creation of a U.S. Domestic Counterterrorism Intelligence Agency, RAND, 2009
- Finnegan, John Patrick.
Military Intelligence.
Washington, D.C. : Center of Military History, United States Army : For sale by the Supt. of Docs., U.S. G.P.O., 1998.
Call Number: UB 256 .U6 F56 1998 - Intelligence Community Legal Reference Book 2nd ed.
Washington, D.C. : Office of the Director of National Intelligence, 2009.
Call Number: KF 4850 .A3 2009g
A compilation of unclassified laws, regulations, and executive orders, from the Office of the Director of National Intelligence, Office of General Counsel, August 2007. - An Intelligence Community Primer
Designed for those without extensive knowledge about the U.S. intelligence community, from the report of the Commission on the Intelligence Capabilities of the United States Regarding Weapons of Mass Destruction, March 31, 2005. - National Security Law. 2nd ed.
Durham, N.C. : Carolina Academic Press, c2005.
Call Number: KF 4651 .N38 2005g - The Pentagon's Spies, May 2001
A National Security Archive Electronic Briefing Book which documents the creation, evolution and (in some cases) abolition of a number of military service/DoD human intelligence organizations, the product of their activities, and the controversies that have occurred over the last several decades. - Ransom, Harry Howe.
The Intelligence Establishment.
Cambridge, MA : Harvard University Press, 1970.
Call Number: JK 468 .I6 R3 1970 (Copies available in multiple locations)
- Richelson, Jeffrey T.
The U.S. Intelligence Community. 5th ed.
Boulder : Westview Press, 2008.
Call Number: JK 468 .I6 R53 2008 - Spies, Wiretaps, and Secret Operations : an Encyclopedia of American Espionage. 2 vols.
Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, c2011.
Call Number: JK 468.I6 S68 2011 - Turner, Michael A.
Historical Dictionary of United States Intelligence.
Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2006.
Call Number: JK 468 .I6 T863 2006 - U.S. Espionage and Intelligence: Organization, Operations, and Management, 1947-1996.
Alexandra, VA : Chadwyck-Healey; Washington, D.C. : The National Security Archive, 1997.
Call Number: MICFICHE FX3 6489 - The U.S. Intelligence Community: Organization, Operations, and Management, 1947-1989.
Alexandra, VA : Chadwyck-Healey; Washington, D.C. : The National Security Archive, 1990.
Call Number: MICFICHE FX3 4619 - The U.S. Intelligence Community After 9/11
Alexandra, VA : Chadwyck-Healey; Washington, D.C. : The National Security Archive, 2009 - U. S. Intelligence on Weapons of Mass Destruction: From World War II to Iraq.
Alexandra, VA : Chadwyck-Healey; Washington, D.C. : The National Security Archive, 2006 - West, Nigel.
Historical Dictionary of International Intelligence.
Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2006.
Call Number: UB 250 .W48 2006
Bibliographies, Indexes and Databases
- Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals. Quarterly.
Maxwell Air Force Base, Ala.: Air University Library,1949-
Call Number: Z 5063.A2 U8 - American Foreign Policy and Treaty Index (AFPTI).
Washington, D.C. : Congressional Information Service, 1993-1999.
Call Number: Z 1245 .A45 (Copies available in multiple locations)
A comprehensive index, with abstracts, to key foreign policy documents produced by the executive branch, Congress, and independent agencies, including some of the intelligence agencies. Both depository and non-depository publications are indexed, with an accompanying AFPTI microfiche set of the full text of the non-depository publications. - Clark, J. Ransom.
The Literature of Intelligence: a Bibliography of Materials, with Essays, Reviews, and Comments, 2004
Compiled by a former CIA officer. - Current Military and Political Literature: Comment and Abstracts & Citations of Important Articles from International Military and Defence Periodicals. Bimonthly.
Oxford : Military Press, 1983-1993.
Call Number: Z 6721 .C82 - Intelligence, Espionage and Related Topics : an Annotated Bibliography of Serial, Journal and Magazine Scholarship, 1844-1998.
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1999.
Call Number: R016.355 In8 - International Political Science Abstracts. Bimonthly.
Paris: International Political Science Association, 1951-
Call Number: JA 36 .I5 (Copies available in multiple locations)
- Jane's Online
Jane's Online provides full text access to Jane's Geopolitical Library, Defence Weekly, International Defense Review, Intelligence Review, All the World's Aircraft, Fighting Ships, and World Defense Industry, as well as news and information sources. - ProQuest Congressional
A comprehensive index, mostly with full text, to congressional publications. Intelligence community materials may be located under the subject heading "Intelligence Services" and the names of the individual agencies. - Lowenthal, Mark M.
The U.S. Intelligence Community: an Annotated Bibliography.
New York: Garland Publishing, 1994.
Call Number: Z 6724.I7 L69 1994
Contains not only valuable annotations to items on intelligence theory and practice, history and organization, oversight, and other bibliographies, but also a very useful appendix with the full text of the most important legislation and executive orders pertaining to U.S. intelligence. - PAIS International. Monthly.
New York: Public Affairs Information Service, 1915- .
Call Number: Z 7163 .P922 (Copies available in multiple locations)
- Petersen, Neal H.
American Intelligence, 1775-1990: a Bibliographical Guide.
Claremont, CA : Regina Books, 1992.
Call Number: Z 6724.I7 P48 1992
- Rand Corporation. Search Rand Documents. Quarterly.
Santa Monica, CA.: Rand, 1964-
Most RAND reports and documents are available full text. - Strategic Intelligence. 5 vol.
Westport, Conn. : Praeger Security International, 2007.
Call Number: UB 250 .S6385 2007 - Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
The database contains abstracts of books and articles from professional journals and major news magazines, devoted to North American and international politics.
Intelligence Reform
- Intelligence Community Reorganization, from the Congressional Research Service
- Proposals for Intelligence Reorganization, 1949-2004, from the Congressional Research Service
- Side By Side Comparison of 9/11 Commission Intelligence Reforms and Legislative Proposals, August 2004, from the Congressional Research Service
- Intelligence Reform and Terrorism Prevention Act of 2004 (P.L. 108-458, S.2845):
- House Report 108-796
- Congressional Research Service Summary
- Statement of Administration Policy on S. 2845 - National Intelligence Reform Act of 2004, September 28, 2004
- Reforming and Strengthening Intelligence Services
Fact sheet from the White House, September 8, 2004 - Warner, Michael.
U.S. Intelligence Community Reform Studies Since 1947, Center for the Study of Intelligence, April 2005
- Barger, Deborah G.
Toward a Revolution in Intelligence Affairs, RAND Publication TR-242-CMS, 2005 - Berkowitz, Bruce
Spying in the Post–September 11 World, Hoover Digest, 2003, no.4 - The Challenge of Domestic Intelligence in a Free Society: A Multidisciplinary Look at the Creation of a U.S. Domestic Counterterrorism Intelligence Agency, RAND Publication MG-804, 2009
- Commission on the Intelligence Capabilities of the United States Regarding Weapons of Mass Destruction.
Report to the President, March 31, 2005 - Commission on the Roles and Capabilities of the United States Intelligence Community.
Preparing for the 21st Century: An Appraisal of U.S. Intelligence
Washington, DC : GPO : 1996.
Call Number: JK 468.I6 C62 1996 (Copies available in multiple locations)
The Intelligence Authorization Act for Fiscal Year 1995 (P.L. 103-359) created the Commission on the Roles and Capabilities of the United States Intelligence Community (the Aspin-Brown Commission). This bipartisan panel was charged with reviewing "the efficacy and appropriateness" of U.S. intelligence activities in the "post-cold war global environment" and with submitting a report of its findings and recommendations to the President and the Congress. The Commission's report was released on March 1, 1996. It addresses such issues as the size and secrecy of the intelligence budget; the organization of U.S. Intelligence Community; management of the CIA; covert action; economic intelligence; intelligence support to policy makers and military operations; space reconnaissance; "right-sizing" intelligence agencies; and oversight of intelligence. - Considering the Creation of a Domestic Intelligence Agency in the United States, RANDPublication MG-805, 2009
- Executive Order 13328: Commission on the Intelligence Capabilities of the United States Regarding Weapons of Mass Destruction, President George W. Bush, February 6, 2004
- Fact Sheet: President Issues New Orders to Reform Intelligence , President George W. Bush, August 27, 2004
- Executive Order Strengthened Management of the Intelligence Community (13355)
- Executive Order National Counterterrorism Center
- Executive Order Strengthening the Sharing of Terrorism Information to Protect Americans
- Executive Order Establishing the President's Board on Safeguarding Americans' Civil Liberties
- Gentry, John A.
A Framework for Reform of the U.S. Intelligence Community., June 1995
This comprehensive treatment of intelligence reform issues was prepared by former CIA analyst John A. Gentry for submission to the Congressional intelligence committees and the Aspin Commission on Intelligence Roles and Missions. - Gutjahr, Melanie M. H.
The Intelligence Archipelago : the Community’s Struggle to Reform in the Globalized Era.
Washington, D.C. : Center for Strategic Intelligence Research, Joint Military Intelligence College : 2005
Call Number: D 5.202:IN 8/8 - Intelligence Reform, from the FAS Intelligence Resource Program
Sponsored by the Federation of American Scientists (FAS), the Intelligence Reform site promotes public awareness and discussion of the various Executive and Legislative intelligence reform initiatives and their successful implementation. FAS challenges excessive government secrecy which obscures public participation in this debate, and promotes public oversight of the intelligence reform process. - Intelligence Reform Program, from the Center for International Policy
- Making Intelligence Smarter: the Future of U.S. Intelligence.
New York: Council on Foreign Relations, 1996.
Call Number: JK 468.I6 M36 1996g - National Institute for Public Policy.
Modernizing Intelligence: Structure and Change for the 21st Century
The Odom Study, January 2002. - National Performance Review (U.S.)
Intelligence Community: Accompanying Report of the National Performance Review.
Washington, DC : Office of the Vice President : 1993.
Call Number: PRVP 42.2:G 74/INTELL. - Presidential Decision Directive (PDD): U.S. Counterintelligence Effectiveness: Counterintelligence for the 21st Century
Fact sheet provided by the Federation of American Scientists, January 5, 2001 - Shelby, Richard C.
Additional Views of Senator Richard C. Shelby, Vice Chairman, Senate Select Committee on Intelligence, September 11 and the Imperative of Reform in the U.S. Intelligence Community, December 10, 2002 - Transforming U.S. Intelligence.
Washington, D.C. : Georgetown University Press, c2005.
Call Number: JK 468 .I6 T67 2005 (Copies available in multiple locations)
- Twentieth Century Fund. Task Force on the Future of U.S. Intelligence.
In From the Cold: the Report of the Twentieth Century Fund Task Force on the Future of U.S. Intelligence.
Call Number: JK 468.I6 T94 1996 - U.S. Intelligence at the Crossroads: Agendas for Reform.
Washington, DC : Brassey's, c1995.
Call Number: JK 468.I6 U18 1995
Congressional Oversight & Budget
Intelligence activities are conducted by numerous departments, agencies, and bureaus within the executive branch of the government. Congress plays a role in the areas of authorization, funding and accountability. The items in this section address that often contested relationship.
The variety of documents (located in the U.S. Government Documents Collection on microfiche) related to appropriations for intelligence activities can be located in CLIO by the following subject searches:
- Intelligence service--finance--law and legislation--United States
- Intelligence service--law and legislation--United States
There is a useful compilation of intelligence laws issued biennally:
- Compilation of Intelligence Laws and Related Laws and Executive Orders of Interest to the National Intelligence Community.
Washington, D.C.: U.S. House of Representatives, 1983-
Call Number: U.S. Government Documents (microfiche) Y 4.In 8/18:L 44 [date]
Other sources:
- For legislation from the 106th Congress to the present, try a keyword search for the relevant keywords on Thomas
- U.S. House of Representatives. Permanent Select Committee On Intelligence
- U.S. Senate. Select Committee on Intelligence
- Annual Intelligence Authorization Acts, 1979-present
- Annual Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Act Reports, U.S. Dept. of Justice
- Best, Jr., Richard A.
Intelligence Issues for Congress, March 2011, a CRS report - Best, Jr., Richard A.
Intelligence Spending: Public Disclosure Issues, February 15, 2007, a CRS report - Daggett, Stephen.
U.S. Intelligence Budget, October 4, 2004, a CRS report - Disclosures to the Congress, Presidential memo, October 5, 2001
Restricts classified information to only the Speaker of the House, the House Minority Leader, the Senate Majority and Minority Leaders, and the Chairs and Ranking Members of the Intelligence Committees in the House and Senate, text from the Federation of American Scientists. - Intelligence in Congress: from the FAS Intelligence Resource Program
The full text of Congressional Floor Debates, Hearings, and Reports, 1994-present. - Kaiser, Frederick M.
Congressional Oversight of Intelligence: Current Structure and Alternatives, August 25, 2010, a CRS report - Olmsted, Kathryn.
Challenging the Secret Government: the Post-Watergate Investigations of the CIA and FBI.
Chapel Hill, NC : The University of North Carolina Press, 1996.
Call Number: JK 468.I6 O45 1996 - Smist, Frank John.
Congress Oversees the United States Intelligence Community, 1947-1994. 2nd ed.
Knoxville, Tenn.: University of Tennessee Press, 1994.
Call Number: JK 468.I6 S56 1994 - Snider, L. Britt.
Sharing Secrets With Lawmakers: Congress as a User of Intelligence.
Langley Park, Va.? : Central Intelligence Agency, Center for the Study of Intelligence, 1997.
Call Number: JK 468.I6 S58 1997 - Tracing the Rise and Fall of Intelligence Spending As Portrayed in Official Government Publications
- United States. Commission on Protecting and Reducing Government Secrecy.
Report of the Commission on Protecting and Reducing Government Secrecy.
Call Number: JK 468.S4 U57 1997g (Copies available in multiple locations)
Report of the Moynihan Commission, released March 4, 1997. - United States. Congress. House. Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence.
IC21: Intelligence Community in the 21st Century: Staff Study.
Washington : U.S. G.P.O., 1996.
Call Number: MICFICHE Y 4.IN 8/18:IN 8/STAFF - United States. Congress. House. Select Committee on U.S. National Security and Military/Commercial Concerns with the People's Republic of China. 3 vols.
U.S. National Security and Military/Commercial Concerns with the People's Republic of China.
Washington : U.S. G.P.O. : U.S. G.P.O. <distributor>, 1999.
Call Number: Y 1.1/8:105-851/V.1-3
Also known as the Cox Report.
"This three-volume report is an unclassified, redacted version of the Final Report of the Select Committee on U.S. National Security and Military/Commercial Concerns with the Peoples Republic of China issued on January 3, 1999. The Final Report was, when issued, and remains today, classified Top Secret." - United States. Congress. Senate. Select Committee on Intelligence.
Joint Inquiry Into Intelligence Community Activities Before and After the Terrorist Attacks of September 11, 2001.
Washington, D.C. : U.S. G.P.O., 2003
Call Number: HV 6432 .U62 2002- Report on the U.S. Intelligence Community's Prewar Intelligence Assessments on Iraq
[Washington, D.C. : U.S. G.P.O. ; U.S. G.P.O., Supt. of Docs., distributor, 2004]
Call Number: JK 468.I6 U55 2004
Call Number: Y 1.1/5:108-301
- Report on the U.S. Intelligence Community's Prewar Intelligence Assessments on Iraq
- United States. Congress. Senate. Select Committee to Study Governmental Operations with Respect to Intelligence Activities.
Final Report of the Select Committee to Study Governmental Operations with Respect to Intelligence Activities, United States Senate : Together with Additional, Supplemental, and Separate Views. 6 vols.
Call Number: KF 31.5 .G7 1976
Also known as the Church Committee reports.
Classified/Declassified Documents
- Accessions and Openings of Records, from the National Archives
Includes information about documents declassified; preceded by The Record, below. - At Cold War's End: US Intelligence on the Soviet Union and Eastern Europe, 1989-1991.
Reston, VA : Central Intelligence Agency, 1999.
Call Number: DK 274 .A8 1999g - CIA FOIA Electronic Reading Room
Special Collections (Historical Review Program)
CIA's Historical Review Program, with the exception of several statutorily mandated requirements, is a voluntary declassification program that focuses on records of historical value. Two projects currently in progress in HRP involve the review of National Intelligence Estimates (NIEs) on the former Soviet Union and international communism and intelligence analyses on the former Soviet Union published by the CIA's Directorate of Intelligence. - Cold War International History Project
The project supports the full and prompt release of historical materials by governments on all sides of the Cold War, and seeks to disseminate new information and perspectives on Cold War history emerging from previously inaccessible sources on "the other side" -- the former Communist bloc. - Declassification Advisory Panels
Provided by the Federation of American Scientists Project on Government Secrecy, this site has full text of various documents released by the Interagency Security Classification Appeals Panel, Central Intelligence Agency, Department of State, Department of Energy, Department of Defense, Security Policy Advisory Board, and Assassination Records Review Board. - Declassified Documents Reference System: U.S.
Search and retrieve the full text of U.S. government documents routinely declassified; includes documents issued from World War II to the present. - Executive Order 13526 - Classified National Security Information
This order prescribes a uniform system for classifying, safeguarding, and declassifying national security information, including information relating to defense against transnational terrorism, President Barack Obama, December 29, 2009.- Presidential Memorandum, implementing the above Executive Order, President Barack Obama, December 29, 2009.
- Executive Order 13556 - Controlled Unclassified Information
The Controlled Unclassified Information (CUI) program standardizes the way the Executive branch handles information that requires protection and that is not classified., President Barack Obama, November 04, 2010. - Foreign Relations of the United States:
- Emergence of the Intelligence Establishment: Foreign Relations of the United States, 1945-1950.
Washington, D.C.: Dept. of State, 1996.
Call Number: JX 233 .A3 1945
A volume of the official documentary historical record of foreign policy decisions and diplomatic activity of the U.S. government, after the statutory 30-year declassification and review process. This volume is unique in the FRUS series - an attempt to fill in the gaps in previously-published volumes. - Foreign Relations, 1950-1955: the Intelligence Community.
Washington, D.C.: Dept. of State, 1996.
Call Number: JX 233 .A3 1950/1955
This volume, The Intelligence Community, 1950–1955, is the sequel to The Emergence of the Intelligence Establishment, 1945–1950, published in 1996. This new volume, which is organized chronologically from January 1950 to December 1955, documents the institutional growth of the intelligence community during its heyday under Directors Walter Bedell Smith and Allen W. Dulles.
- Emergence of the Intelligence Establishment: Foreign Relations of the United States, 1945-1950.
- Information Security Oversight Office (National Archives and Records Administration)
ISOO was originally established in 1978 under executive order 12065. It now operates under the authority of executive order 12958 and is currently a component of the National Archives and Records Administration. The site includes the annual reports to the President on security classification programs, 1993-present, and other ISOO documents related to classification and declassification. - Interagency Security Classification Appeals Panel (ISCAP)
- Executive Order on Classified National Security Information
Full text of E.O. 12958, issued by President Clinton on April 17, 1995, which created ISCAP. "This order prescribes a uniform system for classifying, safeguarding, and declassifying national security information. Our democratic principles require that the American people be informed of the activities of their Government." - Executive Order 12958-Classified National Security Information, as Amended, March 28, 2003
- Classified National Security Information Policy Documents
- Compilation of ISCAP Communiques, Speeches, and Other Documents, from the Federation of American Scientists
- Amendment to E.O. 12958, by President George W. Bush, March 25, 2003
- Executive Order on Classified National Security Information
- Laws and Regulations Governing the Protection of Sensitive But Unclassified Information, Federal Research Division, Library of Congress, September 2004
- NARA and Declassification
Links to newly released declassified material as well as reports and information regarding the Interagency Security Classification Appeals Panel, the National Declassification Center, and the Public Interest Declassification Board. - National Declassification Center
- National Security Archive
The National Security Archive is an independent non-governmental research institute and library located at The George Washington University in Washington, D.C. The Archive collects and publishes declassified documents acquired through the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). Its public web site contains information about several programs and projects, including the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Database, Cold War International History Project, Nuclear History, White House E-mail (Reagan through Clinton), FOIA, and more. It also publishes excellent print indexes and microfiche sets for specific, usually foreign, policy topics, retrieved mostly through FOIA requests.
The subscription site, Digital National Security Archive provides online searching and full text access to all of the collections listed below. Those marked with an asterisk also have a print/microfiche set, located in Lehman Library.- * Afghanistan: the Making of U.S. Policy, 1973-1990
- The Berlin Crisis, 1958-1962
- Chile and the United States: U.S. Policy toward Democracy, Dictatorship, and Human Rights, 1970-1990
- * China and the United States: From Hostility to Engagement, 1960-1998
- Colombia and the United States: Political Violence, Narcotics, and Human Rights, 1948-2010
- * The Cuban Missile Crisis, 1962
- The Cuban Missile Crisis Revisited: An International Collection of Documents, From the Bay of Pigs to the Brink of Nuclear War
- Death Squads, Guerrilla War, Covert Operations, and Genocide: Guatemala and the United States, 1954-1999
- * El Salvador: the Making of U.S. Policy, 1977-1984
- * El Salvador: War, Peace, and Human Rights, 1980-1994
- * Iran: the Making of U.S. Policy, 1977-1980
- * The Iran-Contra Affair: the Making of a Scandal, 1983-1988
- * Iraqgate: Saddam Hussein, U.S. Policy and the Prelude to the Persian Gulf War, 1980-1994
- * Japan and the United States: Diplomatic, Security and Economic Relations, 1960-1976
- Japan and the United States, Part II: Diplomatic, Security, and Economic Relations, 1977-1992
- The Kissinger Telephone Conversations: A Verbatim Record of U.S. Diplomacy, 1969-1977
- The Kissinger Transcripts: A Verbatim Record of U.S. Diplomacy, 1969-1977
- The National Security Agency: Organization and Operations, 1945-2009
- * Nicaragua: the Making of U.S. Policy, 1978-1990
- Peru: Human Rights, Drugs and Democracy, 1980-2000
- * The Philippines: U.S. Policy During the Marcos Years, 1965-1986
- * Presidential Directives on National Security, Part I: From Truman to Clinton
- * Presidential Directives on National Security, Part II: From Truman to George W. Bush
- * South Africa: the Making of U.S. Policy, 1962-1989
- * The Soviet Estimate: U.S. Analysis of the Soviet Union, 1947-1991
- Terrorism and U.S. Policy, 1968–2002
- The United States and the Two Koreas (1969-2000)
- * U.S. Espionage and Intelligence: Organization, Operations, and Management, 1947-1996
- U.S. Intelligence and China: Collection, Analysis and Covert Action
- The U.S. Intelligence Community After 9/11
- * The U.S. Intelligence Community, 1947-1989
- U.S. Intelligence on Weapons of Mass Destruction: From World War II to Iraq
- U.S. Military Uses of Space, 1945-1991
- U.S. Nuclear History: Nuclear Arms and Politics in the Missile Age, 1955-1968
- U.S. Nuclear Non-Proliferation Policy, 1945-1991
- U.S. Policy in the Vietnam War, Part I: 1954-1968
- U.S. Policy in the Vietnam War, Part II: 1969-1975
- National Security Archive Electronic Briefing Books
Online document compilations dealing with U.S. foreign policy, military and intelligence, political events, and more
- OpenTheGovernment.org
A coalition of groups united over a concern about the secrecy policies in U.S. government. - The President's Daily Brief
The PDB compiles the Intelligence Community’s highest level intelligence analysis targeted at the key national security issues and concerns of the President. The PDB is given only to the President, the Vice President, and a very select group of Cabinet-level officials designated by the President. The link provides a description of the Daily Brief and the controversy surrounding it, along with links to a few declassified briefs; from the National Security Archive. - Presidential Directives:
Consult the section of the guide to Executive Branch Resources - public intelligence
Public Intelligence is an international, collaborative research project aimed at aggregating the collective work of independent researchers around the globe who wish to defend the public’s right to access information. - Public Interest Declassification Board
Transforming the Security Classification System (2012) - Quist, Arvin S.
Security Classification of Information.
Oak Ridge, Tenn. : Oak Ridge K-25 Site, [1993-2002] - The Record: News from the National Archives and Records Administration. Quarterly. 1987-1998.
Call Number: AE 1.117/2
Each issue lists some materials recently declassified. - Rozell, Mark J.
Executive Privilege: Presidential Power, Secrecy, and Accountability. 3rd ed.
Lawrence : University Press of Kansas, c2010.
Call Number: JK 468 .S4 R67 2010 - U.S. Congress. House of Representatives. Committee on Government Reform. Minority Office.
Secrecy in the Bush Administration, September 14, 2004 - U.S. Dept. of State Declassified Documents Collections
A growing collection, including material on Argentina, Chile, El Salvador, and Guatemala. - USGS Declassified Satellite Imagery - 1 and USGS Declassified Satellite Imagery - 2
The U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) has begun distributing film negatives, positives, and paper prints from declassified satellite photographs collected by the U.S. intelligence community during the 1960's and early 1970's. The sale of photographs to the public has begun with the initial transfer of 2,650 of the total 18,000 rolls of film slated for delivery to the USGS from the Central Intelligence Agency. The entire collection of these declassified photos will incrementally reach USGS National Satellite Land Remote Sensing Data Archive at the Earth Resources Observation Systems (EROS) Data Center in Sioux Falls, South Dakota by the end of the summer of 1996. The online catalog will be updated daily as new rolls are added to the archive. - University Publications of America indexes and microform sets
Microform Reading Room, Butler Library.
Indexes and microfilm sets for various declassified documents, such as the Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Documents of the National Security Council, and the national security files for John F. Kennedy and Lyndon B. Johnson. Check CLIO for specific titles. - Wikileaks
"WikiLeaks is a non-profit media organization dedicated to bringing important news and information to the public. We provide an innovative, secure and anonymous way for independent sources around the world to leak information to our journalists. We publish material of ethical, political and historical significance while keeping the identity of our sources anonymous, thus providing a universal way for the revealing of suppressed and censored injustices."
Freedom of Information Act (FOIA)
- Memorandum for the Heads of Executive Departments and Agencies: Freedom of Information Act
"I direct the Attorney General to issue new guidelines governing the FOIA to the heads of executive departments and agencies, reaffirming the commitment to accountability and transparency, and to publish such guidelines in the Federal Register." President Barack Obama, January 21, 2009. - Adler, Allan.
Using the Freedom of Information Act: a Step-By-Step Guide.
Washington, D.C. : American Civil Liberties Union Foundation, c1987, c1983.
Call Number: KF 5753 .A34 1987g - A Citizen's Guide on Using the Freedom of Information Act and the Privacy Act of 1974 to Request Government Records.
Washington, D.C. : GPO, 2005.
Call Number: KF 5753 .A33 1989g - FOIA
A Web site at the National Security Archive (above), with information on how to submit a FOIA request, sample FOIA requests, and addresses of all FOIA offices. - The Freedom of Information Act, 5 U.S.C. Section 552 (As Amended)
See Code of Federal Regulations for Parallel Table of Authorities FOIA requirements for each agency- Electronic Freedom of Information Amendments of 1996, enacted into law October 2, 1996
- A People Armed?
A report on E-FOIA compliance, by OMB Watch, January 4, 2000 - Reports Detail Agency Efforts to Improve FOIA Implementation, OMB Watch, April 19, 2011
- Update on Implementation of the 1996 Electronic Freedom of Information Act Amendments. U.S. General Accounting Office, August 30, 2002
A detailed report which notes "backlogs of pending requests governmentwide are substantial and growing, indicating that agencies are falling behind in processing requests." - Implementation of the Freedom of Information Act . U.S. General Accounting Office, May 11, 2005
- FOIAonline
The Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) gives you the right to access information from federal agencies. FOIAonline allows you to submit FOIA requests to all participating agencies from this website, track the status of requests, search for requests submitted by others, and generate up-to-the-minute reports on FOIA processing. - Freedom-of-Information Resources, from the Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press
- Freedominfo.org
This site is a one-stop portal that describes best practices, consolidates lessons learned, explains campaign strategies and tactics, and links the efforts of freedom-of-information advocates around the world. - National Freedom of Information Coalition
The National FOI Coalition joins First Amendment and open government organizations from individual states in a self-supporting alliance as they seek to protect the public's right to know through the education of media professionals, attorneys, academics, students and the general public. - The National Security Archive: Freedom of Information Act (FOIA)
- Justice Delayed is Justice Denied: the Ten Oldest Pending FOIA Requests
- The National Security Archive Audits of FOIA Administration
In January 2003 the National Security Archive initiated a "Freedom of Information Act Audit" - borrowing the methodology developed by state and local journalism groups to file simultaneous FOIA requests at multiple agencies and offices, and compile the results in order to identify the best and worst practices. - The U.S. Freedom of Information Act On Its 37th Birthday, July 4, 2003
- Sobel, David.
Litigation under the Federal Open Government Laws. 16th ed.
Washington, D.C. : Electronic Privacy Information Center, 2003.
Call Number: On Order - U.S. Department of Justice FOIA Resources Includes:
- FOIA Annual Reports.
The FOIA requires each federal agency to submit an Annual Report to the Attorney General each year. These reports contain detailed statistics on the numbers of requests received and processed by each agency, the time taken to respond, and the outcome of each request. - FOIA Post
As of 2001, FOIA Post will serve as a primary means of FOIA policy dissemination and as an efficient vehicle for communicating FOIA-related information to agency FOIA personnel and others who are interested in the Act's administration. - Justice Department Guide to the Freedom of Information Act, May 2004
The "Justice Department Guide to the Freedom of Information Act" is an overview discussion of the FOIA's exemptions, its law enforcement record exclusions, and its most important procedural aspects. - FOIA Reference Guide, January 2010
A procedural "how to" guide, with contact info and forms. - FOIA Update. Irregular. 1980-2000.
Newsletter of FOIA developments, replaced by FOIA Post, above. - Principal FOIA Contacts at Federal Agencies
- FOIA Annual Reports.
- Uncle Sam - FOIA Information, from the University of Memphis
This site has links to and information about the specialized FOIA offices in each of the Cabinet departments and many of the independent agencies.
Other Web Resources
- Association of Former Intelligence Officers
AFIO's educational focus is on fostering understanding of the vital importance and role of US intelligence, firstly in terms of understanding the critical need for US foreign intelligence collection and evaluation as well as special operations and covert activities, using both high technology and human sources, supporting the President, US policy and decision makers, diplomacy, strategy, security and defense, and secondly, in terms of understanding the critical need for effective counterintelligence against foreign political, technological or economic espionage as well as clandestine actions and covert, terrorist or criminal operations threatening US security, the national infrastructure, or corporate and individual safety. - Centre for Counterintelligence and Security Studies
The Centre for Counterintelligence and Security Studies (called the CI Centre) and the Centre for Counterterrorism Studies (CT Studies) of Alexandria, Virginia is a non-governmental center committed to excellence in counterintelligence, counterterrorism and security education, analysis and leadership to serve you and your organization's needs. We provide advanced counterintelligence and security training, counterterrorism training, research and analysis for the US Government, the Intelligence Community and private sector companies. Our aim is to increase the number of people within these communities who have a broad and deep understanding of the counterintelligence discipline and its strategic importance to mission success. - Cold War International History Project
CWIHP was established at the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars in Washington, D.C., in 1991. The project supports the full and prompt release of historical materials by governments on all sides of the Cold War, and seeks to disseminate new information and perspectives on Cold War history emerging from previously inaccessible sources on "the other side" -- the former Communist bloc. Registration required. - Cryptome
A database of more than 6000 documents, articles, and news reports related to U.S. intelligence and classification matters, provided by John Young. - The FAS Intelligence Resource Program
A "comprehensive resource on the past and future of the American intelligence community," from the Federation of American Scientists, it includes sections on Intelligence Systems and Programs, Intelligence Agencies and Budgets, Worldwide Intelligence Agencies, Documents and Records, Congressional Material, News Reports and Analysis, and more.- Presidential Directives and Executive Orders
- Working Document of the European Parliament Temporary Committee on the ECHELON Interception System, May 4, 2001
- The FAS Project on Government Secrecy
This is an extremely rich web site, also maintained by the Federation of American Scientists, which features the texts of White House memos and executive orders, Security Policy Board documents, other government documents related to secrecy questions, as well as issues of their publication, Secrecy and Government Bulletin. - National Military Intelligence Association
The NMIA was formed in 1974 as an organization to network intelligence professionals in the Military Services, the Intelligence Agencies and Offices of the U.S. Government and Congress, within which they can share and exchange ideas for their individual professional enhancement and the good of the entire Intelligence Community. - Stratfor: Global Intelligence
A private intelligence company which provides open-source information, current-awareness and analysis. Areas of focus are three Intelligence Centers: Global, CIS & Eastern Europe, and Asia; Hotspots (areas of current world conflict); Global Intelligence Update (GIU), a weekly and quarterly summary of events arranged around a specific theme; and quarterly and annual forecasts of economic and political events worldwide.
Columbia University does NOT subscribe.
Office of the Director of National Intelligence
The Director of National Intelligence (DNI) serves as the head of the Intelligence Community (IC). The DNI also acts as the principal advisor to the President; the National Security Council, and the Homeland Security Council for intelligence matters related to the national security; and oversees and directs the implementation of the National Intelligence Program. The major publication of the DNI is:
- The National Intelligence Strategy of the United States: Transformation Through Integration and Innovation, October 2005
- The National Intelligence Strategy of the United States, August 2009
The DNI establishes community-wide policy through a series of directives, which remain in force until they are updated or replaced. The nomenclature for these directives change over time. The following links are to web pages from the Federation of American Scientists, with lists of the directives, including full text of any directives which have been released, usually as a result of FOIA requests.
- Annual Worldwide Threat Assessment
- DCIDs: Director of Central Intelligence Directives, 1976-2004
- ICDs: Intelligence Community Directives, 2005-present
- ICPMs: Intelligence Community Policy Memorandums, 2005-present
ICPMs provide temporary policy direction to the intelligence community before a formal ICD is issued.
Central Intelligence Agency
For a list of books about the CIA, check CLIO under the subject heading: United States Central Intelligence Agency
- Annual Reports:
- Annual Report FY 1994 (from the FAS Intelligence Reform Project)
- Annual Reports 1997-present
- The CIA : Current Issues and Background.
New York : Nova Science Publishers, c2003.
Call Number: JK 468.I6 C24 2003
A concise history of the CIA and U.S. intelligence. - CIA Cold War Records.
A series of monographs published by the CIA's Center for the Study of Intelligence, resulting from the declassification of older records. Search CLIO under the title, CIA Cold War Records to retrieve a list of titles in the libraries. - The CIA's "Family Jewels"
The CIA's self-described "Family Jewels" file lays out the agency's most closely held secrets about their domestic intelligence activities conducted at the height of the Cold War, through 1973. This is a detailed index to the full page images of the 703 pages comprising the 67 individual or combined sets of documents and ancillary material from the National Security Archive. - CIA Historical Review Panel. Reports, 1996-present
The CIA Historical Review Panel is an advisory group of non-governmental historians that was established to provide recommendations to the CIA concerning its declassification of historically valuable records. - CIA Maps and Publications - to use those in Lehman Library, ask Reference staff.
- CIA Publications
Links to full text of reports published by the CIA. Print copies of most will also be available in the libraries. - Directors and Deputy Directors of Central Intelligence
- Factbook on Intelligence.
Washington, D.C. : Office of Public Affairs, CIA, <2001?>
Call Number: KF 7683.C3 U55 2001g
A concise history of the CIA and U.S. intelligence. - Goodman, Melvin A.
CIA: The Need for Reform
A policy report from Foreign Policy in Focus, February 2001. - Kimball, Warren F.
"And Ye Shall Know the Truth and the Truth Shall Make You Free:" Openness and the CIA
An article from Studies in Intelligence, v.44, no.2 (2000), pp.21-25, provided by the Federation of American Scientists. - Records Management in the Central Intelligence Agency, March 2000
A report by the National Archives and Records Administration which cites "serious shortcomings" in the CIA records management program, and calls for the CIA to turn over its records to NARA sooner than the current 50-year retention period. - Richelson, Jeffrey.
The Wizards of Langley: Inside the CIA's Directorate of Science and Technology.
Boulder, CO : Westview Press, 2001.
Call Number: UB 251.U5 R53 2001 - Science, Technology and the CIA: a National Security Archive Electronic Briefing Book
Includes 44 documents, 1951-2000, produced by the Directorate of Science and Technology. - Strategic Investment Plan for Intelligence Community Analysis, February 2001
Defense Intelligence Agency
- At the Creation, 1961-1965 : Origination Documents of the Defense Intelligence Agency.
Washington, DC : DIA History Office, Defense Intelligence Agency, 2002.
Call Number: UB 251.U6 A7 2002g - DIA, Moving Toward the 21st Century
- History of the Defense Intelligence Agency.
Washington, D.C. : DIA, Office of Historical Research, [2007?]
Call Number: D 5.202:H 62 - In Defense of the Nation - DIA At Forty Years.
Washington, D.C. : The Agency, 2002.
Call Number: D 5.202:D 36
Department of Energy
- Closing the Circle on the Splitting of the Atom: the Environmental Legacy of Nuclear Weapons Production in the United States and What the Department of Energy Is Doing About It.
Washington, DC : U.S. Dept. of Energy, Office of Environmental Management : 1995.
Call Number: E 1.2:C 62 - OpenNet
OpenNet will include references to all documents declassified and made publicly available after October 1, 1994. New references will be added periodically as they occur. In addition to these documents, OpenNet references older document collections from several DOE sources. - Report on Inadvertent Releases of Restricted Data and Formerly Restricted Data under Executive Order 12958.
Department of Homeland Security
Department of State
- United States. Dept. of State.
Foreign Relations of the United States. Irregular.
Washington : GPO, 1861-
Call Number: JX 233 .A3 (Copies available in multiple locations)
For additional print versions, search CLIO Title Search.
Web Access:- Selected volumes from the Truman, Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon-Ford administrations (U.S. State Dept.)
- Selected Volumes, 1861-1960 (University of Wisconsin)
- 1932-present, from Hein Online
Foreign Relations volumes contain documents from Presidential libraries, Departments of State and Defense, National Security Council, Central Intelligence Agency, Agency for International Development, and other foreign affairs agencies as well as the private papers of individuals involved in formulating U.S. foreign policy. Publication of FRUS volumes occurs after the declassification of the documents, therefore publication is delayed for the last (approx.) 30 years at any one time. It is edited by the State Department Advisory Committee on Historical Diplomatic Documentation, whose reports outline some of the conflicts between the academic concerns of the historians involved with FRUS and the agencies responsible for supplying the material.- Information from the State Department Advisory Committee on Historical Diplomatic Documentation, from the Federation of American Scientists' Project on Government Secrecy, including their annual reports and transcripts of the minutes of their meetings.
- Bureau of Intelligence and Research
- Office of the Coordinator for Counterterrorism
Department of the Treasury
Federal Bureau of Investigation
The FBI is the lead counterintelligence agency in the United States. It has the principal authority to conduct and coordinate counterintelligence and counterterrorism investigations and operations within the United States. The FBI, supported by other U.S. agencies as needed, conducts espionage investigations when the subject of the investigation is not under the jurisdiction of the Department of Defense, Uniform Code of Military Justice.
- National Security Branch
The National Security Branch (NSB) was established on 9/12/05, in response to a presidential directive to establish a “National Security Service” that combines the missions, capabilities, and resources of the counterterrorism, counterintelligence, and intelligence elements of the FBI under the leadership of a senior FBI official. - The FBI: a Centennial History, 1908-2008.
[Washington, D.C.] : U.S. Dept. of Justice, Federal Bureau of Investigation : For sale by the Supt. of Docs., U.S. G.P.O., [2008]
Call Number: J 1.14/2:C 33/3 - The FBI: a Comprehensive Reference Guide.
Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press, 1999.
Call Number: HV 8144 .F43 F35 1999 (Copies available in multiple locations) - A Guide to Conducting Research in FBI Records, March 2010
- Intelligence Reform Implementation at the Federal Bureau of Investigation: Issues and Options for Congress, a Congressional Research Service report, August 16, 2005
- FBI Law Enforcement Bulletin. Monthly. 1981- .
Call Number: J 1.14/8: - Haines, Gerald K.
Unlocking the Files of the FBI: a Guide to Its Records and Classifications System.
Wilmington, Del. : Scholarly Resources, 1993.
Call Number: HV 8144.F43 H35 1993 - Jeffreys-Jones, Rhodri.
The FBI: a History.
New Haven : Yale University Press, c2007.
Call Number: HV 8144.F43 J45 2007 (Copies available in multiple locations)
- Review of FBI Security Programs (Webster Report), U.S. Dept. of Justice, April 7, 2002
- Report on Terrorism
Wahington, D.C.: U.S. National Counterterrorism Center, 2007-present - Terrorism in the United States. Annual.
Washington, D.C. : U.S. Dept. of Justice, Federal Bureau of Investigation, 1989-2002/2005.
Call Number: J 1.14/22:
National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency (NGA)
NGA provides timely, relevant, and accurate Geospatial Intelligence in support of national security. NGA was formerly known as National Imagery and Mapping Agency (NIMA).
- Report of the Independent Commission on NIMA, from the Federation of American Scientists
- Guide to Marking Documents, October 4, 2001, from the Federation of American Scientists
National Reconnaissance Office
The NRO designs, builds and operates the nation's reconnaissance satellites. NRO products, provided to an expanding list of customers like the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) and the Department of Defense (DoD), can warn of potential trouble spots around the world, help plan military operations, and monitor the environment.
Its site also contains information and images from Corona, the nation's first photo reconnaissance satellite system, operating from August 1960 until May 1972. The program was declassified in February 1995.
- [Background Information] on the NRO, from the Federation of American Scientists
- The NRO Declassified, National Security Archive Briefing Book No. 35
- The NRO at the Crossroads: Report of the National Commission for the Review of the National Reconnaissance Office, November 14, 2000
- Secrecy and U.S. Satellite Reconnaissance, 1958-1976, National Security Archive electronic briefing book ; no. 225
- Civilians, Spies, and Blue Suits: the Bureaucratic War for Control of Overhead Reconnaissance, 1961-1965, by Jeffrey T. Richelson, the National Security Archive
National Security Agency
- Memorandum from President Truman Establishing the NSA, October 24, 1952, courtesy of the National Security Archive
- Bamford, James.
The Puzzle Palace: a Report on America's Most Secret Agency.
Boston : Houghton Mifflin, 1982.
Call Number: UB 251.U5 B35 1982 - Bamford, James.
Body of Secrets : Anatomy of the Ultra-secret National Security Agency: from the Cold War Through the Dawn of a New Century.
New York : Doubleday, c2001.
Call Number: UB 256.U6 B36 2001 - Burns, Thomas L.
The Origins of the National Security Agency, 1940-1952
Published in-house by the NSA's Center for Cryptologic History in 1990, it was originally classified as Top Secret. On 08 Sept 2004, it was declassified - minus certain passages - thanks to a Freedom of Information Act request; from the Memory Hole - National Security Agency: 60 Years of Defending Our Nation (2012)
- The National Security Agency: Organization and Operations, 1945-2009
Alexandra, VA : Chadwyck-Healey; Washington, D.C. : The National Security Archive, 2009
A uniquely detailed collection of records documenting the history, mission, and intelligence collection and analytic operations of America's largest and most secretive intelligence agency, the National Security Agency (NSA) and its predecessor organizations. Documents have been culled from both archival sources and FOIA requests submitted to more than a dozen government departments and intelligence agencies over the past 25 years. - The National Security Agency Declassified, January 2000
Fifteen documents concerning the creation and operations of the NSA, declassified courtesy of the National Security Archive. - The National Security Agency: Issues for Congress
A CRS report, January 16, 2001 - The National Security Agency's Declassification Initiative
Under the provisions of Executive Order 12958 (Classified National Security Information), dated 17 April 1995, NSA is reviewing for declassification all permanently classified documents 25 years or older. This declassification effort, which NSA has named OPENDOOR, will include information about all documents declassified and made available to the public under E.O. 12958. As these documents are declassified, they will be turned over to the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA).
National Security Council
The National Security Council is the President's principal forum for considering national security and foreign policy matters with his senior national security advisors and cabinet officials. Since its inception under President Truman, the function of the Council has been to advise and assist the President on national security and foreign policies. The Council also serves as the President's principal arm for coordinating these policies among various government agencies. It's main publication is:
- A National Security Strategy ... Annual. 1987-
Check CLIO for print holdings.
1991, 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2002, 2006, 2010 - Clinton Administration NSC Page
- Best, Richard A.
The National Security Council : an Organizational Assessment, a CRS report, June 2009 - Documents of the National Security Council, 1947-1977 and Supplements.
Washington, D.C. : University Publications of America, 1980- .
For item locations, search CLIO.
Description of the microfilm sets from UPA. - History of the National Security Council, 1947-1997, Office of the Historian, Bureau of Public Affairs, United States Department of State
- Intelligence Reports from the National Security Council’s Vietnam Information Group, 1967-1975
Primarily Department of State cables and CIA intelligence information cables concerning South and North Vietnam. Topics include the Vietnam War, U.S.-South Vietnam relations, South Vietnam’s political climate, opposition groups, religious sects, ethnic groups, labor unions, corruption, press censorship, the North Vietnam’s military and economy, peace negotiations, and events in Cambodia and Laos. - Lord, Carnes.
The Presidency and the Management of National Security.
New York : Free Press, 1988.
Call Number: UA 23 .L7 1988 (Copies available in multiple locations)
- National Security Council Intelligence Directives (NSCIDs), from the FAS Intelligence Resource Program
- National Security Presidential Directives (NSPDs), George W. Bush administration, from the FAS Intelligence Resources Program
- The National Security Council Project, from the Brookings Institution
The NSC Project examines the its importance in the U.S. foreign policy process, and focuses on both its historical evolution and on key issues relating to structure, staff, policy, and interagency process. - Prados, John.
Keepers of the Keys: a History of the National Security Council from Truman to Bush.
New York : W. Morrow, 1991.
Call Number: UA 23.15 .P73 1991 (Copies available in multiple locations)
- U.N. Peacekeeping: GAO's Access to Records on Executive Branch Decision-making
A document, provided by the Federation of American Scientists, which details the efforts of the NSC to block GAO efforts to obtain documents needed to complete a study requested by the House Committee on International Relations.
Military Service Intelligence Agencies
The intelligence organizations of the four military services (Air Force, Army, Navy, and Marines) concentrate largely on concerns related to their specific missions. Their analytical products, along with those of DIA, supplement the work of CIA analysts and provide greater depth on key technical issues.
Other Agencies
- Defense Advance Research Projects Agency (DARPA)
- DARPA History
- Defense Information Systems Agency
The Defense Information Systems Agency (DISA) is a combat support agency responsible for planning, developing, fielding, operating, and supporting command, control, communications, and information systems that serve the needs of the President, Vice President, the Secretary of Defense, the Joint Chiefs of Staff, the Combatant Commanders, and the other Department of Defense (DOD) Components under all conditions of peace and war. - DMS GENSER Message Security Classifications, Categories, and Marking Phrase Requirements, March 1999, from the Federation of American Scientists
- Dept. of Defense Organization and Functions Guidebook, March 2008
This Guide outlines the functions of the Office of the Secretary of Defense (OSD), Defense Agencies, and DoD Field Activities. Where appropriate, the functional statement cites the pertinent Department of Defense (DoD) Directive which charters the organization and provides more detailed information on the authorities, responsibilities, and functions of the organization. - Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Court
- The U.S. Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Court and the U.S. Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Court of Review: An Overview, Congressional Research Service, January 24, 2007
- Drug Enforcement Administration, Office of National Security Intelligence
- Intelligence Advanced Research Projects Activity (IARPA)
- National Intelligence Council
The National Intelligence Council is a center for U.S. government mid-term and long-term strategic thinking and for Intelligence Community collaboration on substantive issues. The NIC reports directly to the Director of National Intelligence in his role as head of the Intelligence Community. - Office of the National Counterintelligence Executive (NCIX)
Operating under the auspices of the National Security Council, the NCIX coordinates the US Government's effort to identify and counter foreign intelligence threats to US national and economic security. - President's Foreign Intelligence Advisory Board
Background on the Board, plus the full text of the Executive Order which created it.