Online Catalogs | Background Information | Books, Journals, & Articles | Research Guides
Annual Reviews | Military Hardware | U.S. Government Agencies | International Agencies
Independent Research Centers | Statistics & Data | Related Resources & Guides
International Security Policy & Military Affairs: Information Resources
This is a selective guide to library materials and Internet resources on international security policy and military affairs.
Resources marked with this symbol are restricted to Columbia affiliates.
Online Catalogs
- CLIO: Columbia Libraries Online Catalog
CLIO is the online catalog for the Columbia and Barnard libraries. It includes over 4 million records for books, journal or newspaper titles (not articles), online resources, government documents, microforms, sound or video recordings, archival collections, etc. - Pegasus: Columbia University Law School Library Online Catalog
Pegasus includes: U.S. federal and state law, selected Commonwealth jurisdictions, major foreign language collections and, since 1983, vernacular and Western language materials pertaining to law in Japan and the People's Rep. of China. - WorldCat
An online catalog of the collections of 24,000 member libraries of the OCLC consortium, comprising more than 36 million records for books, serials, manuscript collections, audiovisual materials, computer files, and other media. - Borrow Direct
A borrowing service offered by the university libraries of Columbia, Brown, Cornell, Dartmouth, Pennsylvania, Princeton, and Yale. It is designed to allow students, faculty and staff to request (and receive in four days) books directly from each other's collections.
Background Information
- Aall, Pamela R.
Guide to IGOs, NGOs, and the Military in Peace and Relief Operations.
Washington, D.C. : United States Institute of Peace Press, 2000.
Call Number: JZ 4850 .A17 2000 - Armed Conflict Database
The International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) has produced an interactive and user-friendly source of information on 70 armed conflicts including terrorism, refugees/ and returnees, Internally Displaced Persons (IDPs), weapons used and their flows, fatalities, costs ($US), historical backgrounds, annual updates and timelines. With the ACD, users can generate reports and download data as well as browse through year-by-year analyses and fact sheets online. - Armed Conflict in the World Today: a Country By Country Review, Spring 2000
Prepared for Humanitarian Law Project/ International Educational Development and Parliamentary Human Rights Group. - Arnold, Guy.
Wars in the Third World Since 1945.
New York: Cassell, 1995.
Call Number: D 883 .A7 1995g - Beckett, I. F. W.
Encyclopedia of Guerrilla Warfare.
Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, c1999.
Call Number: U 240 .B43 1999 (Copies available in multiple locations) - Bennett, Richard M.
Elite Forces : an Encyclopedia of the World's Most Formidable Secret Armies.
London : Virgin Books, 2003.
Call Number: U 262 .B46 2003g - Bercovitch, Jacob.
Regional Guide to International Conflict and Management from 1945 to 2003.
Washington, D.C. : Congressional Quarterly, c2004.
Call Number: D 842 .B464 2004 (Copies available in multiple locations) - Border and Territorial Disputes of the World. 4th ed
London, U.K. : John Harper Pub. ; Farmington Hills, Mich. : Distributed exclusively in the U.S. and Canada by Gale Group, 2004.
Call Number: D 843 .B623 2004g - Clodfelter, Micheal.
Warfare and Armed Conflicts: a Statistical Encyclopedia of Casualty and Other Figures, 1494-2007. 3rd ed.
Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland, 2008.
Call Number: D 214 .C54 2008 - Costs of Major U.S. Wars,Congressional Research Service, 2008
- Country Profiles of Countries with Weapons of Mass Destruction, from Nuclear Threat Initiative
- Cragg, Dan.
Guide to Military Installations. 6th ed.
Mechanicsburg, Pa. : Stackpole Books, c2001.
Call Number: UA 26 .A2 C723 2000
Location information for for over 300 Army, Navy, Air Force, Marine Corps and Coast Guard installations and recreation centers worldwide. - Defense and Security : a Compendium of National Armed Forces and Security Policies. 2 vols..
Santa Barbara, CA : ABC-CLIO, c2005.
Call Number: UA 10 .D432 2005 - Department of Defense Dictionary of Military and Associated Terms., Washington, D.C. : Joint Chiefs of Staff
- Dictionary of Wars. 3rd ed.
New York : Facts on File/Checkmark Books, c2007.
Call Number: D 25. A2 D53 2006 - Ellison, D. Hank.
Handbook of Chemical and Biological Warfare Agents. 2nd ed.
Boca Raton : CRC Press, c2008. - Encyclopedia of Conflicts Since World War II. 4 vols.
Armonk, NY : Sharpe Reference, c1999.
Call Number: D 843 .E46 1999 - Encyclopedia of the American Military. 3 vols.
New York: Scribner's, 1994.
Call Number: UA 23 .E56 1994 (Copies available in multiple locations) - Foreign Military Bases in Eurasia (SIPRI, 2007)
- Garrett, Benjamin C.
Historical Dictionary of Nuclear, Biological, and Chemical Warfare.
Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2007.
Call Number: U 793 .G37 2007 - Gutzman, Philip.
Dictionary of Military, Defense Contractor & Troop Slang Acronyms.
Santa Barbara, CA.: ABC-CLIO, 1990.
Call Number: U 26 .G88 1990 - Instances of Use of United States Armed Forces Abroad, 1798-2007
Prepared by the Congressional Research Service, provided by the Federation of American Scientists. - International Encyclopedia of Military History. 2 vols.
New York : Routledge, 2006.
Call Number: R355 In8 - International Military and Defense Encyclopedia. 6 vols.
Washington, D.C.: Brassey's, 1993.
Call Number: U 24 .I58 1993 - International Security and the United States : an Encyclopedia. 2 vols.
Westport, Conn. : Praeger Security International, 2008.
Call Number: JZ 5588 .I5775 2008 - Jessup, John E.
An Encyclopedic Dictionary of Conflict and Conflict Resolution, 1945-1996.
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1998.
Call Number: D 842 .J47 1998 - Jones, Rodney W.
Tracking Nuclear Proliferation : a Guide in Maps and Charts, 1998.
Washington, D.C. : Carnegie Endowment for International Peace, 1998.
Call Number: U 264 .S635 1998 - Lumpe, Lora.
The Arms Trade Revealed: a Guide for Investigators and Activists.
Washington, D.C. : Federation of American Scientists, Arms Sales Monitoring Project, 1998.
Call Number: UF 543.A3 L86 1998 - Mapping Militant Organizations
This research project traces the evolution of militant organizations and the interactions that develop between them over time. Findings are presented in interactive “maps,” which provide both (1) visual representations of how relationships among militant organizations change over time and (2) links to in-depth profiles of individual groups. - Military Policy Awareness Links (MiPALs)
MiPALs are published by the National Defense University (NDU) Library as a current awareness service; the objective is to provide access to key U.S. policy statements on the country or topic of the MiPAL. While MiPALs emphasize U.S. military policy, each MiPAL includes resources analyzing the topic from governmental and non-governmental sources, including think tanks and scholarly journals. - Munro, David and Day, Alan J.
A World Record of Major Conflict Areas.
London: Edward Arnold, 1990.
Call Number: D 843 .M84 1990g - National Security Law. 2nd ed.
Durham, N.C. : Carolina Academic Press, c2005.
Call Number: KF 4651 .N38 2005g - National Security Law Documents. 2nd ed.
Durham, N.C. : Carolina Academic Press, c2006.
Call Number: KF 4651 .N38 2006g - National Security Scorecard
A publication for each session of Congress which scores members of Congress on their pro-national security votes, according to the Center for Security Policy. - The Oxford Essential Dictionary of the U.S. Military
New York : Berkley Books, c2001. - The Political Role of the Military: an International Handbook.
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1996.
Call Number: JF 195.C5 P67 1996 - PSI Handbook of Global Security and Intelligence : National Approaches. 2 vol.
Westport, Conn. : Praeger Security International, 2008.
Call Number: JZ 5588 .P785 2008 - Smith, Dan.
Atlas of War and Peace. 4th ed.
London, Eng. : Earthscan, 2003.
Call Number: G 1046 .R1 S6 2003g - Sturgill, Claude C.
The Military History of the Third World Since 1945: a Reference Guide.
Westport Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1994.
Call Number: D 883 .S79 1994 - Thackrah, John Richard.
The Routledge Companion to Military Conflict Since 1945.
London ; New York : Routledge, 2009.
Call Number: D 842.2 .T53 2009 - UCDP Conflict Encyclopedia
The UCDP Conflict Encyclopedia (UCDP database) is updated and revised several times per year and contains detailed descriptive information on armed conflicts, peace agreements, and several other aspects of organised violence. Coverage is global with information from 1946 and onwards. - U.S. Army War College Guide to National Security Issues, 4th edition, 2010
Vol. 1, Theory of War and Strategy
Vol. 2, National Security Policy and Strategy - U.S. Low-intensity Conflicts 1899-1990.
Washington, D.C.: Government Publications Office, 1990.
Call Number: U 240 .U6 1990g - U.S. Senate. Select Committee on Intelligence.
Current and Projected National Security Threats to the United States.
Text of a hearing, February February 2010. Includes testimony by Leon Panetta (CIA) and Dennis Blair (DNI). - Watson, Cynthia.
U.S. National Security: a Reference Handbook. 2nd ed.
Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, 2008.
Call Number: UA 23 .W36397 2008 - Watson, Cynthia.
U.S. National Security Policy Groups: Institutional Profiles.
New York: Greenwood Press, 1990.
Call Number: UA 23 .W364 1990 - Wilson, Thomas R.
Global Threats and Challenges to the United States and its Interests Abroad Through 2015, February 7, 2001
Prepared by the Defense Intelligence Agency for the Senate Armed Services and Select Committees. - World Court Digest
The World Court Digest represents a reproduction, in a systematic arrangement, of the views on questions of international law which are expressed in the judgements, advisory opinions and orders of the International Court of Justice as well as in the separate opinions of individual judges. Conflict law is well represented. - World Directory of Strategic Studies Centres.
London : International Institute for Strategic Studies, 1998.
Call Number: U 162 .W67 1998g - Weapons of Mass Destruction : an Encyclopedia of Worldwide Policy, Technology, and History. 2 vols.
Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, c2005.
Call Number: U 793 .W427 2005
Books, Journals, & Articles
Books
- Air University Library Bibliographies
Dozens of bibliographies on a variety of military topics, including specific conflicts, prepared by specialists at the AUL. A few of the most relevant ones are:
Conflict Termination, March 2010
Humanitarian Intervention and Assistance, January 2011
Irregular Warfare, May 2010
Nation Building - Post Conflict Reconstruction, September 2005
Special Operations 2010, June 2010
Warfare in the 21st Century - Beaumont, Roger.
Special Operations and Elite Units, 1939-1988: a Research Guide.
New York: Greenwood Press, 1988.
Call Number: Z 6724 .S66 B4 1988 - Beede, Benjamin R.
Intervention and Counterinsurgency: an Annotated Bibliography of the Small Wars of the United States, 1898-1984.
New York: Garland Pub., 1985.
Call Number: Z 1249 .M5 B43 1985
- Beede, Benjamin R.
Military and Strategic Policy: an Annotated Bibliography.
New York: Greenwood Press, 1990.
Call Number: Z 1361 .D4 B4 1990 - Beede, Benjamin R.
The Small Wars of the United States, 1899-2009 : an Annotated Bibliography. Rev. 2nd ed.
New York : Routledge, 2010.
Call Number: E 745 .B44 2010 - CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is designed to be the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 on that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences. - Technical Reports
Most military research results from U.S. government contracts. While some reports of this research may appear in the RAND collection or U.S. Government Documents materials, the great majority of these research reports can be located via the links provided here by the CUL Engineering Library. - Digital National Security Archive
The Digital National Security Archive contains the most comprehensive set of declassified government documents available. The resource now includes 33 collections consisting of over 80,000 meticulously indexed documents, with more than 500,000 total pages. Each of these collections, compiled by top scholars and experts, exhaustively covers the most critical world events, countries, and U.S. policy decisions from post World War II through the 21st century. Together, these collections offer unparalleled access to the defining international strategies of our time. Glossaries, chronologies, bibliographies, overviews, and photographs are included. - House, Jonathan M.
Military Intelligence, 1870-1991: a Research Guide.
Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1993.
Call Number: UB 250 .H68 1993 - Milner, Helen and Baldwin, David A.
The Political Economy of National Security: an Annotated Bibliography.
Boulder, Colo.: Westview Press, 1990.
Call Number: Z 6724 .N37 M54 1990 - ProQuest Congressional
ProQuest Congressional is the most comprehensive online resource available for congressional publications and legislative research. Included are: Committee Hearings, Committee Prints, Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports, House and Senate Documents, House and Senate Reports, Senate Executive Reports, Senate Executive Treaty Documents, Legislative Histories, Statutes at Large, the Serial Set and Serial Set Maps. Most of the content is full text; the best place to start for congressional legislation and publications relating to defense. - Rand Corporation.
Rand Books and Publications. Quarterly.
Santa Monica, CA.: Rand, 1964-
The Rand collection consists of commissioned research published in several series, including Rand Report, Rand Note and Rand Paper. Reports 1964-2000 are available in the Lehman Library stacks (check CLIO under each series title); most reports 1993-present are available fulltext online. - Public Technical Reports: Advanced Search
A database for retrieving publications from the Defense Technical Information Center, the main clearinghouse for DoD publications. Many of the publications are available in full text.
To focus on military research papers done at the major military academic institutions, limit your search to:
Corporate Author: (carlisle OR maxwell OR newport) - Tillema, Herbert K.
International Armed Conflict Since 1945 : a Bibliographic Handbook of Wars and Military Interventions.
Boulder : Westview Press, 1991.
Call Number: Z 6204 .T53 1991
- Van Fleet, David D.
Online Bibliography of Military Leadership
Contains over 4200 references, to both monographs and journal articles; searchable.
Journals
- Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals. Quarterly.
Maxwell Air Force Base, Ala.: Air University Library, 1949-
Call Number: Z 5063 .A2 U8 - Current World Affairs.Quarterly.
Alexandria, VA.: John C. Danon, 1990-1997.
Call Number: Z 1361 .D4 Q261 - EINIRAS Database Network
The EINIRAS database makes available several databases of citations to security-related articles, 1990-present. They can be searched by English, French, Spanish, and German keywords. - International Political Science Abstracts. Bimonthly.
Paris: International Political Science Association, 1951-
Call Number: JA 36 .I5 (Copies available in multiple locations)
- Jane's Online
Access to full-text of a subset of the entire Jane's Online databases. Titles include: Jane's Defence Weekly, Jane's International Defense Review, Jane's Intelligence Review, Foreign Report, Jane's Fighting Ships, Jane's All the World's Aircraft, Jane's World Defence Industry, Jane's Sentinel Security Assessments, Jane's Intelligence Watch Report, Jane's Terrorism Watch Report, Jane's Counter Terrorism, Jane's World Insurgency and Terrorism, Jane's Chem-Bio Handbook, Jane's Chem-Bio Review, Jane's Geopolitical Special Reports. - PAIS International. Monthly.
New York: Public Affairs Information Service, 1915-
Call Number: Z 7163 .P922 (Copies available in multiple locations) - SCAMPI: Staff College Automated Military Periodicals Index
The Joint Forces Staff College Library is a specialized military library, focusing on research in joint and multinational operations, military history and naval science, operational warfare, and operations other than war. Library staff members regularly scan the weekly news magazines, monthly and bimonthly journal. The resulting database serves as a guide to articles on military and naval art and science, operational warfare, joint planning, national and international politics, and other areas researched by JFSC faculty, staff, and students. The SCAMPI database covers the period from 1996 thru the present.
- Adelphi Papers.
London: International Institute for Strategic Studies, 1963- .
Not a journal, but a monographic series of short titles, the Adelphi Papers series analyses current and future issues of international security. It is an excellent source of analysis of strategic issues world-wide. - Zürcher Beiträge zur Sicherheitspolitik und Konfliktforschung.
Another monographic series; the web site contains full text for Numbers 34 (1994) to present. Titles are in various languages. - African Security Review
A bi-monthly journal published by the Institute for Security Studies, South Africa. - Armed Forces and Society. Quarterly.
Chicago : Inter-University Seminar on Armed Forces & Society, 1974-
Call Number: U 21.5 .A74
- Aviation Week and Space Technology.
New York : McGraw-Hill, 1916- .
For additional online resources, see CLIO record.
Call Number: 629 .1305 Av52
Call Number: MICROFLM FN 333 (1916-1998)
Call Number: TL 501 .A8 - Comparative Strategy. Quarterly.
London : Taylor & Francis Ltd., 1978-
Call Number: U 162 .C73
- Defense. Semimonthly.
Washington, D.C. : GPO, 1985-1997.
Call Number: D 2.15/3:
Now published as an updated website, Defense Almanac, full of statistics on weapons systems, troop strengths, defense contractors, etc. - Defense Analysis. 3/yr.
London : Brassey's Defence Publishers, 1985-
Call Number: UA 10 .D45
- Defense & Foreign Affairs Strategic Policy. Monthly.
Alexandria, VA : International Media, 1979-
Call Number: UA 10 .D431
- Defense Monitor.
Washington, D.C. : Center for Defense Information, 1972- .
Call Number: UA 23 .A1 D42
Call Number: MICFICHE FX3 2762
- Defense Trade News.
Washington : U.S. Dept. of State, Bureau of Political-Military Affairs, 1990-1997 .
Call Number: S 1.141:
- DISAM Journal
The DISAM Journal is a quarterly DoD publication which provides a focal point for relaying information throughout the security assistance community. The contents vary from research articles on selected security assistance issues, to reports of recent developments within security assistance agencies. - Disarmament Diplomacy
Disarmament Diplomacy provides critical coverage of developments in disarmament negotiations, multilateral arms control and international security for opinion-formers and policy-makers in governments and among nongovernmental organisations and civil society around the world. From the Acronym Institute for Disarmament Diplomacy. - DTIC Review
Technical reports from the Defense Technical Information Service. - Early Warning
William M. Arkin on National and Homeland Security; Early Warning will report daily on the comings and goings of the national security community -- military, special ops, intelligence, homeland security -- part blog, part investigative journalism. - European Security.
London : Frank Cass, 1992- .
Call Number: UA 646 .E924
- Global Security Newswire
- Intelligence and National Security.
London : Frank Cass, 1992- .
For additional online resources, see CLIO record.
Call Number: UB 250 .I565
- Homeland Security Affairs
For additional online resources, see CLIO record.
- International Security.
Cambridge, MA : MIT Press, 1976- .
Call Number: JX 1901 .I58 (Copies available in multiple locations)
For additional online resources, see CLIO record.
- Jane's Defence Weekly.
Horley, Surrey, U.K. : Jane's Pub. Co., 1984-
Call Number: UF 500 .J37
- Jane's International Defense Review. Monthly.
Coulsdon, Surrey, U.K. : Jane's Information Group, c1996-
Call Number: U 3 .I51
Continues International Defense Review, 1968-1995. - Joint Force Quarterly: a Professional Military Journal.
Washington, D.C. : U.S. Joint Chiefs of Staff, 1993- .
Call Number: D 5.20
- Journal of Homeland Security and Emergency Management
- Journal of Strategic Studies.
London : Frank Cass, 1978- .
Call Number: U 162 .J6
For additional online resources, see CLIO record.
- Military Review: the Professional Journal of the United States Army. Monthly.
Fort Leavenworth, Kan. : US Army Command and General Staff College, 1922-
Call Number: Z 6723 .U35 (Copies available in multiple locations) - National Security Outlook
A monthly newsletter from the American Enterprise Institute for Public Policy Research. - Parameters: U.S. Army War College Quarterly.
Carlisle Barracks, Pa. : U.S. Army War College, 1971-
Call Number: U 1 .P32
- The RUSI Journal.
London : Royal United Services Institute for Defence Studies, 1972- .
Call Number: U1 .R8
- Security Studies.
London : Frank Cass, 1991- .
Call Number: JX 1901 .S6
For additional online resources, see CLIO record. - Small Wars & Insurgencies.
London : Frank Cass, 1990- .
Call Number: UA 11.5 .S6
For additional online resources, see CLIO record.
- Strategic Assessment
A new quarterly online journal from the Jaffee Center for Strategic Studies, Tel Aviv University. - Strategic Forum.
Washington, D.C.: Institute for National Strategic Studies, 1994- .
Call Number: UA 10.5 .S773
- Survival.
London : International Institute for Strategic Studies, 1959- .
Call Number: U 162 .S9
Research Guides
- Arkin, William M.
Research Guide to Current Military and Strategic Affairs.
Washington, D.C.: Institute for Policy Studies, 1981.
Call Number: UA 11 .A69 - Arkin, William M.
The U.S. Military Online: a Directory for Internet Access to the Department of Defense. 2nd ed.
Washington, D.C. : Brassey's, 1998.
Call Number: UA 23.3 .A85 1998
A detailed guide to U.S. military web sites, with an excellent index. Contains helpful annotations, and can be a real time saver. Overview, Table of Contents, and Links to Recommended Sites - Blewett, Daniel K.
American Military History : a Guide to Reference and Information Sources. 2nd ed.
Westport, Conn. : Libraries Unlimited, 2009.
Call Number: R016.35573 B6 - Booth, Ken and Herring, Eric.
Keyguide to Information Sources in Strategic Studies.
London, New York: Mansell, 1994.
Call Number: U 162 .B73 1993 - Chapman, Bert.
Military Doctrine : a Reference Handbook.
Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, c2009.
Call Number: UA 23 .C5134 2009 - Chapman, Bert.
Researching National Security and Intelligence Policy.
Washington, D.C. : CQ Press, c2004.
Call Number: UA 23 .C5135 2004 - David, James E.
Conducting Post-World War II National Security Research in Executive Branch Records : a Comprehensive Guide.
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2001.
Call Number: UA 23 .D275 2001 - Directory Guide of European Security and Defense Research.
Mclean, Va. : Pergamon-Brassey's International Defense Publishers, c1985.
Call Number: UA 646 .D57 1985 - Guide to the Sources of U.S. Military History.
Hamden, Conn.: Archon Books, 1975; and supplements, 1981, 1986, 1993.
Call Number: Z 1249 .M5 G83 1975
To view supplements, perform a CLIO title search for "Guide to the Sources of United States Military History". - Handbook of War Studies II.
Ann Arbor: University of Michigan Press, 2000.
Call Number: U 21.2 .H35 2000 - Handbook of War Studies III.
Ann Arbor: University of Michigan Press, 2009.
Call Number: U 21.2 .H35 2009g
Annual Reviews
- American Defense Annual.
Lexington, MA.: Lexington Books, 1985-1996.
Call Number: UA 23 .D89 - Annual Worldwide Threat Assessment
A report from the Director of National Intelligence to the House Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence and the Senate Armed Services Committee. - Conflict Barometer, Heidelberg Institute for International Conflict Research
The HIIK annually publishes the Conflict Barometer, which describes recent trends in conflict development, escalations, settlements. - Defense and Foreign Affairs Handbook.
Washington, D.C.: G.R. Copley, 1976-
Call Number: UA 10 .D43 - Global Strategic Review, International Institute For Strategic Studies
The GSR is the International Institute for Strategic Studies' principal venue for analysis of global foreign, defence and security policy. Interdisciplinary in approach, the GSR each year audits the forces that are driving strategic change. It provides assessments of where new tensions may arise, but also points to areas that contain the possibility of progress towards conflict resolution. - Human Security Report: War and Peace in the 21st Century. Irregular.
New York : Human Security Center, University of British Columbia, Canada, 2005-
Call Number: HM 886 .H86 - Middle East Strategic Balance. Annual.
Tel Aviv: Tel Aviv University, Jaffee Center for Strategic Studies, 2004-
Call Number: UA 832 .M523 2004 (2003-2004)
Call Number: UA 832 .M523 2006 (2004-2005)
Formerly known as Middle East Military Balance, 1983-2003, Call Number:UA 853 .N3 T35. - The Military Balance. Annual.
London : International Institute for Strategic Studies, 1962/63-
Call Number: UA 15 .M53 (Copies available in multiple locations) - New International Security Review. Annual.
London: Royal United Services Institute for Defense Studies, 1997-2000.
Call Number: UA 15 .R681
Continues RUSI International Security Review (1993-94), Call Number: UA 15 .R681 and RUSI and Brassey's Defence Yearbook (1890-1992), Call Number: UA 15 .R68 - Peace and Conflict. Biennial.
College Park, MD: Center for International Development and Conflict Management, 2000-
Call Number: HM 1121 .P43 - SIPRI Yearbook: Armaments, Disarmament and International Security. Annual.
New York: Humanities Press, 1971-
Call Number: UA10 .I551 (Copies available in multiple locations)
- Press release and chapter summaries, 1993-present, at the SIPRI Yearbooks Web page.
- SIPRI Arms Transfer Database
- SIPRI Military Expenditure Database: tables and graphs.
- Small Arms Survey. Annual.
Oxford : Oxford University Press, 2001-
Call Number: HD 9744 .F55 S62
The web versions contain mostly chapter summaries, but often with statistical tables. - Strategic Assessment. Annual.
Washington, D.C.: Institute for National Strategic Studies, National Defense University, 1995-1999.
Call Number: UA 223 .S8273 1995 (1995)
Call Number: D 5.402: IN 7/4 (1999) - Strategic Survey.
London: International Institute for Strategic Studies, 1966-
Call Number: U 162 .S77 (Copies available in multiple locations) - U.S. Department of Defense.
- Annual Report on the Military Power of the People's Republic of China
Report to Congress Pursuant to the FY2000 National Defense Authorization Act. - Annual Report to the President and the Congress.
Washington, D.C.: GPO, 1960-
Call Number: D 1.1: - DSCA (Facts Book): Foreign Military Sales, Foreign Military Construction Sales and Military Assistance Facts. Annual.
Washington, D.C.: Data Management Division, Comptroller, DSAA, 1973-
Call Number: UA 12 .U4613
- Annual Report on the Military Power of the People's Republic of China
- U.S. Department of State.
- Defense Trade Controls - Section 655 Annual Military Assistance Reports
Section 655 Annual Military Assistance Reports cover defense articles and defense services licensed for export under 22 U.S.C. 2778 of the Arms Export Control Act. These reports are provided annually to Congress pursuant to Section 655 of the Foreign Assistance Act. - End-Use Reports
These reports describe the actions the Department of State has taken under 22 U.S.C. 2785 of the Arms Export Control Act (AECA) to implement end-use monitoring of the commercial export of defense articles, services, and related technical data subject to licensing under 22 U.S.C. 2778 of the AECA.
- Defense Trade Controls - Section 655 Annual Military Assistance Reports
- U.S. Military Posture.
Washington, D.C.: GPO, 1973-
Call Number: D 5.19:
- Weapons of Mass Destruction Intelligence Threat Assessments
A page of links compiled by the Federation of American Scientists. It includes annual annual reports from the CIA, Dept. of Defense, and the UK House of Commons, among others. - World Military Expenditures and Arms Transfers. Annual.
Washington, D.C. : GPO, 1969-
Call Number: UA 17 .U423
Information by country.
Military Hardware
- Chant, Christopher.
A Compendium of Armaments and Military Hardware.
London; New York: Routledge and Kegan Paul, 1987.
Call Number: UF 500 .C42 1987 (Copies available in multiple locations) - Federation of American Scientists: Arms Sales Monitoring Project
U.S. Arms Transfers - Grimmett, Richard F..
Arms Sales: Congressional Review Process, January, 2010, Congressional Research Service - Jane's Defence Industry
- Jane's Defence Equipment and Technology
Includes: Aero-Engines, Air-Launched Weapons, Aircraft Upgrades, All The Worlds Aircraft, Ammunition Handbook, Armour and Artillery, Armour and Artillery Upgrades, Avionics, C4I Systems, Electro-Optic Systems, Explosive Ordnance , Fighting Ships, Infantry Weapons, Land-Based Air Defence, Military Communications, Military Vehicles and Logistics,Mines and Mine Clearance, Naval Weapons Systems,Nuclear - Biological and Chemical Defence,Radar and Electronic Warfare Systems,Strategic Weapon Systems, Underwater Warfare Systems,Unmanned Aerial Vehicles and Targets - The Militarily Critical Technologies List. Irregular.
Washington, D.C.: Dept. of Defense, 1984-
Call Number: D 1.2:T 22/2/ - RUSI Defence Systems. 3x/year.
London : Method Pub., 2004-
Call Number: UG 1 .W671 - Small Arms Survey. Irregular.
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2004-
Call Number: HD 9744.F552 S6 [year] - United Nations Register of Conventional Arms
On 6 December 1991, the General Assembly adopted resolution 46/36 L entitled "Transparency in armaments", which requested the Secretary-General to establish and maintain at United Nations Headquarters in New York a universal and non-discriminatory Register of Conventional Arms, to include data on international arms transfers as well as information provided by Member States on military holdings, procurement through national production and relevant policies. The Register comprises seven categories of major conventional arms, namely, battle tanks, armoured combat vehicles, large calibre artillery systems, combat aircraft, attack helicopters, warships (including submarines) as well as missiles and missile-launchers. It has been in operation with effect from calendar year 1992. Thus far, a total of 164 Member States have reported to the Register one or more times. The Register captures the great bulk of the global arms trade in the categories of conventional weapons covered by it. - U.S. Central Intelligence Agency.
Unclassified Report to Congress on the Acquisition of Technology Relating to Weapons of Mass Destruction and Advanced Conventional Munitions:
2004 , 2005 , 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010 - U.S. Dept. of Defense.
- U.S. Army: U.S. Weapon Systems, from the Federation of American Scientists
- U.S. Navy: The Navy Fact File
- U.S. Air Force: Air Force Fact Sheets
- U.S. Marines: U.S. Marine Corps' Weapons, Personnel and Equipment
U.S. Government Agencies
- Central Intelligence Agency (CIA)
The CIA provides the President and his senior advisors with accurate, comprehensive, and timely foreign intelligence relating to the national security; and conducts counterintelligence activities, special activities, and other functions relating to foreign intelligence and national security as the President and the National Security Council may direct.
- Annual Worldwide Threat Assessment
A report from the Director of National Intelligence to the House Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence and the Senate Armed Services Committee.
- Annual Worldwide Threat Assessment
- Congressional Research Service Reports
CRS, a branch of the Library of Congress, is scrupulously objective and nonpartisan. It does reference and prepares research reports at the request of members of Congress, their staff, and Congressional committees. CRS writes numerous reports on arms transfers, weapon systems, military readiness and national security. - Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board (DNFSB)
Congress created the DNFSB in 1988 as an independent oversight organization within the Executive Branch to provide advice and recommendations to the Secretary of Energy regarding public health and safety at DOE's defense nuclear facilities. Information includes: Recommendations of the DNFSD, DNFSB Annual Report, DNFSB Member Biographies, Notices/Press Releases, Technical Document Log, Policy Statements, Vacancy Announcements, Enabling Legislation, and Trip Reports. - Department of Defense
The Department of Defense is responsible for providing the military forces needed to deter war and protect the security of our country. The department's headquarters is at the Pentagon. Under the President, who is also Commander in Chief, the Secretary of Defense exercises the authority, direction, and control over the department, which includes: The Office of the Secretary, The Joint Chiefs of Staff, The Army, The Navy, The Air Force, The Marines Corps, The Coast Guard (in time of war), The Reserve, The National Guard, The Combatant Commands, The Inspector General of the Department of Defense, The Defense Agencies, and The Department of Defense Field Activities.- Publications, including:
- Annual Report to the President and the Congress.
Washington, D.C. : Dept. of Defense, 1990-
Call Number: D1.1: - National Defense Panel Final Report - "Transforming Defense: National Security in the 21st Century", December 1, 1997
- National Defense Strategy of the United States:
March 2005, June 2008 - National Military Strategy of the United States. Irregular.
Washington, DC : Joint Chiefs of Staff, 1992-
Call Number: D 5.2:M 59/2
Web versions:
1995, 1997, 2004, 2011 - National Military Strategy to Combat Weapons of Mass Destruction, February 13, 2006
- Quadrennial Defense Review
The Defense Strategy Review Page, from the Project on Defense Alternatives, The Commonwealth Institute
American Strategy: Issues and Alternatives for the Quadrennial Defense Review, September 2000
The QDR in Perspective: Meeting America's National Security Needs in the 21st Century: the Final Report of the Quadrennial Defense Review Independent Panel, July 2010 - Report to the Congress on the Military Requirements and Costs of NATO Enlargement, February 1998
- Annual Report to the President and the Congress.
- Dept. of Defense Websites
Provides links to all DoD agencies. - Defense Almanac
Provides statistics and information on the organization, staff, funding, and equipment of the Dept. of Defense. - Defense Technical Information Center
DTIC is a major component of the DoD Scientific and Technical Information Program (STIP) within the Office of the Under Secretary of Defense for Acquisition and Technology (OUSDA&T) and reports directly to the Director, Defense Research and Engineering (DDR&E). DTIC contributes to the management and conduct of Defense research, development and acquisition efforts. This is done by providing access to and transfer of scientific and technical information for DoD personnel, DoD contractors and potential contractors, and other U.S. Government agency personnel and their contractors. - BosniaLink
Under the auspices of DTIC, this site contains operation maps, fact sheets, news releases, biographies of key commanders and leaders, and transcripts of briefings, speeches and testimony regarding operation JOINT ENDEAVOR, the NATO peacekeeping mission in Bosnia. - Operation Allied Force
A comprehensive official Defense Dept. site on U.S. participation in the NATO operation in Kosovo. - Foreign Military Studies Office, Fort Leavenworth, Kansas
The Foreign Military Studies Office (FMSO) assesses regional military and security issues through open-source media and direct engagement with foreign military and security specialists to advise Army leadership on issues of policy and planning critical to the U.S. Army and the wider military community. - Joint Doctrine
Joint doctrine establishes the foundation of our ability as a joint team to fight and win the Nation's wars. Commanders must understand and apply joint doctrine as they prepare, train and lead the men and women of America's Armed Forces. This Web Site was designed to make joint doctrine more accessible and to foster debate on doctrinal issues. It includes the Joint Electronic Library, with the full text of joint publications, the DoD Dictionary, research publications, and other publications.
- Publications, including:
- Department of Homeland Security
On March 1, 2003, the majority of 180,000 employees from 22 agencies were merged to create the 15th department in the federal government. The department has three primary missions: prevent terrorist attacks within the United States, reduce America's vulnerability to terrorism, and minimize the damage from potential attacks and natural disasters.- The National Strategy for Homeland Security:
2002
Call Number: PR 43.14:H 75
2007
Call Number: HV 6432.4 .N38 2007 - National Strategy for Physical Protection of Critical Infrastructure and Key Assets, February, 2003
Call Number: PR 43.14:P 56 - National Strategy to Secure Cyberspace, February, 2003
Call Number: PR 43.8:IN 3/2003 - The National Strategy for Maritime Security, September 20, 2005
- National Response Framework, January 2008
- National Infrastructure Protection Plan:
2006
Call Number: HS 1.2:IN 3
2009 - Quadrennial Homeland Security Review, February 1, 2010
- DHS 2.0: Rethinking the Department of Homeland Security , from the Heritage Foundation and the Center for Strategic and International Studies, 2004
- Homeland Security 3.0: Building a National Enterprise To Keep America Free, Safe, and Prosperous , from the Heritage Foundation and the Center for Strategic and International Studies, 2008
- The National Strategy for Homeland Security:
- Department of State
The Department of State is the primary source of foreign affairs information for the U.S. Government and is responsible for implementing the President's foreign policies. The Department provides much of the national security and economic data used by the government as well as most data on the internal politics of foreign countries.- Under Secretary for Arms Control and International Security
The Office of the Under Secretary for Arms Control and International Security Affairs provides policy direction in the areas of non-proliferation, arms control, regional security and defense relations, and export control policy related to materials that might contribute to proliferation or otherwise harm U.S. interests. The Bureau of Political Military Affairs, which reports to the Under Secretary for Arms Control and International Security Affairs, advises in the development of policies relating to the national security of the United States and in the development of policies arising from U.S. military activities affecting foreign relations.
- Under Secretary for Arms Control and International Security
- Government Accountability Office (GAO)
GAO, commonly called the investigative arm of Congress or the congressional watchdog, is independent and nonpartisan. It studies how the federal government spends taxpayer dollars.
GAO Reports and Testimony can be searched by topic, date, and agency. - George C. Marshall European Center for Security Studies
The Center provides instruction in national security affairs to Europe's senior defense officials; conducts research on European security issues; holds conferences on those issues; conducts specialized regional studies and language training courses. - Institute for Defense Analyses
IDA is a nonprofit corporation whose purpose is to promote national security and the public interest and whose primary mission is to assist the Office of the Secretary of Defense, the Joint Staff, the unified commands and defense agencies in addressing important national security issues, particularly those requiring scientific and technical expertise. To avoid institutional pressures in support of Service positions, IDA does not work directly for the Military Departments. To ensure freedom from commercial or other potential conflicts of interests, IDA does not work for private industry or foreign governments. - Institute for National Strategic Studies
The Institute for National Strategic Studies (INSS) was established in July 1984 as an interdisciplinary research institute staffed by senior civilian and military analysts from all four Services. The Director of INSS reports through the President of the National Defense University to the Chairman and Vice Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, to the Secretary and Deputy Secretary of Defense,and to the Commanders-in-Chief of the Unified Commands. The Institute Director sets the research agenda of the Institute to meet the needs and requirements of the Department of Defense.
Global Strategic Assessment 2009: America's Security Role in a Changing World - Los Alamos National Laboratory:
- National Security Council
The National Security Council is the President's principal forum for considering national security and foreign policy matters with his senior national security advisors and cabinet officials. Since its inception under President Truman, the function of the Council has been to advise and assist the President on national security and foreign policies. The Council also serves as the President's principal arm for coordinating these policies among various government agencies.- Defending America's Cyberspace: National Plan for Information Systems Protection, January 2000
- A National Security Strategy for A New Century, May 1997
- A National Security Strategy for a New Century, December 1999
- The National Security Strategy of the United States of America, September 2002
- National Security Strategy, May 2010
- National Strategy to Combat Weapons of Mass Destruction, December 2002
- Cyberspace Policy Review, 2010
- U.S. Commission on National Security in the 21st Century (Hart-Rudman Commission)
- New World Coming: American Security in the 21st Century: Major Themes and Implications, September 15, 1999
- New World Coming: American Security in the 21st Century: Supporting Research & Analysis, September 15, 1999
- New World Coming: American Security in the 21st Century: Study Addendum, 1999
- Seeking a National Strategy: a Concert for Preserving Security and Promoting Freedom, April 15, 2000
- Road Map for National Security: Imperative for Change, January 31, 2001
- Road Map for National Security: Imperative for Change: Addendum on Structure and Process Analyses, April 15, 2001
- U.S. Army War College, Strategic Studies Institute
- U.S. Congress. Congressional Budget Office
The CBO publishes numerous publications relating to national security, including:- Budget Options for National Defense.
Washington, D.C. : Congress of the U.S., Congressional Budget Office, 2000.
Call Number: Y 10.2:D36/9 - The Ability of the U.S. Military to Sustain an Occupation in Iraq, November 2003
- Options for Changing the Army's Overseas Basing, May 2004
- Assessing Pay and Benefits for Military Personnel, August 2007
- An Analysis of the Army's Transformation Programs and Possible Alternatives, June 2009
- Budget Options for National Defense.
International Agencies
- European Union
- North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO)
The North Atlantic Treaty of April 1949 brought into being an Alliance of independent countries with a common interest in maintaining peace and defending their freedom through political solidarity and adequate military defence to deter and, if necessary, repel all possible forms of aggression against them. NATO is the Organisation which serves the Alliance. Information includes: NATO Basic Texts; Communiques, Speeches and Press Releases; NATO Handbook; NATO Factsheets; Information Sheets and Newsletters; Seminars, Workshops and Colloquia; Biographies; Academic Fellowships; Allied Command Europe (ACE) and other Commands & Organizations; NATO Scientific and Environmental Affairs; NACC and Partnership for Peace Country Documents; NATO Binary Files (Images); and KUL - NATO & ADSN Listserv Logs.- NATO Ministerial Communiques, 1949-present
- Operation Allied Force: the NATO air operations in Kosovo, 26 March - 10 June 1999
- Operation Joint Guardian: the NATO mission in Kosovo, 11 June 1999 -
- NATO in Afghanistan
- Operation Unified Protector: NATO in Libya
- NATO Enlargement: In the U.S. National Interest, U.S. Dept. of State web site
- Report to the Congress on the Enlargement of the North Atlantic Treaty Organization: Rationale, Benefits, Costs and Implications, U.S. Dept. of State, February 24, 1997
- NATO at 50: the Washington Summits, April 23-25, 1999
- Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE)
- Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons
The Chemical Weapons Convention or, as the complete title reads, the "Convention on the Prohibition of the Production, Stockpiling and Use of Chemical Weapons and on Their Destruction" was opened for signature in Paris, France on 13 January 1993. The CWC is the product of more than twenty years of negotiations at the Conference of Disarmament in Geneva, Switzerland. The CWC will enter into force on 29 April 1997, 180 days after the deposition of the 65th instrument of ratification. - United Nations
The information at this site is extensive and includes: The UN Charter and other basic info, news, documents (including the full text of the resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, and Economic & Social Council), conferences, publications (UN Sales Catalogue), info on the UN 50th anniversary, tours, and other sources.- Repertoire of the Practice of the Security Council, 1946-1988
The Repertoire is the only analytical record of the practice of the Security Council, as reflected in its decisions, positive and negative, and related statements. It presents all the data relevant to the interpretation and application by the Security Council of the provisions of the UN Charter and the Council's provisional rules of procedure.
- Repertoire of the Practice of the Security Council, 1946-1988
Independent Research Centers
- CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is designed to be the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 on that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences. - American Enterprise Institute: Foreign and Defense Policy Studies
AEI's work in foreign and defense policy seeks to improve the understanding of how American interests and political and economic freedom can be advanced around the world. AEI scholars analyze relations between the United States and its allies; security threats, currently focusing on Asia and the Middle East; the transition to democratic capitalism in developing and postcommunist countries; and the performance of international organizations and institutions. - BASIC: British American Security Information Council
An independent research organization that analyzes international security policy in Europe and North America, BASIC works to promote public awareness of defense, disarmament, military strategy, and nuclear policies in order to foster informed debate on these issues. BASIC facilitates the exchange of information and analysis among researchers, journalists, and parliamentarians on both sides of the Atlantic. - Belfer Center for Science and International Affairs, John F. Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University
The International Security Program (ISP) addresses the most pressing threats to U.S. national interest and intentional security, analyzing the forces shaping these problems and identifying opportunities for effective intervention into the policy process. - Canadian Institute of Strategic Studies
CISS is a non-profit, non-partisan organization that is dedicated to the research, analysis and discussion of national and international strategic issues in a Canadian context. CISS seeks to provide an objective, independent forum for a dialogue on a diverse set of issues that affect the national security of Canada. - Carnegie Endowment for International Peace
The Carnegie Endowment for International Peace is a private, nonprofit organization dedicated to advancing cooperation between nations and promoting active international engagement by the United States. Founded in 1910, its work is nonpartisan and dedicated to achieving practical results. - Center for a New American Security
The Center for a New American Security (CNAS) develops strong, pragmatic and principled national security and defense policies that promote and protect American interests and values. Building on the deep expertise and broad experience of its staff and advisors, CNAS engages policymakers, experts and the public with innovative fact-based research, ideas and analysis to shape and elevate the national security debate. - Center for Defense Information
Founded in 1972 as an independent monitor of the military, the Center for Defense Information is a private, nongovernmental, research organization. Its directors and staff believe that strong social, economic, political, and military components and a healthy environment contribute equally to the nation's security. CDI seeks realistic and cost effective military spending without excess expenditures for weapons and policies that increase the danger of war. CDI supports adequate defense by evaluating our defense needs and how best to meet them without wasteful spending or compromising our national security.
This site provides information on defense issues, arms control and arms trade, and the text of the Center's publication Defense Monitor. - Center for Homeland Defense & Security, Naval Postgraduate School
The center provides the Homeland Security Digital Library and the Journal, Homeland Security Affairs. - Center for International Security and Cooperation , Stanford University
CISAC's mission is to produce policy-relevant research on international security problems, to teach and train the next generation of security specialists, and to influence policymaking in international security. - Center for Peace and Security Studies, Georgetown University, School of Foreign Service
Project areas include: Non-military aspects of security, conflict and conflict resolution, technology and security, arms and arms control, the U.S. and international security. - Center for Security Policy
The Center for Security Policy exists as a non-profit, non-partisan organization to stimulate and inform the national and international debate about all aspects of security policy, notably those policies bearing on the foreign, defense, economic, financial and technology interests of the United States.
It makes a unique contribution to the debate by the rapid preparation and real-time dissemination of analyses and policy recommendations via computerized facsimile, published articles and electronic media. The principal audience for such materials is the U.S. security policy-making community (the executive and legislative branches, the armed forces and appropriate independent agencies), corresponding organizations in key foreign governments, the press (domestic and foreign), the global business and financial community and interested individuals in the public at large. - Center for Security Studies and Conflict Research, Zurich
The Center for Security Studies and Conflict Research, founded in 1986, is an independent academic institution researching and teaching in the fields of security policy and conflict analysis. The Center maintains an extensive list of publications on general subjects in the field as well as on the Environment and Conflicts Project (ENCOP). It also serves as the Secretariat for the International Relations and Security Network (ISN), a daily updated electronic clearinghouse for resources in the field of security and defense studies, peace and conflict research, and international relations. The service is organized in a subject and a regional listing, contains a current issues page and links to related research institutions. - Center for Strategic and Budgetary Assessments, Washington, D.C.
The Center for Strategic and Budgetary Assessments (CSBA) is an independent, nonprofit public policy research institute established to promote innovative thinking about defense planning and investment strategies for the 21st century. CSBA brings databased analyses and cutting-edge assessment techniques to its research on: Military Strategy and Policy, Defense Budgets and Programs, Weapon Systems and Critical Technologies, Military Personnel and Readiness, Military Revolutions and Future Warfare, Transformation of the Military, and the Defense Industry. - Center for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS), Washington, D.C.
The Center for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS) is a public policy research institution dedicated to policy analysis and impact. CSIS is the only institution of its kind that maintains resident experts on all the world's major geographical regions. It also covers key functional areas, such as international finance, the emerging markets, U.S. domestic and economic policy related to the Strengthening of America, and U.S. foreign policy and national security issues. - Centre for Defence and International Security Studies (CDISS), Lancaster University, United Kingdom
The objectives of CDISS are to address salient issues in UK national and international defence and security policy; and to research and disseminate through publications and public briefings information relevant to defence issues. CDISS also undertakes specific studies under contract in a number of broad subject areas. Such studies have included: analyses of current and future defence market trends, analyses of domestic and international political and strategic developments, the impact of political and economic change on industry, government departments, the armed services, political parties and pressure groups, and defence policy planning. - Chatham House, United Kingdom
The Chatham House mission is to be a world-leading source of independent analysis, informed debate and influential ideas on how to build a prosperous and secure world for all. - Correlates of War Project, University of Michigan
The Correlates of War (COW) Project is an ongoing effort to study and explore the conditions associated with the outbreak of war, as well as with the conditions surrounding militarized disputes. Begun in 1963 at the University of Michigan, the COW Project has produced over one hundred and fifty journal articles and book chapters as well as more than a dozen books. This website is intended to serve as a guide to sources drawn primarily from the Correlates of War data sets. Towards that end, a bibliography of articles and books published by Correlates of War researchers is provided. - Council on Foreign Relations, New York
The Council on Foreign Relations is an independent, nonpartisan membership organization, think tank, and publisher dedicated to being a resource for its members, government officials, business executives, journalists, educators and students, civic and religious leaders, and other interested citizens in order to help them better understand the world and the foreign policy choices facing the United States and other countries. - Environmental Change and Security Program (ECSP), at the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars
An information clearinghouse on the views, activities and policy initiatives falling under the rubric of "environment, population and security." The ECSP acts as a neutral, non-partisan forum for researchers, practitioners and interested individuals to meet, exchange ideas and concerns, and develop cross-disciplinary dialogue. - Federation of American Scientists (FAS), Washington, D.C.
The Federation of American Scientists conducts analysis and advocacy on science, technology and public policy, including nuclear weapons, arms sales, biological hazards, secrecy, and space policy. FAS is a privately-funded non-profit policy organization whose Board of Sponsors includes half of America's living Nobel Laureates:
Arms Sales Monitoring Project, Ballistic Missile Defense, Chemical and Biological Weapons Threat Assessments and Related Material, Military Analysis Network, Space Policy Project, Strategic Security Project - GlobalSecurity.org
GlobalSecurity.org is focused on innovative approaches to the emerging security challenges of the new millennium. The organization seeks to reduce reliance on nuclear weapons and the risk of their use -- both by existing nuclear weapons states and those states seeking to acquire such capabilities. - Henry L. Stimson Center
The Stimson Center, founded in 1989, is a nonprofit, nonpartisan institution devoted to public policy research. The center concentrates on particularly difficult national and international security issues where policy, technology, and politics intersect. Projects at the Center deal with regional security (peacekeeping, preventive diplomacy, and confidence-building measures), U.S. foreign and defense policies, arms control measures and their verification, and other building blocks of international security. - The Heritage Foundation: Issues, Washington, D.C.
A website devoted to disseminating information and policy analyses regarding U.S. national security issues. This site is meant to function as a clearinghouse for reporters, researchers, and concerned Americans interested in gaining access to publications, policy experts, and weblinks on a wide spectrum of national security issues, including alliances, arms control, international conflicts, national security and defense, and terrorism. - Institute for Science and International Security
ISIS is a non-profit, non-partisan institution dedicated to informing the public about science and policy issues affecting international security. Its efforts focus on stopping the spread of nuclear weapons, bringing about greater transparency of nuclear activities worldwide, and achieving deep reductions in nuclear arsenals. - Institute for Security & Development Policy
The Institute for Security and Development Policy is a Stockholm-based independent and non-profit research and policy institute. The Institute is dedicated to expanding understanding of international affairs, particularly the interrelationship between the issue areas of conflict, security and development. The Institute’s primary areas of geographic focus are Asia and Europe’s neighborhood. - Institute for Security Studies (ISS), Pretoria, South Africa
The ISS is a regional research institute operating across sub-Saharan Africa. Today it is one of the largest strategic studies/peace research institutes in Africa and is expanding both its activities and interests to meet the changing needs of the continent. - International Crisis Group
The International Crisis Group is a leading independent, non-partisan, source of analysis and advice to governments, and intergovernmental bodies like the United Nations, European Union and World Bank, on the prevention and resolution of deadly conflict. - International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS), London
The International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS), founded in 1958, is an independent centre for research, information and debate on the problems of conflict, however caused, that have, or potentially have, an important military content. Its work is grounded in an appreciation of the various political, economic and social problems that can lead to instability, as well as the factors that can lead to international cooperation. - Nuclear Threat Initiative
NTI's mission is to strengthen global security by reducing the risk of use and preventing the spread of nuclear, biological and chemical weapons. - Project 2049 Institute
The Project 2049 Institute seeks to guide decision makers toward a more secure Asia by the century’s mid-point. The organization fills a gap in the public policy realm through forward-looking, region-specific research on alternative security and policy solutions. - Project for the New American Century
The Project for the New American Century is a non-profit educational organization dedicated to a few fundamental propositions: that American leadership is good both for America and for the world; and that such leadership requires military strength, diplomatic energy and commitment to moral principle. - Project on Defense Alternatives (PDA), at the Commonwealth Institute
The Project on Defense Alternatives (PDA) seeks to adapt military policy to the circumstances of the post-Cold War era. To that end it develops pragmatic, cost-effective defense policy options that support progress toward more cooperative means of attaining security. PDA offers critical analysis of US policy as well as that of other nations and devises detailed alternative policy options. Many PDA studies and reports are available online. - RAND
RANDis a nonprofit institution that helps improve public policy through research and analysis. RAND research is carried out within centers, programs, and institutes that focus on particular areas of policy concern. - Royal United Services Institute for Defence Studies (RUSI)
RUSI is the oldest Institute of its kind in the world. It is the professional and independent authority dedicated to the study, analysis and debate of issues affecting defence and international security. - Small Arms Survey
The Small Arms Survey is an independent research project located at the Graduate Institute of International Studies, Geneva, Switzerland. It serves as the principal international source of public information on all aspects of small arms. - Stiftung Wissenschaft und Politik (SWP)
The Stiftung Wissenschaft und Politik (SWP) is a foundation established in 1962 for the purpose of furthering analytic research into problems of international politics and security. Publicly funded, but politically independent, the SWP today maintains the largest research institute of its kind in the Federal Republic of Germany. - Stockholm International Peace Research Institute (SIPRI)
Established in 1966 by the Swedish Parliament, SIPRI research and publication focuses on the issues of: armed conflicts and conflict management programs, arms transfers, arms control and disarmament, chemical and biological warfare, Euro-Atlantic, Regional and Global Security, Internet-Based Early Warning Indicators System for Preventive Policy, Military Expenditure and Arms Production, Non-proliferation and Export Controls, and Reinforcing EUCooperative Threat Reduction Programmes. - The Centre for Military and Strategic Studies
The Centre for Military and Strategic Studies is at the University of Calgary in Alberta, Canada and is designed to provide academics, students, researchers, government officials and the general public with a research tool in the areas of Strategic Studies, Security, International Relations and Politics. - University of California Institute on Global Conflict and Cooperation (IGCC)
IGCC was founded in 1983 as a multi-campus research unit serving the entire University of California (UC) system. In addition to its traditional work on arms control and proliferation, IGCC has expanded its research agenda to include several broad areas of inquiry: regional relations, international environmental policy, international relations theory, and the domestic sources of foreign policy.
Statistics & Data
- Arms Sales Monitor. Bimonthly.
Washington, D.C.: Federation of American Scientists, 1991- - Clodfelter, Micheal.
Warfare and Armed Conflicts: a Statistical Encyclopedia of Casualty and Other Figures, 1494-2007. 3rd ed.
Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland, 2008.
Call Number: D 214 .C54 2008 - Conventional Arms Transfers to Developing Nations
An annual report delivered to Congress by the Congressional Research Service:
1993-2000, 2000-2007, 2003-2010 - FIRST (Facts on International Relations and Security Trends)
FIRST is a joint project of SIPRI and the International Relations and Security Network. The objective is to offer professionals in the field and in related sciences, such as researchers, politicians and the media, an organized authoritative and structured factual reference system. The integrated database system contains high-quality, up-to-date and clearly documented information covering many areas in the field of international relations and security, such as hard facts on states and international organizations, statistics, chronologies and data on, for example, conflicts, arms transfers and military expenditures. - Herrera, Remy.
Statistics on Military Expenditure in Developing Countries: Concepts, Methodological Problems and Sources.
Paris : OECD, 1994.
Call Number: HC 59.72 .D4 H46 1994g (Copies available in multiple locations) - Human Security Report: War and Peace in the 21st Century. Irregular.
New York : Human Security Center, University of British Columbia, Canada, 2005-
Call Number: HM 886 .H86 - The Military Balance. Annual.
London: International Institute for Strategic Studies, 1959-
Call Number: UA 15 .M53 (Copies available in multiple locations) - ProQuest Statistical Insight
The ProQuest Statistical database provides comprehensive access to statistical data. Many of the sources are linked to the full text of the data, although some state, private, and IGO sources are cited, allowing the researcher to then locate the statistical source on the internet or in the library, either in print or as part of the microfiche service which accompanies the printed index. - The SIPRI Arms Transfers Database
The SIPRI Arms Transfers Database is a fully searchable online database containing information on all international transfers of seven categories of major conventional weapons from 1950 to the most recent full calendar year. It can be used to generate detailed written reports and statistical data. - The SIPRI Military Expenditure Database
The database on military expenditure covers 171 countries and contains consistent time series for the period since 1988. The online military expenditure database provides military expenditure data by country in the following three formats: Military expenditure in local currency, at current prices, 1988-present; Military expenditure in US dollars, at constant (2005) prices and exchange rates, 1988-present; Military expenditure as a share (%) of gross domestic product (GDP), 1988-present. - SIPRI Yearbook: Armaments, Disarmament and National Security. Annual.
Cambridge, MA.: MIT Press, 1971-
Call Number: UA 10 . I551 (Copies available in multiple locations)
Press release and chapter summaries, 1993-present, at the SIPRI Yearbooks Web page. - Uppsala Conflict Data Program Data
The Uppsala Conflict Data Program (UCDP) offers a number of datasets on organised violence and peacemaking, all of which can be downloaded for free. You can also generate your own dataset by using the tools "Dynamic Datasets" and "Customized Reports". - U.S. Dept. of Defense.
DSCA Facts Book: Foreign Military Sales, Foreign Military Construction Sales and Military Assistance Facts. Annual.
Washington, D.C.: Data Management Division, Comptroller, DSAA, 1973-
Call Number: UA 12 .U4613 - World Military and Social Expenditures. Annual, ceased.
Leesburg, VA.: WMSE Publications, 1974-1996.
Call Number: HJ 7469 .W6
- World Military Expenditures and Arms Transfers. Irregular.
Washington, D.C.: U.S. Arms Control and Disarmament Agency, 1965-.
Call Number: UA 17 .U423